Displate Reviews

Displate
( 36 reviews )
Website: Displate.com

Displate is a company that manufactures collectible metal posters featuring unique and licensed artworks from artists in their volunteer art community who are supported when customers purchase their products. 

How Does Displate Work?

A Displate is a metal poster that has been designed by one of the Displate.com artists to depict an artist scene, an iconic movie or pop culture figure, a clever saying or phrase, or anything else you could potentially come up with.

Displate posters automatically comes with a magnet that has an adhesive side that will be attached to the wall of your home where you'd like to display your metal poster, and the opposite side is what will hold your Displate.

Cost/Price Plans

With such a wide variety of products available on their website, there is no way to quote a set price range for the items they create, though many of their Displate are available for between $44 and $69.    

Refund Policy

Customers who are unhappy with their purchase for any reason should contact them for assistance or for instructions on returning their product.

All Displate posters except those ordered via Create Your Own Displate are available to be returned and refunded 100% up to 100 days after purchase, as long as it is in its original state and has never been hung.

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact their Customer Service team with any questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by email at [email protected] or by submitting them directly to their website.

Reputation

There are not many user or customer reviews available for this item at this time, though there have been some third party reviews which seem positive about the type of products this company is offering. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are many different companies and website that offer art and home décor products, of many different varieties and types, so customers who are looking for alternatives should be able to find something else that better suits their needs, if Displate.com does not.

If you have any experience with Displate or their products, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

Displate Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Club is a Scam
April 11, 2022

I signed up for displate club, as I was going to buy more. My first order was 7-9 large and extra-large plates. So it was a good deal for me to be in the ‘club’.

While working with cs for something else I asked then why I was getting a sales page for the ‘club’. After 4-5 emails back and forth… Looks like a month ago my bank declined the charge because of “incorrect information”. I have not moved, and I still have my account with that bank, there are more than enough funds, so it was not my issue… The bank has not sent anything about an issue with my card or replaced the card, I use this card for all online subscriptions, Netflix, Disney, Apple, and more… none of them are having issues.

I brought the issue to them, a month after the ‘failed’ charge. When I noticed something was not right…

I received no emails, no communications from displate, I was also logged in a bunch between Feb-March. I have searched my inbox I have a welcome email and invoice for my first order. There was a promo email that was in junk from last week.

My complaint is that I was a month shy of my one year when I was ‘canceled’ through no fault of mine, the cs rep basically said I was s*** out of luck…

There are so many ways this could be better:

Pause the club and make the free plates available once you have 12 paid months

Allow the user to pay for the missing month

Give them an X month credit if they sign up again

Send a letter or postcard

Call the user

Use a non-marketing email to help inform the customer

Not change information in their system

Allow users to pay for the year at a slightly discounted rate

An alert when you log in saying there’s an issue

There are probably a million and one ways this could have been better.

The fact that I was signed in and got no emails about their being an issue is my concern and is made way more frustrating by the response from the cs rep basically saying there is nothing that can be done.

At this time I don’t think I will ever order from them again, and I will be letting everyone know about it.

This was my experience, from my viewpoint. I wanted people to be aware of this issue so that it does not happen to you.

A google search tells me I am not the only one with this issue.

Get ready to be Phished
March 3, 2022
Products are fine, but within minutes of purchase my Inbox was flooded with phishing emails and it continues nonstop 6 months later. All the emails are from Eastern Europe, where Displate is located BOGUS!

Avoid this company.
February 25, 2022
First and last time customer, the duty fees feel like blatent theft. Don't charge me for shipping if you're not including duties.

They are legit
January 24, 2022

Not sure what all the hate is for. My Displate LE purchases have all been great. Love the product. To be honest the non LE purchases have been mediocre at best. The one time I had a damaged product delivered I sent pictures to their support and they told me to keep what I had and sent me another one. So they are legit but the product may not be for everyone.

Import fee way too expensive
September 25, 2021

It's "legit" but I would avoid outside of the US at all cost!

The import fee is ridiculous, they use DHL, it's metal and I don't know what they use as boxes but it's just absurd, if you buy 3 you'll end up paying for 4 (literally)

Look elsewhere.

Great product, would recommend.
August 2, 2021
Bought two Medium Hearthstone heroes, Ragnaros & Dr. Boom. Opt'd for the Matt finish an unframed. Both were amazing, I gave them to my nephew for xmas in 2020. I live in Eastern Canada and the arrived within a little over a week. That is fast considering they shipped from Poland.

So so quality at a high price
April 16, 2021
Color quality and picture vibrancy isn’t that great to justify the high price.

Not willing to help with the problem they created themselves.
April 15, 2021

I wanted to get a custom displate.

I have read that its quite a hassle to do so. You first have to buy a different displate and add the club membership on top off that. You cant just solely buy the membership.

This already annoyed me a bit, but I went along and asked my father for his creditcard so i can buy one for a friend of mine as a birthday gift. So when my dad finally had the chance to visit me (he lives far away because im studying quite far from my parents their home) he did and we followed all instructions.

We had paid and and all went smoothly only i did not receive club membership. I thought it would take a while so after my dad left i went in to check again. Still nothing. So i contacted them and they informed me that something went wrong on their side.

They said they could cancel my order so I can try it again. I informed them of my situation and since they dont accept IDeal i couldnt repay if they would cancel this one.

I also told them the reason i wanted club membership is because i wanted a custom displate.

Here is where this story takes a darker turn.

After repeadetly denying me an option to get club membership. I said i would also gladly pay for a custom displate (even extra if needed) but they couldnt find a possible way to make this happen aswell. Which is just so insane. A random stranger can litterally just get club membership, I can send them my image and they can make the displate and deliver it to my house. BUT somehow the company itself cant do this.

This is just straight up not willing to help, not trying to get a customer satisfied and overal laziness.

I have send over 20 mails back and forth with this company but they just do not want to fix it.

Total Scam
March 5, 2021
Total fraud. Company is based out of Poland and ships empty boxes. I asked for them to reship the items I ordered or refund my money and they refused. Buyer beware. If Paypal didn't take a month to resolve disputes I would have had my money back a while ago.

Displate is a SCAM!
December 14, 2020

I ordered a Displate medium sized picture for $107.00, my card was charged and then I got an email saying that they couldn't fulfill the order because I wanted it sent to my PO Box.

They claimed that I'd receive a refund and was given a discount code for a future order.

I wanted the poster, as it was a Christmas gift, so I placed the order again with the discount code for a large poster for 123.00, again my card was immediately charged and this time I didn't get any communication in regards to this new order and I still haven't received any refund or product!

Received my item
July 29, 2020
I received my Angry Bird Displate picture and I love it! It looks great, it was easy to mount. My only suggestion is perhaps their website offering extra protective leafs if someone wants to move the picture to another location. Very happy with the product.

Just got 3 of them.
March 30, 2020
They look exactly like what they were shown to be on the website. So far everybody who has seen them have thought they were pretty cool, including a couple of friends who I know are going to buy some soon.

They suck
August 21, 2019
As an artist its hard enough to sell your work but for a company to pick and choose what your allowed to sell and not sell even after a few weeks of it being uploaded is total BS. And to tell me that a portrait (mostly what I do), contains "adult material" when its from the neck up?! WTF?

Don't trust them
August 21, 2019

If you are an artist don't put your work on this website, you can get banned for no reason and you don't get paid.

Their service is terrible, if you need help they reply in days.

Fascist attitude, they cut you out if and when they want.

I got accused of copyright breaking with no reason and they kept my money. On the website you see many people stealing other artists work, modify it and sell it, and they never get a ban.

In my case, i do photo manipulation and digital painting and i am always very careful about working with copyright-free pictures.

But they decided out of the blue, without explanations, that it was time to kick me out.

They kept my money and that's it.

Don't waste your time and money please, they are not worth it.

Total Scam
August 8, 2019

Free shipping somehow ends up with me eating $25 in customs and duties, which I find out about as the DHL guy is on the way to my door. Won't give it to me if I don't pay.

Ended up paying 100 dollars for a glorified fridge magnet with free shipping.

Customer service refuses to help me.

Never do business with Displate.

Verification of Images Is Longer Than Told...
May 24, 2019

I registered recently a day ago and started uploading at least 6 of my pieces. The verification said it can take up to 24 hours. In other words, it should not go over 24 hours to simply look over some pieces to see if they are legit mines or not.

I do not like being told that something will take a certain amount of time and that person/company does not abide by it directly. Instead of having that misleading verification process time, how about saying it can take up to 2 or more days so people can get a better experience.

I use a different website called TeeSpring and if you're using copyright material the minute you post it, they simply disable it and send you an email. (I would know this considering I tried uploading one of my pieces of Homer, yet they found this a "Copyright" problem. Don't know why when there are several artists selling pieces of cartoon characters in their own styles as well.)

I rather them have that type of system than me waiting more than 2 days for my stuff to publish. I don't have that type of patience. Not saying I don't trust the website but, they need to improve that one area and I'll consider using it. Other than that, I have deleted my account

Why is this even a thing
May 5, 2019
Well, the website sells stolen intellectual property, so...

VictoriaRose July 08, 2019

This is quite an accusation... can you back this up?

ZofiaLewandowska July 12, 2019

I've had a handful of proofs, but those cases got deleted after some time (I just checked, it is a nice surprise), that is a good thing they did, even if they're a bit late.

Though there are still plenty of posters for sale, that are simply fanarts/official graphics downloaded from internet and poorly remixed in photoshop. I don't have a free moment to search for originals now, unfortunately.

I do not say of course the whole website preys on unfair tactics, but cases of art theft are not dealt with fast enough, and there are a lots of them. I know it is hard to control such tactics, but you can make a solid amount of money by putting up to hundreds posters for sale in span of couple of months, before someone takes your account down. And this is terrifying to me.

Love these things!
April 20, 2019
I have purchased a total of 18 Displates over the course of 3 years or so, and will continue to purchase them. They are gorgeously made, and look stunning on my wall. The quality of the prints are exceptional. I have only had one issue; one arrived with some slight scratch damage. I emailed them about it, and they immediately shipped a replacement at no extra charge, AND allowed me to keep the damaged one. I have also inquired about extra magnets, like if I ever move, and they have told me they would provide new magnets for all of them free of charge when the time comes. Not only are the Displates themselves great, but I have nothing but praise for their customer service too. All in all, these things ROCK!

Legit and great product/service
March 30, 2019
Bought 16 plates from them almost 2 years ago. Great product, shipped perfect. Had emailed them to get more magnets and they sent it with out a problem. Prices are decent too

Disappointing quality for the price
February 5, 2019

I ordered a large poster, with the hopes of ordering more down the line if the quality was good enough. Unfortunately, I will have to pass.

Duty fees to Canada at the door were pretty steep and came as a surprise, since there is no message or warning during checkout.

The print is quite faded compared to the sample on the website. Additionally, the image was pretty blurry blown up on to a large poster. There isn't an easy way to tell on the site how much the quality will suffer when you go for a larger print.

The magnets for hanging the poster seem to hold well enough, although there isn't an easy way to move them and hang the poster somewhere else, and they don't include any extra magnets.

On the plus side, The metal definitely adds a cool dimension to the poster. Maybe if they address their quality issues, or lower the international price significant'tly I'll get a few more one day.