Dave Ramsey Reviews

Dave Ramsey
( 14 reviews )

Dave Ramsey is a well known debt solution expert and financial consultant that's authored fourteen books, hosts a national radio show, and runs a financial consulting firm.

The majority of his programs focus on overcoming debt through a variety of debt management solutions.

On the subject of debt Dave Ramsey speaks from experience and shares his own rollercoaster history with money.  By age 26 David Ramsey had accumulated a real estate portfolio that was worth millions of dollars.

However, much of his success relied on a cycle of borrowing money, consequently new tax legislation limited his ability to proceed with his business practices; this ultimately forced him into bankruptcy. 

 

After suffering a huge loss, Ramsey began his slow climb back onto his feet.  He was providing financial counseling and eventually developed the basis for his debt eradication programs.  This led him to create The Lampo Group, his own financial consulting firm.

David Ramsey can be heard offering financial advice through his radio show and at several of his websites.  His show has been singled out for several awards due to his unique approach in taking calls.  He's known for talking to people in a way that reaches them more than just simple financial advice could.

On the subject of debt and actual financial advise David Ramsey's major point is to avoid debt at all costs.  His motto is "you shouldn't buy it if you can't afford it."  He has taken his hatred of debt and credit card companies to an extreme level as he won't accept credit card payments on his websites.

Dave Ramsey is most known for promoting two financial strategies, the "Baby Steps" and his "Debt Snowball".  The Baby Steps force you to confront your financial situation and begin the process of eliminating debt, increasing savings, and positioning yourself to make smart investments.

The Debt Snowball is Dave Ramsey's method of paying off debt with the smallest balance first.  This strategy has been criticized because you would technically save more money and pay debts of faster if you started paying the highest interest rate debt first.  However, he acknowledges this fact and counters it with a logical explanation.

Ramsey says that the majority of people feed of the positive reinforcement they get by completely eliminating one debt payment.  Thus it may end up costing more in the long run, but if the psychological factor keeps you from straying of your debt elimination plan then it's worth the extra cost.

If you have any experience with Dave Ramsey or his products, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

Dave Ramsey Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Ramsey bait n switch
January 26, 2021
He's a liar and a bait-and-switcher. Click his links for incredible insurance deals for $80 and when the high school grad calls, with the background noise of 100 other teenage robot callers behind her, she'll eventually tell you, "well for you its $160. $180 without the exam which i just gave you to get you to $180."

October 8, 2011

I work in the financial service industry and I was fine with money (very little debt, large emergency savings) until I was hit with a tsunami of events- major car accident that left me hospitalize, extreme drops in income, major home repair issues, sudden loss both family cars, major family health issues- all events within 4 months of each other.

David Ramsey gave me a sense of direction with his baby steps. I had to swallow my pride as a financial adviser and accept that I need to learn to do things differently. I am very grateful for his insight and the Financial Peace University for restoring a sense of peace into my and my family's life.

JillianMerry September 27, 2017

My son was brain washed to thinking he had to not only be the sole supporter of his family and get his masters and pay off his house by 39 and get his kids college paid for... My son committed suicide June 29th, 2017. I solely blame Dave Ramsey. My son was not mentally ill. Dave Ramsey Brainwashes our young adults. Dave Ramsey is the only one on the golf course or on his private yacht from his course and books.

DavidJ. Wise March 23, 2018

My God man, you must be a Democrat and crazy

October 6, 2011
Working the baby steps has literally saved my marriage, brought my husband and I to Christ, and has allowed us to actually start enjoying life. I never knew how stressed out I was about money until I was debt free. Reading The Total Money Makeover"" and attending ""Financial Peace University"" were life changing for me. It can be very difficult to stick with the process while you are getting out of debt, but it is beyond worth it once you are on the other side."

JillianMerry September 27, 2017

my son died because of Dave Ramseys brutal ( cult ) BS

September 15, 2010

You are a great blessing to all of us David!

May God bless you more and more!

August 24, 2010

I am not sure that it is fair to the kids to go on an extreme cheapskate budget that leaves out vacations and dining out.

You should have something in your budget for enjoying yourself. That is unless you cannot pay your bills. Broke people should not go on vacation in the first place.

February 23, 2010
His advice does work. No doubt. But, I must agree with what Henry posted. It's hard as hell to find a job at all these days, let alone three! While I do still have my job, by the grace of God, I have been unable to take on a part time job, due to the unavailability of them. So, I just have to make do on one salary. The plan will just take a lot longer than it would have with a second job. One weakness Dave has is sitting in the ivory tower too long and not coming down with the common folks and seeing how tough things are these days. Nothing ever changes for him because he is rich and will stay rich, regardless of the economy. Not putting him down, he earned his wealth, but he also did it when times were easier. He fails to realize that. His plan will still work, it just takes longer now due to the economy. But, you can't tell him that.

September 22, 2009
I can listen to Dave from a Ft. Wayne, IN radio station, but doesn't always come in clear. What XM-Radio station is he on?

July 2, 2009
Every Thursday my unit orders pizza for lunch and puts on a Dave Ramsey video for the soldiers to watch. At the end we talk about what we took from the video. Since we have started this program we have less soldiers coming in with money issues and there has been huge drop in creditors calling. I love Dave Ramsey for helping me lead my soldiers in the right financial direction.

April 15, 2009
i was on my job for 24 years and my plant shut down and now i cant't find a job. you always say work 3 jobs!! hell u cant't find a job!!! i am 51 year old and no one wont to hire a 51 year old man and i am about to lose my house my car so big boy do u think a 51 year old man can work 3 jobs when he cant't find one!!!!!!! so what do u think i should do? (without getting a smart reply) who know one day you may be without a job!!!!

March 4, 2009
Your view on Reverse Mortgages. Downsides?

September 10, 2008
david makes me laugh. he sounds like a nice guy who can say a lot of good thing and make money damn near like doctor phil

July 20, 2008
WNEB Radio 1230 AM Worcester Massachusetts first radio station has the David Ramsey radio show proclaiming anyone can get out of debt and start getting on the road to financial stability.

June 6, 2008
My youngest daughter is reading your book and loving it. Never in a thousand years would I have thought that she would get a new perspective on finance. You certainly had an impact on her but I'm sure I'm one of many sharing this comment!!

December 30, 2007
I was listening to Dave on the XM-Radio. I was a owner/operator truck/driver and I was getting out of debt. Then my wife got sick and fuel got to high, I had to give back the truck. I'm trying to get back on track I lost my XM but I wrote a lot of stuff down, so far it's helped. If you can listen to Dave on the radio every day you get a great high (with out the drugs).I really miss listening to Him,But I still have the notes to get me through. I really Hope you listen to him he has great advice. Thank You for letting me talk to you.