Clarifion Air Ionizer Reviews

Clarifion Air Ionizer
( 23 reviews )
Website: Clarifion.com

Reviewopedia is supported by our readers. This page contains Amazon links through which we may earn a small commission for purchases.

The Clarifion Air Ionizer is a compact air purifier marketed by Clarifion, a California based company that manufactures home air purifying solutions.  

Their product line offers several options using both traditional air filtering methods, along with their highly-touted air Ionizing technology.

There are many reasons why you would want to use an air purifier at home, and Clarifion claims that their products can address all of these needs, whether it be germs or airborne pollutants entering your home.

Below we’ll take a closer look at their most popular products, the Clarifion Air Ionizer and the AerClear Purifier to see if they live up to their claims.

How Does the Clarifion Air Ionizer Work?

At first glance there’s a lot to like about this unit.  It’s small, has virtually no setup time, operates at a whisper level, and requires no ongoing maintenance.

According to Clarifion the unit works by releasing negative ions into the air - up to 10 Million pcs/cm^3 of Negative Ion-Output.

The idea is that these ions attach to airborne particles, weighing them down, which removes them from the breathable air in your home.

They state that this can work on:

  • Germs
  • Odors
  • Pollutants
  • Dust
  • Pollen
  • Dander
  • Smoke

Note: The company does clarify that the Clarifion Air Ionizer will not eliminate the smell of cigarettes but can help with the actual smoke.  The same goes for pet odors, the Clarifion can help eliminate smells but not totally eliminate them.

Each unit is designed to cover up to 150 square feet.  Clarifion recommend getting one per every room you want purified, ideally placed in a location that maximizes airflow.  The company states that the filter is safe to use in any room and around pets.

Although the light is a good indicator that the device has power, there is no way to determine whether it is removing particles from the air.

Unfortunately, this is a complaint that applies to most air purifiers, as there’s no easy way to tell whether these invisible particles are being removed.

Does Air Ionizing Technology Actually Work?

There are some studies that point to the benefits of Air Ionizers, concluding that in their tests, negative air ions were able to reduce respirable and inhalable dust and efficiently reduce fine particulate matter in the air.

There are also new studies focusing on Air Ionizers as a method to neutralize the SARS-CoV-2 virus because of their ability to release ozone.

Ozone, an oxidizing gas, has been shown to kill bacteria, fungi and molds, and inactivate viruses.  However, more research is needed into this specific application.

Down Sides and Potential Side Effects of Breathing Ionized Air

Some of those same studies into air ionizers effectiveness also reveal some potential drawbacks.  For instance, portable air cleaners can both remove and generate pollutants indoors due to ozone release.

Breathing in Ozone can lead to some minor negative side effects like throat irritation and coughing, but prolonged use can also include things like lung inflammation and increased risk of infections.

If you suffer from any breathing conditions like asthma it’s best to consult with your doctor before using an Air Ionizer.

Furthermore, Air Ionizers have their limitations, particularly when it comes to removing larger particles from the air, oftentimes those that trigger allergies or asthma.  

They also are not effective against volatile organic compounds (VOCs) such as those released from paints and some cleaning supplies.

Another concerning factor is that the California Air Resources Board’s position is that, “ozone generators are ineffective at cleaning indoor air and inhaling ozone poses serious health risks for humans and animals.”

Currently, Clarifion is not on their list of banned devices, presumably because of its lower concentrations of emitted ions, but this statement is condemning nonetheless.

Additional Clarifion Products

AerClear 3 Stage HEPA Home Air Purifier - As an alternative to the questionable Ion purifier, Clarfion sells a true Hepa filter option.  This unit has a 3 stage filter and claims to capture 99.7% of airborne particles.

 

Clarifion DSTx - Their latest release.  This option is a hybrid of the two technologies, offering a Hepa Filter, Carbon filter for gasses and odors, along with the negative ion generator.

Cost, Price Plans & Customer Service

On Amazon you can purchase:

You can email Clarifion support at [email protected].  The BBB lists their phone number as (866) 211-0306.

The company states its name as Air Soap LLC and is registered in the state of Wyoming, yet on another part of their website they state they are located in Newport Beach, California.

Clarifion offers a 30-day satisfaction guarantee from the day that you receive the product. If you aren’t satisfied you can request a refund but may be charged a 15% restocking fee.

Clarifion Customer Reviews

The Clarifion Air Ionizer has fairly positive reviews on Amazon but with an overall very mixed reputation.

Some of the more concerning reviews on Amazon were from people who deemed the unit a fire risk, as it turned their outlets black.  

One customer pointed out that the device comes with a warning label for it to be cleaned and inspected to avoid risk of fire.

Other reviewers simply stated that they felt no difference and that it was difficult to tell if the product was doing anything at all.

Some had issues with the lights in the unit going out and not having any way to repair or replace them after the initial 30 day refund period.

The AerClear Purifier has even better reviews on Amazon with a 4.5/5 rating, though there are few reviews which makes them less reliable.

The company has a B rating with the BBB and a rating of 1.74/5 stars from 97 customer reviews.  Many of the complaints there stem from poor customer service issues.

Competitors and Alternatives

If you’re in the market for a new air purifier, there are plenty of products for you to choose from.  When in doubt, it’s often best to consider a recognized brand with excellent customer service.

One option is the Honeywell True HEPA Allergen Air Purifier, which does require changing a filter, but it’s a good option as it cleans the air in your home up to five times per hour.

The Honeywell boasts excellent reviews, receiving a rating of 4.8/5 stars from nearly 30,000 customer reviews.

At $220 it's more expensive than the Clarifion, but it comes in an extra-large size so that you can clean your entire home with one device.

Does Clarifion Really Work?

While there is research to support some of the claims made by Clarifion, at this time we would not recommend the product.

The Clarifion Air Ionizer may be able to clear your air of tiny particles and some bacteria, but we believe it falls short in the more important task of removing large particulates that are the cause of most breathing issues.

Further, while negative ion technology can deactivate viruses, more research is needed to test its effectiveness against the Covid virus - one of the likely reasons for purchasing an air ionizer.

It seems that a high quality Hepa filtered air purifier would have a more noticeable effect on household air, especially against more common environmental hazards like wildfire smoke or pollution.

Even though the company claims that the Clarifion Plug-In Air Ionizer is hands off, the fact is that it does not actually rid your household of contaminants.

It is not a true filter, meaning the neutralized dust particles are still in your home just not in the air, which still requires cleaning.

If you have any experience with the Clarifion Air Ionizer or their other air purifiers, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

Clarifion Air Ionizer Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

POOR customer service
October 27, 2022

I ordered this product and after consulting with my doctor, I wanted to cancel my order. I placed the order and within 45 minutes I called to cancel The operator said my order was already in delivery and could not be cancelled. Then offered me 50 pct off. I just wanted to cancel!!!

I refused the offer and asked for return labels. She said she would send them to me in email.

I will return this product. POOR customer service!!!

they don't work!
October 15, 2022

Well I was caught at a vulnerable moment after dusting my house so I decided to buy.

Bought one for every room. Got them plugged them in and after a few days I dusted again and couldn't tell any difference. So for the price I contacted support and we chatted back and forth. They offered my a 50% refund if I would keep and I declined. Told them I wanted a refund that 50% was still too much $ for something I was unhappy with so they agreed to give my an 85% refund and told me to keep the product.

They also sent me an email of our entire conversation, so if I don't receive my refund in a couple of days I will contact my credit card company and send them the email.

BIG SCAM!!!
October 4, 2022
DON'T DEAL WITH THIS DISHONEST COMPANY!!! I was in the process of ordering one of these, when I decided there was no way something that small could work, so I changed my mind. I had already clicked on PayPal as means of payment, but I still had not completed the order when I left the web site. Those dirty crooks processed the order anyway! When I got an e-mail that my order was on the way I was shocked and called customer service. I told them I changed my mind before the order was completed and did not order it. I was told that if I send it back (even unopened) I would be charged $5.00 restocking fee - I would NOT be refunded 7.95 shipping or 5.16 taxes and I had to pay for return shipping on top of all that (another 7.95) So out of the 58.00 I was ILLEGALLY charged, I would only get a refund of 32.00 for something I didn't even order! SCAM COMPANY INDEED!!!

Fly Killer?
September 25, 2022

Just read all of the above reviews and I plan to throw away all 6 of the ones I bought. And you may not believe this - but it kills any flies that come in my home! I swear, I find dead flies on the carpet and window sills.

Don't need a fly swatter! And no, I am not over run with flies but with summer and the door open occasionally for my cats, they do wander in. If flies die - what's it doing to the air we are breathing?

Stops Working Within Months
September 8, 2022

I would give them -0 if possible. I purchased 6 in January & 2 already stopped working (8 months) called cs & was told that after 30 days( because I didn't purchase warranty, I couldn't get replacement) , of course company claims product will last approximately a year or 2 ; they are all liars & I will never purchase anything else, ..

My husband just purchased the odrx unit ...Guess what ? It goes back, it came package was opened!! My air is no different, I have a large room purifier that works!!! Clarifion is terrible, please don't waste your $$$$!!!

No support from the company.
July 12, 2022

Purchased the Clarifion air purifier units which plug into wall outlets. Several of the units created a kind of gray coating on the units which spread to the wall around the outlets

Could not clean it off. Have to repaint.

Company said too bad. Past 30 days and they not only will not refund my money, but will not offer any remuneration for cost of painting. Don’t buy this product.

Moni July 26, 2022

Light went out after 30 days, expensive plug-in. Purchased three and the other two are still "working". I'm not totally confident that they do what company promises.

Don't bother
May 6, 2022

Waste of money

Wanted to stop the purchase...no

More expensive than the site seemed to advertise.

Customer service? Incompetent.

Useful device? No, no, no.

DeborahSmith June 20, 2022

I bought two of the units they arrived in Dec of 2021 … plugged them in …. First notice is the blue light is very bright for a bedroom … but we adjusted … after 2-3 days I noticed a difference …. No more clearing my throat in the morning or stuffy head … so I thought - OH Wow … this is awesome.

We rocked along with the bright blue light in our dark bedroom and them one day (June ‘22) I noticed one of the units - there was no blue light …. Unplugged it and tried it in other plugs - no light … and then 2 days later the bright blue light in our bedroom no longer works …. So I contacted the company - they couldn’t find my initial purchase …. So I had to find my original paperwork and call back.

2 business days later I find my original paperwork and email them the information. And their reply was basically - so sorry but you have had the unit longer than 30 days - even though their Website says the units should last between 2-3 years.

If the unit is only gonna last barely 6 months it is not worth the price or aggravation!

Deborah Smith, East Texas

Didn't work
April 8, 2022

I have asthma and I read the reviews on this product. I bought one for my bedroom and it did nothing for me.

ColvinSmith June 01, 2022

I purchased one of these units, and after several hours of use, as an asthmatic, I had severe coughing, did not notice any difference in air quality. unit is unplugged and back in the box.

Clarifion air ionizer SCAM
April 6, 2022

I purchased 6 of the Clarifion Air Ionizers on 12/18/2021 and have had them plugged in every since.

I faithfully wipe them clean every 2 weeks as instructed. I can see absolutely no difference in air quality or in nose, throat, or lung symptoms.

I conclude that they are another big SCAM.

Not worth the money
March 4, 2022

Not worth it, and they do not last long with no refund.

Clarifion is a scam. No customer service
January 31, 2022

I purchased 9 clarifions, and it is a scam. I tried calling them to ask if I needed to buy more for our house of 1700 sq ft. I had to leave a message. No response. I then emailed this company...no response. Their product is a total scam. This company will not give a label or any address to return their product. I just had to throw them away. No one likes to be taken advantage of and the whole ordeal was exhausting.

Mystery
December 9, 2021
I know there is no way it is working. But I haven't seen any improvement either!!!

After a fair trial period it will not work.
November 8, 2021
Does not work . Do not waste your money. Tried all actions to give it a chance .

SueF December 03, 2021

I have to agree. My husband purchased 3 of them for me....to help with allergies. I can't tell any difference whatsoever. Total waste of money.

Kary January 31, 2022

I totally agree. they wont return calls , so you cant even ask how to return this totally useless product, I just had to throw away all 9 of the ones I bought!

PaulSmith May 16, 2022

Their customer service is non-existent. Good luck in getting any resolution with any problems.

Save your money
August 8, 2021

Suffering with allergies, I saw this company online and it sounded good so stupid me, I ordered 6 of them. After receiving them and plugging them in I read about the possible flashover so we have been weekly vacuuming them to be safe. Then I read that they have to be 5 feet about the floor.

Well I don't know about your house but I've never seen a plug 5 feet above the floor. They don't work, I still have sneezing and congestion just like before and now I've noticed that 3 of them no longer have the blue light lit so I assume they are no longer working if they ever worked from the start.

I see their return police is 30 days, well, too bad for me because I bought them in Dec of 2020 so guess I am screwed all the way around. I wish I had found this site before I bought them. Buyer beware, if it sounds too good to be true, it most likely is.

Jilvel October 11, 2021

I purchased mine about 1/2 years to 2 years ago. I immediately noticed a slight difference in my congestion. (I have a terrible allergy to mold and the place I lived had a lot of it). I do have to agree with you, Dottie, about the plug.

They don't advertise that the outlet should be 5 feet above the ground and, quite frankly, the only ones that I had were in the bathroom and kitchen and they weren't even 5 feet up. Shame on them for not letting the customer know ahead of time about the outlets.

Kary January 31, 2022

I agree, shame on this company for stealing hard earned money from innocent people!

Junk. dont buy this one.
June 26, 2021
This little item cost above $50

This is a scam
February 14, 2021
This is a scam, Clarifion, is a scam, I want my money back. BEWARE people this product is out to scam you. Do not order, DO NOT order.

Submit a Dispute
November 4, 2020
If your product is not as advertised, or you have not received it, you can submit a dispute with your bank or credit card, however you paid. These types of businesses should not be allowed to function, especially during these times.

LibertyAbratique Pedraza February 19, 2021

Thank you for the tip. I just received my orders but its not the products that I ordered. So I called my credit card company and explained to them what happened. I did tried to mail the vendor so I can return the craps that they sent to me.

SCAM
October 30, 2020

It took forever to get my order but they were quick to charge my account.

I have had it plugged in for 2 weeks and all I did was waste electricity. I still have a stuffy nose and just as much dust as before.

I called to get my RMA number so I could return it. I could not understand the woman and I guess she could not understand me because I had to repeat my order number 4 times.

I paid $50 and she wanted to send me $26 plus I had to pay postage to return it.

A rip off if I ever saw one

flashover hazard/poor customer service
October 22, 2020

Very disappointed.

Looked forward to less dust in my house. Opened box and first thing I saw was warning label on side of device stating flashover fire hazard. Did not see this anywhere on website.

Been trying to return for several weeks. Still have not figured out how to do it. Spoke with lady on phone for almost 5 min. Could not understand her due to her accent. Said she would send me an order number (I had lost mine). She never sent it. Guess I'll have to take my loss of over $50.00.

Would never order anything from this Company again.

Patricia Waldo October 30, 2020

Wish I had read this review before I ordered it. I had my order number but that did not help. I had a very hard time understanding her and must have worked both ways because I had to repeat my number 4 times. She would not give me an RMA number that I needed to return the item. I paid over $50.00 and she wanted to give me $26.00 plus I had to pay the postage to return it. I have had mine plugged in for 2 weeks and can tell no difference at all.

Clarifion - Three Clarifions
July 15, 2020

Scammers!!!!! Please do not buy their product, you will regret after you buying.

I was purchase my order since June 3, until now I haven't receive my order yet, I did call and leave the message none of them answer or reply my call, also send them 3 times email to asked, again, none of them are reply my email.

Yes, I did received the tracking #, but the package was stuck INGLEWOOD since June 5th, and then the packet was moving to BRISBANE CA 94005 July 10th and stuck there.

Now I just check where's the packet right now, and it show me the package was in Los Angeles, CA?

GinnyLiz August 30, 2020

When you read this review is seems awkward which makes me think it is phony

GinnyLiz August 30, 2020

I found BBB has a C rating on this company, that is not good