Bird Buddy Reviews

Bird Buddy
( 20 reviews )
Website: MyBirdBuddy.com

Bird Buddy, found at MyBirdBuddy.com, is a smart bird feeder which comes with a camera and app, allowing users to capture and organize photos of birds.

The Bird Buddy is not currently available in stores or online for anyone to purchase because it is still being crowdfunded, but it is available for pre-order.

How Does Bird Buddy Work

This is a smart bird feeder that features a camera and an app that notifies you when a bird is at the feeder.

The app will take photos of the bird and organize them into a folder for you.  Even if you aren’t at home, you will get an up-close and personal look at all of the birds that have arrived at the feeder.

The app allows for unique and interesting close-ups of birds. Because the birds are unaware of the camera, you don’t have to worry about them becoming startled and flying away.

The app can do more than just take pictures and organize them. It also collects different species of birds on the app, so you know what you’ve photographed. It could be exciting to realize that you have a rare specimen that has visited your birdhouse.

Even better, the app has the ability to recognize more than 1,000 bird species.

The birdhouse has a built-in microphone, and it can hear the birds approaching when they start to sing. You will receive a notification so you can see the birds if you would like, or you could have the photos collected.

The intelligence of the smart bird feeder doesn’t stop there, though. Another nice feature is that it will notify you when you need to add more seeds.

The process of putting the seeds in without making a mess is easy, as well. If you’ve ever forgotten to top off other feeders in your hard, this feature alone will be a major help.

The Bird Buddy has been designed to ensure the birds that come to feed are safe and comfortable. It also has a pleasant aesthetic that can work well for most yards.

Overall, the Bird Buddy seems easy to see as well whether it’s adding seeds, charging the camera with the USB-C cord, or using the app.

An Upgradable Solution

The Bird Buddy is sustainable, thanks to the detachable and upgradable module.  This is a nice benefit as it means you will not have to replace the entire birdhouse in a couple of years.

The camera price will be the only thing that you will need to consider when you want to upgrade it later.

What Color Options Are Available?

Currently, there are limited colors available for the Bird Buddy. It is available in either blue or yellow.  However, those colors can work well with just about any type of backyard décor and color scheme.

When Will Bird Buddy Be Available?

According to the information on the IndieGoGo campaign, the bird feeder should be ready for shipping in October of 2021. The release date should be around that time.

The company also has a campaign up and running on Kickstarter, which has a delivery date of September of 2021.  You can also check Backerkit.com to track the progress on their Kickstarter. 

Because the Bird Buddy is not currently available for sale, it is not found on sites like Amazon.

The company has updated it's release date on Kickstarter and IndieGoGo several times.  According to the information on the company website, the release date should allow for the first pre-orders to arrive in June 2022.

What Add-Ons Are Available?

In addition to the Bird Buddy house, there are also some add-ons that some buyers who are considering the birdhouse might want to consider.

The solar roof is a way to ensure that the battery has a charge without needing to unplug it and bring it in for a charge.  This can be convenient, especially if you aren’t going to be home. 

There is also the option of a wall mount and a fence mount. The suet ball holder can help to keep the birds happy and in front of the camera.

What is the Price?

On IndieGoGo, the current price for a Bird Buddy is $189, and this is considered the Early Bird price.  It’s expected to go up to $222 once it hits retail.

You will also find an option for two of the feeders priced at $349. You could opt for three feeders for $499, or even 10 feeders for $1,489.

Those who are interested in the feeder and who have friends or relatives that might want one as well should consider getting one of these larger packages. 

Those who have large yards might also want to consider buying more than one while they are still at this price.

The Bottom Line

The Bird Buddy is an interesting and fun device that can put bird lovers closer to the action than ever before.

It can be used as a learning tool for kids, and it can provide some amazing pictures for a collection or that you could share with social media.

Of course, the product is expensive for a birdhouse even though it has all of those extra features. 

It’s generally best suited to those who want to get as close to the birds in their yard as possible. For those with the interest, it can be a fantastic option.

If you have any experience with Bird Buddy or their products, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

Bird Buddy Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Still waiting
December 1, 2022
I was very excited to receive my Bird buddy this November (2022). I did the special order to ensure that it was delivered in time. As of 12/01/2022 I have not received it. I sent an email to the company and have not received a response .

Beautiful design doesn't make up for lousy implementation
November 21, 2022

It seemed like a cool idea. But it's obviously a kick started rushed campaign that they're now trying to backpedal and blame their customers for their failures.

1. Mesh dual-band routers - don't work. If you have one, expect them to tell you to BUY A NEW ROUTER just for the bird feeder. Um, seriously? And I should connect my phone to that router as well?

2. WPA2 - they claim that if you have both WPA2 and WPA3 that this won't work. why? reasons.

3. "spaces in the password" - never mind that the bird buddy never even SAW the router, apparently they believe that it can magically know about your password BEFORE you connect and if you have spaces there it breaks. I don't, so they didn't have an answer for that aspect.

4. information-less error messages - It spent all night long trying to download a firmware update (I connected it to my phone's hotspot to do so) then failed with an error that said "please contact support"

5. MY ACCOUNT IS GONE - after rebooting my phone I opened up the BirdBuddy app, and my account is gone. My preferred username is "already in use" but they have no record of my email any more. I also can't connect my bird buddy to a new account because I "don't have permission". AKA IT'S BRICKED.

They spent more time on the packaging and the design of the thing and zero time on the app and functionality. And now it's coming back to bite those of us who were stupid enough to support them.

Perfect for bird watchers
November 4, 2022
Love this product! After receiving mine, I immediately ordered one for my sister and father in law (both avid bird watchers). Can’t wait to give it to them for Christmas.

Battery does not indicate it is being charged.
October 30, 2022
Finally received my Birdbuddy (Oct 29, 2022) nearly two years after I ordered. The contents of the package look interesting. I have tried to charge the camera unit, but nothing on the camera indicates it is being charged. Will call tomorrow to determine what to do.

I have it, but it's not working correctly. So frustrated.
October 26, 2022
I ordered this on kickstarter before covid. I have waited two years for this product. It finally arrived last week, and I have had nothing but problems with it since. It takes 'postcards' (pictures) but doesn't send them to me. It has technology to decide which pictures are 'interesting'. I watched so many birds land on the feeder all day, and did not receive one picture. I started a ticket on this with the helpdesk, and this hasn't been resolved. In the meantime I got locked out of the app, and had to contact them to get me back into it again. They blamed me for mistyping my email address. I tried several times with the correct spelling, but was locked out for two days. Now, I can access the app, but the unit will not connect to my wifi. The unit itself is cute, and great packaging,,, but it doesn't work properly. So disappointed. If I can get this working, I will update my review. So far though, I have wasted so much time trying to get this to work.

Such cute product!
October 18, 2022
I got my Bird Buddy in the mail yesterday! It looks so much cuter than I imagined. Can’t wait to set it up on my backyard!

I LOVE it!
October 11, 2022
Got mine! I have to admit I was hesitant with all of the comments I’ve been seeing recently, but I’m so glad I decided to wait it out. 100% worth it. It looks so cute in my yard, wait to see the first birds come in!

birdmomma October 14, 2022

That's funny, because they aren't shipping until November 2022 and you posted this on October 11. lol.

HectorNorris October 24, 2022

Not really sure where you got this information? I received mine on October 10 (1 day before I left this review) and at that point lots of people had received theirs judging by their FB group and the pictures in there.

Like so many others
September 27, 2022

Order placed in July 2021, I discovered with amazement after having checked the follow-up of my order one last time that it was simply canceled in March 2022 and this without an explanation email and of course without refund.

I think there will be very, very many victims. Purchased by card. I can say goodbye to my $202...

You Will Never Get The Product
September 19, 2022
Same scenario for me. Purchased in Nov 2021 with promised delivery in April 2022. No product delivered but then an email saying order was cancelled. No refund to my account. They said the order was NOT cancelled but that they were having shipping delays. I asked for a refund but then they said they had problems issuing refunds through PayPal & offered alternatives. I told them I wanted to go through PayPal only. That was 3.5 months ago. PayPal won’t help because it’s been more than 180 days. Unbelievable.

Scammed Plain and Simple
September 6, 2022
Just another bird liver who has been scammed. Paid for three feeders in early 2021 but still nothing. When I have contacted their customer service, they indicate they will refund but then nothing happens…..We have all been taken advantage of, I am afraid.

Scammed
August 1, 2022
Ordered in Jan 2022, was supposed to be delivered in May, then June, then when I looked, they canceled my order, no email on cancellation, no refund either. Supposedly a glitch in the system, just a "KS" to the end of your order number. Too late to dispute through PayPal. They emailed that they will Zelle my payment back to me if I give them all my information. So I guess I have been scammed.

They are scammers
July 30, 2022
Scammers. Pure and simple.

Amazon sell a load of alternatives that exist
July 30, 2022

They send you email after email telling you how excited they are about their product. They put back date of delivery time after time because of Covid or the Chinese or problems getting parts or there is an r in the month. They are utterly tone deaf, excitedly telling you they are excited to see your photos of birds without delivering the goods.

Go elsewhere.

REALLY? WHAT BS
July 27, 2022

DITTO. Ordered June 5th For "Fathers Day Special"

Really needed it for my wife's bday August 5th

No word from the company and no phone number to call. I have asked for a refund today. Doubt I'll see it. Luckily I paid with paypal and will open up a dispute!

This is a SCAM (i'm sorry to inform you)
July 13, 2022

I ordered my Bird Buddy for mothers day over a year ago... this is a scam. DO NOT BUY FROM THEM.

You may never actually get what you pay for.
May 29, 2022
Paid for it over 2 years ago. Still waiting. This is absurd.

Empty promises and no product
April 28, 2022

It’s been over a year since I paid for mine in the pre-order indiegogo. I just received another email today maybe the fourth or fifth delay email. More and more excuses. Exports issues. Technical issues. Production. Covid. So many excuses and not any delivered products. Extremely disappointing and feels like a scam in every way.

LindaKiser May 07, 2022

I also paid and preordered -and have not received the product. Why aren’t they bringing this down if it is a scam ? Why is Amazon allowing it to be on their site as well???

KevenKnight May 08, 2022

I also paid in May of 2021 and have not received the product.

DelayedForever May 08, 2022

Same. Ordered mine in september 2021 and all I get is regular e-mail notifications about delayed shipment due to whatever reason they can come up with. Everything looks legit except that it probably isn’t.

Fake Product
April 11, 2022

This product is a scam it's just a cash grab to get as many orders as possible and not deliver a product. I'm surprised advertisers are still allowing them to post adds. I ordered my unit over 1.5 years ago, money down the drain...

This is a scam!!!
April 7, 2022

They are not fullfilling the orders they have but continue to solicit new ones while feeding those of us who are waiting excuses.

It's a scam
March 18, 2022
Delay after delay. Recently started blasting social media with an ad campaign without and substantive update on an actual release. It looks like they're making one last cash grab before closing shop. They were having firmware issues that show no sign of being resolved.

RoyceWitherspoon May 29, 2022

Paid for mine over two years ago... Newest update says it will arrive in Autumn. This is absurd.