Babylist Registry Reviews

Babylist Registry
( 24 reviews )

Babylist Registry is a company that states they give customers a chance to register for all their favorite baby products on one single registry, regardless of what store the item comes from. 

How Does Babylist Work?

According to their website, the creator of Babylist.com was pregnant with her first child when she realized how limiting and restrictive the traditional baby registry process was.

While she did want to register for a variety of items, they weren’t all necessarily from the same store, and she didn’t just want to register for things you could buy from the store. She was also interested in registering for things like dog sitting services and some home cooked meals. 

Since a registry this eclectic and all-inclusive didn’t exist, she decided to create Babylist.com. Since this company first launched, their website says that 1 in 5 first time families use Babylist for their registry and they have more than one million families using their website each month. 

Babylist.com allows you to put any item from any store onto your registry, as well as to register for additional items like home-cooked meals, second-hand baby clothes, or help caring for a pet. They also let you register for cash items, like starting a college fund. 

This website doesn’t only give their customers the ability to register for items from a bunch of different stores, they also provide them with a variety of guides for customers including Best Strollers, Best Car Seats, Best Baby Bottles, and much more.

Mobile Options

Currently Babylist.com can be reached from a desktop computer, as well as on mobile platforms including iOS and Android.

Cost/Price Plans

Because some items will be purchased directly from Babylist, this website does not actually charge their customers any fees for using their service.

The only time fees will be charged is when a cash gift is made using a credit card, and the fee of 2.9% plus $0.90 is intended to cover the cost of card processing. 

Refund Policy

Because not all gifts will be purchased directly from Babylist but will instead redirect customers to the original store to purchase, customers will need to first determine if the item they want to return comes from Babylist or another retailer.

If it comes from another retailer, customers will need to go to that retailer’s website, find their Return Policy, and follow those instructions in order to successfully return their product. 

If the item you are hoping to return was purchased through Babylist, you will need to contact their Customer Service team to return your item. They do ask that you include the Babylist order number in your email to make the process as fast and easy as possible. 

All items purchased from Babylist are accepted up to 90 days from date of purchase and items must be in original packaging. Some items may have different restrictions or requirements, but these will be included with your Babylist product at the time of purchase.         

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact Customer Service with any questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link.  

Reputation

This company does not appear to have many traditional customer reviews at this time, but new mothers on baby and pregnancy forums who have used this service appear to be really happy with both its convenience and its flexibility.

Since it is free to create a registry, customers are welcome to try this product for themselves. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are many different companies that offer customers the ability to create baby registries, including other websites which allow you to compile multiple registries into a single place, including MyRegistry for baby registries and Zola for wedding registries.

If you have any experience with Babylist Registry or their services, please leave your reviews below.

Babylist Registry Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Babylist Hello Baby Box
May 15, 2022

The box that “comes” with the registry is very underwhelming. They charge you $10 shipping along with several other steps to qualify but it does not have $10 worth of stuff in it. I’m not sure if they forgot some of the stuff in my box, but amazons was much better.

Even target and Buy Buy Baby had equal to better boxes with less hassle. Besides a ton of ads, it contained a bottle, two pacifiers and a few SMALL samples of wipes, diapers and stretch mark lotion. Went through the hassle because I heard it was a good box and you received a bottle sampler, onesie, blanket, hats, etc but that must be the old box. Very disappointed.

Misleading Info
May 10, 2022
What baby list doesn't tell you is that if you make a registry with them and add the different stores, you lose the extra return protection that a registry usually offers. For example, if you have a registry directly through Amazon, you have a 365 day return policy for items bought on registry. However, if you bought it through babylist, you only have the 30 day return policy. Very disappointed, knowing that most items bought on a registry is 30 days before the event happens; so, you are not able to return item. In my case it was a $400 baby cam that did not work

Absolutely ZERO Surprise!
May 7, 2022

I was very disappointed to hear that my daughters, who had back-to-back baby showers, were able to see every single item that I personally bought for them.

Now while I think it's a great idea to have a registry, I think it's wrong that the surprise of knowing who bought the gift/s can be known ahead of time, instead of after the baby shower date.

Where's the Gift I Ordered??
April 28, 2022

Babylist receives a low rating because, after all, keeping track of items that have been ordered off the registry and shipping them in time for a baby shower is their job!! I placed my order one month prior to the shower date and received confirmation of my order and a notice that it had shipped.

So I waited. And waited. And nothing. I couldn't get a "live" person, their tracking tool only got me to FedX that said the order was pending, and their trouble shooting options were not satisfactory. I canceled the order. They refunded my money, but gave no explanation.

Fortunately, I was able to order the same item through Amazon. My gift will arrive just one day before the shower! Frustrating when I initiated my order a month in advance.

Makes no sense - very annoying
April 22, 2022

I’m so frustrated with this site! Some items on my daughters registry have “add to cart” (which is good!) and many others don’t! Why?? Why should I have to keep going to other sites, from baby list, to make purchases and then navigate back to say I purchased it?

I bought a baby gift for my friends daughter (had to leave Baby list and go onto Amazon to purchase) and it came to me instead of to her- now I have to wrap it and get it to the recipient - incredibly annoying.

I’m worried that others will have this happen who are invited to her shower.

Given a broken item and customer service never responded
April 22, 2022

Overall it wasn't too terrible, I liked that you could compare prices from the stores items are available at. The biggest downfall was customer service and the return policy.

I got a diaper pale, opened it and it was already broken. It could not be fully put together and, in fact, was supposed to be "no assembly required."

Relooked at the box and notice it had the word "TRASH" written in sharpy on the sides of the box.

Either babylist meant to scrap it or another customer got it and returned after opening and then it got sent to me. I emailed customer service to try and get a refund or exchange even though we had already opened it. I never got a response.

I should have just taped the box back up and returned it, but if that's how I got the broken item I didn't want to mess it up for someone else. So no refund and a useless diaper pale, waste of money.

Scam, Beware!!
March 12, 2022
I had a HUGE problem with registry. People were giving me Babylist gift cards but none of my big items were available for purchase at the Babylist online store. I now have all this credit that will be completely useless. Babylist has no customer service people available via phone to resolve the issue. They claim that they have "Happiness Heroes" available via email but they don't it's an automated chat system where you pick from a multiple choice box. However, this issue wasn't listed as an option so there's basically no way for me to get my money back. This is a serious scam. They should be sued and reported to every Better Business Bureau and every possible agency to let consumers know. BEWARE!!

Surprise Ruined! Babylist receives an F!
March 9, 2022

I can see how expecting parents may find this convenient, but after using this site to get a baby shower gift, I would NEVER recommend it! Using the site itself seemed simple enough. I clicked on the store I wanted to purchase from (Amazon and Walmart) and was taken to that store. I purchased from the store and had the item(s) shipped to me.

However, when I went back to the site to indicate I had purchased the item, input the requested information, it let me know at the end that the recipients would see what I was giving them.

There was no way to "uncheck" that I had purchased the item and no way to delete my info. Completely ruined the surprise! I will never use this site again and highly discourage others from using it.

Never again
October 5, 2021

I had my first and only experience with this company when a friend listed this company as the source to get baby items for her baby shower. It winds up my package never made it in time for the shower even though the expected delivery was the day before the shower. I reached out to the company via email. I got an automated response basically telling me that I had to wait for the standard shipping time to be up which is 5 to 15 business days.

Even after I told him that the package was tracked to a certain location and it was stuck there for a week. They never offered to find out anymore because I personally couldn’t do it as I was not the sender of the package. I waited until the 15 days was up unfortunately was on a Friday so I waited until Monday reached out again saying that the package never arrived and I wanted my money back.

They never responded to me never offered to find out where the package was why it was delayed if it had officially gotten lost. But somehow miraculously the package moved. Then I started getting notification saying that the package was going to be delivered. Those updates came from a separate app. I have not heard from anybody from Babylist. Not offering any sort of compensation for the delay for the fact that the items never arrived In time for the event.

Never again, read the fine print on returns.
October 4, 2021
As others have stated, you cannot contact the company. I ordered something for my daughter and opened it to see the size and how it was made. I was unhappy with the quality but now because I opened the package, I can't return it. This is unheard of. How are you supposed to see an item of clothing folded and through plastic? And I could have purchased the item directly from the manufacturer or Saks 5th Avenue, both who take returns.

Inconvenient but effective
September 1, 2021
I recently used this for my son and daughter in law and it was kind of a pain. Like the other reviews said once you leave the website to purchase from another company you have to go back to Babylist and enter your purchase info. I had most items with free shipping because of Amazon and didn't have to purchase directly from babylist.

SCAM WARNING
July 22, 2021
WARNING SCAM they take out all your personal information to do the registration, they make you waste time and money buying something in the store and paying shipping more expensive than Amazon and after all those steps they warn you that the welcome babylist box is OUT OF STOCK because they do not clarify it before !!!

Please stop using this registry
October 19, 2020

Please, Moms to Be, stop using this registry. I can see where it is presented to you as super easy - everything you want from multiple stores. But for the folks trying to buy things off your list, it is an absolute nightmare. I say this having used it twice now for two different babies. Nightmare. Your address does not translate over to the places where your items are specified so we have to look up and type in your address over and over if we want to get you multiple items and they happen to be from multiple stores.

Once you are transferred to the online store, there is not a good way to get back to your baby list so you just have to keep reopening it. Then baby list wants you to verify what you bought from where and you have to enter your email and order number for each item for it to save. Seriously, I nearly just gave up. It makes gift giving a chore and a hassle - I want feel joy showering you. Not anger and frustration over a super clunky process.

Plus, the prices on things change and many times cost more than what the baby list price says. This is especially true for Etsy items. You can’t get free shipping unless you buy everything from baby list, which almost always is out of stock. So if you want to buy multiples and they are from different sites/stores, then your spending a ton in shipping.

For example, say I wanted to buy a baby tub, some rubber duckies and a monogrammed robe with towels and washcloths. Nice gift, right? Nightmare to try to do through your Babylist. I’d be better off pulling this together through Amazon or Target. The next time I see a babylist registry I’m going to just say no.

Overpriced ways to get you to spend for nothing
September 24, 2020
They want you to spend $10 plus $6 shipping fees to become eligible for the welcome box you then also have to pay another $6 shipping fee for. They are way behind their competitors considering an incredibly limited selection and being higher in price for every item than literally all others (amazon, target, Walmart, etc)

Worst website ordering and customer service
July 1, 2020
Order wouldn't go through, tried to get ahold of someone but could only email them, no phone contacts listed. Tried for 2 days with no help. I will never order from this company again.

Hate Babylist
March 11, 2020

Worst customer service I have ever experienced.

On the website it says if you spend $50 shipping is free. What they don't tell you is that has to be only for items purchased from Babylist. I selected from several different vendors thinking I'd get free shipping since my total was over $50. I ended up paying $6 for shipping one inexpensive item from Babylist. By the time I realized that I had already put the order through. I asked via chat what the policy was for free shipping at Target and they didn't know. Are you kidding me? Good customer service would be that they would know what all the vendors they work with charge for free shipping.

I will do what others have suggested: buy directly from Target or Amazon and let the moms who registered with babylist figure it out.

horrible company
January 22, 2020
This company sucks. they redirect you to other websites then send your item to the wrong person. when i entered a name it said there was only one person registered with that name. apparently the website it redirected me to had several people with the same name. it asks if you want it sent to that person but doesn't give the address so you don't know it's going to the wrong person until you get an email from some random stranger in another state thanking you for the gift. when you call the company they just tell you there's nothing they can do about it, it wasn't their fault.

Overpaid
November 30, 2019
Hard to navigate, placed order, never processed correctly. Overpaid, horrible site!

Pretty Great Registry Option
July 14, 2019

I haven't had any problems with this website, except one: once someone reserves an item (even if they haven't purchased it) it becomes completely unavailable for someone else to purchase. This is annoying when the person who reserves the item(s) forgets to buy it or changes their mind. Only they can unreserve it, and I wish that I could. I've been giving people a week or two, but then I have to delete the item and add it again. Not the end of the world, but if they allowed the creator of the registry to unreserve items, I think the website would be damn near perfect.

People are complaining about it being difficult to return things or get things replaced, but I had no problem with that. As long as you have a gift receipt (or contact the person who bought it for you and get a receipt from them), then it's pretty easy. Most of the time, you have to contact the manufacturer, NOT Target or Amazon or Babylist or whatever.

I love this registry because it compares prices for your friends and family and I get an email telling me every time someone buys something right when they buy it. And they let you know if an item becomes unavailable or has a price change.

Don't do it!
May 3, 2019
I made a registry and payed the shipping for my welcome baby box. Well my card was charged, I got an email with a tracking number. I waited. After waiting a week I checked the tracking number and UPS site stated they were still waiting on the PKG that only the shipping label had been printed. So I emailed the babylist customer service. They tell me ups lost a bunch of their pkgs that they would send out another one. Well long story short 19 emails and 2 months later still excuses and no new tracking number and of course no box! Oh and no money back!!!!!