Babylist Registry Reviews

Babylist Registry
( 33 reviews )

Babylist Registry is a company that states they give customers a chance to register for all their favorite baby products on one single registry, regardless of what store the item comes from. 

How Does Babylist Work?

According to their website, the creator of Babylist.com was pregnant with her first child when she realized how limiting and restrictive the traditional baby registry process was.

While she did want to register for a variety of items, they weren’t all necessarily from the same store, and she didn’t just want to register for things you could buy from the store. She was also interested in registering for things like dog sitting services and some home cooked meals. 

Since a registry this eclectic and all-inclusive didn’t exist, she decided to create Babylist.com. Since this company first launched, their website says that 1 in 5 first time families use Babylist for their registry and they have more than one million families using their website each month. 

Babylist.com allows you to put any item from any store onto your registry, as well as to register for additional items like home-cooked meals, second-hand baby clothes, or help caring for a pet. They also let you register for cash items, like starting a college fund. 

This website doesn’t only give their customers the ability to register for items from a bunch of different stores, they also provide them with a variety of guides for customers including Best Strollers, Best Car Seats, Best Baby Bottles, and much more.

Mobile Options

Currently Babylist.com can be reached from a desktop computer, as well as on mobile platforms including iOS and Android.

Cost/Price Plans

Because some items will be purchased directly from Babylist, this website does not actually charge their customers any fees for using their service.

The only time fees will be charged is when a cash gift is made using a credit card, and the fee of 2.9% plus $0.90 is intended to cover the cost of card processing. 

Refund Policy

Because not all gifts will be purchased directly from Babylist but will instead redirect customers to the original store to purchase, customers will need to first determine if the item they want to return comes from Babylist or another retailer.

If it comes from another retailer, customers will need to go to that retailer’s website, find their Return Policy, and follow those instructions in order to successfully return their product. 

If the item you are hoping to return was purchased through Babylist, you will need to contact their Customer Service team to return your item. They do ask that you include the Babylist order number in your email to make the process as fast and easy as possible. 

All items purchased from Babylist are accepted up to 90 days from date of purchase and items must be in original packaging. Some items may have different restrictions or requirements, but these will be included with your Babylist product at the time of purchase.         

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact Customer Service with any questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link.  

Reputation

This company does not appear to have many traditional customer reviews at this time, but new mothers on baby and pregnancy forums who have used this service appear to be really happy with both its convenience and its flexibility.

Since it is free to create a registry, customers are welcome to try this product for themselves. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are many different companies that offer customers the ability to create baby registries, including other websites which allow you to compile multiple registries into a single place, including MyRegistry for baby registries and Zola for wedding registries.

If you have any experience with Babylist Registry or their services, please leave your reviews below.

Babylist Registry Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Poor service
January 6, 2023

Poor customer service. AI chat is ignorant. Customer service will not talk to you, hide behind ignorant wall of chat which is unsatisfactory.

Jgintx January 27, 2023

Agree 100%. Had the same experience. I had difficulties making a purchase and there was absolutely no customer support for this problem. Then I found the same item selling for 15% less on Amazon.

Increases costs, no safety net for returns.
October 31, 2022

They allow for group gifts, but in the fine print it says that you can only spend the funds at their store. You can't fix this once someone has already contributed to the group gift. Since their store charges more than other vendors, you end up wasting your friends' money.

They also are useless if you receive a damaged product from a vendor and the vendor does not respond to attempts to return the item. I understand this is their business model, however I found the babylist staff who responded to messages/inquires to be condescending and unhelpful.

They are essentially like an Amazon registry, but without the customer service, refund policies, or ease of use. They are not a small enough business to make it worth putting up with these additional hassles. I would recommend using another site.

Poor customer service
September 20, 2022

If I honestly could give them a 0 a would . I purchased Dr Brown’s Milk spa for my 3 month old . The item stopped working within a month of purchase. When I reached out about returning the item,

This what I was told : please read below . This is a nightMare to ask a new, non sleeping mom.

How is this helpful to a new mother. I really did not want a refund. I wanted a replacement. However. I do believe the machine may have been defective , but Babylist should be your advocate. When do we have the time to chase and call the manufacturer?

I do NOT recommend them ! They will take your money and if the machine breaks , then you are done . You can’t reach anyone by phone . You have no options . Order from Target , Dr Brown or Amazon. You will come out better .

Debbie Y. (Babylist)

Sep 19, 2022, 1:07 PM PDT

Hi Tracey,

Thanks so much for reaching out to us about this. I'm so sorry you're having difficulties with your Dr. Brown's Milkspa Breastmilk And Bottle Warmer. Since this sounds like a manufacturing defect, contacting Dr. Brown's would be the best place to start. Click here to see their contact information.

In most cases, they can repair or replace a malfunctioning unit within their warranty period. It's also really important for them to record this information in the event other units are experiencing the same issues.

I've attached your receipt to this email should their team need it to help. While this is absolutely the first step in getting this resolved, rest assured that it's not necessarily the last.

It may take the manufacturer up to 10 business days to respond but please let me know if the manufacturer isn't able to get this taken care of for you. I'm always happy to help!

Best,

Debbie Y. • Happiness Hero Specialist

Horrible customer service
September 14, 2022

Horrible customer service! Sent wrong item and then wanted me to bring it to FedEx to return the wrong (large) item.

No compensation for my time or trouble.

Buy from Amazon or another retailer.

Customer Service and Returns
August 17, 2022

Terrible customer service. Received an item and opened it, did not work. Tried to return and they would not accept. They had an option in the return section for “does not work” and they would still not accept the item back. Told me I had to contact the manufacturer to get it replaced. Highly recommend not purchasing anything directly through Babylist.

Terrible Disorganized & unavailable
July 12, 2022

Worst company ever. It’s a 3rd party scam. I have ordered 3x for different showers. They sent all 3 without telling the sender. One was never delivered One order was received by someone other than me ( it had “not Purchased” when I ordered) No phone #. No response via email. Buy your gifts directly from Vendor. This website is horrid and mismanaged. Stay away

Do not use for a registry
July 7, 2022
Such a bad website. They make it impossible to return items and they have no customer service.

Gift Cards only used at Babylist store. New Element of surprise for email.
June 15, 2022

Initially I was happy with this site because it allowed me to have baby items from other websites, so I could support etsy artisans and other ma and pa outfits...

BUT began to realize everything is geared towards their Babylist store.

A couple friends got me Babylist Gift Card, come to find I can only use the gift card on 17 of my entire list of my items! The support team seemed unbending, because the gift cards have no expiration date...and said we can buy diapers...and other consumable items, or car seats as the child leaves infant stage... However, if you do not log in after 6 months Babylist registry closes down from disuse.

Babylist compared itself to Target, in the way that gift cards are only redeemable at that store, but Target carries house hold goods and essentials, not just baby stuff.

I went with Babylist originally because I was opposed to Target and Amazon and I wanted to support small business.

....Now, I have to spend countless more hours trying to see what Babylist sells that crosses over to the ma and pa stores. And hope I can wheedle away at the generous gift card sum. Achieving my goals through this company feels like a let down. If not for the Gift Cards I would have given this service a 4 or 5 star Rating. In hindsight I would leave a note about giftcards on the intro page to avoid this situation... I did not educate myself about Babylist giftcard policy because I didn't imagine people would give giftcards.

UPDATE:

Babylist gave a refund back to the patrons who had given us the gift card! I did not expect that from the company. This has saved me a lot of extra hassle during a time were my bandwidth is pretty low. And I am super grateful. It has allowed me to achieve my goals in supporting small artisans, businesses, and Eco-friendly products.

Element of Surprise with the registry....

The Babylist sends an email with the title- "someone is getting you something" every time someone purchases an item from the list. I just don't read these emails, and that way I remain unaware of who sent what.

In the registry when an item is purchased it says " Marked as Purchased" It doesn't give away the surprise of who bought it.

The emails, are useful to save for later- because they act as a catalogue for sending out thank you notes.

BUT Babylist has added a new element in their emails "someone is getting you something" during the period I have had my registry up! Now, there is an option that allows you to maintain the surprise or see who was the sender, so peeking at emails is not an issue.

I don't look in the boxes as they are delivered. I have my friend, pull out who it is from... (If that is included) and wrap the box nicely. In this way I am able to maintain surprise and not have the room look like a warehouse.

Babylist has been really easy to use and straightforward up until to the gift card frustration which was remedied through emails with their support staff.

DON'T DO IT!
May 21, 2022

Seems like an easy thing to have everything together BUT it makes returning hard. Some of the retailer are not affiliated with Babylist so when you return the product it will be a no receipt return which will take an amount of the regular price of the item.

Somethings ship from vendors directly not any of the stores you registered at so it's hard to know where it was purchased. To get what the gifter paid for your items PLEASE register with the actual store!!! Trust me it will save you the time and headache!!!

Babylist Hello Baby Box
May 15, 2022

The box that “comes” with the registry is very underwhelming. They charge you $10 shipping along with several other steps to qualify but it does not have $10 worth of stuff in it. I’m not sure if they forgot some of the stuff in my box, but amazons was much better.

Even target and Buy Buy Baby had equal to better boxes with less hassle. Besides a ton of ads, it contained a bottle, two pacifiers and a few SMALL samples of wipes, diapers and stretch mark lotion. Went through the hassle because I heard it was a good box and you received a bottle sampler, onesie, blanket, hats, etc but that must be the old box. Very disappointed.

Misleading Info
May 10, 2022
What baby list doesn't tell you is that if you make a registry with them and add the different stores, you lose the extra return protection that a registry usually offers. For example, if you have a registry directly through Amazon, you have a 365 day return policy for items bought on registry. However, if you bought it through babylist, you only have the 30 day return policy. Very disappointed, knowing that most items bought on a registry is 30 days before the event happens; so, you are not able to return item. In my case it was a $400 baby cam that did not work

Absolutely ZERO Surprise!
May 7, 2022

I was very disappointed to hear that my daughters, who had back-to-back baby showers, were able to see every single item that I personally bought for them.

Now while I think it's a great idea to have a registry, I think it's wrong that the surprise of knowing who bought the gift/s can be known ahead of time, instead of after the baby shower date.

Where's the Gift I Ordered??
April 28, 2022

Babylist receives a low rating because, after all, keeping track of items that have been ordered off the registry and shipping them in time for a baby shower is their job!! I placed my order one month prior to the shower date and received confirmation of my order and a notice that it had shipped.

So I waited. And waited. And nothing. I couldn't get a "live" person, their tracking tool only got me to FedX that said the order was pending, and their trouble shooting options were not satisfactory. I canceled the order. They refunded my money, but gave no explanation.

Fortunately, I was able to order the same item through Amazon. My gift will arrive just one day before the shower! Frustrating when I initiated my order a month in advance.

Makes no sense - very annoying
April 22, 2022

I’m so frustrated with this site! Some items on my daughters registry have “add to cart” (which is good!) and many others don’t! Why?? Why should I have to keep going to other sites, from baby list, to make purchases and then navigate back to say I purchased it?

I bought a baby gift for my friends daughter (had to leave Baby list and go onto Amazon to purchase) and it came to me instead of to her- now I have to wrap it and get it to the recipient - incredibly annoying.

I’m worried that others will have this happen who are invited to her shower.

Given a broken item and customer service never responded
April 22, 2022

Overall it wasn't too terrible, I liked that you could compare prices from the stores items are available at. The biggest downfall was customer service and the return policy.

I got a diaper pale, opened it and it was already broken. It could not be fully put together and, in fact, was supposed to be "no assembly required."

Relooked at the box and notice it had the word "TRASH" written in sharpy on the sides of the box.

Either babylist meant to scrap it or another customer got it and returned after opening and then it got sent to me. I emailed customer service to try and get a refund or exchange even though we had already opened it. I never got a response.

I should have just taped the box back up and returned it, but if that's how I got the broken item I didn't want to mess it up for someone else. So no refund and a useless diaper pale, waste of money.

Scam, Beware!!
March 12, 2022
I had a HUGE problem with registry. People were giving me Babylist gift cards but none of my big items were available for purchase at the Babylist online store. I now have all this credit that will be completely useless. Babylist has no customer service people available via phone to resolve the issue. They claim that they have "Happiness Heroes" available via email but they don't it's an automated chat system where you pick from a multiple choice box. However, this issue wasn't listed as an option so there's basically no way for me to get my money back. This is a serious scam. They should be sued and reported to every Better Business Bureau and every possible agency to let consumers know. BEWARE!!

Surprise Ruined! Babylist receives an F!
March 9, 2022

I can see how expecting parents may find this convenient, but after using this site to get a baby shower gift, I would NEVER recommend it! Using the site itself seemed simple enough. I clicked on the store I wanted to purchase from (Amazon and Walmart) and was taken to that store. I purchased from the store and had the item(s) shipped to me.

However, when I went back to the site to indicate I had purchased the item, input the requested information, it let me know at the end that the recipients would see what I was giving them.

There was no way to "uncheck" that I had purchased the item and no way to delete my info. Completely ruined the surprise! I will never use this site again and highly discourage others from using it.

Never again
October 5, 2021

I had my first and only experience with this company when a friend listed this company as the source to get baby items for her baby shower. It winds up my package never made it in time for the shower even though the expected delivery was the day before the shower. I reached out to the company via email. I got an automated response basically telling me that I had to wait for the standard shipping time to be up which is 5 to 15 business days.

Even after I told him that the package was tracked to a certain location and it was stuck there for a week. They never offered to find out anymore because I personally couldn’t do it as I was not the sender of the package. I waited until the 15 days was up unfortunately was on a Friday so I waited until Monday reached out again saying that the package never arrived and I wanted my money back.

They never responded to me never offered to find out where the package was why it was delayed if it had officially gotten lost. But somehow miraculously the package moved. Then I started getting notification saying that the package was going to be delivered. Those updates came from a separate app. I have not heard from anybody from Babylist. Not offering any sort of compensation for the delay for the fact that the items never arrived In time for the event.

Never again, read the fine print on returns.
October 4, 2021
As others have stated, you cannot contact the company. I ordered something for my daughter and opened it to see the size and how it was made. I was unhappy with the quality but now because I opened the package, I can't return it. This is unheard of. How are you supposed to see an item of clothing folded and through plastic? And I could have purchased the item directly from the manufacturer or Saks 5th Avenue, both who take returns.

Inconvenient but effective
September 1, 2021
I recently used this for my son and daughter in law and it was kind of a pain. Like the other reviews said once you leave the website to purchase from another company you have to go back to Babylist and enter your purchase info. I had most items with free shipping because of Amazon and didn't have to purchase directly from babylist.