Zoosk Reviews

Zoosk
Based on 156  Reviews



Review It

About Zoosk

Zoosk, found online at Zoosk.com, is a dating site which says that it helps people date smarter using their own unique technology and is available in more than 80 countries and 25 languages.

How Does It Work?

Like other dating websites, Zoosk allows members to sign up and create a profile completely for free. But as you start looking around and interacting with other members, Zoosk's Behavioral Matchmaking will "learn" about you and begin pairing you with singles you are likely to be mutually attracted to. 

Once you want to begin actually speaking with other members of the site, you will need to upgrade to a paid membership. 

Cost/Price Plans

Though Zoosk does not publish its upgraded membership fees, they are reported on other websites as being $29.95 per month, for a month-to-month subscription, $19.98 a month, billed in one lump sum of $59.95 for three months, and $12.49 a month, billed all at once for $74.95 for a six month subscription. All subscription plans automatic renew unless you cancel in advance of the new billing cycle.  

Mobile Options

Currently Zoosk offers mobile applications for both Android and iOS operating platforms.   

Refund Policy

Since this service is offered with a pay per month plan, as well as all other shipment plans needing to be paid in advance, their Terms and Conditions clearly states that all charges and fees are non-refundable.    

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to speak to their Customer Service team about their questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 888-939-6675, by email at [email protected], or by submitting them directly to their website.  

Reputation

Unfortunately Zoosk has many mixed reviews with unhappy customers complaining that they believe this site sets up fake profiles and provides fake interactions, but there is nothing in their Terms and Conditions which supports these accusations.  

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are many other online dating sites available out there, some of which are straightforward traditional sites like Match.com and eHarmony.com, while others are more targeted towards specific niches, like ChristianMingle.com.  

If you have experience with this company or their products, please leave your Zoosk reviews below.

Related Articles

156 ‘Zoosk’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
Worm
Guest

Waste of money



December4, 2012

I wish I would have read this website before I wasted my money with this site. Scam central, Any one can create a profile but only people who pay can reply so you end up with either people who can't reply to you or scammer's trying to scam. I have meet one or 2 girls on it but nothing worth my time and especially my money. Oh and I'm not sure how they come up with their "scientific match" but I would find more suitable matches if I randomly inserted names into facebook. In other words, it's horrible. It's just another site that takes advantage of people need to be with other and tries to exploit it or money. I hope karma catches up to them.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 21 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment
review author image
Anon
Guest

Scam



December1, 2012

Decided to see how much of a scam this was with my female friend.

We both signed up to Zoosk, on separate computers, and viewed each others profiles. We then both received emails saying that we'd messaged one another, when neither of us had sent the other a message.

Massive scam. It never used to be, but it is now.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 28 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
tim
December 03, 2012

Yes, i agree that it's a massive scam ! they advertise a free date/chat club and once you in they 'sucker you' into giving your banking details away before even chatting !!!!!!!!!!!

tried but no good
December 05, 2012

zoosk = bad news.. try elsewhere.. look out for moneygrabbing sites with no reputation.. use recommendations from friends for "quality" sites. Rembmber, just because a site "looks" good with professional graphics, it doesn't mean it's legit.

Your Comment

review author image
dama
Guest

zoosk sucked me in



November26, 2012

Logged on and set up a profile for free and within minutes receiced a wink and request to chat. Of course I paid 25.00 to subscribe for a month then found out there was an additional 25.00 activation fee and ok went ahead and paid that too... what a fool I was. Get winks and chat request from men not close to my search criteria and get "zoosks scientific matches" on a daily basis... don't know what science they used but it doesn't come close to common sense. Zoosk zucks... don't let them suck u in!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 33 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
C.B
November 29, 2012

I was on the internet looking for legit dateing sites. I seen some of the ratings and Zoosk was one of the higher rated ones. I decided okay I'll give this one a try, after all it was mentioned with some of the others like, Match.com and so forth. So I do my profile and get everything all set up and ready to go. Now I'm thinking this is going to cost me about $25, but they hit me with an activation fee. I Spend over $60 total for one month. Now I set my criteria for who I'm looking for, age 35 to 45. I send out a few winks. It only takes seconds for a responce to come back, but they are all automated saying they appreciate the wink but can you write me a message. So I start writing messages, no responces. They have a thing called mega flirt so I send 150 flirts with one click. Here's what comes back. Remember my criteria, ages 35-45. I'm getting auto responces from 62 year olds. I'm a guy so I'm talking about women. Now I'm always getting alerts saying so and so has viewed me. And it's always the same people. I send them nice messages and no responce. Now repeat this hundreds of times and you start to think this site is nothing but a scam. I'm not tooting my horn, but I'm a nice looking guy and a good person at that. I find that there is no reason that I haven't even chated with one person. I keep setting my criteria to 35-45 year olds, but it doesn't matter. I still have to keep looking at the 20 somethings and 50 and 60 somethings. I'm sure the women are going through the same thing in reverse. Stay away from this dating site, and for those of you not getting what you want out of it, remember it's not you, or at least most of you. "Buyer Beware"

SunShine
December 01, 2012

Thanks for the information. I just joined a few hours ago and same thing! THANKFULLY, I haven't paid them a dime. In the few short hours I've been on, I have gotten mostly 55-65 years old, including hairy and scary, lol!!! My criteria is set at 38-48!

Jen
December 31, 2012

"I have gotten mostly 55-65 years old, including hairy and scary"
Lol!!! Good one

Nepto
March 13, 2013

You get what you have paid for ;-)

Your Comment
review author image
Rachel
Guest

Horrible



November23, 2012

This dating site sucks! I am attractive and get the grossest creepy men hitting on me. It must be the website for old degenerate non-educated idiot men. I closed my account because I was tired of creepy assholes talking to me-old enough to be my father. Don't waste your $ on this-what a joke and scam!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 24 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
mjm
December 06, 2012

THEY ARE HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!11

Moo
December 31, 2012

Yeah that's scary

baah!
December 31, 2012

old? like how old u talking?

Your Comment

review author image
A.D
Guest

Your going to be Surprised from my Story



November22, 2012

My story is going to be hard to believe though I swear its true.
I became a member last night and I spent the f...ing premium membership for a month. I spent a lot of time finding people and winking them. A few replied automatically with their emails. None of them replied after I sent them an email or an IM not even those members which seemed to be online on the zoosk. I was reading the reviews today and I was about to close my account that I got an IM in my Yahoo. In her profile she had smoking hot pictures and apparently from Sacramento. After we started chatting she said she is from Ghana. I went back to check her profile, but she had closed it. After that all of her questions and all of her answers were cliché. I asked what sports do you like and she answered that she is family oriented, caring, outgoing and all that crap. I asked so what about me and you being so far, she replied yeah I have a good sense of humor and shit like that . You may not believe it, but even in Yahoo Messenger someone was copying and pasting other peoples answers without looking at the questions. Unbelievable!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 29 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
C.B.
November 29, 2012

That was a scam. Look up Nigerian scam or African scam. It's about them getting you to be a sucker and give up your money. Be carefull and don't be a sucker.

SunShine
December 01, 2012

Same scam on MATCH. Most are men that appear to be "local". All that I have seen list themselves as "widowed" or "divorced" and they have custody of their child. They are all "entrepreneurs" currently "working" in AFRICA!!!! LOL!! I'm NOT desperate or STUPID!!!!

aba
December 05, 2012

Those generic instant replyies may not even be copy/paste.. there are many many chat "bots" (programed auto-responses) that pretend to be users.

Andrew B.
July 20, 2013

I'm over it. What a crock. I just signed up and I thought that it was a little fishy that three f the 50 plus messages I got today were from girls with sick mothers in Africa. I called them out on their bullshit and I am removing my profile. Or doing what I can to make it not visible

Your Comment
review author image
very upset person
Guest

It is a SCAM site!!!!!!



November13, 2012

I 'clicked' a link in a e-mail sent from my trusty friend. My nightmare startes from there.....

This company ( Zoosk) sent the similar e-mail to alll the people in my 'contact' folder!!!!
And it does again, again.... (sending e-mails On Behalf Of me...).

I checked the Zoosk.com that 'my account is currently INACTIVE'. Of course it asked me to 'recover' it.

Please HELP! How could I remove my 'account' from this evil web site?
How could I stop them sending the e-amils 'on behalf od me)?

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 24 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Steven
November 15, 2012

I found a way to message Zoosk users who initiated a conversation. If they are a subscribed member and either wink or send you a message you can reply even if you are not a paid subscriber. The catch is there is only one time you can send a message. And Zoosk filters block most attempts to send the opposite sex a method of contacting you outside of Zoosk. So I tested my method of communicating with these women who initiated contact and it does work. However, only one woman tried to get back with me and she could not follow the cute little coded message I sent her. The rest of these winks and messages are, in my opinion, not from real members seeking a relationship. They are either bots or paid employees sending out initial contact hoping I will buy a subscription. At first I thought this was a game of numbers and eventually women would contact me back again. It only happened one time.
Zoosk is, in my opinion, just another dating scam. PlentyOfFish and Date Hookup are the best and free. I even had a sub with eHarmony and, even tho I believe they are legit, I have better experiences with POF and DH.
Stay away from Zoosk. It smells rotten of a scam.

Zoosk vic
December 03, 2012

I was also trapped by a zoosk spam scam. I received an email from a friend with a link to his photos. It was plausible that this friend would send me something like that, so I clicked. It was a site that required a sign-up, which I did. That sign-up was a phishing trick; zoosk gets and copies your entire contact list and spams everyone on it through your email account (account hijacking). It copied your contacts to use for spamming, using your email as the "from" address, but actually just spoofing your email account. Recipients all receive the "see my photos" trick, which fools some into joining,, and the scam goes on.

This is a great big violation of every provision of the CAN-SPAM law, and only one program of this great big scam machine.

To get them to actually delete your account, you just call and mail and threaten to sue them. They know they are breaking the law, and will mollify you by deleting your records. THey will, however, continue to spam your contacts.

helper
December 05, 2012

spoofing is one way..

also be careful not to use your EMAIL PASSWORD on you ZOOSK (or othe scam site) ACCOUNT!!!

otherwise they have your EMAIL ADDRESS + EMAIL PASSWORD and therefore the ability to mailbomb (& scam) all of your contacts FROM YOUR account until you :

CHANGE YOUR PASSWORD AND SECURITY CHECK on your email account.

Sorry for the caps but I wanted to be clear ;)

Your Comment

review author image
mark
Guest

zoosk is RUBBISH



November13, 2012

it is a total scam. What is more, if you do put a cc payment down, you can expect to be harrassed with a ton of fake flirts and fake contact requests, just to entice you into continuing your membership. Sitting on a street corner with a placard around your neck with the word "SINGLE" on it is preferable to using Zoosk. Oh so very AVOID

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 25 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
leo
December 09, 2012

thanks a lot almost fell in to it

mitten
December 31, 2012

"Sitting on a street corner with a placard around your neck with the word "SINGLE" on it is preferable to using Zoosk."

Lol!

Your Comment
review author image
Doug Engle
Guest

Beware of Zoosk



November12, 2012

A parent from my son's soccer team had her email contacts exposed and supposedly sent me a request to see a picture. Zoosk then hijacked my contacts and rapidly started sending emails out from me to all my contacts.

Zoosk is a fraud by not specifically asking for permission and disguising a friendly photo as bait.

DON'T USE ZOOSK

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 27 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Kay
November 12, 2012

Same thing happened to me.. They not only emailed my contacts but everyone that has emailed me. Scary stuff. And a pain to have to try to let everyone know it's a hoax

Shamey
November 15, 2012

ditto - fortunately,I have some intelligent friends who wrote me back first before doing anything. The ones who went ahead and started to sign up like I did are not getting hit with the same thing (having their email address book invaded). I know we've lost all sense of privacy with the Internet, but this feels more invasive than usual, and not in a good way.

Your Comment

Leave a Review