Zoosk Reviews

Zoosk
Based on 156  Reviews



Review It

About Zoosk

Zoosk, found online at Zoosk.com, is a dating site which says that it helps people date smarter using their own unique technology and is available in more than 80 countries and 25 languages.

How Does It Work?

Like other dating websites, Zoosk allows members to sign up and create a profile completely for free. But as you start looking around and interacting with other members, Zoosk's Behavioral Matchmaking will "learn" about you and begin pairing you with singles you are likely to be mutually attracted to. 

Once you want to begin actually speaking with other members of the site, you will need to upgrade to a paid membership. 

Cost/Price Plans

Though Zoosk does not publish its upgraded membership fees, they are reported on other websites as being $29.95 per month, for a month-to-month subscription, $19.98 a month, billed in one lump sum of $59.95 for three months, and $12.49 a month, billed all at once for $74.95 for a six month subscription. All subscription plans automatic renew unless you cancel in advance of the new billing cycle.  

Mobile Options

Currently Zoosk offers mobile applications for both Android and iOS operating platforms.   

Refund Policy

Since this service is offered with a pay per month plan, as well as all other shipment plans needing to be paid in advance, their Terms and Conditions clearly states that all charges and fees are non-refundable.    

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to speak to their Customer Service team about their questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 888-939-6675, by email at [email protected], or by submitting them directly to their website.  

Reputation

Unfortunately Zoosk has many mixed reviews with unhappy customers complaining that they believe this site sets up fake profiles and provides fake interactions, but there is nothing in their Terms and Conditions which supports these accusations.  

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are many other online dating sites available out there, some of which are straightforward traditional sites like Match.com and eHarmony.com, while others are more targeted towards specific niches, like ChristianMingle.com.  

If you have experience with this company or their products, please leave your Zoosk reviews below.

Related Articles

156 ‘Zoosk’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
yepImpissedoff
Guest

No Refunds



January4, 2013

Joined and canceled in 3 days when I got to see what it really is. I'm not into the live chat thing - for teens. No refund on my 6 month purchase. RIPOFF. They wont let you filter who sends you interest. Anyone can! and you cant filter the search by area, they always put it back to 100 miles no matter how many times you change ans save. Too exaushting with all the deleting, denying and blocking. Never did get to find someone in my town. and DONT link it to your facebook - it copies and posts all your stuff!!! Favoite movies and books...beware single parents!!! SUX

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 15 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
scott
January 21, 2013

Yeah , it would take a library full of info to describe just how big of a scam zoosk is . The first evidence of that for me was when I was choosing a subscription payment plan ...there were 3 choices ( HA !) ...supposedly one of them was a 3 month obligation that ya would pay about $20.00 a month for 3 months , but all through the process of subscribing the only option given was to pay the full 3 months at once , and as said here already , they try to charge you an extra fee and if ya just quit subscribing at that point they will send ya a FB message saying that fee has been waved for you !
Theres also the buying coins scam ...They gave me 200 free coins to use to pay ( additionally ) to' meet' people and theres 2 ways to search for ppl to
' meet ' , either ya do searches from various pages which you never get responses from or you can you use the Carousel option which shows you ppl ya cant see with the other search , but you have no choice except to pay with coins to meet these ppl ...ooops , let me clarify , you have to pay with these coins to view the profile of these ppl !!!! And you have to decide if these ppl are ppl you are interested in based only on the 1 photo that you see of them
.You are not allowed to know where this face is from , if it is a members face or not ...but , i do j know that I have been matched with a non-member and given the option to meet them( cuz , i know that person ) what , i dont know is if I would get reimbursed for those coins if that other person decides not to pay their coins as well ...and I dont care to find out ....Zoosk is the carnival of scams >>>Stay away !

Your Comment
review author image
frank
Guest

The ultimte fraud



January1, 2013

Ive been on all the dating websites since they started and there was only match.co, at least 7-8 years experience with this crap. Zoosk is the most scammy pay site ever. DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR CREDIT CARD!! I sent them a check as I had read about their continued charging you after you quit them. they invade your computer and every time some one looks ( Who cares if someone looks?),a pop up would appear while you might be working on your computer and a "ding" sound. Almost all were not paid members so they couldn't talk to you if you wanted to. weather u pay or not once u join for free, your profile is used to lure others in, to pay to talk to you. The "flirts" are mostly "plants" and people who are not paying. then even when u pay, once you have a "mutual" match, you have to buy "coins" to talk to the person, when in fact I already paid for 3 months. so its another 20.00 for what might not even exist. U can put in your search parameters, and they will still disregard and send u people from several states away, not of the race u asked, to tall etc. It very robotic and cant believe they are allowed to steal from us in the light of day, Is there no policing these thieves? And if u look at the "rating websites " zoosk is number one!!! one scammer protecting another scammer. whats happened to the human race!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 22 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 5 Comments
Linda L.
January 02, 2013

Thank you! I almost fell into the trap. I thought the entire site was free, until someone wanted to chat, then the "subscribe" option appeared. I was concerned about the automatic renewal. I've heard of sites where people were unable to stop their subscription despite numerous attempts to stop it. Being wary about giving my credit card #, I'll not be a subscriber.

Karen
January 03, 2013

Unfortunately I did join and instead of them processing a monthly payment they took the whole amount. They do not refund so buyer beware. I cancelled anyway even though the account is still active if I so choose to reactivate it. NOT>>>>>>

shamed
January 04, 2013

I fell for it :( should have read all of this first. BUT - I did post my review :) and continue to where ever I can FOR THE NEXT 6 MONTHS!!!

dave
January 08, 2013

damn....good thing I read this first

Helen
January 19, 2013

Thanks , I was planning to pay ! Thanks God I read reviews !!

Your Comment

review author image
PeterPlum
Guest

Pile of pooh



January1, 2013

buy a subscription and then you still have to pay to access mutual matches. total crock of brown smelly stuff.
i hope they get uncovered and sent down the line.
much better sites out there...

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment
review author image
MisterPickwick
Guest

Sucker born every minute - including me



December28, 2012

I am so ashamed. I know better than to fork over money without doing research but "they" got me this time. On first view, it seems like a decent dating site - plenty of prospects, etc. So I spent at least an hour composing a profile, answered all the "chemistry" questions, put up one picture for starters, etc. And WOW! The emails start pouring in of women who "viewed" me, plus a few who WANT TO MEET ME! Nice! But there's a catch - you are not going to have any contact whatsoever with any of these people without subscribing.

OK, I've paid for dating sites before. Usually the rate is around $30 for one month. So I gamely get out the card and click to subscribe. I fill in all the information and get to where it's time to finalize the deal and "WHAT"?? A "one-time set up fee" of $25? Give me a break. At first I said "no way" but eventually I bit the bullet and coughed up $55... for one month. But hey, there were all these quality profiles out there that I wouldn't be able to contact or hear from so I decided to absorb the cost.

So within an hour or so I get a message telling me a have a mutual match. Awesome! This sounds great. But all I can see is a name and a picture. I can't see any profile information. It turns out that I can't take advantage of this whiz-bang mutual gadget without SPENDING MORE MONEY! Minimum is $20. For "coins". This is the point at which I realized I'd been had. I felt sick.

If you see this listed in any "best of 2012" lists, ignore it. Plenty of Fish isn't perfect but you can actually meet people without having to pay a dime.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 58 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Ark
December 28, 2012

Don't worry about it, Mr. Pickwick-I took the plunge and am fast finding the same thing as you-the only thing on your carousel that shows up is that the woman clicked she'd like to meet you-and I notice it's the same one every time-plus all the hidden charges-I think that they read how much you are on the site and then send you false hits-like a slot machine, it is rigged! Anyway, going to try Match.com or Plenty of Fish again-I use dead-end credit cards bought from Wal-mart or wherever so they can't keep billing me! Even though it is a little bit of a hassle and a little more expensive, I have heard too many horror stories about people not being able to make them quit billing-I think you can eventually, but in the meantime they have your twenty dollars-imagine if they do that to 50,000 people a month!

Lymm
December 30, 2012

Zoosk is a money TRAP..... They tempt you with ONE free message, and then they cut you off hoping you are interested to pay. So you pay and then find out the one your interested in didn't pay so they can respond. They filter each message. If you type in " i am not a member" The word member is blanked out. I spoke about plenty of fish ( another dating site) the next day, my site was down. Wow, this is the biggest controlled rip off. I felt like i left my free country, they manipulate to the fullest degree. RUN FROM ZOOSK!!!

Your Comment

review author image
troy
Guest

this site is a big scam



December24, 2012

well this is another reason to hate online dating first of all it says you only pay 19.95 then you get slammed with a start up fee of 25.00 so you pay 44.00 now comes the messed up parts you get emailed for views,flirts and new matches but i had enough canceled my account turn off my email setting guess what still getting emails from people who view me STAY AWAY AT ALL COSTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 30 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
JayDee
December 25, 2012

Vultures

Your Comment
review author image
Gwen Leigh
Guest

AWFUL RACIST SITE



December22, 2012

First off, you can't message people. You can't exchange personal information. What is the point then? They edit your "my story" section. What is the point of trying to describe yourself if they are going to change it anyways? They deleted things I like, reworded sentances and got rid of half of it! WTF?

The worst part.. I am Muslim, and uploaded a profile picture of me in my hijab, and they keep deleting it saying it violates their photo guidelines. RACIST WEBSITE...

IS THAT EVEN LEGAL??

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 18 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Nate
December 29, 2012

FYI...Muslim isn't a race, genius.

andy
December 30, 2012

that is so wrong

Ken
January 05, 2013

I am a Born-again Bible thumper, I understand wanting someone of your relgious views. Your Hijab shows who you are at your deepest belief.

Your Comment

review author image
Matthew
Guest

More than a scam, it's fraud.



December21, 2012

So I've spent a week running an experiment. Deleted every view (everyone who had "viewed" my profile) from my "profile" to test a theory. Within 10 minutes, I had anywhere from 3-6 "new" views. Then spent hours trying to locate those 3-6 profiles. Guess what...they didn't exist. After leaving it for about 2-3 hours I counted a total of 15 "views" that couldn't be traced back to a legitimate profile. Deleted the views again, within 10 minutes anywhere between 3-6 of the exact same 15 profiles "viewed" me again. Rinsed and repeated throughout the day and if left for a few hours, the exact same 15 cycled through constantly "viewing" my profile every few hours.

Above and beyond that, there are tons of fake profiles. Photos leeched from online sources that cannot possibly be legitimate. I came across a profile based off of a friend of mine from her Facebook page, except she suddenly lives in another town and is 10 years older than she actually is? That got me to thinking, so I did some playing around and found multiple instances of this sort of thing...

Save your money, report them. It's not a scam...it's fraud.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 25 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Kelley Burgin
December 22, 2012

I joined Zoosk for free, made a profile, & received some messages. I paid thee fee to reply to these people & now I get no return messages. Did these people all of a sudden lose interest in me? Now im out $50+

andy
December 30, 2012

we are having the same thing. Did you try chat??

Your Comment
review author image
Christina citsay
Guest

ZOOSK IS A HUGE SCAM ...



December19, 2012

I joined zoosk 2 days ago. I paid a membership fee of 60.00, took the time to write everything and do the questionnaires. I recieve an email thismorning telling me that my account subscription has been cancled and my profile deleted. I never got any emails warning me about anything. They thought the photos I put up were inapropriate (bikini), so they deleted them even though I recieved the email saying that they were approved. They never informed me that they deleted them or that there was any problem. so I called their website number and spoke with a very rude and snobish woman who told me:
"we don't have to give you a reason why this was done", and "we're not refunding the 60.00 ". Turns out my bikini pic was earased because it was taken "indoors" not out. That's ridiculous! They even deleted my headshots with no explanation. Another thing, if they don't like how you worded your profile, they make changes, delete things and don't tell you. Even as a paying member you're limited as to how many winks or adds you can send out. Theres no reason for that. also, if you want to send personal info they won't let you. SO WHAT IS THE POINT IN HAVING A DATING SITE IF YOU CANT EXCHANGE EMAILS, PHONE NUMBERS OR FACEBOOK????? HOW CAN YOU POSSIBLY REALLY CONTACT THESE PEOPLE. ITS A SCAM!!!!!! DO NOT JOIN! SAVE YOUR MONEY!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 23 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
kelley Burgin
December 22, 2012

Sorry sweetheart, They got me too. I got lots of messages from Nice girls I'd like to meet. So I paid the fee to reply & they disappeared. I'm learning alot, unfortunately, the hard & heartbreaking way. Good luck in your search.

Make
December 23, 2012

Thanks for the heads up, I knew something was not right

Your Comment

Leave a Review