Xtra-PC Reviews

Xtra-PC
( 53  Reviews )



Write a Review
53 ‘Xtra-PC’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

Lesson learned

July 10, 2018

Wish I had taken the time to read the reviews BEFORE I purchased these. BAD choice on my part. It doesn't work...and to make matters worse, I bought two of them...DUH!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Poor Quality, No Customer Support

June 21, 2018

The instructions shows an installation step where you choose a password for admin rights. That step was not included in the drive I received. It failed the same way on three machines. I suspect this was a returned unit that they resold to me. Customer support is reachable only by email. Their response was very slow and was mainly cut-and-paste from their instructions. They could not fix the problem. They refused to replace with a non-defective unit. And when I asked for refund, they refused because I used up more than 30 days trying to work with their customer support. Other disappointed comments are similar to mine. I am surprised Amazon allows such a scam to operate under the Amazon umbrella.

July 04, 2018

I agree 100% you try to contact them send email

they answer you back a week later
customer support.disappointed

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Keith Gross

June 17, 2018

ZERO STARS. IT IS A PIECE OF JUNK. I MESSED WITH IT FOR 2 DAYS. RECEIVED EMAILS FROM THEM AND TRIED TO FOLLOW THEIR INSTRUCTIONS BUT ALL THEY DO IS REFER YOU TO THEIR QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS. NO TELEHONE NUMBER TO CALL SO THEY CAN ASSIST YOU. CUSTOMER SEVICE ::: WHAT CUSTOMER SERVICE???? THERE IS NONE. SENT EMAIL FOR RMA# WITHIN 8 DAYS AND RECEIVED EMAIL THAT SENT ME TO THEIR QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS SECTION. DID WHAT THE RECOMMENDED BUT IT WAS FOR WINOWS 7. THEY SEND EMAILS UNTIL IT IS OVER THE30 DAYS THEN THEY DO NOT HAVE TO REFUND YOUR MONE. REQUEST INSTRUTIONS FOR WINDOWS 10, STILL WAITING. IT IS A PIECE OF JUNK. I AM CHAULKING IT UP AS ANOTHER LEARNING EXPERIENCE AND IF THEY ARE SO HARD UP FOR MONEY, THEY CAN KEEP MINE AND OTHERS THEY HAVE DONE THIS TO. DO NOT BUY

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

DOES NOT WORK-- too difficult to set up

May 11, 2018

zero stars would be more like it. i am pretty computer savvy and could not get the da*ned thing to work using the simple directions. i went to the more detailed instructions on the website. the word "detailed" is the wrong word for these directions: complicated and difficult are the accurate terms. and there is no phone number to call to ask tech support-- tech support is more like NO SUPPORT. if this piece of junk is so difficult to even get started, I hesitate to even wonder how difficult it would be to use. Save your money, time and sanity and FORGET THIS PIECE OF JUNK!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY

March 27, 2018

I purchased this device march 7 and it was delivered o 2 week later. After following the install instructions I found out I cannot access my Office2016 files unless I reboot to windows 7. The description led me to believe I could access all my file through Xtra-PC but that is not the case. I cannot return the device due to several "rules" they require to accept returns and MUST BE done within 30 days of shipment date. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!!!

July 03, 2018

Linux operating system are FREE you can put it on a USB stick and boot your system off your usb. Software is the problem. For me old PC's if you upgrade your Microsoft OS causes your system to run slow. Save your money and buy a new laptop. But if you can't stand that thing not working then use Linux. pretty much a waste of time and cash.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Love it, easy

February 2, 2018

I like it, did improve my old pc that the grand kids play with...running much faster. happy .

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

This is awful

January 8, 2018

Can't truly rate what I never got. But will say that I contacted customer service 3 times and each time they promised me a reshipment for the initial lost shipment! Never did receive it and am truly grateful I make all my internet purchases with American Express. But really, how dare MSN advertise this thing for Christmas. That site has really gone down hill. I should've known better. Don't buy this crap!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Junk - Do Not Buy

December 12, 2017

I purchased this device November 27 and it was delivered one week later. After following the install instructions I found out I cannot access my Office2016 files unless I reboot to windows 7. The description led me to believe I could access all my file through Xtra-PC but that is not the case. I cannot return the device due to several "rules" they require to accept returns and MUST BE done within 30 days of shipment date. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!!!

Tommy Goss
[email protected]

View all 3 Comments
February 04, 2018

Access by clicking the X in the lower left of Xtra-PC window, then "File Manager" to bring up window that shows options including your hard drive. Clicking that should give access to folders such as Documents where you can access files.

March 04, 2018

I figured most people without the ability to do this on their own with a blank thumb drive wouldn’t realize it’s not Windows, and nothing in the description points that out. You should be able to use LibreOffice or OpenOffice to read the files, but there will be a learning curve for those used to Microsoft products. The only thing on the computer that is replaced is the hard drive with a much smaller one, but it definitely has benefits for those that just use a computer to surf the web.

March 18, 2018

I find it interesting that a company doesn't have a customer service phone number and will only communicate with emails.

What the company didn't say was how incompatible it is with Windows. They also didn't say how it would completely change the desktop making it extremely difficult to find any of your saved files and the dozens of links to your bank, etc.

Plus, nothing was faster.
Plus, they gave the wrong code for Samsung.
Plus, it took my visiting son-in-law who is a computer geek over an hour to return my computer to its original settings. To restore my desktop and keep the features from XTRA-PC would have taken hours.

I should have vetted this product before believing those shopping networks and Facebook that believe the advertising without checking it out.

This is definitely a case of buyer beware. Plus, my son-in-law told me it is for Linnix primarily, not Word, and all of the software and features they provide are a free download. They just make it convenient and charge you for it.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review