Xtra-PC Reviews

Xtra-PC
( 53  Reviews )



Write a Review
53 ‘Xtra-PC’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

Essentially a scam

January 6, 2020

As pointed out in the article above, it runs Linux, and actually (as far as I can tell) only a very slightly reskinned version of LXDE (the start menu button and desktop are different). You can have essentially the same system by installing Debian and selecting the LXDE option it actually handily provides, without being too tech savvy.
If the price was low enough to be on par with a USB stick of the same size, I would actually probably recommend this product - because even though running an OS on a USB stick isn't the best idea for performance in a lot of cases, to essentially refurbish a perfectly good but very old computer it is more than enough.

November 19, 2020

THIS Product is scam, SCAM SCAM, I ordered mine 1 month ago and heard nothing from them, customer support is a robot , no one responses,
I think its a few IT guys who made this up and fooled us, I should have known better to check review before sending them 89 US $$$.

very unhappy customer

Comment on this review...

scam

November 16, 2019

thanks for the reviews saved me money can't give a rating didn't place an order.

View all 3 Comments
December 26, 2019

It only works if you have the xtra pc plugged in then it will open up to a different front page with icons that do not work. I am not happy with it and customer support stinks. I am trying to return them for a refund and they want to refer me to a lawyer. Stinks for service as they can't seem to take care of the problem.

January 10, 2020

if it seems too good to be true, it probably is.
why is it people still have trouble with that?!

November 19, 2020

I agree, This product is a SCAM
it is scam, I ordered mine 1 month ago and heard nothing from them, customer support is a robot , no one responses,
I think its a few IT guys who made this up and fooled us, I should have known better to check review before sending them 89 US $$$.

very unhappy customer

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Xtra PC is Crap

November 11, 2019

I learned the hard way. Do not waste your time or money on this trash. My computer locked up with this device, I now see it does not work with Windows, was not told that upfront. Since I opened the pack to use this thing I violated the return option. So I am stuck with trash.

View all 5 Comments
November 16, 2019

thanks for the information,

December 20, 2019

Thanks for mentioning that OPENING THE PACKAGE VOIDS THE RETURN POLICY! That was mentioned on the company website, however, it wasn't mentioned above.

January 06, 2020

Oh so you can't try it out and return if it's crap?! Sounds like a scam right there. A legitimate company who backs up their product doesn't need to make policies like this. Thank you, I'm glad I looked for reviews before buying.

January 06, 2020

Seriously ? Wow. I mean it was bad enough that the return policy is short and starts from when they "ship" it rather than upon receipt of it, but that's ridiculous.

Thanks for the heads up, was pretty much decided it was a scam but that cinches it.

November 19, 2020

I Agree this product is SCAM, SCAM
it is scam, I ordered mine 1 month ago and heard nothing from them, customer support is a robot , no one responses,
I think its a few IT guys who made this up and fooled us, I should have known better to check review before sending them 89 US $$$.

very unhappy customer

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Drive capacity reported in Win-10

August 30, 2019

The USB drive that came with Xtra-PC has 32 GB printed on it, but when I ran the properties function on this drive, it said 46.2 MB total capacity. This is nowhere near 1 Gig, how much more 32GB.
Is this intentional fraud or a matter of different operating systems?
I need answers else, it will be escalated to proper decision oversights.

View all 4 Comments
September 10, 2019

I expect there is a partition on the flash drive which is either hidden. Very similar to when you buy a new laptop or PC nowadays, all the OS and drivers are installed from a small hidden partition.

September 10, 2019

I'll try again. I suspect strongly that this flash drive has a hidden partition. this is common practice on new PC's Laptops etc. All of the installation files and drivers are stored on this partition which you cannot easily access for obvious reasons.

January 06, 2020

You cannot see the other partitions on Windows because they are most likely formatted using one of the EXT file systems, which are not supported by Windows, but pretty much the default in the Linux world.

November 19, 2020

This product is a SCAM, Buyers be aware
it is scam, I ordered mine 1 month ago and heard nothing from them, customer support is a robot , no one responses,
I think its a few IT guys who made this up and fooled us, I should have known better to check review before sending them 89 US $$$.

very unhappy customer

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

DODGY, MIS-ADVERTISED, BETTER AVOIDED.

August 17, 2019

See my DETAILED answer to Rob Bing's review. Check about Customs charge, according to cost of device purchased (including the carriage charge) which mAy rocket the final price) And then, if you feel lucky, buy one and see how far you get. Much better, if not sure how to download and install an IMPROVED version of ONE OF the FREE LINUX SYSTEMS, find a pal who is a bit computer savvy WHO WILL DO IT FOR YOU.

View all 3 Comments
September 10, 2019

I tried not long ago to install the latest iteration of Linux and found issues right from the start. Many components do not even have a driver in linux including the printer.

October 15, 2019

Whatever do you mean by "the latest iteration of Linux," praytell? There are so many distributions (distros, versions) so readily available these days, and most all FOR FREE, your explanation is hardly helpful and clear for either novice or veteran PC users.
As for the notions proposed by Xtra-PC marketers, who would obviously like to MONETIZE their own playing around with their chosen version, which reminds me of the USB stick commonly marketed with pre-loaded software to backup your photos onto the stick without actually having to know how to manage your own files and folders (IOW too bleeping stupid to OWN a computer), these claims are based upon partial truths and do NOT mention even the most OBVIOUS of potential pitfalls or blatant failures!
Yes, there may well be plenty of worthwhile "life" left in an old PC, perhaps even at speeds more like what one might think they remember when the old iron was first purchased, but to expect such without ANY mental effort to learn a whole new operating system is PIE in the SKY.
Interested in learning? I'd suggest starting at DistroWatch for a much more BALANCED perspective!

November 17, 2019

All UK purchasers be aware that you will pay an extra £15 import charge on top of carriage and everything else. I started to install, but backed off when it mentioned the boot menu key. I am pretty sure I know what it is instructing me to do, but feel a bit reticent to go messing about with internal software. Will get the electronics wizard in my family to set this up for me. I should have asked him his opinion in the first place but he was busy with his own life at the time. Tut!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

COMPLETE TRASH!!!

August 12, 2019

Don't waste your time and money!!!!!

View all 2 Comments
August 17, 2019

I agree. The advertising is misleading, as it does not state reality- that it is simply installing a very limited version of a Linux free operating system - if you can manage it - seperately from your existing one. So references to 'bringing back to life/access to that program(Windows/whatever) are totally misleading. If you have two cars in your garage, you can only use one at a time - and one vehicle will have no control over the other. In fact attempting installation on two computers not setup for USB startup means that it is certainly not 'Plug and Play.' Orgainsing this is not something within capabilities of folk noted in review who have little computer knowledge. Two laptops would not find USB nooting and third Dell, which did, opened up installation with a black screen that took ages to brighten up inorder to read. Finallly attmemptng to connect to internet with proper detilas continally failed - so NO INSTALLATION - as this is necessary to download/install needed programs. So, if wishing to take the risk of paying several times over the price of a cheap Cruser memstick to contain a limited version of a free program - which may or may not install, go ahead. Personally this is for me a misleading sales game for a vastly overpriced, 'chancy' product. There are MASSES pages online from American purchasers copndemning this product.

August 28, 2019

Agree. BIGTIME word game with the guarantee...

Comment on this review...
review author image
2 Reviews

Evil

August 11, 2019

Clearly the purveyors of this product are evil capitalists and are selling it to make a profit by exploiting the ignorance of ordinary PC users. They should be ashamed of themselves for their greed!

View all 2 Comments
December 20, 2019

So being a capitalist and making a profit on an item for unsavvy computer users that can save them money, is a bad thing?

May 02, 2020

I don't think that is his point, it's clear they (or you who is probably involved with it somehow) are up to no good by their refund policy alone. They don't have faith in their product obviously, otherwise they wouldn't make it where once you realized what you are actually getting for your money, you can't get your money back. So yes, that is what is evil. You can play the dumb devils advocate, which I would say an advocate of the devil is probably the closest thing to evil than evil itself, but nice try. This is coming from a capitalist myself.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

PERFECT SCAM FOR OVERSEAS CUSTOMERS.

July 18, 2019

THIS HAS TO BE THE MOST IMMORAL COMPANY GOING. THEY KNOW THAT THEIR RETURNS POLICY WHICH IS AN ACTUAL FACT INCORRECTLY QUOTED HERE IS 30 DAY RETURNS FROM THE TIME OF PLACING ORDER NOT FROM THE DESPATCH DATE. SO ANYONE LIVING OUTSIDE THE UNITED STATES IS DOOMED. THEY WILL KISS THEIR MONEY GOODBYE AND THEIR ORDER WILL ARRIVE WITH A FEW DAYS TO SPARE IF THEY ARE LUCKY BUT IT WILL NOT ARRIVE BACK IN THE STATES IN TIME FOR A REFUND UNLESS YOU ARE WILLING TO LOSE EVEN MORE MONEY USING U.P.S BUT THE PACKAGE MUST BE BACK INSIDE THE COMPANY'S OFFICE WITHING THE 30 DAYS. HUGE MASSIVE DISGUSTING SCAM. THEY ADVERTISE ON FACEBOOK BUT THEY ARE IN TROUBLE NOW AS WE IN THE U.K. HAVE A NEW SCAM REPORTING FACILITY AND THEY ARE MY NUMBER ONE TARGET.

View all 3 Comments
September 03, 2019

The adverts showing facebook are a scam. Look the people up on FB w/their pics...they don't exist.

September 05, 2019

Precisely and that is why I am so pleased that FB has a new policy that PCextra isn't going to like one little bit.

January 10, 2020

if it seems too good to be true, it probably is.
why is it people still have trouble with that?!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

scam

July 8, 2019

It is a scam... just a downloaded copy of free os from the Linux family... and it did what the original does... mess up windows.
And the fine print regarding returns covers their butts so just count it as experience...

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Worked for me

March 19, 2019

Just plug it into the USB and follow the card to Hit the key for boot modifying for your model computer during power up then change the boot order to include the USB if it is not already on there.
Your computer is generally going to look for a bootable CD/ Floppy, harddrive, usb or network drive in that order. It will stop and use the first one that has a boot block. Now if your computer has a USB2 or 3 its going to be faster booting and running. Is generally a function key
Mine came up in a few seconds. It has software for firefox web browser, email, music, pictures and office programs. Naturally, only programs compiled for Linux work Not windows programs.If you want that, you might be able to find a Linux windows simulator. Good bye Microsoft, its been hell knowing you.

August 17, 2019

I only agree with your last sentence. Otherwise YOU ARE TYPICALLY MISSING THE POINT OF THIS DEVICE, AS ADVERTISED. You and I obviously have technical knowledge and this thing is supposedly aimed at the people who know little or nothing and are relying on 'Plug and Play.' The advertising is completely misleading. If it stated that it is simply a very low-based Linux program (okay, let's walk around the FREE!) THAT WIL HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH THE EXISTING ONE (Windows/whatever)THAT WOULD BE REASONABLE. It is worded as though it will somehow 'spruce up' your exisiting operating system. If you have two cars in your garage, you can only drive one at a time and either one cannot communicate with the other. The amount of reviews on American Amazon, etc., totally trashing this device and its vastly inflated cost are legion and apart from being doubtful as to it being easily installed by many novices it quote where it has trashed Windows into the bargain. I'm savvy after 20 years dedication and 'thinking sideways' where Windows is concerned. Have six computers. Two of them needed much work in order to get them to accept booting from USB, (a foreign language to multitudes of owners) and a Dell did offer that system upfront - but screen went dark so instuctions for this crappy device could not be read until much fiddling brought it up. Finally would not connect to internet with exactly correct details. Puzzled, I checked by disconnecting and reconnecting another computer to the Net - no problem - so GO FIGURE! This needed to operate, of course. No luck either with the other two and for bloody-mindedness will try another computer.....and then proceed to see about installing a reasonable version of Linux at NO COST - except of time - which is NOT WHAT THIS MOB ARE OFFERING TO NON-TECH-MINDED FOLK. As for the returns policy - doubly maddening, as their advertising doesn't note that if value over £16, when receiving in the UK one is done for Extra VAT AND £8 Post Office charge - is just a sick joke!
All in all a masterpiece in miss-selling.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

DO NOT BUY

February 6, 2019

OVERPRICED AND DOESN'T WORK. MESSED UP MY COMPUTER. MONEY BACK GUARANTEE IS A LAUGH. THIS IS A SCAM. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PRODUCT!!!!

March 19, 2019

Doesn't even use your hard drive unless you navigate there. So how can it mess up your computer. You probably changed your boot order wrong. change it back.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

MEH zero tech support

January 31, 2019

Easy? Installation instructions are contradictory. Submit trouble ticket, .. no reply. Way over priced. Can't recommend .. due to poor/zero support and value.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

X-trs PC trash

January 30, 2019

If anything it SLOWED my computer DOWN- NO support replies!. Sadly a waste of money.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Extra-Pc

January 16, 2019

I bought 2 Pc from them,but I am not a computer wiz.It says easy to install, just plug it in and go. Three weeks now and all my e-mails come back as saying,one of our agent's will get back to you in a couple of days. Five e-mails and still waiting. I am retired and have lot's of time on my hands now.I will make sure everyone knows about about this on Facebook, Media, and I will advertise on majors news media, cost is know problem.I trusted these people and all there third-party associates like Giddy Up and other companies that just contact our service, like pulling teeth. Do not fall in there trap. To good to be true.

View all 3 Comments
May 04, 2019

It is NO problem???? Really???? It's a knowledge based problem?? Or actually what I think you said was its Not a Knowledge based issue for you...huh?... It is not Know problem, which is word oddly similar to the word for knowledge. Ironic ain't it???? Cause you u don't, you NO, You don't got know, any NO-Ledge, haha, I did it again

July 22, 2019

SCOTT H
You're a jerk!

July 30, 2019

Anyone who buys this product without fully understanding what is will do to to your operating system and installed programs deserve what they get! All of us should be smart enough to know there are no miracle cures selling for under $40!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

This is a SCAM!

January 12, 2019

I used PayPal for the purchase....it sounded so good I got two of the pro version and it came to $119.98. If they had worked as advertised I did not mind the cost. Since I used PayPal I filed a grievance within hours of receiving the items and posted on Facebook (where I had seen them advertised) that they do not work! Within hours I was notified by PayPal that Prairie would refund my money to resolve issue. I am trying to get an address to return items....RMA?

I feel stupid for falling for this, should know better, sounded too good to be true!

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review