X Chair Reviews

X Chair
( 23 reviews )
Website: www.XChair.com

X Chair, is a company marketing a line of office and massage chairs, as well as a height adjustable desk, and a number of other office accessories.

How Does It Work?

According to their website, the aim of X Chair creators was to provide customers with a chair that was stylish yet budget friendly, and utilized innovative technology to make sure that their users are as comfortable as possible.

Their “comfort technology” allows the X Chair to mold to the user’s body using ten different ergonomic adjustments:

  • Seat with adjustable height and depth
  • Height-adjustable backrest
  • Headrest with adjustable height and angle
  • 4-dimensional armrests with adjustable height, width, depth and angle
  • Sdjustable tilt tension
  • Tilt lock.

But, X Chair says that their greatest achievement is that they have created a lumbar support which needs no adjusting.

Instead, their Dynamic Variable Lumbar Support adjusts itself to the user’s shape in order to provide perfect lumbar support whenever you sit down. 

This type of ergonomic support is incredibly important in an office chair, as the website says that people who sit for long periods of time are susceptible to different injuries and health concerns, which are alleviated by a chair that offers the kind of high quality support provided by the X Chair. 

Cost/Price Plans

All X Chairs have the ability to be customized to the needs and specifications of the individual buyer, so the website does not provide a set price for each item, as the choices you make will ultimately impact the price of your chair.

They do provide the base price for each model, however, so you know where you will begin. 

The X1 model begins at $649.99, the X2 model begins at $749.99, and the X4 model begins at $1,049.99.     

Refund Policy

Their website does say that all X Chair purchases come with the reassurance of a 30 Day Money Back Guarantee, unless stated otherwise at the time of your purchase.

This policy states that any customer who is not satisfied with their purchase is welcome to return their product within the first 30 days of the date of delivery for a full refund of the price, less $99 to cover a “white glove” pick up. 

All products are also eligible for exchanges during this time period as well, though the $99 return shipment fee still applies.

All items must be returned in like new condition, with all paperwork, parts, and accessories to ensure full credit minus the return charge.   

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact Customer Service with any questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 844-492-4247 or by email at [email protected] 

Reputation

Currently this chair is only being sold through their website, so it is difficult to find reviews which aren’t posted by affiliate or partner websites that are promoting this chair in some way.

The fact that this chair appears only to be sold through their website is frustrating because it means there is no way to try this chair for yourself to see if it meets all of the promises it is making to its customers.

And though they do have a decent Return Policy, customers will always be responsible for a $99 return fee if they are unhappy with their purchase, which is a high price to pay simply to try a chair out.   

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are many other office chairs which are considered high quality and use innovation to help promote comfort, including the Aeron Chair, as well as a vast variety of office chairs which can be tried and purchased at local retailers like Office Max.  

If you have any experience with the X Chair or their products, please leave your reviews below.

X Chair Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Chairs are not in stock
November 30, 2022
Website says chair is in stock when it is not, Credit card was charged immediately. Customer service said chair would "be in production" next week. I canceled my order and now they have refunded less than the full amount.

Horrible fabric, horrible service.
November 29, 2022
I bought an X3 chair in blue. Within weeks the fabric on the seat started wearing, piling . I am shocked . They claim the chair was purchased refurbished and no warranty applies as blemishes could exist . They also claim refurbished chairs have the full 15 year warranty. The seat had brand new material with zero defects when I bought it . It wasn't blemished when new. I have filed a BBB complaint . Usually high end companies have high end service. Not this one . Fear not though , if they angered me I suspect they angered many customers . Usually a company like this fails eventually . They messed with the wrong person. I will be a thorn in their side for a very long time. They are frauds. Buy this product at your own risk, I wouldn't touch any of them with fabric seats . It will be in the garbage within a year. A $1000 chair that performs like a $ 100 chair.

Comfortable, sturdy and attractive.
November 19, 2022
I have two "X4 Leather Executive Office Chair(s)" that I bought 1/14/2021. I have spent 8 hours a day in one or the other, with no ill effects on my body. This is a quality product. I got the wheels upgrade, and they are very smooth and quiet on my hardwood floor. No regrets whatsoever.

Horrible customer service.
August 17, 2022
Horrible Customer service!!! Bought two chairs for $2,400.00 dollars, within 6 months the lift cylinder failed, over one month after proof of purchase and serial number, no new cylinder, no communication, called customer service 8/16/22, representative says the reason I did not get replacement part is because they don't have any and the parts may come to them in two more weeks, seriously? I have not heard any explanation from the office supply store I ordered them from, no service there either. Pathetic excuse for a supposed great chair company! Do not buy if you expect any consideration or concern from this company! Jerry Redden

They take your money without sending product
August 15, 2022

This is the worst company I have ever dealt with. The took my money and failed to ship my chair. Stay away from this scam.

Love my XChair
July 12, 2022

I have had a different experience than the majority of reviewers here. From the moment I started to unpack my Xchair each component seemed very made and all fit together exactly - much better than the many office chairs I have brought in the past.

It is extremely comfortable and cool. I use it while working at home and feel much better after spending all day on the chair than any others I have owned. It is expensive so if that is something that is the main concern for you then don’t get it. If your main concern is quality and comfort then this is the chair for you

Actively make returns and follow-up difficult, burning off my return window.
June 28, 2022

The chair is literally no more comfortable than the $129.00 mesh chair I got from Staples 5 years ago. Now trying to return, originally did not get the correct wheels and was told they'd be sent out.

They weren't. Got the return kit, low and behold LITERALLY 10 days later, and 5 days after the recovery kit arrived, here are the wheels I had to contact them for. Now the second recovery kit is on the way, I hope it's the correct one because THEIR errors are burning-up the 30 day return policy so...

I have already contacted my advocate (lawyer), we are ready to contact the appropriate State Attorneys General and go from there before we reverse the cost of a civil Consumer Fraud suit.

No more stuff before we see it off the internet, EVER!

X1 Mesh is like sandpaper for drywall
June 9, 2022

I bought my X-1 from Costco, so thankfully I can return mine, and will. I'm so disappointed in this chair, that I'm actually writing a review.

I really want to like it. I think the dynamic lumbar is nice, but it sits in the wrong spot on my back, and I'm only 5'6". I can't get it high enough. It's a good height from the floor with 18" deck height, and the arm rests aren't bad, but aren't any better than the $100 mesh task chair I bought right before this... which takes me to the worst issue with this chair:

The mesh is incredibly painful to sit on. The $100 chair (and my $1200 Hermon Aero at work) have super comfortable mesh. I don't know how / why X-chair picked the worst mesh on the market, but it feels similar to the grid sandpaper used to smooth drywall after you mud and tape. I'm not kidding, I'm pretty sure I could cut a square off and use it at 50 grit finishing.

I wanted to like this chair, I did, but it's going back to the store tomorrow.

To cheap to send 4 bolts
January 14, 2022

Spent way to much to enjoy a chair that I sit in all day. Contacted support over two weeks ago about how uncomfortable it was.

Apparently I’m to tall 5’9 as the back of the chair needs to be higher so the lumbar hits correctly and the head rest. They said that they would send me a bolt kit (4 bolts) to secure the back will permanently stay up in the fourth notch. (Typically when it hits the forth adjustment it no locks and automatically lowers it self.)

Apparently I did not spend enough on the chair. As I still have not received it them. Really four bolts?

Tired of the pain in my back and neck. Guess I will just go to the hardware store since I did not pay enough to get them in a timely manner.

Returned my X3 office chair after the 10 day grace period
January 9, 2022

My wife spends 8 hours a day in an old office chair. It is a cheap rickety one with only height adjustments. It was left in our house when we bought it because no one wanted it. To sum it up ... the chair is a piece of crap.

For Christmas, I thought I would surprise my wife with a X-Chair X3 model with headrest, wheel upgrade, and massage-heating-cooling. When it arrived, I immediately set it up per their instructions.

Assembly was easy but the first thing I noticed was the headrest. It was cheap plastic that you had to force up and down for adjustment. No way this was worth the $100 they charge for it. The other thing of note was the arm rests. Not much padding and they had a ratchet type adjustment. This also looked kind of cheap to me. I sat in it and thought "where is the padding?"

We adjusted it per instructions and got my wife situated at her PC. At the end of day 1 she said the headrest was terrible and could find no position that made it comfortable. I removed it and figured I would just bite the $100. Then on day 3 she told me the chair was just not comfortable. She said it had no padding and she wanted her old chair back. I talked her into giving it another try and a couple of days later another try.

Finally, one day I came out to the breakfast table and my wooden chair was gone and her X-Chair was at my spot. Checked her office and she was on her old crappy chair and quite pleased.

I returned her chair and with a long gulp, swallowed the $150 they charged me.

So reasons for returning the chair are: cheap uncomfortable headrest and not comfortable due to no padding.

How can you give anything more than a 1 star rating when a beat up office chair not worth $10 is better?

I learned a $150 lesson and hope you don't make the same mistake.

Can't stop the squeak for good!
December 30, 2021
The chair is comfortable but I am not sure I would have had to pay this much for the same comfort. However, my main complaint is that it squeaks when rocking back and forth. The company told me to get a can of food grade silicon spray and spray the squeaks. I did and continue to do so every week. The squeak aggravated me enough to write this generally negative review.

48 hours of hell for a lousy coupon
December 9, 2021

Trying get promo discount nightmare - I have had 1 chat representative lie, another 1 telling me my order will be cancelled. I then called directly after NOT receiving a cancellation email but rather an 'order is in process' email.

The person then tells me she sees the cancellation and I need to wait 24 hours for the email cancellation and credit. Guess what, the chair arrives in 20 hours. Called again only to be put on hold and dropped after 10 minutes and can't seem to get through now!!

Not worth the money! Uncomfortable to say the least!
November 30, 2021
I have back issues and spend most of my day sitting at a desk. Couldn't wait to get this chair after all the hype. Can't move the lumbar support. The heater must be plugged to work. Should be able to charge overnight so it can be work during the day. Seat is extremely uncomfortable. Memory foam HA! $1K for a chair that is horrible!

Watch out !!!
October 14, 2021
This company is a joke, asking to email a copy of my driver's license and a copy of my credit card to verify my purchase.

Buyer Beware!
July 30, 2021

What a disreputable company. I purchased the chair through a dealer, (I would never purchase such an expensive item without being able to sit on it). Unfortunately, my 5 minute test drive was not an adequate evaluation. I received the chair and could not get it to work.

In fairness, I have had back surgery so getting the lower lumbar support correct proved to be impossible. If I did not have the surgery I probably could have used it. Anyway, notified X-Chair, they told me to contact the dealer. I thought the dealer must be necessary to facilitate the return. The dealer said he could not take it back because, X-chair would not buy it back from him. I perfectly understand the dealers position.

So bottom line is that unless you buy the chair directly from X-Chair forget about the return policy. As for any potential dealers, why would anyone carry a product that ruins the relationship they have developed with their customer? What a despicable company.

FALSE CLAMS !!!!
July 10, 2021

They do not honor their return policy and ignore emails regarding customer unsatisfied response. My regret is that I didn't put it on my American Express instead of PayPal. Dumb mistake! Ordered the heat and massage option, the chair arrived still waiting for the over $100 option.

Time will tell if I receive it. They have phoned ID and if it's someone they don't want to speak with in their database regarding a complaint, you get an answer machine with a promised call back. Forget a call back.

Don't expect this company will last very long, despite my $1800 investment. Stay clear of this company unless you want to get fooled by false clams.

Great Comfortable Chair!
March 14, 2021
I bought this chair and it is every bit what they advertise. Both my husband and I are very pleased with my purchase.

Crappy chair, fake return policy
February 19, 2021

We are having such a bad time with this chair. It doesn't fit us. Huge even though it says that it fits all with adjustments. We have gone over and over with them trying to get it to fit us.

Then we tried to return it. They said it would cost $125 to return it. We finally got it all packaged up and put it out for them to pick it up at the time they said and they still have not picked it up so now we have to lug it all the way inside again so it doesn't get damaged by the snow.

I am so exhausted dealing with this company. Please do not buy this chair. We are likely to lose our $1500 over a piece of crap that they don't seem to follow through on getting the return. The Fedex tracking number they sent us wasn't even in the system.

Bob Bockmann March 22, 2021

I am having the same situation. In fact, they want $149 to return the chair and I have been waiting for 3-weeks for return packaging. They report they are OUT of packaging due to a great number of chairs being returned. DO NOT BUY THEIR CHAIR! They are a small company of only approx $700,000 in sales a year. I expect them to fail.

X-Chair purchasers BEWARE
February 1, 2021
Horrible experience. Ordered "X3 Management Office Desk Chair on" Jan252021. After no emails or confirmation of shipping, followed up Feb012021. Was lied to by sales manager that "... order did not clear our processing and as such was cancelled and refunded" after it showed up on my VISA statement!. Contact VISA, order was valid and approved. Sales manager refused to contact Security or to advise area leader of my concern. Talked around any facts in emails and THEN sent email advising of Credit Memo! Wonder what would have happened if I never followed up? Advised that the only way for me to get this product was to use PayPal for the purchase? Make no sense when VISA Canada advised the purchase was approved. Buyer's BEWARE! Something strange and odd is going on with X-Chair ,LLC. Checked the BBB and on-line reviews, numerous issues being reported dealing with this company!

fearless March 10, 2021

I have similar experience, but with Mavix.com who appear to be related (Future Seating: Parent company to the X-Chair Office and Mavix Gaming companies). I purchased an Mavix M9 chair on Feb 20th. They took payment via Visa. I noticed something odd about the order, still at "Processing", no due date for shipping, so emailed the rep that had emailed about a shipping fee. She did not reply.

I tried contacting them via the Contact Us webform - no reply. I visited their discord server and in the help channel mentioned the issue - no reply or interaction. I emailed the rep again and used the contact us webform - no reply. After some searching online realized that it was likely a scam and filed a report with the US FTC. Went to my Visa card provider in the hopes of clawing back the payment.

Xchair X3
January 13, 2021
These other reviews are so far and away from my own experience with my chair that I feel I had to post a review. I was skeptical about spending so much on a chair but with the recent pandemic and working from home I was spending way too much time being uncomfortable in a lesser quality chair. This thing has a ton of adjustments and they all lock up perfectly. I can sit on this seat pad all day with no discomfort (memory foam upgraded seat). At 5' 8" I find the middle lumbar setting suits me perfectly. The only minor issue I have is the DVL lumbar supports constant movement can cause my shirt to ride up my back a bit from time to time. 10/10 Would buy again!