X Chair Reviews

X Chair
( 15 reviews )
Website: www.XChair.com

X Chair, is a company marketing a line of office and massage chairs, as well as a height adjustable desk, and a number of other office accessories.

How Does It Work?

According to their website, the aim of X Chair creators was to provide customers with a chair that was stylish yet budget friendly, and utilized innovative technology to make sure that their users are as comfortable as possible.

Their “comfort technology” allows the X Chair to mold to the user’s body using ten different ergonomic adjustments:

  • Seat with adjustable height and depth
  • Height-adjustable backrest
  • Headrest with adjustable height and angle
  • 4-dimensional armrests with adjustable height, width, depth and angle
  • Sdjustable tilt tension
  • Tilt lock.

But, X Chair says that their greatest achievement is that they have created a lumbar support which needs no adjusting.

Instead, their Dynamic Variable Lumbar Support adjusts itself to the user’s shape in order to provide perfect lumbar support whenever you sit down. 

This type of ergonomic support is incredibly important in an office chair, as the website says that people who sit for long periods of time are susceptible to different injuries and health concerns, which are alleviated by a chair that offers the kind of high quality support provided by the X Chair. 

Cost/Price Plans

All X Chairs have the ability to be customized to the needs and specifications of the individual buyer, so the website does not provide a set price for each item, as the choices you make will ultimately impact the price of your chair.

They do provide the base price for each model, however, so you know where you will begin. 

The X1 model begins at $649.99, the X2 model begins at $749.99, and the X4 model begins at $1,049.99.     

Refund Policy

Their website does say that all X Chair purchases come with the reassurance of a 30 Day Money Back Guarantee, unless stated otherwise at the time of your purchase.

This policy states that any customer who is not satisfied with their purchase is welcome to return their product within the first 30 days of the date of delivery for a full refund of the price, less $99 to cover a “white glove” pick up. 

All products are also eligible for exchanges during this time period as well, though the $99 return shipment fee still applies.

All items must be returned in like new condition, with all paperwork, parts, and accessories to ensure full credit minus the return charge.   

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact Customer Service with any questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 844-492-4247 or by email at [email protected] 

Reputation

Currently this chair is only being sold through their website, so it is difficult to find reviews which aren’t posted by affiliate or partner websites that are promoting this chair in some way.

The fact that this chair appears only to be sold through their website is frustrating because it means there is no way to try this chair for yourself to see if it meets all of the promises it is making to its customers.

And though they do have a decent Return Policy, customers will always be responsible for a $99 return fee if they are unhappy with their purchase, which is a high price to pay simply to try a chair out.   

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are many other office chairs which are considered high quality and use innovation to help promote comfort, including the Aeron Chair, as well as a vast variety of office chairs which can be tried and purchased at local retailers like Office Max.  

If you have any experience with the X Chair or their products, please leave your reviews below.

X Chair Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

To cheap to send 4 bolts
January 14, 2022

Spent way to much to enjoy a chair that I sit in all day. Contacted support over two weeks ago about how uncomfortable it was.

Apparently I’m to tall 5’9 as the back of the chair needs to be higher so the lumbar hits correctly and the head rest. They said that they would send me a bolt kit (4 bolts) to secure the back will permanently stay up in the fourth notch. (Typically when it hits the forth adjustment it no locks and automatically lowers it self.)

Apparently I did not spend enough on the chair. As I still have not received it them. Really four bolts?

Tired of the pain in my back and neck. Guess I will just go to the hardware store since I did not pay enough to get them in a timely manner.

Returned my X3 office chair after the 10 day grace period
January 9, 2022

My wife spends 8 hours a day in an old office chair. It is a cheap rickety one with only height adjustments. It was left in our house when we bought it because no one wanted it. To sum it up ... the chair is a piece of crap.

For Christmas, I thought I would surprise my wife with a X-Chair X3 model with headrest, wheel upgrade, and massage-heating-cooling. When it arrived, I immediately set it up per their instructions.

Assembly was easy but the first thing I noticed was the headrest. It was cheap plastic that you had to force up and down for adjustment. No way this was worth the $100 they charge for it. The other thing of note was the arm rests. Not much padding and they had a ratchet type adjustment. This also looked kind of cheap to me. I sat in it and thought "where is the padding?"

We adjusted it per instructions and got my wife situated at her PC. At the end of day 1 she said the headrest was terrible and could find no position that made it comfortable. I removed it and figured I would just bite the $100. Then on day 3 she told me the chair was just not comfortable. She said it had no padding and she wanted her old chair back. I talked her into giving it another try and a couple of days later another try.

Finally, one day I came out to the breakfast table and my wooden chair was gone and her X-Chair was at my spot. Checked her office and she was on her old crappy chair and quite pleased.

I returned her chair and with a long gulp, swallowed the $150 they charged me.

So reasons for returning the chair are: cheap uncomfortable headrest and not comfortable due to no padding.

How can you give anything more than a 1 star rating when a beat up office chair not worth $10 is better?

I learned a $150 lesson and hope you don't make the same mistake.

Can't stop the squeak for good!
December 30, 2021
The chair is comfortable but I am not sure I would have had to pay this much for the same comfort. However, my main complaint is that it squeaks when rocking back and forth. The company told me to get a can of food grade silicon spray and spray the squeaks. I did and continue to do so every week. The squeak aggravated me enough to write this generally negative review.

48 hours of hell for a lousy coupon
December 9, 2021

Trying get promo discount nightmare - I have had 1 chat representative lie, another 1 telling me my order will be cancelled. I then called directly after NOT receiving a cancellation email but rather an 'order is in process' email.

The person then tells me she sees the cancellation and I need to wait 24 hours for the email cancellation and credit. Guess what, the chair arrives in 20 hours. Called again only to be put on hold and dropped after 10 minutes and can't seem to get through now!!

Not worth the money! Uncomfortable to say the least!
November 30, 2021
I have back issues and spend most of my day sitting at a desk. Couldn't wait to get this chair after all the hype. Can't move the lumbar support. The heater must be plugged to work. Should be able to charge overnight so it can be work during the day. Seat is extremely uncomfortable. Memory foam HA! $1K for a chair that is horrible!

Watch out !!!
October 14, 2021
This company is a joke, asking to email a copy of my driver's license and a copy of my credit card to verify my purchase.

Buyer Beware!
July 30, 2021

What a disreputable company. I purchased the chair through a dealer, (I would never purchase such an expensive item without being able to sit on it). Unfortunately, my 5 minute test drive was not an adequate evaluation. I received the chair and could not get it to work.

In fairness, I have had back surgery so getting the lower lumbar support correct proved to be impossible. If I did not have the surgery I probably could have used it. Anyway, notified X-Chair, they told me to contact the dealer. I thought the dealer must be necessary to facilitate the return. The dealer said he could not take it back because, X-chair would not buy it back from him. I perfectly understand the dealers position.

So bottom line is that unless you buy the chair directly from X-Chair forget about the return policy. As for any potential dealers, why would anyone carry a product that ruins the relationship they have developed with their customer? What a despicable company.

FALSE CLAMS !!!!
July 10, 2021

They do not honor their return policy and ignore emails regarding customer unsatisfied response. My regret is that I didn't put it on my American Express instead of PayPal. Dumb mistake! Ordered the heat and massage option, the chair arrived still waiting for the over $100 option.

Time will tell if I receive it. They have phoned ID and if it's someone they don't want to speak with in their database regarding a complaint, you get an answer machine with a promised call back. Forget a call back.

Don't expect this company will last very long, despite my $1800 investment. Stay clear of this company unless you want to get fooled by false clams.

Great Comfortable Chair!
March 14, 2021
I bought this chair and it is every bit what they advertise. Both my husband and I are very pleased with my purchase.

Crappy chair, fake return policy
February 19, 2021

We are having such a bad time with this chair. It doesn't fit us. Huge even though it says that it fits all with adjustments. We have gone over and over with them trying to get it to fit us.

Then we tried to return it. They said it would cost $125 to return it. We finally got it all packaged up and put it out for them to pick it up at the time they said and they still have not picked it up so now we have to lug it all the way inside again so it doesn't get damaged by the snow.

I am so exhausted dealing with this company. Please do not buy this chair. We are likely to lose our $1500 over a piece of crap that they don't seem to follow through on getting the return. The Fedex tracking number they sent us wasn't even in the system.

Bob Bockmann March 22, 2021

I am having the same situation. In fact, they want $149 to return the chair and I have been waiting for 3-weeks for return packaging. They report they are OUT of packaging due to a great number of chairs being returned. DO NOT BUY THEIR CHAIR! They are a small company of only approx $700,000 in sales a year. I expect them to fail.

X-Chair purchasers BEWARE
February 1, 2021
Horrible experience. Ordered "X3 Management Office Desk Chair on" Jan252021. After no emails or confirmation of shipping, followed up Feb012021. Was lied to by sales manager that "... order did not clear our processing and as such was cancelled and refunded" after it showed up on my VISA statement!. Contact VISA, order was valid and approved. Sales manager refused to contact Security or to advise area leader of my concern. Talked around any facts in emails and THEN sent email advising of Credit Memo! Wonder what would have happened if I never followed up? Advised that the only way for me to get this product was to use PayPal for the purchase? Make no sense when VISA Canada advised the purchase was approved. Buyer's BEWARE! Something strange and odd is going on with X-Chair ,LLC. Checked the BBB and on-line reviews, numerous issues being reported dealing with this company!

fearless March 10, 2021

I have similar experience, but with Mavix.com who appear to be related (Future Seating: Parent company to the X-Chair Office and Mavix Gaming companies). I purchased an Mavix M9 chair on Feb 20th. They took payment via Visa. I noticed something odd about the order, still at "Processing", no due date for shipping, so emailed the rep that had emailed about a shipping fee. She did not reply.

I tried contacting them via the Contact Us webform - no reply. I visited their discord server and in the help channel mentioned the issue - no reply or interaction. I emailed the rep again and used the contact us webform - no reply. After some searching online realized that it was likely a scam and filed a report with the US FTC. Went to my Visa card provider in the hopes of clawing back the payment.

Xchair X3
January 13, 2021
These other reviews are so far and away from my own experience with my chair that I feel I had to post a review. I was skeptical about spending so much on a chair but with the recent pandemic and working from home I was spending way too much time being uncomfortable in a lesser quality chair. This thing has a ton of adjustments and they all lock up perfectly. I can sit on this seat pad all day with no discomfort (memory foam upgraded seat). At 5' 8" I find the middle lumbar setting suits me perfectly. The only minor issue I have is the DVL lumbar supports constant movement can cause my shirt to ride up my back a bit from time to time. 10/10 Would buy again!

Not worth the hype
September 15, 2020
This chair is advertised as "high end" with soft comfortable seats, stain free mesh, and a "fully adjustable" seat. About the only thing that is truly adjustable are the arms rests and seat height. The rock won't lock, the seat pivet doesn't exist although advertised, the lumbar support not adjustable, the back support height has 4 settings that will not lock. On the highest setting the DVL will push into my coccyx (I'm 5'8). Seat padding is lacking and will not work for anyone sitting for more than 4 hours a day. This chair is a hype and you can find a more comfortable and versatile chair for half the price.

Robert March 23, 2021

Purchased this chair last fall for my online courses. It is horrible. The seat cushion is the most firm cushion I have experienced in an office hair. I can barely make it through one 75-minute session without needing to stand for an equal amount of time.

The adjustments are frustrating, You will also discover over a short time that the plastic frame parts rub against each other, creating a snapping and groaning sound every time you tilt forward or backwards. Offered the chair to a friend for free. Have already ordered a HM due for delivery next month.

ripoff
July 29, 2020
My prior review was deleted by X Chair. reviews don't work if they are edited by the company. I'll review independently online as well. Cheap materials, poorly packaged, missing paid upgrade, lumbar support doesn't lock- slides down, lumbar support doesn't go high enough for my lumbar area- I'm 5'7". I'm trying to return it but I'm finding out there is a $100 charge. (my $100 Staple chair is more comfortable). Maybe they'll replace with a better model. I now see the mechanics of this model don't have the main X-Chair functionality... I'm a victim of advertising.

Not wortht the money
February 28, 2019
The seat is too narrow, the side supports which are metal is where all the load is placed, the lumbar adjustment doesn't go high enough, the adjusters are always falling all the way down because when you get up out of the chair it lifts them all the way up and then they fall all the way down. This chair is not comfortable at all.

RenéeSpeed December 26, 2020

I'm only 5' tall and purchased the X-Chair because they advertise that the chair is adjustable to fit petite people. I have the chair adjusted all the way down and the seat depth as far back as it will go and still can't reach the ground, even with 2" heels on. This is without the upgraded wheels that raise the chair another full inch. This chair doesn't adjust to my height any better than a cheaper chair does. The chair seems to be pretty well made and may be comfortable for someone 5' 6" or taller.

They also advertise these chairs are in stock and ship in 24 hours. They didn't ship my chair for 3 weeks and then they did not include my apartment number on the shipping label, so it went to a neighbor's house instead.

SamuelN Andrea Nelson January 12, 2021

Totally. This chair is so huge on my little body. The chair doesn't even fit my 5'8 husband.

DaveC February 09, 2022

Yup. That's exactly why I'm returning mine. The seat is too narrow and you end up putting all your weight on the rock-hard edge of the seat.