QuiBids.com Reviews – Legit or Scam?

 


QuiBids.com
from 1334 reviews Review It
QuiBids.com

 

QuiBids.com is the largest penny auction website currently operating in the United States. Penny auctions have been around for awhile, but have only recently gotten lots of attention from people outside of the penny auction community.

Penny auction websites attract people to them by promising expensive, big ticket items at unbelievably low prices – for example, QuiBids shows a new iPad, which retails at $499 for the most basic model, selling for $22.54.  But this winning bid of $22.54 is misleading.  This isn’t the truth of how much it costs to win that iPad.

The way penny auctions work is that you are only able to bid a single penny at any time during the auction.  However, at QuiBids.com, you must purchase each 1 cent bid for 60 cents.  So an iPad that retails for $499 but was won for the grand total of  2,254 one cent bids (or $22.54) which actually cost 60 cents each means that the iPad just sold for $1352.40.

Though the person who wins the item usually has paid less than retail for what they have received, citing $22.54 as the winning bid is extremely misleading.

So is QuiBids a Scam?

All penny auctions, regardless of reputation, are a bad idea and should be avoided.

First of all, QuiBids.com and other penny auction sites require people to pay for the option to bid, but don’t allow them to bid in increments of their choosing.  This means that QuiBids is forcing the price up and profiting all the while.

On eBay, the seller and buyer have the auction monitored by the website, which is the trusted third party.  On QuiBids.com, there is no trusted third party.  QuiBids is the seller and the auctioneer.  It works in their favor – and their favor only – to drive the price up in these small 1 or 2 cent increments.

QuiBids attempts to redeem themselves by offering you the “By It Now” option, which is when you can take the total amount of your failed bids and apply that toward the retail price of the item you were bidding on.  Say you bid $80 total on an iPod Nano that cost $150.  For the remaining $70, Quibids will sell you a Nano.  Well, $70 plus tax, fees, and shipping and handling.

With the added “fees,” tax, and S&H, that Nano will cost you more than it would at Apple, and usually much more than it would at a discounted retailer like Amazon.com or Target. In addition, QuiBids is not an approved retailer of Apple – or any major brand name – products.

This means that if you get the item from them, the manufacturer warranty is void – if it breaks within the first 60 days, you will not be able to get it repaired or exchanged. If you have a problem within the first 30 days, QuiBids will refund the final auction price you paid, but not a single dime of the bids it took to win the auction.

It’s much better to stick to legitimate auction sites like eBay, instead of spending lots of frustrating time and effort on penny auction websites like QuiBids.com.


 

Would you like to add your review for
Quibids ?
If so, click here
 
Share This Page!

 

Customer Responses, Reviews, or Complaints


Average Rating for " Quibids " is 1.81 out of 5 based on 16 reviews.

  • Rating
      
    ken says:

    August 18th, 2017 at 8:50 pm

    This place is a rip off do not use this unless you want to lose your money. Waste of time and money don’t waste either. Only place I have ever seen when you bid on something and you don’t win it you still lose the money that you had bid on the item. RIP OFF. STAY AWAY

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Tanya Stormes says:

    August 14th, 2017 at 6:43 pm

    Quibids charged my account without my buying bids. Have asked for my money back within an hour of them charging me but they will not respond. They list no phone number and will not answer any questions.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    ediko says:

    July 8th, 2017 at 12:34 pm

    I spend $50 in bidding credits and I win nothing I was bidding on $15 wall mart gift card I spend $20 on bidding and I didn’t get it I gave them $50 nothing in return

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Taylujay (emmette)) says:

    June 26th, 2017 at 10:45 pm

    I am sur[rised at these players knocking quiBids. I have been a member for about 2/1/2 years. HAVE WON MANY TIMES AND I AM CERTAINLY NOT A PRO AT THESE PENNY AUCTIONS. NEVER HAVE I HAD A PROBLEM FOR ANY DOLLAR SPENT. I STAY WITH LOW EMD ITEMS STILL. WANT more experience before I
    go for a real expensive item. QuiBods is located in Oklahoma City and I had no trouble
    and all my question were answered. Foe the complaints from the above maybe go in slowly and just have have fun. Hope I have been of some help/ Taylujay

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    ludwog says:

    June 6th, 2017 at 10:47 am

    I have been locked out after buying a number of new bid chips. It says that my login creds are not acceptible. I would like to know why and who is using my bid chips.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    larry don garcia says:

    May 28th, 2017 at 5:58 pm

    If it seems to good to be true it is. The one penny bid that actually costs you 60 cents pretty much sums up this scam.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    annie says:

    May 17th, 2017 at 7:55 am

    I just paid 50.00 and i don’t know what for and now i cannot get on the sight.

    REPLY

    tholt17 says:
    May 19th, 2017 at 2:58 am

    OMG! ME too i was just curious and put in card infor just to see what was about then get a email saying thank you for $50.00 purchase.
    I have sent email and will be contacting in am. Does any one know where i can find the phone number.

  • Rating
      
    Jane says:

    April 11th, 2017 at 12:11 pm

    I have been on Quibids for about 5 years. I have gotten some really great deals. I don’t understand what others are referring to as the $60.00 minimum. ??
    Things I won are shipped promptly and items are always as described

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Aimee says:

    April 9th, 2017 at 7:49 pm

    I didn’t know i was paying 60.00 and now I’m out of 60.00 and still wasn’t able to even bid on anything it said i had insufficient funds and wanted me to purchase more this is a rip off and a joke and their is no 800 number to call so I’m very discusted they prey on peoples hopes asnd dreams and should be out of buisness

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Kinp says:

    April 3rd, 2017 at 8:16 pm

    Suckers lol

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Tony says:

    March 28th, 2017 at 11:08 pm

    I’ve been on Quibids almost since their start. Once I figured out how it works, I scored some great deals. Lately, though, the quality of the products offered is way down. I like to buy my wife nice purses, but the only thing they have are no=name bags with a retail price of $39. The only thing I am interested in bidding on is extra bids, but I believe that Quibids is using Bots to drive up the price. Also, in the last couple of auctions, my account has frozen up as I approached a win. Beware.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    ed says:

    March 15th, 2017 at 1:13 pm

    I joined Quibids in 2014 by C.C. and invested good monies for bad endings! I still have $60.00 in bid monies laying out there with these clowns & I will consider it a lost cause to try to recover it. I consider them to be a scam artist & they won this time.

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Lee Pritt says:

    March 9th, 2017 at 9:10 pm

    I got enrolled and did not know it cost me $60.00 cant get out or my money back

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Randy says:

    March 3rd, 2017 at 6:21 pm

    I have found that when you know the value of what you are bidding on, and watch how the auctions are going, that it is easy to win gift cards worth $50 for bids that cost far less. Worse case scenario is when the bids you make reach item value, you had better be ready to “buy it now” for the cost of the bids already made. Anyone thinking they will get high dollar items for much less is delusional and doesn’t understand the process,even though some people win having made few bids. Don’t really want an item? Don’t bid!

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    bert guillot says:

    February 18th, 2017 at 10:35 am

    was charged$60 4 nothing how can I get my money back

    REPLY
  • Rating
      
    Doug says:

    February 13th, 2017 at 10:36 pm

    This site is a SCAM in the worst way. They hit you for a minimum of $60 and you get nothing for your money but to get to press the bid button 60 times. This is a rip and should be Illegal!!! They prey on people who have no idea that they get nothing for their money. The now have to disguise themselves under other site names to get you to subscribe to their site. What a Rip! I want my money back!

    REPLY

Add Your Review



Your Comment:

Choose a Rating

Please Write Your ReviewReview Guidelines