Wikibuy Reviews

Wikibuy
( 42  Reviews )



Write a Review

About Wikibuy

Wikibuy, found online at Wikibuy.com, is a new browser extension that offers their users the ability to automatically have all the price comparison information they need without any extra time or effort. 

How Does It Work?

The goal of the Wikibuy website is to offer their customers a chance to “know the best price, automatically” whenever they are searching for a product or item to purchase online, and all you have to do is install a free browser extension onto your Chrome web browser.

Once the extension is installed, all you have to do is shop online like you normally would. For example, say you are attempting to find a cat bed on Amazon.com. The Wikibuy extension will then automatically search other participating retailers, like Walmart.com or pet stores, to see whether or not the offer the same or similar products at a lower price. 

In addition the extension will search discount and coupon websites to see whether or not that particular retailer is offering any promotions which can be applied to your purchase to make it cheaper. 

Wikibuy.com sales that no retailer can pay them in order to be featured more prominently than any other retailer – the only factors that affect their recommendations to their users are the product and the price. 

Finally, all purchases are actually made directly through Wikibuy, so customers can save their payment information to single website and know that it’s not being shared with other websites they may be new to or aren’t necessarily comfortable with. 

Cost/Price Plans

Currently Wikibuy is completely free of charge for customers who wish to add this extension to their browser and use it to find comparable or better deals at other retailers. The money that Wikibuy earns is paid by the retailers they partner with whenever a customer changes their original retailer and chooses to purchase their product through Wikibuy instead.  

Refund Policy

The Return and Refund Policy with Wikibuy is especially particular because Wikibuy acts as a payment processor, managing all the payment information and eventually transferring the payment to the retailer in exchange for your order. 

Because of this, any customers who wishes to return their product for a refund must first go through Wikibuy. Customers will need to go into their Wikibuy account to start the process, and click the Order History option from the menu. Here you will be able to initiate your return process, by providing the information for what you are returning and why. Once their Customer Service team receives your message, they will respond to you within 24 hours to explain your full return instructions. 

Once you follow the return instructions and successfully mail your purchase back to the retailer, they will inform Wikibuy of its successful return, and Wikibuy will issue your refund as soon as possible.   

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact Customer Service with any questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link, which is place at the upper right hand corner of their website.

Reputation

Unfortunately this company has almost no reviews, which is problematic specifically because they offer to act as a payment processor for their customers, holding on to all financial and credit card information and processing returns and refunds if needed.

These are incredibly serious responsibilities, and without any other companies or customers speaking about their personal experiences with this service, customers may find it difficult to know whether to trust this company. This concern is made worse because this extension isn’t actually offered directly through the Google Chrome extension store, but rather only through their own website. 

Customers who have successfully or unsuccessfully tried this service for themselves should leave their reviews of this extension so other customers can know what to expect. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are many other websites which promise offer a similar service, but users will need to exit the website they are shopping at and go to another website and submit a search of that item to see other offers or coupons.

If you have experience with this company or their products, please leave your Wikibuy reviews below.

Read Next: Do Coupon Sites and Savings Apps Actually Work?

42 ‘Wikibuy’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:

Makes no sense

August 29, 2020

Tells you there is a savings through a rebate but doesnt explain in detail. too young of software, needs growing but instead they are trying to sell it before its mature and expect us to be the scapegoat, wont use it. sorry

Comment on this review...

I don't do browser extensions

August 1, 2020

I never do browser extensions. They seem to track everything you do, slow down your computer sometimes, and are hard to get off. If this was a real service, they would just have a website. I am not accusing them of anything. But I've had real problems with browser extensions in the past.

Comment on this review...

Wikibuy doesn't work

April 22, 2020

I just used Wikibuy to purchase a gas can which they claimed they could save me $15. I clicked on the wikibuy link and was sent to another seller, followed wikibuy instruction and they didn't save me a penny.

I ended up paying the full price for the gas can. I could have gotten it cheaper by a few cents from Amazon. Don't get sucked in to wikibuy if you have a Capitol One card or any card that uses wikibuy.

DON'T WASTE YOU TIME OR MONEY!

Comment on this review...

Absurd!

January 19, 2020

I have been trying to get this app for the past 30 min and been asked to go through screen after screen after screen of verify this picture. They won't take any email or face book,I have no idea if it works because you can't get in to see if it does work! What a complete waste of time

View all 2 Comments
February 07, 2020

YES. SCAM. TOLD ME MY ACCOUNT HAS BEEN FLAGGED AS "ABUSE".... NEVER HAVE BEEN ON SITE. NEVER WILL. SCAM, SCAM, SCAM!!! THIS SITE SHOULD BE TAKEN OFF IMMEDIATELY!

February 07, 2020

SCAM, SCAM, SCAM. SAYS "ABUSE" AND WILL NOT LET ME GO IN? NEVER HAVE BEEN ON SITE!!! TAKE OFF SITE!

Comment on this review...

Say it isn't so

May 26, 2019

I will give Wikibuy the benefit of doubt. I've been a programmer once-upon-a-time. I know the work involved in creating such a program that Wikibuy has done. In time (if they are seriously committed which I believe they are) they will have or should worked out all the bugs/kinks and added more improvements and then hopefully we will have a killer app that will save us a bundle almost every time we shop.

My 3 Stars is base on what I've read I still have yet to try it. Once I have I will then revise my Rating to either positive (more stars) or negative (less stars) or leave it as it is if it was less than satisfactory.

View all 5 Comments
July 17, 2019

The heck... then gtfo

July 17, 2019

I didn't feel like reading your post, so I'll give it 2/5. That's about the same logic here.

October 29, 2019

Don't review a product if you have not tried it. Don't be an ass

November 08, 2019

I've never used it, don't even have it installed. But, I'll go ahead and rate 3 stars because I know nothing about it. Maybe, one day, I'll install it and possibly use it and then I might rate it higher than 3 stars. Then again, I might rate it lower than 3 stars. And maybe, just maybe, I might just leave the rating at 3 stars.

March 17, 2020

Just curious or maybe I just like to hear myself talk...hmm or not. I'll let you know when or if figure it out..maybe.

Comment on this review...

Love it!!

January 6, 2019

I have had occasion to test WikiBuy after purchasing an Amazon Show for a relative for Christmas. Wow! Very same product - Amazon Show (new in box as advertised) fo $50-$75.00 cheaper and 'new in box,;' which was incredible. Both were purchased as recommended through E-bay (new in box!)

Perfect..thank you WikiBuy!

Comment on this review...

How Wikibuy works I found very useful

December 22, 2018

I buy on Amazon a lot for low cost purchases, but I knew I wanted to buy a rather expensive item (an EdgeStar KC2000SSTWIN Keg Fridge) and wasn't sure if Amazon was my best option.

I decided to give Wikibuy a try. It was interesting to me that when browsing amazon.com the Wikibuy chrome extension adds an HTML div element to Amazon's product detail page with a class called __wb_container. This is used to essentially add Wikibuy functionality to the amazon shopping experience. I was about to easily see that I could save about $16 by choosing another retailer (build.com in this case), which I wasn't familiar with and would have never known about was it not for the Wikibuy extension.

That was the first think Wikibuy did, but there was one other thing that made the difference. After going to build.com where their price was exactly the same as the lowest price I could find on Amazon, Wikibuy ran through 3 different promo/discount codes it knew about for the site. The best one was an additional 3% off offer that I could use with the lowest price.

Wikibuy did this by actually using javascript to attempt the three different codes in the checkout experience on build.com. This took a little time so some patience was required, but I remember thinking this short wait was faster than me doing it by hand and certainly faster than me searching for discount codes on the internet to try by hand.

In all I was happy with the results and the experience and plan to use wikibuy again in the future. It's a bit invasive (taking over a portion of the amazon.com product detail page), but I get why it has to be to provide the capability it does.

Comment on this review...

Don't waste your time

December 20, 2018

I have been bombarded with adds for Wiki Buy as I've surf the web recently. I decided to try and see if the Hype was worthy of the product. I buy quite a bit online, so I thought I'd compare some prices I knew. Wiki Buy was way off on their 6 products where I knew the recent prices, in the last 30 days. I won't be wasting my time on their site. now I need to find out how to delete them from my computer.

View all 2 Comments
November 30, 2019

I want to delete Wikibuys from my computer also. I have contacted Wikibuys but so far no results.

Is not useful for me.

January 12, 2020

Did you try looking in your programs? There is probably a YouTube video about how to delete it

Comment on this review...

Some readability problems

October 6, 2018

This isn't about wikibuy, but I noticed some grammer things you might want to fix.

1st paragraph: should be "it's users" not their. Their is used later in the sentence to refer to the customers.

2nd paragraph: ditto

3rd paragraph: should be "they" offer.

5th paragraph: 2nd word, "sales" should be "states".

Later: "Any customers who wishes"

We all get in a hurry sometimes!

View all 16 Comments
October 14, 2018

It's very nice that you are a person who cares about grammar, because there are not enough of those in this world. However, it's spelled "grammar." "It's" is a contraction of "it is," so the word you're looking for is "its," with no apostrophe. "Any customers who wish" is correct as written, or "any customer who wishes" would also be correct, but not "customers" and "wishes."

October 25, 2018

You Go mamiebelle!

October 25, 2018

Good for you mamiebelle! It irks me when people decide they are the grammar police, and are WRONG. I am so glad you put them in their place!

December 03, 2018

It's great there are so many people willing to lend a helping hand without being capricious. After all, we're all just human and can only hope to learn from our mistakes and that others are willing to help us do so as well. Feel free to correct any grammatical errors in my comment. I'm always looking to learn. Thanks!

December 05, 2018

Here is another typo.. Wikibuy.com sales (think you meant to say "says" not sales) that no retailer can pay them in order to be featured more prominently than any other retailer

December 06, 2018

I use Grammarly and although it's a bit annoying, when I write professional emails I feel better once it finds things that I say wrong.

December 15, 2018

Corey, before you post a critique of someone's writing, make sure your critique is error-free. "1st paragraph: should be "it's users" not their." No. It's is the contraction of "it is" as in "it's raining". "Its" denotes ownership.

January 16, 2019

In criticizing Wikibuy's grammar, you misspelled grammar.

January 30, 2019

savage

February 28, 2019

omg. it's about the purchases you find, you dummy.

March 13, 2019

Did you mean "grammar" by any chance?

May 26, 2019

LOLOL I'm laughing my head off on this one. You know when someone has use a program to correct someone else's flaw by all their own flaws as they attempt to explain the flaws of others. L.B James you caught Cory with his pants down. Thank You for a good laugh.

July 13, 2019

its, not it's. The latter is a contraction of it is.

September 12, 2019

English Majors?!?!? Sounds like my wife keeping the communications accurate. Helpful? I am sure it was with a helpful spirit.

April 05, 2020

Now if only your wife could learn how to spell "grammar"

September 19, 2020

Ditto on the spelling of "grammar" with an "a" instead of an "e."

Also, "it's" is a contraction for "it is." Without the apostrophe, "its" simply means the word "it" shows ownership.

Yes, we all do get in a hurry sometimes . . .

Comment on this review...

I am quite pleased

October 5, 2018

So far, I am very pleased with Wikibuy. I've been using it for several weeks. I just purchased a $1200 camera security system from Amazon for $895 because Wikibuy directed me to a 3rd party Amazon seller.

Amazon Prime would deliver in 2 days but this 3rd party seller delivered in only 3 days even though he was not Prime. I am very pleased. I have also been directed by Wikibuy from Amazon to Overstock for a $40 curved shower rod that Amazon wanted $50 for. Same item, same brand. I am please with that item and transaction as well.

I have always been directed to reputable websites - never anything shady or questionable. Of course, you have to use your brain for ALL transactions, Wikibuy or not. So far, I have not returned any items to which I was directed by Wikibuy. I honestly do not know that that will make any difference as so far I have already had accounts at the sites Wikibuy directs me to.

I use Ebates on top of Wikibuy and that saves me even more money.

Comment on this review...

I USE IT

February 18, 2018

It has saved me money. I search the web for many items. Have found that Wikibuy has the best prices covered most of the time but not always. Have bought 3 items thru Wikibuy and no problems at all. You have to keep in mind that no database can update quickly enough to always show the best deals. It does work most of the time and the way it ties in coupons has worked for me. Thank you Wikibuy.

Comment on this review...

TOTALLY WORKS!!!!!!!!!!

November 23, 2017

I got the "Pokémon Ultra Sun and Ultra Moon Steelbook Dual Pack - Nintendo 3DS" for $47 LESS THAN the original $153.00 price.
OMIGOSH YAAAASSSSS!!!!!!!!!!

View all 2 Comments
December 04, 2017

It's actually going for 42 bucks on ebay

October 05, 2018

Today that is - maybe not the day this person purchased it. Ebay items are here today; gone tomorrow.

Comment on this review...
review author image

WILL NEVER USE WIKIBUY EVER AGAIN. SCAM.

October 23, 2017

Received a defective item. Filed a case with Wikibuy and the seller. Have not heard from anyone in over a week. No way to phone Wikibuy or contact seller directly. Fortunately I used PayPal so I am protected through them. Will never use Wikibuy ever again. BIG MISTAKE!

View all 5 Comments
October 30, 2017

Did you get this issue resolved yet?

December 04, 2018

This doesn't seem like Wikibuy's fault, unless I'm misunderstanding something.

December 05, 2018

Your purchase is supposed to be protected they Wikibuy. They are supposed to help if something is wrong with an item u receive purchased from a seller on Wikibuy just like PayPal.

January 28, 2019

So do you have Wikibuy contact information to make that happen, Lee?

January 28, 2019

How was this issue resolved, Lee? Has your opinion changed?

Comment on this review...

How to they know my browsing history?

July 6, 2017

Just installed wikibuy. I started to sign up with Google but it asked for access to my contact list, so I used an account I have for just this kind of thing. It asked if I have Amazon Prime and I said yes. Then right away I got a screen saying "wikibuyers found $53 worth of savings in your Amazon history."

What??? It showed one item, an Erector set. I don't find that I looked at that particular set or any on Amazon, but I did look at some on at least one other site (though I don't think the exact one pictured) .

Under that one item was a ton of items under "Suggested Products," many of which I would expect Amazon to show based on what I had looked at, starting out with that latest item, mostly but not all toys, very similar to ones I looked at around Christmas. Except this isn't Amazon and Christmas was months ago.

Under Trending Items there were a lot of cameras and lenses and just this past week I have been taking an online photography class. Maybe those are just always popular items and it was coincidence but all too close for comfort.

Mind you, the email address I signed up with has never been associated with any Amazon account, nor was my Amazon account open at the time. And I do clean all of my browsers frequently but had not since I looked at that Erector set recently. So it was creepy and weird.

View all 2 Comments
October 30, 2017

They know this likely through your IP address. Please see this link to make your connection private. l had posted a more in depth response, but it never posted for some reason.

Basically, algorithms that companies use have a lot of data you don't know about directly. They don't need your account to know this. The programs likely know that you're trying to outsmart them so they use other data. WIKIBUY is not "free" like people believe it is. The reason YOU don't pay for it is because they sell your data. I guarantee it. How else would they operate?

Second, the thing I'm worried about is who actually owns WIKIBUY. There is zero info on them.

http://gear.lifehacker.com/the-best-vpn-service-is-private-internet-access-1794083573

October 30, 2017

The link for setting up a VPN is posted up above.

Comment on this review...

Junk

May 2, 2017

None of the codes ever seem to work

Ebay prices are marked up; you can save money by going to ebay directly.

Deals offered at amazon are paltry at best, seem to take multiple weeks to ship instead of two days and are not worth it in my opinion.

Several of the redirects I've gotten have been to shady looking websites where I'd never willingly spend money.

View all 2 Comments
October 05, 2018

I have not had this experience. The first step is a bit odd looking but if you proceed to the cheaper price, I have always been directed to popular and reputable websites.

October 05, 2018

I disagree completely with your entire review - i have found the opposite on every statement you made. I have never found ebay prices marked up - they are certainly cheaper than Amazon and that's no secret. I buy alot on amazon - I was directed from Amazon Prime to a 3rd party Amazon seller and saved $300 on an Arlo Pro 2 Security camera set up - and he shipped it the next day and I'll get it in 3 days. I've ordered from Prime and seen it take a week instead of 2 days. I've never been directed to a shady account or website. All my redirects have been to highly reputable websites where I, co-incidently, have shopped at before. I have not yet had to return any item to which I was directed to by Wikibuy. I am quite happy with Wikibuy. Not one complaint.

Comment on this review...

Fishy

April 16, 2017

Alright. wikibuy was advertised on my newsfeed and I thought it seemed like a great idea and decided to give it a try. When I clicked to install the extension it asked for this permission:

It can: "read and change all your data on the website you visit"

RED FLAG! I have done software development and I know how easy it is for an extension to change the text of the website you are seeing. To me it seems like they want to deceive me by changing the price: either show me higher price on amazon and make me buy from someone else, or find a cheaper item and sell it to me for a higher price which is still cheaper than Amazon. Both are consistent with the user experiences I see in the reviews here.

I would NOT TRUST an extension that is asking me to ALTER WHAT I SEE in a website, let alone giving them my credit card info/purchase power.

View all 2 Comments
May 29, 2017

I checked with an incognito window and the Amazon prices are still the same. Yeah they could go through the trouble of altering text, but they'd been dead in a second if they did that.

Amazon spikes prices according to demand and Wikibuy can undercut them wit their stock/limited demand. I just ordered something from Wikibuy, so let's see if it's delivered and if they charge me what they claimed.

October 30, 2017

They're not changing the prices. The only "red flag" you should be worried about is the fact that they obviously sell your data to third parties - which is why this service is "FREE." How else would they make money?

They gain nothing by "masking" the price. I get what you're saying, but this is not going to yield them as much money. What would happen if someone discovered the code and then this made news? They would lose a lot of money, if not have legal action taken against them.

I'm not saying its out of the realm of possibility but just think of it this way - what do all services have in common that advertise "FREE" as a benefit for using their service. ALL of their Terms you're signing (which is often by simply agreeing to install the application or opening an account) says that you agree that they can share certain kinds of data with other companies/corporations - excluding your credit card numbers of course.

Comment on this review...

Useless

March 21, 2017

4 orders on Amazon using Wikibuy.. All notified me that the order was canceled. One even had a tracking # from China and was shipped to North Carolina (I'm from Florida) where it was shown as delivered. Amazon refunded my payment without me even asking. The other three never got past "we received your order" phase.

View all 3 Comments
March 25, 2017

That sounds like a problem with Amazon -- how is what you described a problem with Wikibuy?

April 04, 2017

Wikibuy worked great the first couple times but now it will find the scam sellers on Amazon. My last two purchases, one said it shipped with fake tracking number and the arrival date kept moving to the right. The second one just never shipped. Both sellers do not respond and Amazon ends up coughing the money up to refund me.

October 30, 2017

Yeah the above comment makes no sense - if amazon refunded your purchases then WIKIBUY was never involved. Your items were purchased from Amazon and not wikibuy.

Comment on this review...

saved me $40 the first time I used it

February 28, 2017

For a total of about 5 minutes to set up and 20 seconds waiting for it to apply all the discounts at checkout, I saved $40. I love it already and I'll continue to use it.

View all 2 Comments
May 23, 2017

Does this sound like shameless paid promotion to anyone else? Maybe I'm being paranoid

July 10, 2017

No, I think you are right on target.

Comment on this review...

GREAT SAVINGS

February 28, 2017

Saved me more than 4 dollars at papa johns!

June 21, 2017

You do know papa johns has plenty of great deals of their own on the site, even many times to get free pizzas, right? Can likely save a lot more than $4. I usually save more than that every time I order there without any outside help.

Comment on this review...

Finds coupon codes quickly

February 17, 2017

and saves you money besides! What's not to love?

View all 2 Comments
October 30, 2017

Your data being shared with third parties without your permission?

October 30, 2017

Well... I guess you gave it permission when you installed the extension.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review