After all that the company laid out about the evils of sugar and other sweeteners, did you happen to notice that they did not put maltodextrin on their list of sweetener no-no's? That is because they use maltodextrin in their product. Isn't that ironical?
The Risks of Maltodextrin
Last Updated: Aug 16, 2013 | By Allison Adams
Maltodextrin is an artificial sugar that has a mild, sweet taste. Maltodextrin is also known as a polysaccharide and manufacturers create this artificial sugar by applying acids or other enzymes to cornstarch. Maltodextrin is a chain of repeating glucose molecules connected together. You can use this artificial sugar as an additive and a sugar substitute. Maltodextrin also has some purported risks associated with its use.
Structure of Maltodextrin
Maltodextrin contains D-glucose units linked in chains of variable length. Normally, these chains range from three to 19 glucose units. The dextrose equivalent scale rates the percentage of reducing sugars in a sweetener. Maltodextrin scores between three and 20 on the DE scale. A high DE value indicates more sweetness, shorter chains and high solubility. A DE above 20 classifies a sweetener as a glucose syrup.
Manufacturers can derive maltodextrin from any starch. In the United States, manufacturers primarily use corn, and in Europe, manufactures primarily use wheat. The term maltodextrin applies to any starch hydrolysis product containing less than 20 glucose units. For this reason, maltodextrin refers to a family of products, instead of a specific product. Wheat-derived maltodextrin may pose health concerns for individuals with celiac disease because of the gluten found in wheat-derived maltodextrin. However, in most cases, the maltodextrin production process completely removes the protein from the wheat resulting in a gluten-free wheat-derived maltodextrin.
"Maltodextrin can be enzymatically derived from any starch. In the US, this starch is usually corn; in Europe, it is commonly wheat. Wheat-derived maltodextrin may cause concern for individuals suffering from gluten intolerance. If wheat is used to make maltodextrin, it will appear on the label."
"Maltodextrin is a white powder often used in processed foods as a thickener or a filler since it's fairly inexpensive, as well as in pharmaceuticals as a binding agent. You'll find it in canned fruits, snacks, cereal, desserts, instant pudding, sauces, and salad dressings. Since it contains fewer calories than sugar, it's also found in sugar substitutes, such as Splenda or Equal."
Reading the fine print and seeing maltodextrin as one of the ingredients of Keybiotics makes me not trust this product or the company.