Vinesse Wine Club Reviews

Vinesse Wine Club
Based on 14  Reviews



Review It

About Vinesse Wine Club

The Vinesse Wine Club, located online at Vinesse.com, was established 20 years ago as a monthly wine club with the purpose of attempting to make interesting wines accessible to the average consumer.

Vinesse says they are one of the largest and most respected wine clubs in the country, specializing in finding little known wines from small wineries which average wine lovers would not be able to find anywhere, unless they happened to attend the winery itself.

They also like to provide a guide to their wines, including giving their customers the wine’s story as well as recipes for the foods that will pair best with that month’s wine selection.

When you sign up for the club, you must provide them with an address where you or someone else over the age of 21 can personally sign for the delivery. Vinesse will deliver to your place of business if this is easiest for you.

Unfortunately, however, there are some states which will not allow you to receive wine in the mail. These include states like Alabama, Arkansas, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, Pennsylvania and many others.

If you do live in a state which allows wine shipments, however, you can choose to receive red wines, white wines, or a mixture of the two varieties. Vinesse says their goal is to only provide you with wines you will like.

To that end, if you have complaints that a wine is damaged or you do not enjoy it, you can call customer service at the phone number 800-823-5527 to either request a refund for that month or a replacement wine. You can also choose to skip a month if you are going on vacation, or for any reason.

And, if you decide the membership is no longer beneficial to you, you can cancel at any time, and for any reason. This club requires no minimum purchases or minimum time commitment.

If you have any experience with this service, please leave your Vinesse Wine Club reviews below.

14 ‘Vinesse Wine Club’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

Cancelled membership, then 3 months later another shipment



December2, 2014

I got my wine and shortly thereafter, my miles back in August 2014. As soon as I had the miles, I immediately cancelled my membership on their website. Then, 3 months later, I was looking at my credit card account info and saw a pending charge for $224.40 from Vinesse. I went to the Vinesse website and logged in and saw that they were charging me for 6 bottles of wine. I immediately called them and they said they would try to stop the shipment. Within 10 minutes I received an email saying that they couldn't stop the shipment (even though it took another 4 days for the automated shipping notification email to be sent to me.) and they sent me another email with a link to request a credit. I filled out the credit request form online, and nothing.... I called and they said it could take 10 days for the credit department to call me back... nothing... I called back and they said a manager would call me back... nothing.

I called my CC company and have contested the charge. Now, we'll see if they call back.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 13, 2017

Hello Gyan,
Thank you for your feedback as this will help us improve the services we offer, which is always our goal! Looking over your membership, we show that this enrollment was done online through one of our promotions offering miles in exchange for wine club shipments. It looks like you might have accidentally unsubscribed from our emails instead of your wine club. We apologize for the confusion as we show the first contact you had made to us was after your 2nd wine club shipment had finished processing. We were unable to stop this shipment as it had left our facility in route to you. It looks like this issue has since been resolved for you, and we were able to fully reimburse you for this shipment. Please let us know if there are any remaining concerns.

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

total scammers ! FAKED WINES...NO AIRLINE MILES EVER ! BEWARE !



April21, 2014

after getting an american airlines invite for this i thought give it a try ,i liked the idea getting miles for every dollar spent and 2500 miles extra for entering their scam...good joke. i stayed for three months,paid like 300 us for wines worth maybe 60 us in total,all of them by unknown and cheap national and southafrican companies and never ever saw one mile on my aa frequent flyer (platinum executive) account.i called them ,cancelled any future orders , and they told me ''no,the mileage promotion has expired ...no miles for you'' darn schmuck ! be careful,do not join these bastards ! they lie,steal and send you trash. i am monitoring now absolutely my credit card bills....i am conidering reporting them to the fbi for fraud and wire fraud....do not do business with these crooks !!!!!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 13, 2017

Hello Adrian,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience with one of our wine clubs. We would like to apologize for any misunderstanding regarding a promotion that was offered to you. We do our best to honor every promotion to the best of our ability and would love the opportunity to ensure you’ve been given every mile you’re entitled to. When one promotion expires, another often begins. On average, we award roughly 2.6 million miles to our members on a weekly basis. Our wine directors search far and wide for new and exotic wines to be sent to our members. Many of these wines have won countless awards in various categories and are highly rated amongst wine makers and wine lovers. We understand that not every wine we select is going to be a home run, as everyone has a different palate for wines. For this reason, we have our satisfaction guarantee in place to ensure you are receiving wines you find of quality. Again, we would like to apologize for any misunderstanding during your time with us.

Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Fake wine labels



January27, 2014

I've received two shipments for a total of 9 bottles. Each one of them had exactly the same cork, even though they were from supposedly different wineries. The descriptions of the wine on the back labels and the winery names themselves all seem fake and made up. I googled the winery name of all 6 bottles from the last shipment and low and behold, there is no evidence of those wineries existing....no address, no web site, no nothing. When i called Vinesse customer support the rep didn't believe me that each bottle had exactly the same style and logo cork becuse she said that would be impossible...when I offered to send her a photo of the corks, she put me on hold and then came back with a story about how it's possible but she didn't know, and she would have someone call me. I've never received a call or an explanation as to why all of my wines are from wineries that apparently don't exist except in Vinesse's warehouse. I called again and asked for the address of two of the Santa Rosa area wineries and the rep told me she couldn't provide that information. This feels to me like they are just making up wine labels and slapping them on generic bottles of wine. By the way, the wines taste very poor and cheap.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 13, 2017

Hello Andrew,
Our members' satisfaction with the quality and value of our wine selections is our highest priority. All our wines pass a rigorous and competitive review by our highly experienced tasting panel. We source wines in many different ways, including directly from wineries in the US and abroad, through distributors and through trusted wholesalers and importers. Sometimes, we act as a "negociant" and work directly with foreign and domestic wineries to produce custom wines for our customers but that cannot be labeled with existing brand names. These negociant wines must be labeled with unique new and distinct names to protect existing brands and sources. Sometimes, our best values for our customers are found through negociant arrangements as existing high quality wines are sold for far less than their full price to us and the savings are passed to our members. Many of these wines have won countless awards in various categories, including quality, in numerous competitions. If ever you are unsatisfied with the wine selected for you for any reason, you are welcome to make use of our satisfaction guarantee.

Your Comment
review author image
Kevin
Guest

Don't buy from this company!



May10, 2013

I signed up upon getting an email from Vinesse promoting that they were working with American Airlines and would give me 2000 miles after the first month and 3000 miles after the second month.

The first shipment arrived as promised and I did receive the 2000 miles for the first month. However, they double charged my credit card. When I called them to report this, they said I must have hit submit twice by accident when I signed up for the club. Maybe, but the only problem with this theory is that they only sent me one shipment of wine, not 2 shipments like they say I accidentally signed up for.

It seemed like they just double charged me hoping I wasn't checking my credit card statement and hoping I wouldn't notice.

They did refund the money for the double charge. Then I received the second month's shipment. The shipping charge was very high so I decided to cancel my membership since it wasn't worth paying $130 a month for 6 bottles of mediocre wine.

They never gave me the 3000 bonus miles for the second month's shipment of wine even though I received and paid for the wine. I have called several times and even though the representatives were polite and said they would look into it, they refused to give me the 3000 miles as promised for the second month.

Finally, AA decided to reimburse me the miles from their end since they felt bad that a company they were affiliated with had cheated me.

Do not order anything from this company as they will try to scam you, not reward you as promised, and send you overpriced and mediocre wine.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 13, 2017

Hello Kevin,
We’re very sorry to hear that you had anything but a pleasant experience when using our wine club service! We strive to ensure that all aspects of our services are upheld. Regarding the duplicate charges, we apologize for any inconvenience but are glad that the charges were taken care of. There are times when members accidentally submit two orders when enrolling into our wine club promotion. When this is done, our system catches the duplicate order and cancels it but a pre-authorization might be placed on your card for the duplicate. In cases like this, the charge takes care of itself within 2-5 business days and drops off your account all together. In the meantime, it would appear as if you were double charged for your order. On average, we award roughly 2.6 million miles to our members on a weekly basis through various promotions. We would love to look into this issue if you are missing any miles from the promotion you enrolled into. If you feel something is amiss, please call our customer support at 1-(800)-823-5527, our hours of operation are Monday – Friday 6:00am – 5:00 pm PST so we can research this further and hopefully resolve any errors that may have occurred.

Your Comment

review author image
John
Guest

Lies and More Lies



April25, 2013

Overpriced wine that is so so, but I was lied to on multiple occasions. Deferred a shipment, which they acknowledged but ignored and sent anyway. Was told on 4/19 that it had been shipped and could not be called back. Got a UPS notice that on 4/25 they still did not have possession, so it was still in their warehouses. Was told I would get a full credit but only recorded a 50% credit. Called back, said I would get a full credit if I returned the wine. Finally got them to stop the shipment on 4/25 scheduled delivery for 4/26 when I told them no one would be there to accept it. Said they couldn't issue a second credit but would send me a check for the balance.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 13, 2017

Hello John,
Thank you for your feedback. This will help us in improving the services we offer to our members. We would like to apologize for any misunderstanding in this matter regarding our shipping processes. When we send out a shipment to a member, it leaves our facility on temperature controlled trucks. The shipment doesn’t have tracking during this time and is not in the hands of the courier, so while the shipment appears to be making no progress, it’s in route to you. With regards to your credit, we would be happy to look into this matter for you further, if you could please either provide us with your member number or contact our Customer Support Center. We can be reached at 1-800-823-5527 and our hours of operation are Monday – Friday 6:00 AM – 5:00 PM PST. We would be happy to get this matter resolved for you.

Your Comment
review author image
Darryl
Guest

They don't have a way to cancel



March25, 2013

I tried out one shipment and the wine was ehh, ok. I have been trying to cancel and all I get is a "all circuits are busy", they don't have online help nor a way to cancel without calling them. Such a pain

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
June 13, 2017

Hello Darryl,
Thank you for your feedback in regards to this matter. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have come across when trying to cancel your membership with us. It sounds like you may have been trying to reach us outside of our hours of operation. Our hours of operation are Monday – Friday 6:00 AM – 5:00 PM PST. You are able to deactivate any wine clubs you are enrolled into with us by logging into your Member Service Portal online. Simply click on the link My Account (Login), enter your account credentials, and then click on any wine memberships that you no longer wish to partake in. We do show that you were able to get ahold of us to close your membership, and we would like to say thank you for giving us a shot!

Your Comment

Leave a Review