Vacasa.com Reviews

Vacasa.com
( 12  Reviews )

Website:   www.Vacasa.com


Write a Review

About Vacasa.com

Vacasa.com is a vacation rental service that will guarantee a simplified process of finding lodging for your vacation. Taking a vacation is supposed to be relaxing and yet, planning one can be one of the most stressful tasks. With that in mind, Vacasa’s goal is to make vacations simple.

Products

As mentioned, Vacasa is a vacation rental service where users can find lodging for trips at a lower booking fee than at a hotel. It is also used for homeowners who would like to rent out their property and make a commission.

It has desirable vacation homes spread all over the United States, Central America and South America as well as some locations in Africa and Europe. Each location is unique to the area and personal, while still being hospitable and comfortable.

How Does It Work?

The process is simple, whether you are looking for a property to rent, or attempting to list your property. Once you create your account, the process is smooth.

If you are searching for a vacation rental, all you have to do is input your desired location in the search bar. Afterwards, you will be offered a multitude of options in and around that location.

Once you do your research and decide on a place, all you have to do is make sure that your account is in order and you will be able to book. Similarly, the process for listing a property is just as simple.

All you have to do is access your account, supply the website with the information needed and wait for bookings.

Cost and Price Plans

The price really differs depending on your desired location, time of year and popularity of the property. However, rest assured that since it is not a hotel employing a staff of people, the cost is a lot cheaper.

Customer Service

Vacasa is extremely easy to contact, as all their company info is listed on their website under the ‘Contact Us’ tab. That said, call them at (503) 345-9399, email them at [email protected], or fax them at (503) 897-7036.

Their policies are all quite simply explained in their Frequently Asked Questions tab as well. As for their cancellation policy, if you cancel within 24 hours, you will receive a full refund. You will be able to receive said refund within 30 days of booking.

Online Reviews/Complaints

While the website makes Vacasa seem simple and safe, the reviews say otherwise. This website actually has an extremely negative rating, as many had complaints with it and claim it to be a fake, spam website. There are some good comments too, but those are limited.

Competitors and Alternatives

Vacation rental platforms are extremely popular right now and so, even though Vacasa has negative reviews, there are plenty of good, safe options out there with similar services to Vacasa.

The one that probably started it all is Airbnb. It is a vacation rental agency in which people can find rentals and put their properties up for rent. It is similar to Vacasa in many ways when you think about Vacasa vs Airbnb.

However, Airbnb is accessible in many more locations and is way larger of a company. This is both a positive thing and a flaw. It is positive as this company has had its time to grow and work out many of its flaws that inevitably arise.

On the other hand, this is a downside because, since the platform has grown so quickly, their scanning process is not perfect. As a result, it is not guaranteed that the property you rent or the people who rent your property will be everything you wanted.

Unlike Vacasa, the property is taken care of by the owners completely. This means Airbnb itself cannot confirm the state of the place. Also, your best option may be sharing your space with the owners and only getting a room.

Another example that is an alternative to Vacasa is TurnKey. Turnkey is extremely similar to Vacasa and Airbnb, except it is solely, currently in the United States.

If you compare Vacasa vs TurnKey, the latter runs similar to the former, so may prove as a good option to run alongside each other when researching properties in a specific area.

Evolve is marketing partners with Airbnb and again, works very similarly. What truly differentiates Vacasa vs Evolve is that the cancellation terms are a lot more flexible.

If you are planning a trip, but you are not exactly sure how certain you are, this may be the platform to book your rental through.

One thing you will realize with the competitors is that they are all very much alike and vs Homeaway, there’s not much difference. Basically, in all of these websites, you might be best off just figuring out which website’s design and interface you prefer and stick to that one.

Your best option might be to go with a competing company with safer reviews. Since Airbnb is the most popular, it is most likely the safest. Albeit, the other three options may be just as good.

Where to Buy?

To make use of Vacasa’s services, just head on over to their website at www.vacasa.com

Conclusion

Vacasa claims to offer a simple way to find lodging for your vacation. While this statement is true and it really is simple to find lodgings, it would seem that many have trouble with it actually following through.

There are many options for vacation rental services though, so it may be better to pick a site with better and safer reviews.

You May Also Be Interested In

12 ‘Vacasa.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:

Vacasa is THE WORST!

October 23, 2020

I had my mountain property listed with them for six months. Not only would they not even replace a lightbulb but they wouldn’t take the garbage out. How they call themselves a “management company” I have no idea. It was the worst experience Ive ever had. After meeting with two of their managers in the Breckenridge area, they still never followed through on anything. My house was rented 15% of the month. I switched to a new management company (Colorado Luxe) and now have a 95% occupancy rate. Vacasa is a joke. My expectations were modest. And they never even met minimal expectations. Their mid-level management in town absolutely sucks. I cannot say enough about how poorly they operate. And they actually don’t even care! I would never ever ever rent from them or have them manage my property. Save your time and serious frustration!! 0 stars

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Don't use Vacasa as your rental management company

August 20, 2020

Vacasa is the rental management for my vacation home in Kissimmee. I work with Vacasa after managing my vacation home on my own for two years. I was hoping Vacasa can bring me good revenue and only charge 25% of my total revenue. On the revenue front, I am very disappointed about the booking rate and the overall daily charge they got from booking. With CVOID-19, I decide to sell my property. Vacasa charges me thousands of dollars on the two bookings they have more than a month to move to other property. That is very unreasonable. As a host on booking.com, booking.com work with me on the booking that needs to move. If I give them one month in advance time, they usually move without any charge to host. In that token, Vacasa is a total rip-off. I will not recommend Vacasa to other vacation homeowners. Beware of their charges. Very high. In fact, it is more than $3,850 higher than you will get in booking.com as your own host. For a rental management company that cannot guarantee your revenue. You should not use Vacasa as your rental management company at all. Be aware!!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Truly awful company

July 8, 2020

Absolutely horrible customer service
Absolutely horrible customer service. They don’t answer the phone, their “contact” phone numbers lead to voicemail boxes that are perpetually full. They don’t enforce any rules. Property is damaged, neighbors are upset. Really an awful company.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

TRACEY WAS AWESOME!

July 1, 2020

Tracey was awesome! I needed to cancel our reservation at the last moment. getting through on phone was long. But once she received my call - she was so very nice, apologetic for the wait time. She helped me quickly and I received my FULL refund. THANK YOU SO MUCH. I will use Vacasa again in the future. Excellent customer service!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Vacasa Island Retreat Hilton Head

June 17, 2020

I have been traveling for 30 plus years and am not a difficult person. I have never had significant problems and I have not written reviews before. This is the WORST rental company and owners I have ever dealt with. Word of advice- steer clear of company and rental property(Island Retreat Hilton Head Island). I had literally tried to reach VACASA for approx 30 times prior to travel via phone and email and there was never any response. When at property I called many times and reached them 4 times with some problems the main one being our spa/hot tub. The advertisement falsely states they have a spa which should be a heated tub. It is freezing as well as the pool(property is densely shaded and sun does not heat the water). The pool states not heated over the summer which we were fine with but ad states they have a spa/hot tub. It is not- more like an ice bath. Weather was in the low 80s. They refuse to heat it even despite Us offering to pay for heating- refused but never getting back to us. 4 times they spoke to us(they seemed polite and cordial) and said they would get back to us and NEVER did. The facilities are older and not well cleaned. You can do as you wish but I recommend save your money and avoid hassles- rent from different rental company and renters.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Do You Love Cleaning For Vacation?

June 16, 2020

Arrived at the Moab, Utah home June 9 and found that I needed to clean and sanitize the house because it wasn't as professionally clean as promised. There is a pandemic and the fridge had finger prints, the dishwasher had food and grime inside it. The towels weren't bleached well, one had a dried spot of blood on it. I also had to wash the coffee maker and sanitize it. Vacasa is bogus when it comes to making sure your health is safe, and their customer service is non-existent. Just do a search, as I wish I had, for all the negative reviews. Oh' and if you believe that they really short staffed then you must consider how they have one person sending auto replies to ever person who has been ripped off by these people. I'm not sure VRBO is any better because they didn't seem to share my grievance or understand that I wanted partial refund for my experience. They simply just said "you should have contacted us when you were on vacation." I contacted the people and used the info provided me when I booked.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Not so deep cleaning and non existent customer service

June 15, 2020

We showed up at our rental at Kiawah and not only was it not "deep cleaned" it wasn't cleaned at all! last renters left the place with trash, beds not stripped, etc. We went to the local Vacasa site at Freshfields market and the women there basically told us she couldn't do anything and we would just have to wait for the maids to show up. We asked what we should do in the meantime and she said, "that's up to you, you figure it out..." Hmmm. YOU are the property manager and it is your job to coordinate your team of contractors to ensure that things run smoothly!!!!

Three other renters showed up and complained about the same thing and as we were all trying to sort out next steps outside, she turned out the lights, locked the door, and ran out the back door! Very professional---Not! It was still 30 minutes before they were supposed to close.

We left and started cleaning the unit ourselves. The maids finally arrived at around 5:45. They were apologetic but didn't seem to have bleach or other basic cleaning materials. I told them to clean the shower which had black mold with bleach. When we arrived back at the unit after getting a drink while they cleaned, not only was the shower still moldy--all over but nothing smelled like bleach-- let alone cleaning fluid. I had to buy my own cleaning supplies 2 days later and scrubbed the shower and floors myself. The decks were also not cleaned.

Not only is there no deep cleaning happening, but Vacasa and the contractors on site are also understaffed!!! Don't expect to get anyone on the phone or even at the local office to help you (every time we stopped by the local office after that first night it was closed!) The phone hold times are up to an hour-long and I have no idea what we would have done if a major appliance broke, etc. Not sure what owners are paying for other than a few emails to set up the rental. I will never use Vacasa again. They never addressed multiple emails, messages, etc. I think I should receive at least a few nights rebate since I spent 2 nights in a dirty home that was supposed to be Deep cleaned with the appropriate cleaning materials. Never again!!!!!

When I spoke with customer rep Malia she seemed sympathetic and was going to try to get me further compensation beyond just refunding my cleaning fee and money spent on supplies. Subsequent emails to her went unanswered. Apparently, their tactic is to ignore any customer complaints and assume they will go away.

This was not the way to spend my 30th wedding anniversary. And BTW, the condo was not a premier property--very much in need of TLC and a good cleaning. NOt worth the almost $5K we spent on the weekly rental.

It is appalling that you still refuse to acknowledge my concerns. I might as well be talking to a robot.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Bad Vacation owner experience

April 15, 2020

DO NOT LIST YOUR VACATION HOME WITH VACASA. I did and it was a NIGHTMARE. Their entire scheme is to rent your home out at below the market rate to keep it mostly occupied and then add fees to you and the tenants outside the "Rent", which is all they share with you, so they are making the profit while you have to pay all of the expenses. Their corporate culture is rancid; exploitive of the home owners, totally geared toward Monetizing your property to the max and leaving you with the bills. Every month, and I only lasted two, I had to argue with them to get fees to me reversed which were either outside those stated in their contract or for services I never authorized. Additionally, the sales people told me several things that were not accurate to get me to list with them and then, when it happened differently, the Corporate office would not make right on those representations.

MONETIZING THIEIR FEES:
Another of their tricks is to list your space on multiple sites but list it for significantly less on the Vacasa website where they get a substantial “booking” fee in addition to the 30% or so of “Rent” you have negotiated with them. On a two day stay they would let the tenants stay an extra eight hours or essentially a third day, charge them for that time, and not call it "Rent" so they would not have to share a portion of that fee with you even though you paid the extra utilities and had the wear and tear. Fees for having a hot tub, bringing a dog, early or late arrival would likely go entirely to them. You have to pay for them to open, shutdown close and clean the cabin but then they add a fee on to bring out the chairs and BBQ in the summer, or clear the few feet of walkway between the snow plow service you pay for and the front door.

GO WITH LOCAL MAMAGEMENT: The local Vacasa people were very nice but on important decisiiions had to refer you to a management hierarchy with a CORPORATE MENTALITY that was daunting. In the 15 years I have owned this property I have had a couple of local Managers who, although they were not always totally efficient, they treated me in a fair and honest manner, the guests like a valuable asset and understood that my vacation home also my second home and was more than an asset for them to run down in order to Monetize it to the Max. And if you want to end the contract you can do that at any time but any bookings they already have, and they book up to a year in advance, they make you pay the entire amount of the “Rent” to them, if you decide to drop those bookings, even though normally they only get about a third of the rent.
CONTRACTS:
They are 100% inflexible with their online contract and would not change a single word, since it was carefully crafted to give them every advantage and every opportunity to get more money on their side of the ledger.
LAWSUITS: Since they have had class action suits over their questionable practices (Google: 8/30/2017 11:08:45 AM 17CV37165 or simply try Vacasa law suits) they put language in the current contract that forces binding arbitration, thereby avoiding or reducing the ability to do a class action suit over their business practices.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

AVOID VACASA RENTALS....FILTH, BUGS, DISGUSTING

July 11, 2019

DO NOT US ANY VACASA RENTAL PROPERTY. They have a horrible reputation. I stayed at a palm Desert rental and we left 1 day early because of cockroaches, spiders, rat droppings, mouse droppings, filthy floor, etc. etc. If you value your health and family's health do not stay at a VACASA rental property.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Vacasa is the worst!

October 15, 2018

I can’t speak to the condition of the cabin since they cancelled our reservation 6 days before our scheduled arrival date!!! We were not offered anything in close proximity or monetarily comparable either. Thanks for ruining our 10th anniversary. I wish I had read the hundreds of negative reviews before we booked with these scammers.

February 17, 2020

They did the same thing to us. I had been scheduled since the last of dec then about t weeks before our arrival that cancelled and did not offer anything comparable. Now i see they had renamed cabin because i posted a negative review

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Wapato Point, Manson, WA rental review

July 20, 2018

Review of: USA Washington Manson Wapato Point Listing #3539

Vacasa rental was filthy. Thousands of cobwebs with bugs and insects cover all windows, eves, and outdoor furniture. Inside all skylights full of both.

Interior had been ripped out and poorly replaced. Kitchen stove was ancient glass top that failed commercially because most hate them.

One child ripped toe on raised tack at rug edge.

Avoid this home. It's a filth pit.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Skip it!

May 26, 2018

We recently stayed at a vacation rental in Rockaway Beach Oregon. When we arrived we had no code for the door lock and no internet info. It took quite awhile to contact someone to get inside. Once we entered the house we were nearly overcome by the mold odor. It was awful. The layout was alright, albeit a little strange and the bathroom was tiny. I mean REALLY small. If you were a larger person, it was nearly unusable. The furnishings were not very comfy and looked very outdated- like garage sale items. The master had a comfortable bed and that was the best part of the entire place...however- the bedrooms had visible black mold. 3 of us returned home ill from sleeping in those toxic rooms. It was quite a run down rental considering we paid over $500 for 3 nights. The location was nice- short walk to the ocean. We will report this vacation rental to the county to get the mold eradicated. It is a health risk. VACASA would not allow us to leave a review because it was negative. They also offered nothing in the way of a partial reimbursement or even a voucher for a future stay. We will not use them in the future. We have also lodged a complaint with the BBB to warm other potential guests of this incident and the poor way our complaint was handled by this company.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review