U Weight Loss Clinics Reviews

U Weight Loss Clinics
Based on 32  Reviews



Review It

Related Articles

32 ‘U Weight Loss Clinics’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
Max
Guest

Waste of Money



November3, 2012

All I have to say some staff are nice and some are there only for the money. I personally dreaded going in there when certain staff member worked there. She worked at the Grant location in Winnipeg and would make me feel horrible for not buying product and not losing fast enough. Truthfully it is a large waste of money. A person can do this without their help. They are only there to sell you a bunch of pills. If you are looking at weight loss plans this one is expensive and if you have this kind of money (we are talking about a few $1000) and need support to lose weight I say you are honestly better off working with a dietitian or personal trainer to teach you how to lose weight you will actually probably pay the same that help, as you for this program and actually get knowledge from a trained professional then a few girls u weigh loss hired who don't have any formal training in weight loss. ( The only formal training the staff have is a few day course offered by the company.) I honestly feel horrible for falling for this program and truthfully regret it. I lost more weight off it then on it.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 18 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 8 Comments
Happy
December 18, 2012

This is so wrong I have been in the weight loss industry along time and have lost weight my self majority of people need help to lose weight , most of our clients have done everything you have listed here and more and it didnt work for them . why is our success rate so high if we are so bad .anyone can lose weight its keeping it off that is the hardest and that is what we do teach you . all programs are expensive beacause it is a health investment wich I think is priceless , Please keep your judgments to your self

Sickened by Greed
January 06, 2013

Happy! Ha, you should have titled your response Francisee. Your comment defending your business was very defensive, thus leading me to believe that you are just another money grabbing comp[any that feeds off people who are so desperate to regain their lives they will do anything!!!!

Disappointed
January 07, 2013

I was considering joining this program but the above comment from "Happy" really put a "bad taste" in my mouth. Obviously you are a company employee...besides all the grammatical errors in your comment, the last line really irritated me: "please keep your judgements to yourself"???? Duh! This is a review platform...people come here specifically looking for judgements and personal experiences. If "Happy" represents UWeightloss employees, I think I will look elsewhere.

Disappointed too
January 08, 2013

I dreaded going in with certain employees, out of 5 employees only 1 could answer any questions. One employee was upset with me for not buying a certain supplement, I didn't go in for weeks from the upset. They have no idea how to coach and don't understand why people turn to food. following a meal plan is the easy part, but most people like myself end up gaining it back because eating too much has nothing to do with understanding what to eat properly. It goes deeper than that and these people are not trained for that, they are trained to sell sell sell. Healthy eating and excercise will go much further than buying pills that do nothing but trick you.

Lena
January 26, 2013

I was also quite disappointed. The staff didn't appear to have any clear training to address eating "issues" and were comletely unprepared to understand the workings of a busy, working mom of 4...I even asked the 'coach' what the purpose of the coaching sessions was - to paraphrase, she said the coaching was a 'check-in' time and to see how I was doing. My achilles heel is not eating enough - the 'coaches' weren't able to provide me a solid tip in any way aside from telling me that I needed to eat in order to lose. Duh. I knew that already. Our conversations were wasted time in my opinion. It was increasingly frustrating to have to repeat my story to a different coach each time I went in. Wouldn't recommend the program to anyone. It's a money grab, for sure.

former employee
February 12, 2013

the girls make commission lol and the detox is always free they lie they are def not trained properly and will hire anyone the more they sell u the bigger there paychecks !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Client
August 03, 2013

I've been finding that all they want to do is sell their product, if I say no they keep on pestering you to buy. I lost 60 lbs. they keep on trying to sell me kick start (expensive) and I said no. I'm quitting, the new staff just wants to make their quota. I won't recommend this program to any of my friends because it's to expensive.

Angela
October 08, 2013

They are really pesty, basically trying to sell you every single product they carry. They are obviously working on commission. Spend your money elsewhere.

Your Comment
review author image
art
Guest

consultants build emotional relationships in order to sell product



October11, 2012

Consultants should remain more professional and stick to the weight loss talk. Chatting about her personal love life and where she partys on weekends is an odd and needy way of building raport. "Flirting" with these low self esteem males to increase sales is slimy.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
sandra
December 19, 2012

worst company everrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!

sam
February 12, 2013

agreed

Your Comment

review author image
Cindy
Guest

Hidden costs and misrepresentation by Surrey U-Weight.



June4, 2012

I joined the U Weight in Surrey, the owner, Jamie Swan, being a business belonging to the same group as my husband.

Everything was going well and I lost 40 lbs during the weight loss phase. The cost was high @$3,200 but I justified it because it is a “lifestyle change” and my whole family was happy with the meal plans.

Unfortunately, when I hit the maintenance phase, I was told I had to pay another $1,200 for supplements. WHAT??? I thought the cost of everything was taken care of and itemized when I joined and got financing (including the supplements). I reviewed all my paperwork, including the break down sheet with her handwritten notes, and I couldn’t find a thing about having to purchase more supplements that are NECESSARY to complete the program. If you do not take the U-Loss and the maintenance supplements, they have the right to kick you out of the program. WHAT????

I spoke to a lawyer who told me that from the paperwork I gave her, that, yes, it appeared I had financed the entire program. She wrote a letter to Ms. Swan asking them to provide me with the supplements at no extra cost to me. It has been approximately 3 weeks since then and I have not heard from Ms. Swan. Guess it’s court time. The thing I find funny, though, is that the supplements probably don’t cost much to the franchisees since this is probably their main source of profit. It would/will cost Ms. Swan or U-Weight a lot less to just give me the supplements than for them to defend a court action (and bad publicity) which I have already been told by a lawyer is 100% in my favour.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 58 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 7 Comments
shelly
August 02, 2012

actually as a former employee yes the supplements do cost the franchise owners a fare amount. Just wanted to clarify any assumptions out there

Brenda
August 21, 2012

How do you think they make thier money buy more, more and more supplements

A former employee
August 21, 2012

The more supplements you buy you the more commission they make. Lets not forget the bonus. They don't care if you lose weight they need to make thier sales goals. Worked in a clinic where the only thing the manager was interested in was her commission. Never trained anyone about the program or supplements just want to know why sales goals are not met.

Past Employee
October 25, 2012

Exactly!! I use to work there as well and all that they want to do is sell product so they hit there commission and can win trips to Vegas Mexico you name it the top emlopyees and managers who hit there monthly goal win trips!! they do not care if this product even helps you as long as they get commison and "prize". To top it all off 90% of employes that work there are overweight and say they are on the program but you would realize if they are on the program they should be loosing weight not maintaining or gaining!! ITS A JOKE OF A COMPANY!!!!!!!

jennifer
November 16, 2012

Experienced the same thing. When I hit maintenance they said they wanted another $1200. I told them I could not afford it. They kicked me out of the program. They are still taking $300 out of my bank account for coaching. I was told that the $3500 I paid upfront included everything. The employees dismissed my weightloss and never praised me, There is a high turnover of staff as well.

cbraun
May 01, 2013

get your bank to stop payments monthly

Former employee
October 14, 2013

Jamie Swan really made a bad decision. She really should have given you the supplements, especially seeing as you had already paid for them. The last thing U Weight Loss needs is more bad publicity! I hope you won your court case.

Your Comment
review author image
Elsi Pretorius
Guest

Money,money, money



April18, 2012

While looking for a solution to my wieght problems, I visited the U weightloss centre in our town. what a way to spend hard earned money. I feel sorry for people who need expensive support to lose wieght effectively. It dow not have to cost a fortune, actually, it could be done for free.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 11 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
Marie
April 05, 2013

Any weight loss company is expensive. Yes people can do it themselves. Others however may need more guidance towards how to do it properly. Congrats if you did it yourself but don't judge others who are trying, no matter what method they choose.

Kim
May 26, 2013

They don't need to pay out the butt for guidance! Weight watchers is a better program and no pressure to buy more and it way CHEAPER! Um..no brainer!

Laura Lee
October 14, 2013

You really don't need to pay a fortune to lose weight. Many of us have done it without spending thousands of dollars. This program makes me shake my head.

Your Comment

review author image
Melissa
Guest

U-Weight Loss expensive but it works!



April10, 2012

I joined the program and I have lost 6.5 pounds and 8.5 inches in 8 days!!! That was the first weeks (detox week) you're not supposed to have red meat, alcohol, caffeine, salt or sugar I cheated a couple of times as it was Easter weekends and I still had amazing results. I feel more energized than ever and the best part is that you do not have to starve yourself. They really teach you how to put together healthy meals. They are not like some other programs that tell you not to eat any carrots or banana because of the sugar you can eat all fruits and vegetables in moderate amounts. They also encourage exercise and set you up with a program you can do from home. Bottomline I highly recommend this program. I only need to lose about 20 pounds and I feel this is a great jump start to a healthy lifestyle.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 13 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 5 Comments
ElleVancouver
November 15, 2012

This doesn't sound genuine. It sounds like a staffer went on here and wrote this up. Especially after reading all of the bad reviews. I am glad I read them, think I will go back to Jenny as this company sounds like a rip-off of people trying to scam people feeling vulnerable about their weight by promising great results and gouging the crap out of them! I call bullshit!

Big
March 24, 2013

I have been on it for two weeks and am down 16 pounds. It's legit.

Kim
May 26, 2013

But once your stop it will come back on with more to spare!

shelly
June 27, 2013

no I have kept it off for 8 months..and lost a little more.if you actually listen to what they teach you...It works

Laura Lee
October 14, 2013

This company is a rip-off and I bet this "review" was written by an employee. BTW, I know for a fact that they warn against carrots and bananas because they are high in the glycemic index, so I'm sort of surprised to read otherwise in your review.

Your Comment
review author image
Scott
Guest

Scam



February15, 2012

Same as reviews above, all they are doing is taking advantage of people I'm so mad it's hard to write a review without swearing.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 10 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
Former employee
October 14, 2013

They are taking advantage of people when they are at their most vulnerable. Makes me want to swear too! Avoid this place like the plague!

Your Comment

review author image
Alex
Guest

Waste of Money



February7, 2012

I went to U weight loss because I had about 20 pounds to lose. They tried to talk me into paying $3000 to be on this program for a year. I told them I wanted to only try for a month. I have always eaten well and exercised but I thought that having a set meal plan would help me lose weight. I followed the plan they gave me and actually ended up gaining weight. It was ridiculous. They also want you to come in every other day, so they only give you 2 or 3 days worth of meal plans. I have a full time office job and take accounting classes at night. I could have made time to come in once a week, but certainly not 3-4 times a week. When I did make an appointment to go in for a quick consultation that I was told would take 10-15 minutes I was usually there for at least an hour. This plan was time consuming, a waste of money, and I hated every minute on it. This is the worst use of money ever!! After I decided to quit going to this U Weight loss centre I increased the amount of time I exercised each day and followed a meal plan I found on the internet and I am seeing way better results and I'm able to keep way more of my money.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 36 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
Lynn
July 07, 2013

It was a big waste of money try Visi I lost more weight for $70 a month. U weight Loss is a scam!

Laura Lee
October 14, 2013

So, to lose 20 pounds for $3,000, this would cost you about $150 a pound! Definitely not worth it. Plenty of cheaper options out there.

Your Comment
review author image
Angela
Guest

Make Sure You Have A Lot Of Money!



November29, 2011

I met with two consultants at U Weight Loss, and although everyone is very nice and welcoming, when it comes down to answering your questions straight forward - specifically regarding money, my answers were not met and I went into the program without properly knowing how much money I would have to end up paying.

The program is based on how much weight you need to lose, but it also requires you to sign up with a credit plan - which no one full out told me or explained to me. They never told me the consequences of cancelling either. You also have to make sure to not only pay to pay their expensive monthly fees for "coaching" and their stomach turning vitamins, but any extras they may convince you into buying - oh and don't forget the extra food you need to add to your grocery list. And it's not easy on the pocket. At the end of the day, when you try and leave the program, they charge you expensive prices, as if it's a punishment.

I'm now stuck with monthly charges because they convinced me into a program that they never full explained to me in the first place.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 10 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
Susan
January 09, 2013

Girl! You are not alone. I am stuck with monthly charges too. They are charging me $188 a month for something I am not involved in anymore. When I went to go ask if I could just stop coming to counseling and just cancel the membership, they said "you can definitely stop coming but you will still be charged monthly" so what did I do? I stopped coming. To think about it, it saved me more by not coming anymore then to come, or else they would keep charging me for pills on top of the monthly fee. I have to disagree with you about one thing though - the fact you say they didn't fully explain it? They explain it alright, but they don't GUIDE YOU PROPERLY. That is the problem there! They just criticize and make you feel dumb if you fall off, without even understanding why you did it. Complete waste of money indeed! The hot joke is, they said they were going to harass my workplace and everything if I did not commit to paying the monthly fees. What a bunch of scammers!

Ann.D
April 05, 2013

I understand how it can be a pain in the neck to pay for something you're not using. But when I joined, I was given the option of monthly payments. How it was explained to me is that I was taking a loan out from their financial company. So even though I stopped going, I was still being charged to. I am not paying back the clinic and they are not taking money from my bank account, I am paying back the loan I borrowed from the financial company. Its just like a school loan. I am lent the money, I start school. If I quit school, I still owe the bank what they lent me. It's just like a bank minus the interest.

Bec
April 18, 2013

Well put. Exactly! Duh!!

Jess
July 05, 2013

It was explained to me as monthly payments as well. Even though I only have two months worth of supplements and coaching I am still required to pay monthly. My monthly payments are 110.00 a month for 12 months. The total program was about 1300.00. As Ann explained it...it is like a loan. It's too bad that your coaches explained it so poorly!

Your Comment

Leave a Review