TruDog Reviews

TruDog
Based on 25  Reviews


PetCarePets

Review It

About TruDog

TruDog, found online at TruDog.com, is a website that promises to provide dog owners with the high quality dog food their pet needs to thrive, along with the convenience of pre-prepared food that pet owners need. 

How Does It Work?

According to their website, the creators of TruDog once had a pet that developed cancer and had a horrible fight in the attempt to survive, but eventually their dog lost their battle with cancer and passed away. 

After this occurred, his owner did research on pet health, and found that most of the pet foods you find at your local grocery store are the same as feeding your pet fast food every day. In order to make commercial dog food affordable and easy to store, most of the proteins, vitamins, and minerals are destroyed or eliminated and replaced with unhealthy grains and cereals.

TruDog.com says that all dogs are descended from wolves and will have their best health if they eat what wolves would eat – real meat, real organs, and real bones. Unfortunately, feeding your dogs this way on your own can be difficult and expensive. The goal of this company was to make feeding your dog the right way easy to do.

To achieve this, they created freeze dried meat pellets. These pellets don’t need to be stored in a cooler of any kind, and because they are freeze dried instead of dehydrated they still retain all their nutrition and value. All you have to do is keep your pellets in a cool, dry environment and before you feed it to your dog, just add water.

Cost/Price Plans

Currently their website offers customers a map of the various locations around the country where their food is sold, or you can choose to purchase their food from online retailer Amazon.com. Here you’ll find a variety of prices, based on the product you buy and the size and volume you order it in.  

Refund Policy

Since this product is sold primarily through other retailers and Amazon.com, customers will need to look at the Return and Refund policies of the retailer where they purchased their TruDog food in order to know what process to follow if they are hoping to return it. That being said, most companies will not allow you to return a food product which has already been opened unless you can prove that it is damaged or defective, so this is something consumers may want to keep in mind.  

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who wish to speak with Customer Service about their questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 800-476-8808 or by submitting them directly to their website using their Contact Us link.

Reputation

The TruDog dog food appears to have excellent reviews, with many customers speaking online about the high quality of the food, the fact that their dog loves it, and that it is still convenient for them and their schedule.   

Competitors and Alternatives?

Companies and businesses that sell high quality products for pets are not in short supply – most communities will have a pet store or pet supply store of some kind, and all big box stores will offer their customers a pet section. The online community has many, many different suppliers of high quality pet foods and dog products as well, so if TruDog doesn’t seem like the right choice for you, there should be a large variety of other options.    

If you have experience with this company or their products, please leave your TruDog reviews below.

Related Articles

25 ‘TruDog’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:

Absolutely Love



January8, 2018

I absolutely love TruDog, it is the only food that my dogs absolutely love. I have a rescue that would not eat or put on weight no matter what until TruDog, which was a big win for me with her. My senior dog is acting like a puppy again after switching to their raw diet so we started using their joint support supplement and she can jump on the couch again and climb the stairs again too! TruDog has been a great addition to my pack. Thanks TruDog!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
November 08, 2018

Thanks for the awesome review! We are happy to hear that! If we can be of help in the future, please contact our Happiness Concierges for assistance at 800-476-8808 or email at [email protected] Thank you!.

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Best Food Ever, Great Customer Service



January8, 2018

This is the only dog food my dog will eat. I watch the emails for sales and coupons and emailed customers service about my order and got a response right away. I called before placing an order and they helped me decide what products would be best for my dog. Her coat is shiny, she doesn't smell "doggy" and there's no more poop or grass eating. The cats even try to steal a bite when I put her food out. We love everything we've bought from this company.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Waste of time, poor customer service



January5, 2018

It is nearly impossible to reach customer service. I have tried for days via phone, chat, and email to adjust my order. They are always seem to be "busy". The challenge comes with using their subscription service. You can easily add items to your subscription, but you have to call in order to make any other adjustments. Of course, I can never reach anyone. Meanwhile, they bombard you with emails and special pricing. However you can't reach anyone to apply the special pricing to your subscription order. I don't appreciate the "special deal" approach. It may be legit, but looks like smoke and mirrors from the onset. Hopefully, they can get their act together, but in the meantime there are plenty of vendors that sell quality food without the run around. Don't waste your time.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 5 Comments
January 08, 2018

I'm so sorry you had issues with our website. We are working diligently for you to be able to make changes to your subscriptions easier than calling us. We'd love to have the chance to earn your business back. Please call us at 1-800-476-8808 and ask for Rick. As for the special deals, you can unsubscribe from receiving them. Most of our customers love that part of the program, as we promisee to our subscribers that they will get special offers each month to try new products. It's supposed to be a perk, not an annoyance. We did this because we run promos to attract new people every week and I've always thought it was rude to not offer those to your current customers, as well. It wasn't intended to do anything but help you. Again, thank you for giving us a try and I appreciate the feedback. Sincerely, Lori R, Taylor, Founder

January 08, 2018

I'm sorry you are having trouble reaching us and that our subscription management tools have frustrated you. We are working diligently to improve our technology every week. We'd love the chance to earn your business back, if you call Rick at 1-800476-8808, I'm happy to send you some product for your inconvenience. As for the special deal approach - this is part of our promise to our subscribers - that we will always treat you as well as our new people. So if we run specials or promotions to attract new customer, we want to make sure you get the same opportunity. I've always hated companies that treated you better starting out than after years of loyalty. However, you can unsubscribe for our sale emails, if you really don't want to take us up on them. Thank you for your honest feedback - we can't get better if we don't know what you're experiencing. Sincerely, Lori R. Taylor, founder

January 08, 2018

I had no problems reaching customer service via email or by phone during normal business hours. We love the subscription service- no more running out of food, which is important since this is the ONLY dog food our dog will eat. Personally, I enjoy their emails. What they do is no different than other businesses. I get more email from Kohl's and my last seminar training than I do from TruDog. If you don't like the emails, why not unsubscribe?

January 20, 2018

I have also been having issues reaching the Customer Service by phone and email. I placed an order and it shipped over a week ago and we still do not have the food booster. The tracking information has not been updated in days and does not give me any specifics except that the package is on its my to my location.

November 08, 2018

Hello, we're sorry to hear this! We will be happy to resolve any issues. Please contact our Happiness Concierges for assistance at 800-476-8808 or email at [email protected] Thank you and we look forward to helping you.

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

BOOST ME - Mighty Meaty Beef Topper/Meal Enhancer -SCAM



December4, 2017

HEY TruDog :
Please tell us, according to your video: IF "... Lori learned that feeding dogs dry kibble, is A major Contributor to dogs heath issues" etc. WHY WOULD YOU CREATE A "TOPPING" TO SPRINKLE ON THE VERY SAME DRY KIBBLE THAT SHE SUPPOSEDLY "LEARNED" WAS A CAUSE OF HEALTH PROBLEMS????

The truth is Lori and TruDog learned to exploit the current kibble situation, knowing that normal non-1% of people can't afford to pay $40 bucks (normal price) or $21 for that matter, for a measly 14oz of dog food (NOT EVEN 1 POUND OF FOOD) so to prey upon those concerned pet owners and to reach in their wallets, this "Beef Topper/Meal Enhancer " concoction was created; when in all reality doesn't do much of anything BECAUSE in the end the pet is STILL EATING dry kibble, the "very same major contributor she 'learned' that killed her dog Truman" only now... it just now tastes better.

Sure, it might provide "Boost Nutrients, Amino acids & FLAVOR" but it doesn't "magically neutralize or eliminate" the poisons in the dry kibble nor in the end make any significant difference for the overall health of the dog or cat.

Bottom line: Garbage with a Flavor topping, still remains the same... Garbage with a Flavor topping.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
December 07, 2017

I have the opposite opinion about what Use it has to say about this product,
I am going raw with our dog and transitioning slowly to avoid gastric upset.
Mostly diarrhea. My dog is a very picky eater of dry dog foods I have tried several before coming across Orijens. out of Canada, She loves this food without the Trudog. If you can't afford quality dog foods or going raw because of the time to make it and freeze it, then Yes Trudog is what you want to add to your dry dog food especially if its not a high quality sourse food. Your dogs diet needs to be raw, raw bones, raw chicken with bones, all help and premote healthy teeth, muscle, bone density and longevity without premature aging symptoms. Check out Youtube videos by Vet, Dr. Becker, she has several addressing the best types of dog good and additives based on your capability to pay. If you put junk into your own body you'll be on tons of medications to reverse the damages if you do the same for your dog, you'll be doing the same thing or putting them down before their time.

January 08, 2018

The company explains that not everyone can AFFORD to feed a 100% raw diet. The topper is an alternative to help those people add raw nutrition to improve their dog's diet.

Plus, that 14 ounces of food lasts my husky three days- the feeding amounts for raw food are not the same as a carb-packed kibble.

It's NOT a scam, you're just uninformed.

January 08, 2018

David,

if i could convince consumers to quit buying kibble altogether, I would. If you've ever suffered losing a dog to cancer way too young, you'd never want anyone to experience it - not even your worst enemy. That being said, it's not realistic to think people will stop feeding kibble altogether - especially those with really big dogs, or multiple dogs. I'm a huge advocate of making it yourself if you can't afford for it to be done for you. I've even sent recipe books out to pet parents who believe in our message, but can't afford it. It's about doing the best you can for your dogs. For some people that means adding in raw to supplement what the are currently feeding. The same way my mom gave me vitamins and didn't sell out on me thinking, "well she is going to eat sugar and fast food anyway, why bother" - we don't quit on dogs just because you can't do it "perfectly". Even if you can't chose "best", you can always find a way to do something "better". And that's what Boost Me is for our customers...a better way than doing nothing.

As a side note to your comment about the size of our bags...our bags have about 7 cups of food in them - equivalent to a 2.2 lb of dry kibble. The difference is we remove the water which makes it weigh less.

I do appreciate your feedback and can tell you are passionate about dogs. We just have a different philosophy. And no one who actually knows me would ever accuse me of "preying" upon anyone. If i wanted to rip people off, I'd make a kibble, call it premium (no regulations on what is premium) and put a premium price on it. However, when you use muscle meat that has been deboned by hand, along with all the vital organs, blood and bone and slowly freeze dry it over 72 hours before putting it in a bag - well, it's certainly not a mass produced product that you can make cheaply.

Sincerely,
Lori R Taylor
Founder of Trupet llc

Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Poor Customer Service



July17, 2017

Be very careful ordering from this company. I placed an online order and never received a comfirmation email. Days later I received an email that my order had shipped. So far so good right, well not so good. A few days later I wanted to check on the estimated delivery date only to find that the order was shipped and delivered to an address unknown to me. I immediately sent an email explaining the situation, in fact two emails and since I had not received a response contacted them through their online chat.

I was told that they would resend the order at my expense since I gave them the wrong address. I explained three times that I did not put that shipping address in, in fact i checked use billing address. Again I was told no refund without returning the order. Well since I didn't receive it and don't know where it is that would be difficult. I was then told to contact the post office and see if they could help. Again I strongly urge you not to order from this company.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
August 02, 2017

I had a very poor reception with the " Chat" area of Trudog with an individual named Andre. Very vague and no showing of a welcoming company. I hope my order arrived. I am sorry you had this trouble.

January 05, 2018

Agreed. It is nearly impossible to reach customer service. I have tried for days via phone, chat, and email to adjust my order. They are always seem to be "busy". The challenge comes with using their subscription service. You can easily add items to your subscription, but you have to call in order to make any other adjustments. Of course, I can never reach anyone. Meanwhile, they bombard you with emails and special pricing. However you can't reach anyone to apply the special pricing to your subscription order. I don't appreciate the "special deal" approach. It may be legit, but looks like smoke and mirrors from the onset. Hopefully, they can get their act together, but in the meantime there are plenty of vendors that sell quality food without the run around. Don't waste your time.

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Not new to raw



March29, 2017

This is not my 1st raw food for my dog. I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 because I haven't been using it long enough. Snice my dog was already on a raw diet and already achieved benefits of a better skin and coat quality, I cannot solely contribute it to Trudog. My dog an 85 lb Cane Corso, loves the food. He can be finicky however so hopefully in a couple of months he still likes it. Freeze dried is convenient and I like the it is "crunchy". I like that I don't have to wait for it to defrost or soften. Given that I have a large dog I wish it came in larger bags. My dog eats about one 14 oz bag/day to get some weight on him. But even when he goes to a maintenance weight he won't be eating much less. So far so good. The price is average compared to other raw foods.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
December 07, 2017

Totally agree with the above, I haven't used it long either, but my dog loves it,
and It made from quality sourced meats, I use the Boost me and only add 2 table spoons to the morning feeding only. Great additive! It like giving your dog a multivitamin especially in the puppy year.

Your Comment

James M Whitworth



April2, 2016

My Annie, a 16 year old 14# Yorke is fully house trained. She was having a problem with her urine. While in a deep sleep, she would urinate. When she awoke, she would be be very upset. To control this I was giving her a pill twice a day. That worked. She was eating Honest Kitchen. I tried TruDog Freeze-Dried "Crunchy Munchy Beef Bonanza." After several days I stopped the pills to see what would happen. No more bladder, urine problems. Plus the fur along her back gradually turned darker, returning to the color she had as a young adult. I believe she was allergic to one or more of the ingredient's in Honest Kitchen. She is also more active now. I just used the automatic reorder offer when I placed my second order with TruDog. I will just call when I open the last 14 oz bag. to make sure the next order will ship on time.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Lori Sturgeon



January29, 2016

I have 2 very finicky eating Terrier mixes. They absolutely love this food! They have both lost about 2 lbs since I started feeding them Tru Dog about 4 months. Their coats are soft and shiny and they don't shed nearly as much as they did. It's a joy to see them so excited about eating...and their energy levels have increased as well. Thank you Tru Dog for an amazing product!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment

Leave a Review