TruDog Reviews

TruDog
( 27 reviews )
Website: TruDog.com

TruDog Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Waste of time, poor customer service
January 5, 2018
It is nearly impossible to reach customer service. I have tried for days via phone, chat, and email to adjust my order. They are always seem to be "busy". The challenge comes with using their subscription service. You can easily add items to your subscription, but you have to call in order to make any other adjustments. Of course, I can never reach anyone. Meanwhile, they bombard you with emails and special pricing. However you can't reach anyone to apply the special pricing to your subscription order. I don't appreciate the "special deal" approach. It may be legit, but looks like smoke and mirrors from the onset. Hopefully, they can get their act together, but in the meantime there are plenty of vendors that sell quality food without the run around. Don't waste your time.

LoriR Taylor January 08, 2018

I'm so sorry you had issues with our website. We are working diligently for you to be able to make changes to your subscriptions easier than calling us. We'd love to have the chance to earn your business back. Please call us at 1-800-476-8808 and ask for Rick. As for the special deals, you can unsubscribe from receiving them. Most of our customers love that part of the program, as we promisee to our subscribers that they will get special offers each month to try new products. It's supposed to be a perk, not an annoyance. We did this because we run promos to attract new people every week and I've always thought it was rude to not offer those to your current customers, as well. It wasn't intended to do anything but help you. Again, thank you for giving us a try and I appreciate the feedback. Sincerely, Lori R, Taylor, Founder

LoriR Taylor January 08, 2018

I'm sorry you are having trouble reaching us and that our subscription management tools have frustrated you. We are working diligently to improve our technology every week. We'd love the chance to earn your business back, if you call Rick at 1-800476-8808, I'm happy to send you some product for your inconvenience. As for the special deal approach - this is part of our promise to our subscribers - that we will always treat you as well as our new people. So if we run specials or promotions to attract new customer, we want to make sure you get the same opportunity. I've always hated companies that treated you better starting out than after years of loyalty. However, you can unsubscribe for our sale emails, if you really don't want to take us up on them. Thank you for your honest feedback - we can't get better if we don't know what you're experiencing. Sincerely, Lori R. Taylor, founder

Jamie January 08, 2018

I had no problems reaching customer service via email or by phone during normal business hours. We love the subscription service- no more running out of food, which is important since this is the ONLY dog food our dog will eat. Personally, I enjoy their emails. What they do is no different than other businesses. I get more email from Kohl's and my last seminar training than I do from TruDog. If you don't like the emails, why not unsubscribe?

Leslie January 20, 2018

I have also been having issues reaching the Customer Service by phone and email. I placed an order and it shipped over a week ago and we still do not have the food booster. The tracking information has not been updated in days and does not give me any specifics except that the package is on its my to my location.

TruDog November 08, 2018

Hello, we're sorry to hear this! We will be happy to resolve any issues. Please contact our Happiness Concierges for assistance at 800-476-8808 or email at [email protected] Thank you and we look forward to helping you.

BOOST ME - Mighty Meaty Beef Topper/Meal Enhancer -SCAM
December 4, 2017

HEY TruDog :

Please tell us, according to your video: IF "... Lori learned that feeding dogs dry kibble, is A major Contributor to dogs heath issues" etc. WHY WOULD YOU CREATE A "TOPPING" TO SPRINKLE ON THE VERY SAME DRY KIBBLE THAT SHE SUPPOSEDLY "LEARNED" WAS A CAUSE OF HEALTH PROBLEMS????

The truth is Lori and TruDog learned to exploit the current kibble situation, knowing that normal non-1% of people can't afford to pay $40 bucks (normal price) or $21 for that matter, for a measly 14oz of dog food (NOT EVEN 1 POUND OF FOOD) so to prey upon those concerned pet owners and to reach in their wallets, this "Beef Topper/Meal Enhancer " concoction was created; when in all reality doesn't do much of anything BECAUSE in the end the pet is STILL EATING dry kibble, the "very same major contributor she 'learned' that killed her dog Truman" only now... it just now tastes better.

Sure, it might provide "Boost Nutrients, Amino acids & FLAVOR" but it doesn't "magically neutralize or eliminate" the poisons in the dry kibble nor in the end make any significant't difference for the overall health of the dog or cat.

Bottom line: Garbage with a Flavor topping, still remains the same... Garbage with a Flavor topping.

Colleen Altman December 07, 2017

I have the opposite opinion about what Use it has to say about this product,

I am going raw with our dog and transitioning slowly to avoid gastric upset.

Mostly diarrhea. My dog is a very picky eater of dry dog foods I have tried several before coming across Orijens. out of Canada, She loves this food without the Trudog. If you can't afford quality dog foods or going raw because of the time to make it and freeze it, then Yes Trudog is what you want to add to your dry dog food especially if its not a high quality sourse food. Your dogs diet needs to be raw, raw bones, raw chicken with bones, all help and premote healthy teeth, muscle, bone density and longevity without premature aging symptoms. Check out Youtube videos by Vet, Dr. Becker, she has several addressing the best types of dog good and additives based on your capability to pay. If you put junk into your own body you'll be on tons of medications to reverse the damages if you do the same for your dog, you'll be doing the same thing or putting them down before their time.

Jamie January 08, 2018

The company explains that not everyone can AFFORD to feed a 100% raw diet. The topper is an alternative to help those people add raw nutrition to improve their dog's diet.

Plus, that 14 ounces of food lasts my husky three days- the feeding amounts for raw food are not the same as a carb-packed kibble.

It's NOT a scam, you're just uninformed.

LoriR Taylor January 08, 2018

David,

if i could convince consumers to quit buying kibble altogether, I would. If you've ever suffered losing a dog to cancer way too young, you'd never want anyone to experience it - not even your worst enemy. That being said, it's not realistic to think people will stop feeding kibble altogether - especially those with really big dogs, or multiple dogs. I'm a huge advocate of making it yourself if you can't afford for it to be done for you. I've even sent recipe books out to pet parents who believe in our message, but can't afford it. It's about doing the best you can for your dogs. For some people that means adding in raw to supplement what the are currently feeding. The same way my mom gave me vitamins and didn't sell out on me thinking, "well she is going to eat sugar and fast food anyway, why bother" - we don't quit on dogs just because you can't do it "perfectly". Even if you can't chose "best", you can always find a way to do something "better". And that's what Boost Me is for our customers...a better way than doing nothing.

As a side note to your comment about the size of our bags...our bags have about 7 cups of food in them - equivalent to a 2.2 lb of dry kibble. The difference is we remove the water which makes it weigh less.

I do appreciate your feedback and can tell you are passionate about dogs. We just have a different philosophy. And no one who actually knows me would ever accuse me of "preying" upon anyone. If i wanted to rip people off, I'd make a kibble, call it premium (no regulations on what is premium) and put a premium price on it. However, when you use muscle meat that has been deboned by hand, along with all the vital organs, blood and bone and slowly freeze dry it over 72 hours before putting it in a bag - well, it's certainly not a mass produced product that you can make cheaply.

Sincerely,

Lori R Taylor

Founder of Trupet llc

Poor Customer Service
July 17, 2017

Be very careful ordering from this company. I placed an online order and never received a comfirmation email. Days later I received an email that my order had shipped. So far so good right, well not so good. A few days later I wanted to check on the estimated delivery date only to find that the order was shipped and delivered to an address unknown to me. I immediately sent an email explaining the situation, in fact two emails and since I had not received a response contacted them through their online chat.

I was told that they would resend the order at my expense since I gave them the wrong address. I explained three times that I did not put that shipping address in, in fact i checked use billing address. Again I was told no refund without returning the order. Well since I didn't receive it and don't know where it is that would be difficult. I was then told to contact the post office and see if they could help. Again I strongly urge you not to order from this company.

Kathy August 02, 2017

I had a very poor reception with the " Chat" area of Trudog with an individual named Andre. Very vague and no showing of a welcoming company. I hope my order arrived. I am sorry you had this trouble.

Meshelle January 05, 2018

Agreed. It is nearly impossible to reach customer service. I have tried for days via phone, chat, and email to adjust my order. They are always seem to be "busy". The challenge comes with using their subscription service. You can easily add items to your subscription, but you have to call in order to make any other adjustments. Of course, I can never reach anyone. Meanwhile, they bombard you with emails and special pricing. However you can't reach anyone to apply the special pricing to your subscription order. I don't appreciate the "special deal" approach. It may be legit, but looks like smoke and mirrors from the onset. Hopefully, they can get their act together, but in the meantime there are plenty of vendors that sell quality food without the run around. Don't waste your time.

Not new to raw
March 29, 2017

This is not my 1st raw food for my dog. I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 because I haven't been using it long enough. Snice my dog was already on a raw diet and already achieved benefits of a better skin and coat quality, I cannot solely contribute it to Trudog. My dog an 85 lb Cane Corso, loves the food. He can be finicky however so hopefully in a couple of months he still likes it. Freeze dried is convenient and I like the it is "crunchy". I like that I don't have to wait for it to defrost or soften. Given that I have a large dog I wish it came in larger bags. My dog eats about one 14 oz bag/day to get some weight on him. But even when he goes to a maintenance weight he won't be eating much less. So far so good. The price is average compared to other raw foods.

Colleen Altman December 07, 2017

Totally agree with the above, I haven't used it long either, but my dog loves it,

and It made from quality sourced meats, I use the Boost me and only add 2 table spoons to the morning feeding only. Great additive! It like giving your dog a multivitamin especially in the puppy year.

James M Whitworth
April 2, 2016
My Annie, a 16 year old 14# Yorke is fully house trained. She was having a problem with her urine. While in a deep sleep, she would urinate. When she awoke, she would be be very upset. To control this I was giving her a pill twice a day. That worked. She was eating Honest Kitchen. I tried TruDog Freeze-Dried "Crunchy Munchy Beef Bonanza." After several days I stopped the pills to see what would happen. No more bladder, urine problems. Plus the fur along her back gradually turned darker, returning to the color she had as a young adult. I believe she was allergic to one or more of the ingredient's in Honest Kitchen. She is also more active now. I just used the automatic reorder offer when I placed my second order with TruDog. I will just call when I open the last 14 oz bag. to make sure the next order will ship on time.

Lori Sturgeon
January 29, 2016
I have 2 very finicky eating Terrier mixes. They absolutely love this food! They have both lost about 2 lbs since I started feeding them Tru Dog about 4 months. Their coats are soft and shiny and they don't shed nearly as much as they did. It's a joy to see them so excited about eating...and their energy levels have increased as well. Thank you Tru Dog for an amazing product!

Donna Neely
December 29, 2015
Was very disappointed in the service. I was on an automated program where they charged me once a month and sent the order. I had to call every month to get my order instead of them sending it automatically. Food is great, but if you can't get your order on time or you actually have to call to get them to send the food it is not very beneficial. I would end up running out of the food and have to revert back to commercial food which I did not want to do and was not good for the health of my dogs. When I called today to see if they were going to send my food that I had not received, I was told that they no longer do the automated orders and on top of that they were going up on the price to $132.00 for six of the bags of dried food. No one ever informed me that they were no longer going to do the automated orders, only found that out when I called for my order. I am so upset about the fact that I could not trust them to send the order on time and now I am going to have to switch to some other form of food. Which means now having to acclimate my dogs to something different. I think the food is great if you can get it in a timely manner, just don't think they are organized well enough to get it that way.

terry beverly January 07, 2016

Donna Neely-you can get this product autoship from Chewy and they are very good with on-time, fast delivery

Lori Sturgeon January 29, 2016

You can also order on Amazon and get 2 day delivery plus free shipping if you have Amazon Prime.

Colleen Altman December 07, 2017

Totally agree, why wouldn't you try another buyer/shipper of this dog food, especially when you say its a great dog food. Quit being so lazy about your auto ship and put a reminder in your own calendar to call and order your food. Geeeezeee This is a small and growing company they make a great quality food, sorry they have the ability yet to provide such services perfectly. you need to be more responsible for your own life instead of depending on others to do it for you!

Jamie January 08, 2018

We use the subscription and have had zero problems. Even emailed customer support to make a change and they fixed it right away.