TopHatter.com Reviews

TopHatter.com
Based on 14  Reviews



Review It

About TopHatter.com

TopHatter.com is a virtual auction house where both sellers and buyers can come online to meet up, interact, chat, and transact business in a wide variety of categories using a live auction format. 

How Does It Work?

Unlike penny auctions or the well known website eBay, TopHatter.com is described as actually providing items for sale in a traditional live auction format, where a single item is up for bid and all bidders must be present, live, because the bidding process moves quickly, sometimes only lasts a few minutes, and the item goes to the highest bidder.

Buyers can easily sign up and create an account for free, while sellers must "apply" to provide their items for sale on the website. 

Cost/Price Plans

Because this website facilitates live auctions, there is no real price range for the items, as prices are determined by minimum bids set by the sellers, as well as the bids of others participating in the auction. 

In addition, the bids generally are done in $1 increments, though depending on the item that is being auctioned those minimums can be higher. 

Mobile Options

Currently TopHatter does provide a mobile app for Apple and Android operating systems so that customers can take part in auctions no matter where they might be.

Refund Policy

Since TopHatter.com does not actually sell anything but rather works as a middle man that brings together buyers and sellers, they personally do not offer any guarantees, refunds, or exchanges.

All sellers will have their own personal Refund or Return policies that customers should examine before bidding. In the case of a problem, buyers should contact the sellers directly. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact their Customer Service team with questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 888-502-5139, by submitting them directly to their website, or by traditional mail at 292 Lambert Ave., Palo Alto, CA, 94306.

Reputation

TopHatter seems to have mixed reviews, with most positive reviews coming from their buyers and most negative reviews coming from their sellers, who feel strongly that the fees they charge their sellers are too high. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are many other online auction services available, like the well known eBay, but also a wide variety of penny auctions and other sites which specialize in niche auctions.  
    
If you have any experience with this company or their products, please leave your TopHatter.com.com reviews below.

Related Articles

14 ‘TopHatter.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

Extremely poor customer service and policies



August19, 2019

Bought a lot of things. Some good deals, some bad, some good quality, some bad. Was willing to take the gambles because of decent prices. That is until this past year. Paid for an item in July 2018, with delivery date of August 2018. The item's delivery date was extended multiple times. Their Buyer Protection Program does not come into play until 30 or 60 days after shipment date. The delivery dates kept getting extended until August 2019, which meant that the earliest I could claim late delivery was September 2019. Checked the item today and they delivery date had been changed back to August 2018. I inquired about this change and Customer service could not help because it was now past the 180-day policy window. So they change delivery dates to extend the wait, then change it back once outside the limit. So now I am out the purchase price. Very bad customer service and policies. They will never get another order from me. I hope others do not fall into the same trap.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Tophatter



June12, 2019

The Vacuum I won at auction worked about one hour and was a piece of thin plastic garbage! To even mention this in the same breath as a vacuum is an insult to all vacuums.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

What a waste



April18, 2019

Chinese sellers do not send items if winning bit is too low. Tophatter will refund your money but you have to wait 2 months for the item to not show before refund is processed.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Fake



December28, 2018

I purchased at auction one La Vie Est Belle Parfum and because I felt it was such a good price, I bid again on a second one and won.
When I received them, I checked and OMG, they were fake. It did not smell like it and it stayed on you all of about 5 minutes and then it just evaporated leaving not a trace of perfume on you nor your clothes which is completely unlike the real thing.
Do not buy anything there!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

FRAUDSTERS BEWARE!!



March8, 2018

FRAUDSTERS BEWARE!! Don't purchase anything from Tophatter they are scam artists. Cheapest of Chinese trash when they finally arrive, items with missing parts, or items that don't arrive at all. Some items took nearly two months in arriving. Bid on items and win the item only to have the seller back out after purchase. Of my 11 purchases all but one were different than described or the cheapest of Chinese trash.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

On the Fence..



February7, 2018

I really wanted a pendant and waited patiently for 2 weeks and they sent the wrong item and instead of making it right, I just got offered a refund. I appreciate the refund process was a few days but I would rather have the item I bid on. Customer service has been very nice and respond within hours. Had to return a few items but overall it is fun.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment

tophatter



January8, 2018

some of the sellers are dishonest.the stuff that comes from china is crap.the jewelry tarnishes in a few weeks.tophatter is not much help in getting refunds and no way to get in touch with the seller

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Tophatter allows sellers to fleece buyers



December2, 2017

Deanna Ortaly aka Deanna Ortaly Yepremyan sells counterfeit Michal Kors there as authentic.She advertises them as leather and the Chinese tag says plastic.
She does this knowingly. She tried to make a deal with me off site as she knew I was reselling them, stating *it would save me in shipping and I could have bundled shipping if I ordered direct from her at $18 each*. I won bids for $1!!!!!!!!!! I’ve filed over 150 return claims with Tophatter today and guess how many I expect to be honored???
You guessed it! They are cheap, lying *** and Tophatter makes it impossible to speak to anyone. Tophatter is a dishonest company saying *tgey sent you a return label in your email* which never comes and though their site SAYS you have 30 days to return items, they say I have till December 8! Deanna Ortaly as she goes by on Tophatter contacted me to make a deal so she could get away with not paying Tophatter their percentage.
When I contacted HER to let her know I’d discovered all the items were counterfeit she then blocked me from messaging. She goes by dortalyrn on Twitter. I wish to *** Tophatter would act like a legitimate honest company and make things right by their customers.
I’m disabled and am just trying to make some extra money and now my living expenses are spent with what is likely no recourse from Tophatter.They are the worst company ever!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
January 08, 2018

they are frauds

January 08, 2018

would love to know how to contact the sellers who sell the coach bags

March 26, 2018

Tophatter has made it impossible to have contact with any of their sellers on purpose. When their subsidiary company Ruby was active I actually received a phone call from Jade NY because they said I had 2 different usernames. The only way you will be able to talk to a specific seller is if THEY contact YOU.

Your Comment

Leave a Review