The Motley Fool Reviews

The Motley Fool
( 18 reviews )
Website: www.Fool.com

The Motley Fool, found online at Fool.com, is a website which claims to be able to provide people with the “next big thing” in computers since Bill Gates created Microsoft.

In order to get any further information regarding this, however, you first must give the website your email address and fill out a short questionnaire regarding your personal investment and trading habits.

You will have to provide The Motley Fool with the type of investments you are considering – such as stocks, real estate, fixed income, etc. – as well as how often you trade per month, and the current size of your portfolio.

The questionnaire is also interested in whether you own a small business, your favorite “tickers,” and your zip code. Once you have submitted this information, you’ll be brought to another page where you’ll be given the opportunity to sign up for a wide variety of free financial newsletters.

These newsletters offer headlines regarding popular investment and trading topics, as well as many different stock advisor sites. These different sites provide their users with financial blogs, calculators, and stock promotions.

It is important to note that Fool.com does alert their users that these other websites are advertising partners, which means that they are not professional investment information sites – rather they are for profit websites.

Signing up for these newsletters is likely to result in these sites contacting you with a variety of special offers, subscription opportunities, and purchase opportunities. More importantly, you should be aware of the sites which claim to have the inside track on investment opportunities with large returns.

And because these companies are “advertising partners,” each individual financial site should be independently evaluated before you agree to pay for their information and especially before you use it for any sort of actual investments.

If you have any experience with The Motley Fool or their products, please leave reviews below.

You may also be interested in

The Motley Fool Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Motley Fool is run by fools!
July 8, 2022
Most of the stocks I bought based on Motley Fool reviews are down 60-80%. Thanks so much, you fools.

SamuelMerenda July 20, 2022

What I’ve found (been a member for little over a year,) is that their different levels of programs are used to help push stocks up at other higher level programs.

Less costly programs are given stock info that was given out days or months before to higher levels of programs. This of course helps push up or maintain prices.

What drives me crazy is every week they have another new great offer with best stock picks in that particular package. Always 1k or more. What's crazy is I fell for a program called “Blast off 2020” offers of great picks of new stocks with great gains.

What I found was “not one new stock that hadn’t been offered in one of their other programs from the past. So my dream of new “Blast off stocks” turned out to be stocks with extremely high prices that had been in business forever.

Idea is to follow successful companies some old, sometimes new, if you buy one of their other programs and hold them for at least five years. And to buy at least 20- 25 companies.

So like a typical mutual fund, but hopefully a few better stocks to help kick butt. When my basic program ends, I’m done with them.

MikeW August 03, 2022

I always wondered if they did that. Motley fool is a joke. While the market has been down, the Fool stocks they recommend that I purchased are down to almost 10%-20% of what I paid at the time they recommended them. (RDFN, PTON, GDRX). TERRIBLE!!

Motley Fool helped me show a 31% return over 12 months.
June 22, 2022

I subscribed to Motley Fool's website to get insight on which stocks to invest in. I took Motley Fool's recommendations, and then I checked them on the Yahoo Finance stock Summary page to see if analysts rated them as a "buy, hold, or sell".

Out of the Motley Fool's recommendations, I only purchased stocks that analysts showed a 1 - 1.9 buy rating for. When Motley Fool suggested I sell, I again checked Yahoo Finance to see what the analysts recommended. If analysts had changed the rating to between 2.2 - 5.0 then I sold. Over 12 months I showed a 31% return on my investments.

Was the Motley Fool subscription fee of $100 worth it? I would have to say "Yes", because I am not a professional investor who spends 40 hours per week researching stocks. I let them do the research, because I prefer to spend a majority of my free time hunting and fishing. Their recommendations helped me beat the S&P average over the same time period.

Charles DanaStanley June 22, 2022

I would like to add that Motley Fool does not often recommend selling a stock. They believe in holding for at least 5 years. Occasionally they do recommend selling. Every week I checked Yahoo Finance to see if the analysts changed their ratings of my stocks. When the ratings changed to 2.2 - 5.0 I sold whether Motley Fool recommended it or not. Motley Fool is a tool; not the end all be all. Never take stock advise from just one person or one website. Motley Fool is a starting place.

Good way to lose money.
June 14, 2022
I lost a lot of money following their advice.

Used to be decent but now WAY off!
June 5, 2022

I have been a long-time user with decent returns on small investments. In 2021, decided to go in with a large nest egg and subscribed to the Rule Breakers, FinTech, which are supposed to be "the best" recommendations for maximum performance.

I followed their formula of investing percentages, investing on time, etc. Almost EVERY one of their picks are down, including some gems like VROOM, Lemonade, TruCompanion, Zillow, Redfin, some of which are down 80%. I understand that it is a down market but WOW - to be so wrong on SO MANY picks! Marketing material talks about massive gains - my experience was MASSIVE loss.

I regret
May 16, 2022

Even in a bear market (now), some of their recommendations during year post-Covid (before brother retired/transitioned responsibility) are now showing worse returns than this year's CW ARK Fund. One of their recommendation at .10 cts today. Love selling a stock for a 7k loss.

Of course, they may have sent out an alert to "sell" it after I dropped their service. But a fool me once moment (when I didn't renew last year). Don't even get me started on my foolish "buying" their options education/recs, that I never used, given risks (unless you only take their safe(r) entry/exit/roll recommendations on X stocks).

Ultimately, on me to "not" exit positions, when dropped >20%. As market was clearly transitioning out of high growth to value and/or "cash" b/c pending bear market/interest rate. Also on me to "go with them" in the first place (despite numerous articles, re: few traders actually beat the ETF/MF/etc) -- rather than robo, SP500, etc.

Probably looking at a 200k loss courtesy of MF in the past 2 years (across my various accts). My WFront robo with aggressive profile -- much less red. Yes, I have more than their min recommended stocks (actually 50-75). I will slowly sell off the dogs to offset capital gains from my Div stocks, real estate, etc.

Motley Fool long time customer
May 9, 2022

I have been using their service for about 12 years. I tried investing on my own but just did not have the time to do the research and get it right. My first buys on my own crashed and burned. I had bought a number of their stock picks over time and have seen my overall portfolio double.

One of the first picks I bought was UNH which is up 1,882%, much better than I could have picked on my own. I have also weathered the ups and downs over the past few years, seen some of their picks go up 1000% and a few like Luckin Coffee go belly up. I agree they missed that one.

For me, their gainers far outweigh their losers and have done way better with their guidance. I don't buy on every recommendation, but I appreciate they offer insight and visibility to companies I never thought of. I bought SQ when they recommended it at $38 in March 2020. It went to $289 in November 2021. If you take a look at the market, everything is tanking.

Sure I get that if you just bought their service and their recommendations are tanking like the rest of the market you would be mad. Me too. But I can speak to their long term advice that has done well for me.

Bold, Yet Patient
April 26, 2022

I just posted a longer review but missed the chance to pick stars. Almost twenty years ago I noticed a scorecard of all major newsletters by Mark Hulbert now of Market Watch, and that year Motley Fool was number one on the list.

I have been a regular subscriber since then. Most of their picks beat the market over the long haul, and by a big margin; but if you join when the market is already sky high, you are going to wait a long time for success. That's the way it works for all investors.

Consistently Poor Advice
March 29, 2022

I subscribed to Motley Fool in the Fall of 2021 and purchased 10 different stocks based on their monthly recommendations.

Virtually every stock lost a minimum of 40% and some upwards of 60%. I am cancelling my subscription and avoiding their recommendations at all costs.

KevinConway April 26, 2022

I have been a Motley Fool subscriber since 2002, and I am very satisfied, in fact I upgraded to full access a couple of years ago. Since they are not market timers, the Fool recommends new stocks every month regardless of macro or micro conditions, in the markets, or the Economy.

Thus, those newer subscribers who joined when the markets were elevated are more likely to feel alarmed that their picks are under water. If you play the long game as the Motley Fool recommends, you are likely to beat the markey handsomely in due time. One newsletter more suitable for some investors might be Motley Fool Options.

This is not some Las Vegas style options newsletter, but safer options which make money over months and years with way less risk of immediate "decapitation". (Nobody likes to have their head handed to them when they open the page to their brokerage account!)

Historically, Fool option trades make money 82% of the time, and trades virtually never go to zero because they usually pair the trades or cover with your existing stock holdings. Options- worth a look!

scam advice
December 28, 2021
everything they write is opinion pieces to serve themselves or their associates by scamming readers

CatherineVanHollebeke March 20, 2022

I was so happy to see the review above. I bought 3 stocks based on their opinion that dropped more than 90%. When I canceled the subscription, I got a letter claiming they had made some mistakes, but knew things would turn around. Three for three complete losers?!! Bye-bye

Motley fool is NOT good advice.
September 20, 2021
Motley fool in my opinion is full of speculative advice. I have yet to see any advice with real substance behind it. I suggest one steer clear of this nonsensical site and its so call investing advice. One thing they advise that seems obvious is that bitcoin is a scam and should be avoided. This is great advice but is obvious to any wealthy pragmatic investor already.

Phishing, and I am not talking about the band
March 24, 2021
If you take the 30-day trial review and cancel, Motley Fool will unleash their spam and phishing excellence on you.

Still Waiting to See....Should Have More Stock Option in Stock Advisors
February 14, 2021

So far I am still on the fence line hence the 3 star. I joined Motley Fool (MF) about a year ago and only started to invest in stocks recently. One of the stock did make quite a bid of money after 6 months but the tech stock markets are all moving up in unison so I cannot tell the wheat from the chaff yet.

I don't like their constant pitch to upsell you new services that can amount of hundreds to thousands of dollars per year. You will need to invest a lot of money to make it worthwhile assuming the recommendations work out.

Another caveat is that their advertised rate of return is based on their initial time of recommendation. This means the rate of return will ALWAYS be less than the advertised rate for those who joined shortly after- given that the stock would go up dramatically after the Motley Fool announcement.

I suspect some of the gains is due to Motley Fool investors voting as a single block and holding the stock as recommended. The other thing I don't like is that MF will give away the list of recommended stocks (from Stock Advisors) for free as an advertisement gimmick. Given that MF seldom updates the listed, this really short change the Paid Subscribers such as my self while MF rack in new subscribers at the former's expense.

StephenDunn May 02, 2021

I totally agree! They never give away anything even on a basic paid subscription. There next BIG tip always has to be paid for. I got ZERO tips on anything from this outfit and basically wasted my money. In actual fact this whole thing reminds me of a 60's "pyramid" scheme . The subscribers pay these people at the top money who then invest it all for themselves. They are probably the only "insiders" who make any real money. Like this reviewer said all there tips are stale or they link you to some other "insider" group that also isn't any use.

Rip Off
August 19, 2020
They recommended TCS month after month and many others picks that dropped like sky diver, I bought at low's 40. Guess what the price is today! I do not know much about investment, but I think I can do a better job in picking stocks then they can. unfortunately, not has good sensing a professional business protocol. Be warned.

Promises Promises Up-sell Promises
June 2, 2020
With Covid 19 i missed the crash and had some money to invest. Their video service was very useful and helped keep me sane through the wild market ride. I bought about 3 of their service. after the first you get a weekly teaser of "24 hours only - buy this special service run by our super duper team - for only 1500 to 3000 dollars. But i had seen most of the stocks before. The last big one was get all their services for a mere $14,000 the first year with $5000 charge every year in the future. No thanks. Listen to some of the videos with Stock Advisor - their basic service, figure out how to use their forums and see the member pages with what they actually own. but be really careful of their high pressure sales to up-sell you on a limited time oportunity to get these extra special stock picks on whatever (today was 5G) that they never told you existed before and you only have 24 hours before the opportunity goes away.Treat this like a college seminar in learning to invest.

Motley Fool is Worth the Money if you use the Research
May 28, 2020

This site gives you top picks every month and stocks for beginners, as well as stocks to buy right now. It is less helpful with when to sell because it believes in keeping a stock forever, yet if you need to sell because you need income or have to make withdrawals it is less helpful when it comes time to make those decisions. I have made a lot of money following their suggestions and I particular like the suggestions of David and I love the new videos where you can submit questions. It is worth the money if you work at it and learn more about investing as you go about it. If you just want a magic stock pick you may not be happy. Then again if you by all the stocks they suggest and hold them for awhile you will probably be ahead. I have an account with a firm through my retirement which is run by a company selected by the company I retire where I worked. My small account has always beaten the return rate of that company because I use MF and I challenge the quite often and ask why I can't take my money out and invest it myself because I could do a better job! I get silence and they hate it when I bring up MF. Buy it and Try it and work at it!

Stay Away
April 27, 2020
I just lost several thousand dollars on their latest recommendation, Luckin Coffee (LK). The stock dropped 90% a month after they pumped it, and now trading has been halted because of fraudulent financial reporting. Motley Fool sent an email alert saying "buy Luckin Coffee in 1 minute!" as if they had some inside information. They had none. Their other recommendations are over valued stocks that have already had gains of 30-70%. Once you sign up for their letter, they immediately try to sell you on an upgrade to "premium" service, so you know that the picks they are giving you at the lower level are crap, or the left overs from the premium service. Stay away, there are much better newsletters out there.

ToddBramhall March 24, 2021

Really???? I see no reference of Lucky Coffee on their recommended lists or other references. Could MF be lacking full transparency? Naaaa ... lol

Motley Fool You
October 3, 2018

As

Chris Koffend September 13, 2018

stated in reply to the first negative review of Motley Fool

It's called advertising, it is nothing different than what all sorts of product advertisements do! Whether it's weight loss, hair growth, muscle gain

Motley Fool has all the credibility of a hair growth advert.

My cynical disposition makes me wonder if it's more sinister in that it's real purpose is to intentionally mislead the small investor.

The internet is the home of the scammer and spiv.

The world of stocks and shares is run by ponzi-lite sharks.

Here's their carefully worded recommendation to buy Royal Mail shares a week before their share price crashed.

https://www.fool.co.uk/investing/2018/09/24/heres-why-ftse-100-member-royal-mails-share-price-could-be-set-for-a-rebound/

Mis-selling is their creed.

richardblack September 21, 2019

Any on-line entity with the word "FOOL" in its name should be all the warning you need to avoid at all costs.

Total Scam
April 22, 2018
Tom & David Gardner claim to have invested in AMZN since it's birth and have made 38,000% If this is even remotely true, then why are these two "fools" charging for all their newsletters? Everywhere on the internet, you'll see their ads proclaiming, "Total Conviction" and "Triple Buy Alert," to name a few. If that wasn't enough, they claim that the likes of Soros, Gates, Buffett, Cuban, Hawking and a host of others have given these two clueless clowns, "Inside Knowledge" of great things to come that will dwarf MSFT, GOOG, and the internet, COMBINED! This leads me to the question, "Why are all these great minds, who all claim to be in sync with the exact same outlook, all at the same time, only decided to tell these two primates and not the world?" No where will, you find any of this "secret information" out unless, you guessed it, ponied up bookoo money to join their service and subscribed to their newsletters! It truly amazes me that people like Bernie Madoff are in prison and these two knuckleheads aren't. One day I hope to see these two on a episode of, "American Greed."

ChrisKoffend September 13, 2018

It's called advertising, it is nothing different than what all sorts of product advertisements do! Whether it's weight loss, hair growth, muscle gain, a new GM car, or even worse is whole life insurance policies, reverse mortgages, debt-consolidation, etc . . . Of course one can look at all of these advertising programs as scams to a certain degree. Heck, one can even look at the general news media as nothing more than a scam - with each outlet seeming to promote it's own political or social agenda. And this is hardly new, nearly every major US paper going back 50, 100 and even more years was directly linked with a political party, organization or agenda. Ironically, the media doesn't like to talk about this in public ("journalists" were shocked roughly 10 years ago when the New York Times' publisher announced at a media ombudsman event that their first and foremost objective was to promote the liberal agenda. While everybody in the industry knew this was their mode of operation - nearly all were shocked that the NYT stated this publicly at an actual event.) Face reality, when one is getting information (ads and often even news) from the media, TV, internet et al, a large percentage of it falls under the same type of scam that these Motley Fool advertisements do - little bits of truth sprinkled in among a lot of hearsay, opinions, theorizing and simply unfactual and/or intentionally misleading information to promote an agenda (whether to increase sales, support a political or social belief, or promote changes in human nature/behavior/actions).

richardblack September 21, 2019

KTAALGSIO! LOL!!

robertorogano April 27, 2020

I just lost several thousand dollars on their latest recommendation, Luckin Coffee (LK). They pumped it a month before it crashed 90% and has since stopped trading due to fraud. Their email said "buy in one minute!" as if they had some inside info. They had none. Their other recommendations are over-priced stocks that have already made their run; unless, you fork over more money for their "premium" subscription and you get more stock picks. They don't tell you that until they've stolen your money for the first subscription. Stay away.

ToddBramhall March 24, 2021

Chinese and coffee? Have you heard of green tea and Chinese greed?