The Motley Fool Reviews

The Motley Fool
( 9 reviews )
Website: www.Fool.com

The Motley Fool, found online at Fool.com, is a website which claims to be able to provide people with the “next big thing” in computers since Bill Gates created Microsoft.

In order to get any further information regarding this, however, you first must give the website your email address and fill out a short questionnaire regarding your personal investment and trading habits.

You will have to provide The Motley Fool with the type of investments you are considering – such as stocks, real estate, fixed income, etc – as well as how often you trade per month, and the current size of your portfolio.

The questionnaire is also interested in whether you own a small business, your favorite “tickers,” and your zip code. Once you have submitted this information, you’ll be brought to another page where you’ll be given the opportunity to sign up for a wide variety of free financial newsletters. 

 

These newsletters offer headlines regarding popular investment and trading topics, as well as many different stock advisor sites. These different sites provide their users with financial blogs, calculators, and stock promotions.

It is important to note that Fool.com does alert their users that these other websites are advertising partners, which means that they are not professional investment information sites – rather they are for profit websites.

Signing up for these newsletters is likely to result in these sites contacting you with a variety of special offers, subscription opportunities, and purchase opportunities. More importantly, you should be aware of the sites which claim to have the inside track on investment opportunities with large returns.

And because these companies are “advertising partners,” each individual financial site should be independently evaluated before you agree to pay for their information and especially before you use it for any sort of actual investments.

If you have any experience with The Motley Fool or their products, please leave reviews below.

The Motley Fool Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Motley fool is NOT good advice.
September 20, 2021
Motley fool in my opinion is full of speculative advice. I have yet to see any advice with real substance behind it. I suggest one steer clear of this nonsensical site and its so call investing advice. One thing they advise that seems obvious is that bitcoin is a scam and should be avoided. This is great advice but is obvious to any wealthy pragmatic investor already.

Phishing, and I am not talking about the band
March 24, 2021
If you take the 30-day trial review and cancel, Motley Fool will unleash their spam and phishing excellence on you.

Still Waiting to See....Should Have More Stock Option in Stock Advisors
February 14, 2021

So far I am still on the fence line hence the 3 star. I joined Motley Fool (MF) about a year ago and only started to invest in stocks recently. One of the stock did make quite a bid of money after 6 months but the tech stock markets are all moving up in unison so I cannot tell the wheat from the chaff yet.

I don't like their constant pitch to upsell you new services that can amount of hundreds to thousands of dollars per year. You will need to invest a lot of money to make it worthwhile assuming the recommendations work out.

Another caveat is that their advertised rate of return is based on their initial time of recommendation. This means the rate of return will ALWAYS be less than the advertised rate for those who joined shortly after- given that the stock would go up dramatically after the Motley Fool announcement.

I suspect some of the gains is due to Motley Fool investors voting as a single block and holding the stock as recommended. The other thing I don't like is that MF will give away the list of recommended stocks (from Stock Advisors) for free as an advertisement gimmick. Given that MF seldom updates the listed, this really short change the Paid Subscribers such as my self while MF rack in new subscribers at the former's expense.

StephenDunn May 02, 2021

I totally agree! They never give away anything even on a basic paid subscription. There next BIG tip always has to be paid for. I got ZERO tips on anything from this outfit and basically wasted my money. In actual fact this whole thing reminds me of a 60's "pyramid" scheme . The subscribers pay these people at the top money who then invest it all for themselves. They are probably the only "insiders" who make any real money. Like this reviewer said all there tips are stale or they link you to some other "insider" group that also isn't any use.

Rip Off
August 19, 2020
They recommended TCS month after month and many others picks that dropped like sky diver, I bought at low's 40. Guess what the price is today! I do not know much about investment, but I think I can do a better job in picking stocks then they can. unfortunately, not has good sensing a professional business protocol. Be warned.

Promises Promises Up-sell Promises
June 2, 2020
With Covid 19 i missed the crash and had some money to invest. Their video service was very useful and helped keep me sane through the wild market ride. I bought about 3 of their service. after the first you get a weekly teaser of "24 hours only - buy this special service run by our super duper team - for only 1500 to 3000 dollars. But i had seen most of the stocks before. The last big one was get all their services for a mere $14,000 the first year with $5000 charge every year in the future. No thanks. Listen to some of the videos with Stock Advisor - their basic service, figure out how to use their forums and see the member pages with what they actually own. but be really careful of their high pressure sales to up-sell you on a limited time oportunity to get these extra special stock picks on whatever (today was 5G) that they never told you existed before and you only have 24 hours before the opportunity goes away.Treat this like a college seminar in learning to invest.

Motley Fool is Worth the Money if you use the Research
May 28, 2020

This site gives you top picks every month and stocks for beginners, as well as stocks to buy right now. It is less helpful with when to sell because it believes in keeping a stock forever, yet if you need to sell because you need income or have to make withdrawals it is less helpful when it comes time to make those decisions. I have made a lot of money following their suggestions and I particular like the suggestions of David and I love the new videos where you can submit questions. It is worth the money if you work at it and learn more about investing as you go about it. If you just want a magic stock pick you may not be happy. Then again if you by all the stocks they suggest and hold them for awhile you will probably be ahead. I have an account with a firm through my retirement which is run by a company selected by the company I retire where I worked. My small account has always beaten the return rate of that company because I use MF and I challenge the quite often and ask why I can't take my money out and invest it myself because I could do a better job! I get silence and they hate it when I bring up MF. Buy it and Try it and work at it!

Stay Away
April 27, 2020
I just lost several thousand dollars on their latest recommendation, Luckin Coffee (LK). The stock dropped 90% a month after they pumped it, and now trading has been halted because of fraudulent financial reporting. Motley Fool sent an email alert saying "buy Luckin Coffee in 1 minute!" as if they had some inside information. They had none. Their other recommendations are over valued stocks that have already had gains of 30-70%. Once you sign up for their letter, they immediately try to sell you on an upgrade to "premium" service, so you know that the picks they are giving you at the lower level are crap, or the left overs from the premium service. Stay away, there are much better newsletters out there.

ToddBramhall March 24, 2021

Really???? I see no reference of Lucky Coffee on their recommended lists or other references. Could MF be lacking full transparency? Naaaa ... lol

Motley Fool You
October 3, 2018

As

Chris Koffend September 13, 2018

stated in reply to the first negative review of Motley Fool

It's called advertising, it is nothing different than what all sorts of product advertisements do! Whether it's weight loss, hair growth, muscle gain

Motley Fool has all the credibility of a hair growth advert.

My cynical disposition makes me wonder if it's more sinister in that it's real purpose is to intentionally mislead the small investor.

The internet is the home of the scammer and spiv.

The world of stocks and shares is run by ponzi-lite sharks.

Here's their carefully worded recommendation to buy Royal Mail shares a week before their share price crashed.

https://www.fool.co.uk/investing/2018/09/24/heres-why-ftse-100-member-royal-mails-share-price-could-be-set-for-a-rebound/

Mis-selling is their creed.

richardblack September 21, 2019

Any on-line entity with the word "FOOL" in its name should be all the warning you need to avoid at all costs.

Total Scam
April 22, 2018
Tom & David Gardner claim to have invested in AMZN since it's birth and have made 38,000% If this is even remotely true, then why are these two "fools" charging for all their newsletters? Everywhere on the internet, you'll see their ads proclaiming, "Total Conviction" and "Triple Buy Alert," to name a few. If that wasn't enough, they claim that the likes of Soros, Gates, Buffett, Cuban, Hawking and a host of others have given these two clueless clowns, "Inside Knowledge" of great things to come that will dwarf MSFT, GOOG, and the internet, COMBINED! This leads me to the question, "Why are all these great minds, who all claim to be in sync with the exact same outlook, all at the same time, only decided to tell these two primates and not the world?" No where will, you find any of this "secret information" out unless, you guessed it, ponied up bookoo money to join their service and subscribed to their newsletters! It truly amazes me that people like Bernie Madoff are in prison and these two knuckleheads aren't. One day I hope to see these two on a episode of, "American Greed."

ChrisKoffend September 13, 2018

It's called advertising, it is nothing different than what all sorts of product advertisements do! Whether it's weight loss, hair growth, muscle gain, a new GM car, or even worse is whole life insurance policies, reverse mortgages, debt-consolidation, etc . . . Of course one can look at all of these advertising programs as scams to a certain degree. Heck, one can even look at the general news media as nothing more than a scam - with each outlet seeming to promote it's own political or social agenda. And this is hardly new, nearly every major US paper going back 50, 100 and even more years was directly linked with a political party, organization or agenda. Ironically, the media doesn't like to talk about this in public ("journalists" were shocked roughly 10 years ago when the New York Times' publisher announced at a media ombudsman event that their first and foremost objective was to promote the liberal agenda. While everybody in the industry knew this was their mode of operation - nearly all were shocked that the NYT stated this publicly at an actual event.) Face reality, when one is getting information (ads and often even news) from the media, TV, internet et al, a large percentage of it falls under the same type of scam that these Motley Fool advertisements do - little bits of truth sprinkled in among a lot of hearsay, opinions, theorizing and simply unfactual and/or intentionally misleading information to promote an agenda (whether to increase sales, support a political or social belief, or promote changes in human nature/behavior/actions).

richardblack September 21, 2019

KTAALGSIO! LOL!!

robertorogano April 27, 2020

I just lost several thousand dollars on their latest recommendation, Luckin Coffee (LK). They pumped it a month before it crashed 90% and has since stopped trading due to fraud. Their email said "buy in one minute!" as if they had some inside info. They had none. Their other recommendations are over-priced stocks that have already made their run; unless, you fork over more money for their "premium" subscription and you get more stock picks. They don't tell you that until they've stolen your money for the first subscription. Stay away.

ToddBramhall March 24, 2021

Chinese and coffee? Have you heard of green tea and Chinese greed?