The Hurrycane Reviews

About The Hurrycane

The Hurrycane is described as an “all terrain cane” which was designed and built to imitate the human body in a way that makes it stronger and more supportive to those who need assistance.

According to their website, traditional canes are actually best equipped for helping people stand, but when it comes to being mobile – getting out of a chair or car, for instance – they aren’t very helpful.

Seeing this, the designers of the Hurrycane realized that canes have not changed much in the 2000 years people have been using them, so they say they were motivated to redesign the cane using the human body as a model.

Their main inspiration was the ankle joint. Ankle joints pivot in any direction as well as supporting the weight and maintaining the stability of the entire human body. Because of this, the ankle joint became the model for their StabilStep.

The StabilStep is what they call their patented design at the base of the Hurrycane. The base has three surfaces instead of one, so it is more stable. And the area of the cane where the pole meets the base has been designed to pivot in any direction.

This means that the base can sit stably on the ground at all times, while the pole can tilt in the direction it needs to, in order to help you conduct the movement you need. In addition, if you need to let go of the cane to do something else with your hands, it is free standing.

Currently the cost of this product is $39.95, down from $59.95. If you have any complaints about the Hurrycane, their website says that you can return their product within 60 days of purchase for a full refund, less Shipping & Handling.

If you have any experience with this product, please leave your Hurrycane reviews below.

You May Also Be Interested In

10 ‘The Hurrycane’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:

Don't BS me!!!

September 30, 2017

I am just 10 days out of hip replacement surgery and have progressed quickly to being able to use a cane instead of a walker. I saw the ad for Hurrycane on cable TV and ordered one right away. Almost that quickly, I nearly cancelled my order and reported Hurrycane to the BBB.
First I was told that the free shipping offer could take up to 4 weeks to be delivered, but for an additional $20 I could get 3 to 5 day delivery. I knew this to be an outright lie, attempting to scam vulnerable people into spending money needlessly. I called and said if my order wasn't delivered in less than 5 days free, I would cancel. 4 days later it arrived.
I like my Hurrycane. It is lightweight, stable feeling and allows me to walk with confidence on a new hip. If the company didn't practice such deceptive methods to wring money from vulnerable people they would be 1st rate

Comment on this review...

Ñot worth the aggravation

December 15, 2016

Cheaply made. I have to carry a Phillips screwdriver and a 7/16 inch wrench to tighten the foot and handle. Might be suitable for occasional use, but not safe for everyday.

December 26, 2016

Thanks for your review. I was thinking about one for my stepdad, but it looks like a lot of trouble. Do you remember the TV commercial with the sorry-looking man sitting on the park bench? They should have given him a cane to show how well it works.

Comment on this review...

Helpful tool with limitations

March 30, 2014

Like so many others I have to have support when trying to get around. The product works as advertized provided you follow user instructions such as when you want it to stand up by itself stand it up straight and roll the stick around in the foot so that it will balance. Picking it up is easy if you step on the foot gently so as to not give it too much momentum. It does me well when exiting my big pickup that sits about 20" from the step to the ground. I am able to put my weight on it to help me lower myself down to the ground. I do agree however that it is built a bit on the light side. The pot metal leaves me a little leery of putting a lot of stress on it. The sharp edges on the sections cause me to be careful when folding it up as they will eventually tear the cord inside. Overall I am happy with it not withstanding that it could use some upgrade in the materials used for the pole.

Comment on this review...

Product failure

February 10, 2014

I had the Hurry Cane for 3 months and was very happy with the product until I was stepping over a curb onto the street and the ball that sits in the adjustment hole at the top of the cane failed dropping the top part of the cane down about 6 inches and me falling forward into the street. There has to be a better way of maintaining the height than what they have now. As a mechanic I know what I would do as a more positive action is to place a bolt or rod through the metal and attach a pin or nut to secure it in place. I know that there may be an issue because it is supposed to be quick and easy setup but when you pay $40 it should be no issue to make the cane safe and also easy for everyone.
Lloyd Sagendorph from Long Island, New York

Comment on this review...

This is * NOT * meant to take a persons full weight.

January 9, 2014

Hurry Cane is a movement aid, it is * NOT * meant to take your full weight.

Do not put your full weight on the cane.

You risk * breaking it * AND * hurting yourself *.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Melissa Rhiannon

Claims to stand up, but doesn't. I recommend the FlexStick...

November 29, 2013

Claims to stand up, but doesn't. I recommend the FlexStick, which does, and is the real deal. Very solid and sturdy and it stands up.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Mike Parsons

Great concept, inferior quality and support

September 3, 2013

When I first saw the "TheHurryCane" on TV I was genuinely intrigued. I thought the concept and design were innovative and it represented more stability in contrast to the conventional cane. I was however a bit hesitant about the price. At $40 bucks one would expect it to perform. While at a local medical supply there happened to be a HurryCane on display. After testing it in the the store, I was sold. It lived up to its promise of providing stability on all surfaces, even on ice and in snow but had difficulty in getting it to stand up-right.

About a week after, two of the feet fell off and was not as quiet as it was when first used. The nylon "O" ring on the base of the cane had stretched at the pivot joint. I returned it and the store gladly exchanged it. I discovered the screws in the feet of the new one were not even tight. I removed the screws and used a product called "Lock Tite" on the threads to secure the feet. While I had the feet off, I removed the other screws and noticed the nylon washer on the center screw was elongated and wearing thin, resulting in the same noise as the first cane that was replaced. I could not fix that but did email the company who promptly instructed me to return it to the store. I did and got another replacement.

Not long after that, the same issues re-occurred. I tried to return it again and the store no longer sells the cane and instructed me to contact the manufacturer. That was over four months ago. So now I am stuck with a very expensive door stop. Again, the concept is ingenious but quality and customer support is very poor.

I would not recommend this to anyone until the company steps up their QC and enhances customer support. Still trying to figure out how to get the base off to repair it.

View all 2 Comments
M Jordan
September 27, 2013

Try www.flexsticks.com

The flexSTICK has shock-absorbing springs in it's legs. It is hands down a better product than the hurrycane, as I have tried both. Not even comparable!

Great Quality and unique design. Will stand up on its own and make walking with a cane actually comfortable. Who would've thought? It takes the weight you put on the cane and absorbs the shock with the springs in its legs.

B. Lawrence.
October 05, 2013

Sounds great. Thanks, I will give it a try

Comment on this review...
review author image
carmen

Hurry Cane Unstable

July 11, 2013

The Hurry Cane is very unstable and falls down often. It is not well-weighted at the bottom. Sounds like a great idea but doesn't work.
I definitely do NOT recommend this cane unless you are able to bend
down a lot to get it. Don't waste your money.

Comment on this review...
review author image
BanTheSpam

Fortunately, I took a chance and glad I did!

June 4, 2013

First, let me say, that I wrote a comment about the other review trying to find more information. It really was neither positive or negative. After awhile, I decided that it was worth a shot - actually purchased through Amazon. I ordered the product because I have a condition where my leg often will just give out, and so I carry a folding cane all the time along with other medical equipment, because unfortunately it has been necessary far too many times. I will also say that I am male and in my 50's.
I ordered the Hurry Cane and added the extra grip for the handle, after seeing a man in a store with one and talking to him, and he was gracious enough to let me try it there in the store. I was pleased and went ahead. It arrived shortly after, and one of the first things that I tried was to see if it would stand up on its own. I tried on a wood floor, a carpeted floor (in an apartment) and outside on concrete. It stood up by itself with little effort almost every time. I think it was maybe twice out of 40-50 tries that it wouldn't stand on the first try, and needed a second chance... like a lot of people!
Next was the falling over test. I tossed it on the floor, and stepped on it like you are supposed to. Other than the first time when I got hit in a place that made me not want to try again... I did try again and again and have never had another problem. I actually since have looked for similar tips ( which I found on Amazon) to replace what was on my other canes. I even have one cane that the handle was custom made for my hand at a famous hospital... I have found the original grip on the Hurry Cane did not feel very comfortable, but the added grip is fine and I have no problem. I also tried to listen for the "metal sounds" that I read about, and really have not heard it.
All in all, I am glad that I gave it a try, and know that if needed, it will be with me and will perform as advertised. I am not sure why others had a problem, perhaps it was a dexterity problem or something else. I won't say they are wrong, it is their experience and maybe they needed more practice... me, I have been fine from the beginning, and hope others won't be afraid to give it a try.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Edie

Doesn't Live Up to the Hype

January 15, 2013

I purchased the cane because mine were always falling down when I stopped walking and was standing--e.g. when cooking, shopping, etc. I loved the idea that the cane would stand up until I was ready to walk again. They also said that if it did fall down you could step on the bottom and flip it up and catch it so you didn't have to bend down to retrieve it. It is also supposed to be more helpful because the bottom is flexible with 3 balance points.

It falls down as much as any cane. To get it to stand upright you have to carefully balance it and place it. You can't do it quickly; if you do, it just falls down because it loses balance. When it falls down I tried stepping on the bottom and making it flip back up and catch it. I have rarely caught it; it flips back up and hits me in the torso and then falls back the other way so it is back on the floor again. I practiced this move again and again but I never was able to do it. So the main reason i wanted it did not pan out.

I found the cane unstable to walk with, too lightweight, not thick enough. I always felt insecure using it.

It does fold up and unfold easily but that is not really something i need much. I like to have my cane open and ready to be used at all times. I never folded it up.

So this Hurrycane did not deliver any of the things it promised. I would not recommend it to anyone. They need to go back to the drawing board on this one.

View all 3 Comments
BanTheSpam -NH
March 08, 2013

Good Comment, I was thinking of getting one. It would be nice if you talked about your condition so people have a comparison of functional abilities. It would also be nice to know about if you tried to return it, if they took it back without hassles, if they honored their coupons or in general if there were problems with the customer service and not just the product itself.

Lisa in CT
April 14, 2013

Thanks for the review. Well thought out, detailed, and nicely written. I would also be interested to know how the company handled the complaint (and if you made one).
I checked them on BBB, and they list only 4 complaints, all resolved, which on the one hand isn't a lot of complaints for something advertised on TV. On the other hand, most people either just grumble about it and don't contact the company, or even if they do, they never contact the Better Business Bureau.

May 13, 2013

The Hurry Cane, SUCKS! i'm about ready to throw it out the window...it won't stay up when i stand it like when i go to the store or other places, in some ways it's worse than the other one i had...to me it wasn't worth the price. Just my opion about it...other people may find it useful, i just didn't.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review