Global Work & Travel Reviews

Global Work & Travel Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Given a job at the worst school
January 22, 2023

They are an absolute scam! I was told that I would be placed at a good school when I got to Australia but I ended up in a really toxic workplace. I was given a job in Mount Druitt (poor suburb of Sydney) then I had to work in a private school with really bad management and very undisciplined students. I was harassed and bullied by the students. The principal and deputy principal did not care. Some teachers were lazy. Many other teachers resigned. I had to put up with this for over 6 months until I finally left. Better off applying a visa on your own and finding your own job.

GLOBAL WORK AND TRAVEL SCAM
December 26, 2022

Me and my partner are from New Zealand and we booked a working holiday through Work and Global.some reason from the start off communicating with them they weren't to interested with helping us until we fully payed for everything which was about ($2700 NZD)

We finally payed it but pretty much just payed for them to help us get jobs, Once we payed for this they still were not interested to talking to us, we think its cause we didn't pay for there dumb prices for flights and insurance.

One month out from going on our trip we still do not have jobs and lack off communication with the person taking care off us. We finally get job offers which we then reply to and say yes, and two days later we get told recruitment pools are closed.

End off story is we had to cancel this trip completely cause apparently there's a huge housing crisis in canada (Which no one told us) and we tried to get a full refund and now we cant get any money back ( even though work and global did nothing) all up we have lost over $8000NZD

Beware of $1
November 21, 2022

I paid $1 to explore options for teaching abroad. One week later they charged me $248 with out my authorization and without warning. Now I have to wait 7-10 days to get a refund?!? It’s going to be a not so happy thanksgiving this year as I navigate the overdraft fees this has caused.

Con-artists
June 18, 2021

DO NOT USE. At 21 years old, I was pressured into paying the $700 deposit for a volunteer trip which I never followed through with after I realized that the cost of the "all-inclusive trips" did not include flights and it was ridiculously expensive. A

lso, they assured me that my deposit would cover my partner and I but when I brought this up they were evasive and the original salesperson who was extremely personable in the beginning suddenly became uncontactable, leaving me to deal with another rep who denied that it was impossible for me to use my deposit for the two of us.

That was 8 years ago - not sure how they are still getting away with their treatment of vulnerable and/or unknowing customers.

ESL as a whole is one huge racket and scam.
May 15, 2020
Global Work and Travel will not only ghost you as a sponsor but they do not have the networks of schools and agencies as they lead you to believe. It is one big lie. Do not pay them as they will not offer the services promise. This company will not only put you in a vulnerable situation but potentially a detrimental and dangerous position.

They only care about taking your money!
August 8, 2019
I thought I did my research. I called to inquire and instantly they ask you for a deposit and try to hype up your trip. <>. Everytime you give them money they continue to try and add something. <>. Then when I got to Korea I found out that my insurance was included with my contract. It is so easy to go work overseas just go research schools yourself because these people could not care less about you. They demand your paperwork and money right away and they do absolutely nothing other then pass you off to another company in the country you are trying to teach in. Shame on you Global! Terrible company!

Horrbile Customer Service
June 16, 2018

Happy I found these reviews. A lot of positive reviews from Global deleting all negative reviews probably. I am glad I trusted my instincts with them. Today I looked online for prices for volunteer programs and they don't list them online so they ask for your email. I put it in and they called me an hour later. I asked only about prices on the phone and this lady was really rude and automatically told me I didn't qualify.

Excuse me...what? I asked her why and she said because they want serious people that care about volunteer and not just travel. What a judgmental assumption. She doesn't know me and that's rude. I have volunteered with International Student Volunteers twice (I had no problems with them), was a representative and worked a good job to pay for those trips myself and she says I am unqualified? Just because I asked about prices?

I am glad I didn't go further when I talked to the manager who was defending her and no help. This woman is obviously not qualified for her job. It says on the website that there is no such thing as a stupid question well I guess from their perspective pricing is. Once I found out they don't list their prices online I had a feeling they were a scam. This is the only volunteer and travel company I have seen that does not list prices on their website.

I have visited many websites too and this seemed a bit strange to me. The fact that they were being that difficult about pricing really makes me think they are a scam. So happy I did not give them money. Will be spreading the word about them!! Bad first impression right from the beginning!!

(GWAT)
April 13, 2014
Global work and travel Co (GWAT) are an absolute SCAM! They will charge you THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS for nothing! They have ripped of THOUSANDS of young Australians, Canadians, Americans and British! Do not give them your money. You WILL regret it!

DO NOT USE
March 5, 2014

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!! I went through an AWFUL experience with them!!! In fact the experience was hardly even WITH them because as soon as I got to Australia there was barely any contact with them AT ALL!!! They didn't find me anywhere to live, nor did they get me a job! They offered me absolutely no support or help then said it was MY fault?!

I paid them a LOT of money to help me find my feet in Australia and they did absolutely nothing!!! I had a horrendous time there, knowing no one, having no money and nowhere to live. I was there for less than two months and had to come home because it was so awful. NO APOLOGY FROM THEM AT ALL AND STILL NO CONTACT!!!! PLEASE DO NOT GO WITH THIS COMPANY!!!! THEY ROB YOU BLIND AND DON'T CARE AT ALL!!!

I signed up
December 4, 2013

I signed up to a volunteer program in Fiji for next year and like most of the people on this forum they sweet talked me into paying a $600 deposit and didn't stop bothering me until i paid the deposit. I paid it and heard nothing for 2 weeks, then when i called them they had apparently sent my package to the wrong email address. I started to become suspicious when they threw random figures in emails for flight process with no dates or airlines.

I found out I was pregnant a few weeks later and had to cancel my placement and got no reply for a week, when i followed up they referred me to the cancellation department who sent me a generic email saying i cannot get a refund. I'm sure they haven't even read my email explaining my situation. I am yet to hear back and it has been a week. I checked their registered address which is a shack on a QLD highway and traced one of their phone numbers which was traced to a shabby motel in Queensland. THIS COMPANY IS FULL OF SH*T.

DO NOT USE
November 18, 2013

DO NOT USE GLOBAL WORK AND TRAVEL CO!!!

I'm still in the middle of trying to get money back from them after a lot of drama.

THEY ARE SCAMMERS AND LIAR'S

Con Artists
October 10, 2013

Global Work and Travel are con artists of the lowest order preying on young people looking to work overseas. They promise the world, but read the fine print, namely Clause 23 of their service agreement...."GWAT does not charge me a fee for attempting to secure/securing me employment. All payments are made to GWAT for travel related products..."

In reality they are just a ripoff, overpriced travel agency.

SCAM
September 12, 2013

SCAM do not have anything to do with Global Work and a travel - my son applied to him for work and without seeking advice, as wanted to do everything on his own went ahead and gave this company $1500.00. No job offers, he found his own job in Canada by calling the ski fields directly. The ski field had never heard of Global! Even thought Global said they would get him a job there. He was laughed at when he phoned them to get a refund! We r seeking legal advise.

Do not believe there facebook page! If you write a negative review they delete it and block you! WARNING do not use this company

WORST WASTE OF MONEY EVER
October 13, 2017

We chose this company because they promised to give us 24 hour support, should an emergency arise. They also promised us a job. While we did have a job upon landing, the gig was not at all what had been advertised to us, the pay was severely under the Australia minimum wage, and when our “trial period” was up, we called the company to ask for a relocation and not only did the emergency hotline not work, but their response was an automated email that listed four websites that amounted to the Australian version of Craigslist. All of this went down within one month of our trip and from that point on we knew we were on our own in this game. We also felt like there was a lot of illegal activity going on at the place where we worked.

Later in the trip I heard that the company was giving away “travel vouchers” in exchange for essays and photos of our trip. Being a blogger, I immediately applied to several of these contests, in hopes of making back some of the huge chunk of dough I had already wasted with this company. Fortunately, I won about five of these contests and earned over $900 in travel vouchers. I was ecstatic! How nice it would be to fly home on these vouchers once my trip was finished. I was relieved to know I had one less thing to worry about.

Unfortunately, when it came time to book my flight home, the company said the travel vouchers were only good for other trips abroad through this company. This was after I sent them an email which quoted my personal representative of the company. She had clearly explained that the vouchers were good for any trip or activity booked through the company. There was no mention about it having to be an overseas work and travel trip. While I did my best to argue, they simply didn't budge and not only did I have to scramble to find money for a flight home, but I also lost over $900 worth of earnings for my personal essays and photos that were now public property of this dreadful company I wanted no part of.

DO NOT BOOK WITH THIS COMPANY!
April 23, 2016
So i am in Australia at the moment, i arrived 2 months ago, and they left me stranded on a random island in the Torres Straits.. When i arrived they booked me into a backpackers in Surfers Paradise for 7 days. When they first talk to you, they make it sound like they will be supporting you every step of the way, regular check ins and endless support. It is a complete scam. All i did was request more information from their website and got bombarded with calls and emails, when i finally spoke to them, they pressured me into paying the deposit. They really don't care what kind of financial position you are in. So i had my orientation and they had this job which i had never done before, but hey, might as well give it a go. I had 2 days to book my flights and get to the island (which was really expensive! And they didn't help me at all). During working my manager and i decided that it wasn't the best place for me to be working and i didn't really have the experience. They refused to help me find another job. The manager even explained to them that it wasn't my fault and that i had done nothing wrong. They still refused. They left me with no support on a random island. My manager was nice enough to let me stay working there until i had enough money to get back to the mainland. I am now in Sydney, applying for jobs, very low on money and basically i am stuck here on my own. The Office of Fair Trading are investigating them again. All your money does is pays for their lavish offices. Seriously, do not book anything with them, it is a complete scam and they prey on vulnerable adventurous young adults.

Vulnerable - Help!
February 25, 2016

Hi there,

I've booked up with the Global Travel and Work & Co for a working holiday to Australia in a couple of weeks but have been reading several reviews on here which state frequent occurring incidents with people and truthfully revealing how much scamming takes place. I paid the deposit of £295 in early November and (without my permission) they took the remaining balance of £600 from me. At the time, I was convinced, like many other companies, it was money well spent and an adventure worth taking until discovering the real truth behind it.

I'm currently going through a moment of shire panic!

Whats the best action to take before I land myself in this hole? (I'm getting an idea to cancel the company but travel alone and find a job with my visa alone, despite having already paid £995!)

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks :)

Naomi April 21, 2016

>_< I just paid $295 as well and begun googling today and im panicing too. I dont know if i should confront them about it on the phone or just ask for my money back. I knew it was too good to be true :( Pretty devastated. Everything I have read has been bad...

Tom Miles May 13, 2016

I'm so incredibly sorry, I can't express my emotions for you. I probably don't need to ask if they took the remaining cash from you without permission? I've tried filling in a cancellation form but I have no hope for claiming it back. I'm going to try another way probably next year going out there. I'm not sure what else to say to you. Have you filled in a withdrawal form?

Matty Coultard July 24, 2016

Well don't they have to refund you? in the terms and conditions when i signed up, it said the deposit was non refundable, but now i am beginning to think i have made a mistake. So i just looked it up, but now terms and conditions i found on their page are different to what they were when i agreed to them signing up. Now it says;

10. If you Cancel

You are free to cancel your chosen trip at any time, if you do decide to cancel your confirmed trip you must notify us in writing. Your notice of cancellation will only take effect when it is received in writing by us online at www.globalworkandtravel.com/cancel and will be effective from the date on which we receive it. Since substantial expenses are incurred by us in arranging the provision of your trip once a booking is placed and since we also we incur costs in cancelling your arrangements, the sum of the refund receivable by you on your cancellation of the trip shall be calculated with reference to the tables below, dependant on the trip you have booked:

10B. Cancellation fees payable & refund for our Working Holiday and Au Pair Trips

Days prior to departure when notice of cancellation is received by us

Refund

More than 60 days

50% of the trip cost, less the £295 standard deposit.

59 to 0 days

No refund.

Please Note: Regardless of the type of trip that you book, certain arrangements may not be amended after they have been confirmed and any alteration or cancellation could incur a cancellation charge of up to 100% of that part of the arrangements in addition to the charge above.

I only paid my remaining balance off three days ago, i wasn't planning on going until next year, but i would only get half of the £700 remaining balance and non of the £250 deposit at best? how could they justify keeping more then the deposit? how can that even be legal?

Matty Coultard July 24, 2016

Well don't they have to refund you? in the terms and conditions when i signed up, it said the deposit was non refundable, but now i am beginning to think i have made a mistake. So i just looked it up, but now terms and conditions i found on their page are different to what they were when i agreed to them signing up. Now it says;

10. If you Cancel

You are free to cancel your chosen trip at any time, if you do decide to cancel your confirmed trip you must notify us in writing. Your notice of cancellation will only take effect when it is received in writing by us online at www.globalworkandtravel.com/cancel and will be effective from the date on which we receive it. Since substantial expenses are incurred by us in arranging the provision of your trip once a booking is placed and since we also we incur costs in cancelling your arrangements, the sum of the refund receivable by you on your cancellation of the trip shall be calculated with reference to the tables below, dependant on the trip you have booked:

10B. Cancellation fees payable & refund for our Working Holiday and Au Pair Trips

Days prior to departure when notice of cancellation is received by us

Refund

More than 60 days

50% of the trip cost, less the £295 standard deposit.

59 to 0 days

No refund.

Please Note: Regardless of the type of trip that you book, certain arrangements may not be amended after they have been confirmed and any alteration or cancellation could incur a cancellation charge of up to 100% of that part of the arrangements in addition to the charge above.

I only paid my remaining balance off three days ago, i wasn't planning on going until next year, but i would only get half of the £700 remaining balance and non of the £250 deposit at best? how could they justify keeping more then the deposit? how can that even be legal?

SCAM SCAM SCAM
June 10, 2015
!!!ATTENTION!!! Anyone taking a gap year to travel and work overseas, DO NOT go to this company, their a bunch of lying rats who try and steal young vulnerable adventurous teenagers money!!! They will say "you have to pay the $700 deposit today to secure your spot", and make it seem like al other traveling companies are booked out and that their your last and best resort. Bunch of BS mate.

Global Work and Travel shysters...
November 10, 2014
I sent my 16-year-old daughter to Sri Lanka in August 2014 on a "turtle conservation project", and my experience was UNBELIEVABLY BAD (although my daughter had a grand time when she was there, despite this Global outfit). My complaints are far to many to post here, so I'll just post a few: I probably exchanged 100 emails with various people in Australia and Vancouver, and they honestly couldn't do anything right - asked for a deposit up front and then immediately demanded the balance before doing anything; didn't know anything about the project when I tried to ask; booked a flight scheduled to arrive two days after the "program" was scheduled to start (there was no program - anyone can arrive on their own and volunteer with the turtle project); I eventually saved literally $1000 by booking her flight on my own, but still had to pay these shysters a $400, I think it was, admin fee - if you do get sucked in by this outfit, buy your own ticket and save yourself some money; when she did arrive, her pickup took her to the wrong place, so she missed her week-long "orientation" in Kandy, only doing it later because she insisted, and she wasn't reimbursed for the cost of the travel to Kandy and back to the coast, which she had to arrange herself; her food and lodging was supposed to be paid for, but the food was so bad and so meager (and she'd backpacked in India before, so she knew what to expect) that ALL of the volunteers ate all their meals out - I suspect the locals pocketed the money, if the Global shysters paid them at all (or maybe paid them peanuts)... I could go on and on. Expect NO support before, during, or after (we've never heard from them again). The contract you have to sign at the start, after you've left your hefty deposit, is all about Global ensuring you can't weasel out and protecting them from any sort of repercussions - NOTHING about their obligations to the earnest traveller (OK, there might be something, I don't have it in front of me). This outfit should not be in business.

January 3, 2012
I registered with Global Work and Travel in 2009 and I am still fighting with them to get my money refunded as they never found me work in the UK. I DO NOT recommend using them under any circumstances!!!

December 28, 2012
Global Work and Travel are very misleading, you could say it is a scam. My friend and I paid $6000 for each of our 18 yo's to have the experience of a life time in Canada, but for us, the parents, it was knowing that our boys had a job to go to, as a ski lift operator and to be provided with accommodation and start work the next day, was the reason we decided to go though Global instead of organizing this trip ourselves. This is the spiel of the initial contact with the Global office in Brisbane Australia. We also requested the state of Alberta and they said that that would not be a problem as they had plenty of jobs! In retrospect if we had of organized it ourselves our boys would have been working in the positions they were aiming for. Both the boys had worked as Ski Lift Operators at Mount Buller during the Australian winter, thus had experience already. When they arrived in Vancouver - they were put into a very crumby hostel by Global - they were then told to go to British Columbia - Whistler - and that they had a housekeeping job for them. After one day of training as a housekeeper the boys didn't get asked back, but at least they tried, given that for 18yo boys, this wouldn't be their first choice of jobs. Global Vancouver had done nothing to help and haven't even replied to us. Our boys were left stranded with the obligatory $2500 that you need to get into Canada, and considering they were going to start a job within a few days and have accommodation and a skiing season pass (comes with ski lift operating) that amount of money would have been fine. But any one would know, you would not go away with such a small amount of money if there is not a job waiting for you. $4000 at least should have been sum of money that you travel with. So basically our boys were left high and dry by Global and not only that, the Brisbane office didn't want to know about it and it seems that they had well oiled answers that they had to explain many times before and I would say they were down right rude. Apon reaching Vancouver and the hostel, they discovered that other people had been let down by Global and all of them were very upset. Basically the others were abandoned by Global also and are now doing their best to try and find work for themselves. The boys were knock for a sixer for the first 10 days and now reality has taken over and they are trying to move on. So this is definitely a case of "buyer beware". Shame as Global could be a great company - but instead it leaves a lot of angry people in it's wake. The attitude of Global is extremely disappointing. So yes - Global is a scam or at the very least - misleading. Don't use Global - you could be very upset like our two families are.

Natalie July 04, 2014

can you email me? [email protected]

I am a journalist in Vancouver researching this company for a story.