The Dog Training Secret Reviews

The Dog Training Secret
Based on 12  Reviews



Review It

About The Dog Training Secret

The Dog Training Secret, found online at TheDogTrainingSecret.com, is a do it yourself training guide for dog owners created by a team of professionals using the newest and most trusted training theories.

According to the website, Chet Womach and a team of trainers with over twenty years of combined experience got together in 2005 to create and develop a training program which is completely hands off, and based entirely on positive reinforcement.

The Dog Training Secret says there are three important things a dog owner needs to do to ensure a happy, well behaved dog. The first is to make sure that your dog is healthy. This means having your dog either spayed or neutered, as well as regular vet check ups and exercise. A dog that is unhealthy is likely to act out.

The second important thing a pet owner needs is particular equipment to help your dog at every age and stage of development, like chew toys, a crate, treats, a good dog bed, grooming supplies, and more.

And finally, the third thing you need for a happy, well behaved dog is good training program, and not just for puppies, but for older dogs as well. Dog owners should know that training continues throughout the life of the dog, and doesn’t just end with housebreaking.

The Dog Training Secret program focuses on training which uses all positive reinforcement and doesn’t rely on old theories of asserting dominance on your dog with hitting, yelling, or using “nasty” training devices like shock collars, prong collars, or choke collars.

The Dog Training Secret store sells training assistance tools like leashes and clickers, and a range of training programs you can buy to train your dog on your own, at home. These programs range from $37.77 for the most basic training program DVD series all the way to $197.00 for an interactive training program where you’ll watch live demonstrations online and have all your specific pet issues addressed.

Customers who have any complaints about what they receive have up to 60 days to return their product and request a refund.

If you have any experience with this system, please leave The Dog Training Secrets reviews below.

Read Next:  How to Choose the Right Food for your Dog: A Detailed Guide

Related Articles

12 ‘The Dog Training Secret’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

the dog secret lies



November17, 2018

1)no live chats available at all, although they are promised weekly.

2)they only replied to one of my questionswith a very short unsatisfying answer. when I asked for a more indepth answer I was ignored.

3)NO MONEY BACK guarantee. By the time they responded to my email about asking back for my money, it was day 31 after I purchased the course and refused to give back my money.

4)they ensured I would have life long access to the course, but after trying to log in my account has been removed and my emails are being ignored.

BE VERY AWARE and please get a real trainer

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
December 11, 2018

Your order was placed on 8/23/18, so our 30-day money back guarantee (which is clearly explained on the order page) expired on 9/22/18. I'm sorry but, at this time, we are unable to process a refund for your purchase (as your request didn't come in until 11/7/18). However, you have unlimited, lifetime access to the program, including the ability to seek assistance from our trainer using the "Comments" tabs found under each video lesson. If you post a training question, our trainer will respond with her advice. We have reviewed the comments you posted. Minette did answer your first question. Your second comment did not include a question, just a statement, so there was nothing for her to answer. I'm sorry for the confusion. Our records indicate that the last time you signed in was Nov 23, 2018 6:02AM, which was after your last communication with us (on Nov 18 at 7:22 AM), proving that you do, indeed, have lifetime access to the course material.Your access has not been revoked, nor will it be.

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Ultimate Canine Companion and ERT training



October16, 2018

My dog has had aggression issues do to fear. Both the obedience training I did with her, and the ERT training were amazing! She is so much better behaved, and we can now walk past other people and dogs with her in a heal position. If these programs don't work for you, you aren't putting in the time, or your dog is just too aggressive. These programs have changed our lives, and probably saved my dog's life.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Sorry I took this class



August7, 2018

BEWARE... the bad reviews are TRUE! I spent 300.00 on this class and got NOTHING! I signed up for the class, was looking forward to training with my dog and "personal trainer" Let me just say... all dogs are not the same and you cannot get "personal" training on line. When I asked for help with a class that my dog was responding well with, I was told it was my fault, I was told I was not following instructions, I was told my dog was aggressive, and I was told my rewards were not high quality enough. ( I had fresh chicken, beef, fish and dried buffalo)
This trainer had a bad habit of telling the paying clients it was their fault their dogs were not responding properly.
I was also told that if my dog did not respond right away, I could take extra time with him, BEFORE starting the next class. However... that did no play in to the 8 week course. I wanted my money back after the first two weeks, but I was under the impression I had to wait till the 8 weeks. I had a death in the family and had to go out of town, upon my return I emailed The Dog Training Secret and asked to seek with Chet Womack, I explained that my dog did not benefit from the class and I was wanting to discuss getting my money back, they promptly told me I was not within the 8 week limit for a refund and they were sorry for any inconvenience. In my opinion, if you are looking for help training your dog, it would be best for you and your dog to get an actual personal trainer, one that can work individually with you and your dog rather than to group all dogs and people into one group. you owe it to yourself and your dog to get the best trainer, not to pay for an online class that is only out to get your money by making hollow promises.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 7 Comments
August 10, 2018

Gerrie - you emailed us on Saturday, August 4, 2018, saying that you wanted a refund. Customer Service responded that same day, saying the following "Thank you for your email, and your business. We offer an 8-week money back guarantee on the Ultimate K9 Companion program. Your first day of class was 4/23/18, so that guarantee expired on 6/17/18. I'm sorry but, at this time, I am unable to process a refund for your purchase.
You do have unlimited, lifetime access to the training, so please feel free to seek extra assistance from our trainers."
I am terribly sorry that you waited almost 2 months past the guarantee period (which is very clearly stated on the sales page) to request a refund. As such, we could not honor that request.

August 12, 2018

I paid for the basic course of $27.00 yesterday, 12th August NZT. the FB advt said I would receive a password and access to the online training. I have only received an invoice. Is this a scam?

August 13, 2018

My comment was not just about not getting my money back. It also had to do with my personal experience that I had with your class and the trainer.
In my comment above I mentioned that I EMAILED you, and that you promptly responded to me. Forgive me for not mentioning that you responded by email, I took it for granted that might be understood since I said I had emailed you. Regardless of how your responded, that does not negate the rest of my report on my personal experience with your class.
I do think its important that people know that the "training" they get from one of your personal trainers is geared to ALL dogs, regardless of age or breed, however, not all dogs are going to respond the same way at the same pace. I Just want anyone considering taking this class to be aware of this. Each week you send in questions and the trainer responds, there is in an open forum. It is not you personally, all those taking the class can see your questions and the trainers response to your question. If your dog does not respond like they are supposed to, within the time frame given for each class, that does NOT mean you are doing something wrong or that you are responsible, since (let me say it again) Not all dogs will respond to this class or the training given here. It is not a train all, cure all for every dog. As I said I was told I was not following directions, (which the trainer has no way of knowing, since she never met me or observed my training, I was also told my "rewards/treats" were not good enough, again, since the trainer never met or observed what type of treat I was giving my dog, she has no way of knowing this) Since I took your class, I was privy to all the comments and I saw several comments where the trainer seemed impatient when people would tell her their dogs were not responding, or that they were having trouble, and your trainer blamed the clients for their dogs lack of learning, even when they asked her for other idea's. (Although this may be true in some, possibly many cases, it is not always true in every case, sometimes a certain technique is just not going to work for a dog, it has nothing to do with the person training them.) I also stated that my dog was not responding to the training, I was told by the trainer that I could take extra weeks to work with my dog, I was under the impression that would allow me more time to see if he would respond. So, to anyone taking this class, don't make that mistake, if you have to take extra time to get satisfactory results from your dog, make sure it's within the 8 week training period, at the end of 8 weeks, ON THE DOT, you need contact them for your money back if you are not satisfied.
Again... I caution anyone reading this to please read all of the reviews on this page, mine is not the only review here, there are many others who have been less than satisfied with this class. 300.00 dollars is a lot of money to risk throwing out there. This class is not a guarantee that you will get what you are looking for in training. If you get two or three weeks into this class and you are not satisfied with your dogs progress or you don't feel you are getting the quality you feel you should get for 300.00 dollars, (or whatever you pay) take my advice, don't wait till the 8 weeks is up, get out while you can and take a puppy or dog training class with a trainer who will work up close and personal with you and your dog.
When it comes to dogs I know a few things. I have trained three German Shepherds on my own, and they have been amazing dogs. This dog I have now was adopted at a year old and has some issues due to lack of training during that time. However, there was only ONE week out of the 8 that I needed some extra help with, my dog was already well trained in all other areas. Hindsight, I should have backed out after the first week since I basically spent the whole 8 weeks working with him on one class. So again, not ALL dogs will benefit from this course, Some will and some will do great. Keep in mind, just because you have unlimited access to the training, it doesn't help much if the technique does not work.
But hey, don't take my word for it, check out the rest of the reviews on this page, or go to ( Ripoff Report www.thedogtrainingsecret.com) there are even more reviews there.
Unfortunately not all consumer reports are going to be in your favor.

August 14, 2018

Ann, I can't say it is a "scam", I did receive services from them. I received video's, emails, audios, all on line, nothing sent to my home. However, I have read comments where people have experienced the same problems you are having and were unable to get them resolved.
I would try to contact them and find out what the problem is. Unfortunately, sometimes they are not easy to reach. Try calling this number: . (877) 943-4464. Hope this helps, and should you decide to class, best of luck to you.

August 14, 2018

Ann, I have heard of other people having trouble getting their password also, some of the comments on this page deal with that issue, many have had problems logging in. I personally cannot say it is "scam" as I did receive services from them, and I did get the emails, video's and audio recordings all online. I never received anything in the mail as I opted for the online services. However, if you have not received your password, I would call and tell them and let them know you would like your password, or you want to get your money back.
Try calling this number. (877) 943-4464. Hope this helps, and should you decide to class, best of luck to you.

August 14, 2018

Anne Parker - this is not a scam. Please email customer service at [email protected] for assistance with retrieving your login details.

August 14, 2018

Gerrie - I am so sorry that you had a negative experience with our course and our trainer. Again, had you contacted us within the satisfaction guarantee period, we would have gladly refunded you. Since we are well aware that not all dogs will respond to our trainer, that is why we offer that guarantee. But, we do reserve the right to limit the length of the guarantee period, just as any business does. Again, our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. We do appreciate the feedback that you have offered so that we can continue to strive to create the best courses and experiences for our customers.

We sell literally thousands of courses every year. It is impossible, unfortunately, to please everyone.
Looks like maybe a few had an issue and posted on the internet about it. What you don't see are the 100's or 1000's of rave reviews and thank you emails we get from very happy customers.

We have a money back guarantee. So, plain and simple, if you don't think our materials are worth what you paid, we'll refund your money, no questions asked (as long as it is within the guarantee period).

I would challenge you to find a large company on the internet without one negative review.

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Scam



February9, 2018

Can't log in and they won't respond. Filing a dispute with credit card company.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Do not purchase this program



January8, 2018

Like the previous reviews I had trouble with the website and couldn’t log in. I finally did log in and was dissatisfied with the program. I contacted the company who refused to give me a refund because I was out of the refund period by four days. I also filed a complaint with the better business bureau. They still refused to give me a refund even a partial refund. This company doesn’t care if customers don’t like the program or didn’t use it. They only care about profit.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
March 12, 2018

Total scam!!!! they have charged me 6 times over the weekend for something I did not purchase. Watch out! no one picks up or calls you back and no one answers emails.

August 07, 2018

I experienced the same thing! These people are not out to help you train your dog, they are out to get your money and they don't care about you or your dog, and they will find any way they can to escape the money back guarantee, so don't count on that.

August 14, 2018

I am so sorry that you had a negative experience with our course and our trainer. Again, had you contacted us within the satisfaction guarantee period, we would have gladly refunded you. Since we are well aware that not all dogs will respond to our trainer, that is why we offer that guarantee. But, we do reserve the right to limit the length of the guarantee period, just as any business does. Again, our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. We do appreciate the feedback that you have offered so that we can continue to strive to create the best courses and experiences for our customers.

We sell literally thousands of courses every year. It is impossible, unfortunately, to please everyone.
Looks like maybe a few had an issue and posted on the internet about it. What you don't see are the 100's or 1000's of rave reviews and thank you emails we get from very happy customers.

We have a money back guarantee. So, plain and simple, if you don't think our materials are worth what you paid, we'll refund your money, no questions asked (as long as it is within the guarantee period).

I would challenge you to find a large company on the internet without one negative review.

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Thief and Scammer



October19, 2017

this guy stole $124.00 from me...you go to sign into the site and it doesn't work but there also is no way to reset a password or anything like that...because IT IS A SCAM! and the phone number you will never get a person or a call back and it goes to a voicemail ALL THE TIME! you will never get a call back....because IT IS A SCAM! I am sure all communication that you get from them are computer generated...I also think FACEBOOK needs to have some degree of accountability having SCAMMERS putting ads on FACEBOOK!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 9 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
July 27, 2019

These people are not scammers! You can change your password and every time that I have emailed them, I get information that answers my questions. The lessons work if you faithfully follow the steps they give you. I have read several negative reviews that are not true according to my experience. Some of you are asking for refunds after the time is up and blaming the company or saying they stole money from you. There is no way they could steal money from anyone if refunds were requested on time.

July 28, 2019

Nobody STOLE money from you. You had an opportunity to get a refund within 30 days if you wanted it. The phone message also give you an email address you can use to contact them. When I have used the email address, I have received an answer within 24 hours, sometimes sooner. They will also tell you how to change your password and set up a refund if you are within the 30 day limit.
So don’t blame this company for your short falls. The communications I have gotten from them have been specifically related to my questions. If you never communicated with anyone, how can you accuse them of computer generated communications? You should never accuse anyone of something based on your assumption! I find this company very reliable and there lessons are very helpful to me in training my dog who happens to be quite over-reactive. She has improved a lot due to the lessons I have purchased and followed exactly.

Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Should have read these first



June12, 2017

I really liked my first experience with your company. Ordered Impluse control. Good lessons. Then wanted to try hands off for 37.77. Can't log in and haven't gotten a response from my e-mails. Think I may have been taken also.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
June 19, 2018

I was really interested in this product. Encouraged by initial review. Unfortunately, the next reviews about logging in and being unable to use not so good. Same problems I experienced with "Doggy Dan" training videos. Wonder if they are connected..... Anyhow, happy I used PayPal and refund was easy. I checked and The Dog Training Secret doesn"t offer payment through PayPal. I will pass on this sounds too good to be true training program. Thanks for sharing the negative experiences.

August 07, 2018

Smart move Patricia, it is a scam. I was taken for 300.00.

July 28, 2019

It isn’t a scam. Call the phone number and make sure you are sending your emails to the address they give you on the phone message. I have communicated back and forth with them several times and have never had a problem. They answer me quite quickly.
I have read many of the comments that think this is a scam, and I wonder if the correct email is being used. Also, I have noticed that the people claiming to have been ripped off failed to request a refund within the allotted time.

Your Comment

Scamed



January15, 2017

I signed for the $37.77 and then all these windows with added feature at added cost kept popping up. I had to close the site to get off it. One week later they billed my Ax card for $197.97 without my knowledge. I immediately called the fraud unit. I don't care how good you train dogs if it takes scamming the customer to do it.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
March 12, 2018

Scammed -watched one free video - I bought nothing and 60
Days later got a $99 taken out of my account. Only got a voicemail when calling. Working with the bank to get Mamet back. They left me with no money. Unable to get meds and food !!!!

July 28, 2019

The voicemail gives you an email address to use to contact them. They have replied to me within 24 hours or less each time. As far as the charge goes for you and Michael, sometimes when windows with added features pop up or even if you’re just asked to buy one thing, accidentally pressing the wrong button can happen. I have done it before without realizing it. I don’t like it when any site keeps popping up one thing after another wanting me to buy more, but I do know that if you close the site in the middle of an order, you will have no idea what you may be charged for. You should always keep pressing the no button until they stop and give you a list of the one or more things you have chosen. That way you can make changes if the total is wrong. It may be annoying, but it is the only way to be sure of the charges. It does not mean there is a scam going on in either case. Mistakes DO happen even with big companies. Don’t you think they deserve the benefit of the doubt before being accused of scamming?

Your Comment

Leave a Review