That Tutor Guy Reviews

That Tutor Guy
( 11 reviews )

About That Tutor Guy

That Tutor Guy, found online at ThatTutorGuy.com, is a website that offers students of all ages access to math and science tutoring lectures and videos so that they can successfully supplement their traditional classroom learning. 

Chris, the website's creator, is a Stanford University graduate in mechanical engineer who eventually began tutoring kids in math and science in his part time. Unfortunately he realized that in person tutoring was something that most people could not afford, so he recorded these videos and created his website in order to help as many students as possible. 

How Does It Work?

Customers can go to his website and choose what level of membership they are interested in, or which they can best afford. Once you have signed up and created an account, you can choose from his selection of Science classes, which include Chemistry and Physics, or Math classes, which include Middle School, Pre Algebra, Algebra, College Algebra, Algebra 2, Trigonometry, Pre-Calculus, Calculus, and more.

Students are encouraged to learn at their own pace and to re-watch the videos whenever they need.  

 

Cost/Price Plans

New users can pay $7 for a 7 day trial of everything that is available on the website. Once you are ready to commit to a full time membership, you can either choose the month-to-month membership for $30 each month or a 6 month membership which you can pay for upfront and which works out to just $16 per month.   

Refund Policy

Unfortunately this website does not detail any potential Refund Policy for members. Likely this is because users have the option of purchasing both a trial and month-to-month service which can be cancelled at any time.    

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to speak to their Customer Service team about their questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by submitting them directly to their website through the Contact Us link.  

Reputation

That Tutor Guy has actually begun to grow in popularity and to gain positive reviews, both from users themselves and from independent reviews who have looked at the materials he offers.   

Competitors and Alternatives?

Websites that offer students and adults the ability to learn things online, both for free and for affordable prices, are growing in popularity and are starting to be very well known, including Skillshare, Quizlet.com, Khan Academy, and many more.    

If you have experience with this company or their products, please leave your That Tutor Guy reviews below.

You may also be interested in

11 ‘That Tutor Guy ’ Reviews
  • Sort Reviews By:

Good videos, the auto payments will screw you over
August 16, 2020
I like That Tutor Guy. Chris is super great at teaching and getting the point across in a simple manner. I had used them before and cancellation at the end of the semester was a breeze. I tried using them again last year and after the $7 trial I realized it wasn't going to help for the class I thought it would help with. So I cancelled. And received the email that says "don't worry. We won't charge you anymore". So I went on with my life and then realized a YEAR later after logging on to tutor guy to change my password that Google said was compromised, that I was STILL being charged. You can't change your password by the way. At least not in any way I saw. So if your password is compromised that's a bummer. I somehow never noticed the charges while skimming through online statements occasionally. They got over $300 from me, an already struggling student but oh well. My advice, cancel after the $7 trial has passed. I know it sucks but their system won't stop charging you until they've got a good $30 from you. I think their system didn't recognize the cancellation because it happened so quickly. And really thoroughly check your bank statements. I know we all wish we could trust technology and online tutors but you can't.

Super Helpful
April 15, 2019
That Tutor Guy was so helpful! Easy to use and made a hard class understandable!

Mark P May 14, 2019

I love That Tutor Guy so far. I watched a ton of free videos on YouTube and in my opinion TTG is better than most.

Awesome!
April 4, 2019

I am a 50 year old dental hygienist diving back into college to become a teacher. Math is HARD after all these years! Fortunately, I stumbled upon this site when I learned I had to take a math placement test.

I love how the tutor gives so many examples and walks us through several scenarios. He is very clear and funny and easy to follow. AND at such a reasonable price. Where can you pay $1 a day for a service that can save you hundreds of hours of studying and thousands of dollars by not having to repeat classes and potentially skip a few! Thank you!!!! Rita K, Washington State

Highly Recommend
October 17, 2018

I used this site to pass my college Statistics class. He explains everything in a clear and practical way. The only reason I give it 4 stars is the price, I understand people need to make a living but as a student it is pricey.

I will gladly pay for it again in the future but on an as needed basis and not as a subscription.

Super helpful for getting my grades up
September 20, 2018

I usually just look up videos on YouTube to get through my math classes but they never gave me the complete picture of how to do a problem or a way to understand the concepts.

I gave in and did the 7-day trial offer and was pleasantly surprised with how easy it was to find the right video and understand the material in a way that I couldn't find on YouTube. I seriously recommend this site to those struggling college students! Trust me it will save you all that time and homework gets done so much quicker!!

Thattutorguy Works!
September 20, 2018
Thattutorguy has helped me for the last two years. I struggled a lot with my math and physics courses.This site definitely filled the gaps from what my professor taught. The way the tutor teaches a topic, makes me understand the much better. He goes over a lot of examples that I’ve found on my exams. Which makes me happy that I watched a video on it. The tutor also refers to different videos on the site to watch if you forgot how to do something that was needed in the video. I think that’s one of the best parts. You don’t get that with YouTube.

Stay away!!!
January 12, 2018
I purchased the 7 day trial to get gelp with statistics and it didn't like it so i decided to cancel it. I couldn't and i got charged $30. I tried contacting customer service. After 5 emails that i sent 4 months latet and i still have no response from them.

Julie September 20, 2018

Hi Soir,

Yeah, we just found this page because it started ranking on searches for us. (Nice that your browser was able to leave a comment here, yet none of your emails got through! :)

The contact form link can be found at the bottom of any page of the site or just go to our site /contact . You can also just email support (at) that tutor guy dot com. best, julie

Soir S September 19, 2018

I'm not a troll I am a real customer. Let me know where should I email you all the info you need. Screen shots of emails and I will send them. It's ridiculous that after a year someone from your website finally responds on a review on a completely different website. (y)

Julie September 18, 2018

Hi Soir (if that is in fact your real name), Julie here from ThatTutorGuy. Mistakes do happen, but I can't find a record of anyone with your name (either first or last) who's ever been a member of our site or sent us an email (or five as you claim). Hopefully I'm wrong about that and you're not a troll. If you are a real person, please email us again at our contact form, or reply to any email we ever sent you, and we'll get you straightened out. It's just a couple clicks to cancel our service because we know people take breaks so we want to make it really easy for people to cancel so that they'll come back next time! best, julie

Julie September 18, 2018

Hi Soir, Julie from ThatTutorGuy here. I'm sorry to discover your complaint on this website, but I can't find any record of someone with your name either as a customer or sending us an email (or five as you claim). If you are in fact a real customer, please contact us again with the contact form on our site.

Chegg is better
October 16, 2017
Tutor guy cost too much for what it is... glorified youtube videos on a playlist

Julie September 20, 2018

btw, solver sites that do your homework for you don't help you on the test, so that's sort of a self-defeating strategy.

Julie September 18, 2018

Hi Devin, Julie here from ThatTutorGuy. You're yet another reviewer who we don't have any record of! (In fairness, you don't claim to have ever signed up, you just review it as if you knew what you're talking about.) I understand that cost is basically the only reason NOT to sign up for our site, but it is a full-time job for several people to produce content and manage the site, and that type of quality isn't free. Unfortunately. Anyways, I hope you'll stop back by and check it out if you're ever in a touch math or science class again! best, julie

Good
December 1, 2014
He is a good tutor. Does tons of examples. Kind of expensive

Extremely Beneficial.
October 19, 2014
I am very pleased by the depth of details that this site goes into. Covering a multitude of mathematical topics, thattutorguy assisted in refreshing a number of topics very quickly and also assisted with learning newer topics on a short time constraint. I only used the website for 30 days, and it was money well spent. I did not have any glitches with the videos, nor issues with playback. And I believe I went through at least 75 different videos, beginning to end. If you are able to learn via videos then I highly recommend at least trying out the 7 day trial. I did it that way, did an additional 30 days then canceled. No issues!!

This is a RipOff
August 4, 2014
Every 2nd video, the video pauses for about 15 minutes. And yes, I have tried with other computers, other browsers etc. It always pauses. I would recommend that nobody uses this. Such a ripoff

Julie September 18, 2018

Hi Brian, Julie here from ThatTutorGuy.com. I'm sorry to hear about your playback issues. I can't find any record of someone with your name using our site, nor any emails asking for help, but maybe you had a different name and email back then. If you were in fact a customer I wish you had contacted us at the time to get the issue resolved, because we're always happy to help! Our videos have always been hosted by Vimeo, a leading video provider, so I'm sure you would have a good experience now, and we could have escalated your issue to Vimeo if we couldn't resolve it ourselves. Good luck with your studies, or maybe yo already graduated! Cheers