TastingRoom.com Reviews

TastingRoom.com
( 22  Reviews )



Write a Review
22 ‘TastingRoom.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
5 Reviews

Poor quality wine and extremely difficult to quit

February 4, 2016

I read an intriguing article about Tasting Room and decided to give it a try. The kit with 6 tiny bottles (disappointingly tiny) arrived, and we went through the online tasting procedure. None of the wines were of a quality we generally expect of good wine, so I immediately sent an email canceling the membership (1/30/16). My credit card was charged for a second shipment on 1/31/16, and I received an email on 1/31/16 stating that I had ordered another shipment. I sent an email again stating that I had cancelled. The shipment was not picked up by the shipping company until 2/3/16, which had given Tasting Room plenty of time to process my cancelation.
The shipment arrived, and I refused delivery, so it is being sent back to Tasting Room. I have disputed the charge with my credit card company, and I have a copy of my 1/30/16 cancelation email.
Despite being a good concept, Tasting Room will be short lived based on the reviews I have read here.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Total Scam

January 25, 2016

Got a tasting kit for a little more than $6 which were all pretty terrible. But the bad part was that, somehow, I got enrolled in a membership to get 12 bottles of wine for $ 160!!!

The process to cancel the membership is opaque: you have to send an e-mail or call to get another link were you can actually cancel. Couldn't get my credit card info out of that site yet...

February 02, 2016

Agree with Fernando. This is a total scam. My experience is exactly the same. Cancellation process impossible to to navigate. Wines are not of any quality. Refused shipment but was charged for shipment and restocking fee.
This is not a company to deal with.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Legit company. Did not enjoy the wine taste.

December 31, 2015

I tried the tasting kit back in 2014. The boxing was very well-done. It looked quite lovely. However, looks are deceiving.

What should've been a lovely selection (2 white, 4 red) from 2012 were some of the worst earthy and barnyard wines I've had. The reds were too flabby, and whites had too much minerality and were too astringent. I've enjoyed better bottle-capped wines.

Fortunately, it was just a tasting test and a cheap $9 lesson. Who knows. Some people might actually like these selection, but I'll stick with my local grocery store selection.

On the positive side, it was not hard to cancel the membership, and I wasn't charged any restocking fee. Overall, except for the wine taste, it wasn't a bad experience.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Should be poured back into the donkey

October 27, 2015

Received six tasting bottles of wine that I would have sent back on a plane! From this admittedly limited experience I'm left with the feeling that there is a strong element of "scam" in this company's business model.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

SCAM

September 2, 2015

They advertise a fairly priced tasting kit to help determine the wines you like, with the option of buying more overpriced bottles through their sleek online store. However, AS SOON AS YOU ORDER THE TASTING KIT you are enrolled in a WINE SUBSCRIPTION that will automatically charge your card over $150 for overpriced wine plus shipping every month. If you call and try to cancel the order, they'll charge a $30 restocking fee.

Just, stay away.

View all 2 Comments
September 25, 2015

James, you did not look at your web profile? You can modify shipment frequency (any time) from every month to three months. Select your quantity from 12, 6 or 2 bottles and an personalize the selection of wine combinations: all red, all white or a 4/2 ratio of red/white.
It is as simple as logging in which YOU DID because you completed the taste test to build and ship your first order.
Jimbo, please slow down and think before you click!
"Life moves pretty fast. If you don't stop and look around for a while, you could miss it."

February 08, 2016

Aristo sounds like a company paid jerk.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Sticking to buying wine offline

January 21, 2015

I had heard about Tasting Room from a friend who loves it, so when it was offered on Groupon I decided to give it a try. I will admit that most of my issues from then on were user error, but I feel that they could have easily been avoided with better communication/direction from the website.

My first issue was that I had bought the tasting kit in late November/early December to give as a gift to my husband. We both missed the catch that you need to complete the tastings by a certain date, otherwise they just send you the 6 bottles of wine that they choose. I sent them a polite email asking them to stop shipment and they kindly did so.

After tasting the wines in the kit we completed our profile and were ready for our first shipment of 6 wines. On our online account there are options to "ship now". Thinking this would kick off our first of many shipments we chose this option, I was shown an invoice for $0 (the first shipment was paid for by our Groupon) and later an email notifying me my wine was on the way. Great!

A week later I was checking my bank account and noticed I had been charged $149 plus $19 for shipping from Tasting Room!! I was puzzled to say the least. After sending another polite email letting them know an error had been made and requesting a refund for the 6 bottles I never received, I received a lengthy and slightly condescending email letting me know that despite these errors being my fault (I selected ship now on a future shipment that would have cost us $149 regardless) they would refund the $149 plus $19 and send us our original 6 bottles.

I will say, in my experience their customer service is great. My complaint it that their website needs to be a bit more fool proof, unless they really are trying to trick people into paying $160+ for the 12 bottles of wine they didn't get to choose. I also was not too impressed with the wine selection we received, and would much rather spend that $12-15 per bottle on something I know I like.

They send a ton of emails through Lot 18, so why not send out confirmation emails before processing shipments. This would have notified me that I needed to complete my wine kit in order to have a say in the shipment. It also could have let me know that I didn't need to do anything to receive the 6 bottles, that they would ship automatically at a pre-determined date. Communicating these things would have made the whole experience much easier. I'll stick with buying my wine at stores and wineries in person from now on!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Tastingroom.com / lot18 is a scam.

November 3, 2014

I read an article about wine tasting. This article talked about a business named tastingroom.com that sends out six adorable tiny bottles of wine to a customer for a low price of $9.99. When the wine arrive you log in to the website tastingroom.com to taste the wines and take a test to see what type of wine suits you best. Then tasting room / lot 18 will send you info about wines you may enjoy. You may purchase these wines at a discount through Lot 18. Suddenly you are being offered too many emails re: "wine deals" from Lot 18 via email. Until one day you receive an email stating your order has shipped. This order is of six bottles of wine that you did not choose, you did not order, you did not want. When you call tastingroom.com / lot18 within moments of receiving the email and you state they may not charge your credit card for this unwanted order they offer you no options whatsoever and say you are stuck with the wine. Two days later I receive an email that the wine was leaving the warehouse. There is no reason this business should be unable to contact the warehouse over a two day period and put a stop to an unwanted shipment. Especially with two days advanced notice! Tastingroom.com / lot 18 does not send out emails making you aware of these shipments in order to let you decide about the shipment. They absolutely do not! They send you an email stating you are being charged for a shipment and it its on the way. So many consumers are complaining of this ultra shady business practice by lot18. I called Lot 18 again to find out what would happen if I refuse delivery of the wine : I was forced to either sign for the wine or forfeit both my money and the wine. Since I had not even had a chance to taste the first bottles of wine I had no idea how completely awful this wine is.

Myself, like many others never even had a chance to do the wine tasting before this second shipment I did not order or authorize payment for was sent to my house. Once the wine arrives it is very obvious it is the absolute lowest quality of wine imaginable. When you Google any of the names of the wineries on the bottles they do not exist. Each label says bottled exclusively for Lot18, but the wineries on the label DO NOT EXIST! This wine is absolutely horrible. It is the worst wine I have ever tasted. I think tastingroom.com / lot18 is simply printing labels to put on wine bottles and that the wine comes from very strange source, like wineries who are selling off bad batches. The wine is sour and not fit for drinking. This sentiment is reflected in comments of hundreds of other consumers who have been ripped off by this tastingroom.com / lot 18 wine "club" scam. I have been a member of wine clubs in the past and it is a fabulous experience! Nothing at all like this scam perpetrated by tastingroom.com / lot18 . This wine is so bad it is no doubt tasting room / lot18 is aware they are perpetrating a scam. Tasting Room . com / Lot 18 stole $63 from me and many, many others. They get a lot of people for $140 by sending those folks 12 bottles of wine they did not order! I Hope that Tastingroom.com / Lot18 will use all of this energy they are using to scam people and instead attempt to create a viable business that values its customers and not just create a new scam with a new name.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review