Spokeo Reviews

Spokeo
( 52 reviews )
Website: www.Spokeo.com

Spokeo Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Rip off
May 12, 2013
Not one search was correct... asked for money back because not as advertized... said soory to see you go...but they will keep the account open and no rebill me... I want my money back from these rip off artist...

Waste of time.
May 10, 2013
My deceased father and I have the same name. I am jr. Coincedently, my mother and wife also have the same name. The results were quite humerous. They had my father's would be age if he were still alive, my mother at her address of 25 years ago with my wife's age and my mother and I living on vacant't land in upstate NY I sold in 2008. Where is the info on our dog?

Deceptive & misleading practices
April 30, 2013
Spokeo advertises based on banners and search results indicating that they can provide information on the person searched. In order to access the additional information your must purchase the membership which in their own language (see "Terms") "...more often than not, does not reveal any additional information." Their "guaranty" is a lie. Their response to cancellation and demand from refund is met with a litany of legal doublespeak and basically rendering the point of their entire "service" to be moot. They offered a "partial refund" on a take-it-or-leave it ("...your case is now closed.") position. They also have a click through link in the sign up phase that is a redirect to a different company offering credit/identity protection. VERY MISLEADING. Their practices are borderline at best and walk a fine line legally. Avoid this company. They are part of what makes the reputation of internet commerce so untrustworthy and unreliable.

Not up to date info
April 29, 2013

I look up myself and the info had old phone numbers. apparently their information not so current.

Frank November 21, 2013

I'm scared they got my credit info

GOT CHA...
April 25, 2013
Bad news, very misleading, information u probaly know..sucks....I put my information in and it said I was in a different state....bad waste of money should have known...

Waste, save yoru money!!!
April 3, 2013
None of the information is correct except the cities I've lived in and my age. I'm requesting a refund but more than likely know I'll have to fight for one.

Junk Data
March 24, 2013
Yes they found info that was more than a decade ago as the wife had died of cancer and husband had move to another state. Spokeo Bull Sh*t !

Total waste of time
March 24, 2013

Data is incorrect

Buyer beware

Total SCAM
March 16, 2013
I searched several phone numbers that have been owned by myself or people I knew who have had these number for 15+ years and not one came up with accurate information. They claim to have a 100% guarantee, but that guarantee only means they will provide you with some info, not accurate info. Total scam meant to talk you out of your money. I do not recommend.

Very dissapointing
February 15, 2013
I did the free search on myself and indicated that I had signed up for a dating site (which I had not). I then paid for three months to see what it had "found". Perhaps not surprisingly, it had found virtually nothing and definitely no dating sites. This is definitely a waste of money.

Terry March 27, 2013

I have been ripped off by this company as well. They are scam artists.Info s totally incorrect on all my searches. Report them report them!!!!

"100% Guarantee" is a LIE!!! hidden "no-refund" policy!!!
February 10, 2013
I used this service for all of 15 minutes before I realized it was a total rip off. All the information was wrong and the info. on me was completely wrong except for my address, but even that was 2 years old and not my current address! Then they tell me they have a no-refund policy! Huge Scam!! I hope these reviews make a difference because I hate frauds who con people out of their hard earned money get away with it because of a "no refund" policy that is hidden in the terms that no one reads anyway! All i know is that i read the "100% Guarantee. If we don't have results for this search we will gladly issue a refund." note on the payment page and felt safe buying this service. Then only to find out that it is just posted there to trick you into their SCAM!!!

WHAT A BUNCH OF LIARS !!! SCAM ARTIST AT WORK HERE !
February 6, 2013
I was told there were 77 results on the name i was looking up, i was curious about what info they had so i purchase it ! Once i got logged in it was a bunch of crap ! There was absolutely nothing. Well accept the profile i knew of which they said they had 2 profiles,, was the same one !,, no photos at all and i know for a fact this person is a photo freak ! Also they have a myspace but yet you idiots say no !! Avoid these morons they are a rip off ! Fixing to file a fraud alert with my bank and better business bureau !!

Terry March 27, 2013

This company figures that because it is cheap that no one will report them. Report to your bankand also B.B B This is a scam !!!

crap
February 1, 2013
i entered my own email and guess what? it got my name wrong

Scam!
January 30, 2013
Paid for reverse phone lookup and got nothing in return. Emailed customer service and they totally blew me off. Do yourself a favor and use a different service. I highly recommend texting the number you want info on to: 566587. You only pay if you actually get info. on the number. If you get no info. you don't have to pay.

Horrible
January 10, 2013

What a waste!

Said there were going to be 77 results for an email I entered there were NONE!

SCAM!
January 9, 2013
Said it found the information i needed but I had to pay to see it. After I paid, it said they found no information. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!

Scam, not worth the money.
January 4, 2013
I was looking for a couple people. Spokeo said it had their phone number and when I signed up it had almost nothing. Also, they will not give money back for no information. They are terrible Do not use.

Spokeo is a scam
January 2, 2013
They snagged me in with buy a membership and we will let you see the information. However they don't have it! I looked up my own info and it was all wrong. Do not waste your money on this service.

Linda N August 28, 2013

Yeah this is a bad service. Do not use.

Spectacularly Inaccurate
December 24, 2012

Online privacy is something that everyone should be concerned about. I am in the IT field and know that "garbage in = garbage out". I checked my own information and found it to be wildly inaccurate. I was listed at ten different addresses, including two that don;t actually exist, two that are several decades out of date and three of my father's prior residences. The relationship data included my mother who has been dead for 30 years as a living occupant of a prior residence.

Spokeo is only one example of the many businesses that provide inaccurate information that is used by employers and businesses that make decisions that affect peoples lives. These are the kinds of businesses that need to be shut down by the consumer protection agency.

Reverse e-mail locator
December 13, 2012
Spokeo has a "reverse e-mail" feature that supposedly will tell you the owner of an e-mail address. The way it works is, you type in the e-mail address in the feature, and if Spokeo has information about it, they will let you know right away. This part is free. Then if you want the information, you have to pay for it. The problem is, is that EVEN IF SPOKEO DOESN'T HAVE INFORMATION ABOUT THE E-MAIL ADDRESS, THEY WILL SAY THAT THEY DO. AND THIS HOLDS TRUE EVEN IF THE E-MAIL ADDRESS DOESN'T EXIST. I know this because I tried it with several non-existent e-mail addresses and they always say they have hits. Try it and see for yourself. In fact, the ending part of the e-mail after the @ doesn't even have to be an existing e-mail provider like aol or yahoo, you can make one up, again, that doesn't exist, and Spokeo will tell you that they have hits on it.