Spinn Coffee Maker Reviews

Spinn Coffee Maker
( 9 reviews )
Website: www.Spinn.com

The Spinn Coffee Maker, found online at Spinn.com, promises people convenient, high quality coffee without the waste that has recently become common in the home brewing industry. 

How Does Spinn Work?

According to their website, there hasn’t been much innovation in at home coffee brewing since the invention of the individual brewing cups and their companion coffee makers.

Unfortunately, not everyone has been thrilled with this new change, some because they don’t believe that the ground coffee in these cups produces the best quality coffee, and others because this particular home coffee movement has resulted in a significant amount of waste. 

The creators of the Spinn Coffee Maker decided it was time for a new innovation in home coffee brewing that could provide home coffee makers with exceptional quality coffee and a significantly decrease in waste. To do this, they created a coffee maker that provides an “all-in-one” experience. 

Unlike most coffee makers, their machine takes whole beans and can grind them and use them to brew a variety of different kinds of coffee in a variety of sizes. When your cup or carafe is done, the website says that all customers will be left with is a collection of dry used coffee grounds, which some reviewers have pointed out can be used for other functions. 

Finally, this coffee maker also connects to a mobile application that you can download onto your phone or your tablet, making it possible to begin your brewing process from outside of the room, have your machine notify you when coffee beans are low and need to be re-ordered, or help you remember the specific settings you had in place when you had that “perfect” cup of coffee, so you know you’ll always be able to make it again. 

Mobile Options

Currently Spinn Coffee Maker does provide their members with a free downloadable mobile app for either iOS or Android devices. 

Cost/Price Plans

There are currently three different models that customers order.  Their Original Coffee Maker is priced at $799, the Original Plus model is priced at $965, and the Original Pro model is priced at $1299.

The Original model comes with $50 in coffee credits, the Plus model with $100 in coffee credits, and the Pro model with $200 in coffee credits, which are credits you can use to purchase coffee from the curated roasters available in your Spinn mobile application.   

After years of anticipation, the Spinn Coffee Maker finally began to ship, but seems to be on backorder currently, with the company stating the first coffee makers will ship in winter of 2021.

Refund Policy

The Spinn website says that customers who purchased their products directly from Spinn or an authorized Spinn dealer may return them under two different circumstances.

First, all products are eligible to be returned within one year of the original shipment date if they have any kind of a defect, or they can be returned within the first 45 days of the date of original shipment for any reason.

Customers will want to contact their Customer Service team for full return instructions if they believe that they will want to return this product.  

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact their Customer Service team with questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by email at [email protected] 

Reputation

Because this product is not yet available on the open market, there are not any customer reviews available yet. There have been some reviews of this product available in technology magazines and websites, however, and these have been very positive and enthusiastic. 

It seems that the highest praise for this coffee maker doesn’t have much to do with its smart features, though those are mentioned and appreciated, but has more generally to do with the fact that this coffee maker is able to handle the entire process of making high quality coffee from beginning to end, with very little waste. 

Since this company does not appear to provide much information regarding refunds for pre-orders at this time, customers may be willing to wait until this machine actually ships and customers are able to provide their first person feedback on how this coffee maker actually performs, though that will mean that you will lose the pre-order discount. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are obviously many different coffee makers and espresso makers available on the market, many of which are beginning to branch into “smart” applications as well, so if the Spinn Coffee Maker does not meet your needs for any reason, there are likely to be other, more suitable machines available.  

If you have any experience with Spinn Coffee Maker or their products, please leave your reviews below.

Spinn Coffee Maker Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Poor quality coffee maker and overpriced
October 19, 2022

The Spinn coffee machine is very sensitive and received errors since day 1. We purchase in June 2022 and now the machine will grind coffee but will not make it.. After only 4 months of usage! Spinn says you have a 1 year warranty but they will not refund your money. I have purchased Keurigs, Breville, Cuisinart, Philips and they all stand behind their product.

There is a reason they ONLY give a 45 day refund! Very disappointing and will never buy another Spinn product. Do not waste your money on this overrated expensive coffee maker. Went with the wrong brand/company!

Don't waste your money
July 25, 2022
We purchased a Spinn, we waited 6 months for delivery. It made coffee consistently for about two weeks. Then we had to send it in for repairs. Issue was not fixed, and they do not refund.

VeronicaReichert October 19, 2022

We ordered the Spinn coffee maker on June 2022 and has never worked properly. Only four months later it is not grinding coffee and keep receiving an errors.Worst company to deal with since they do not stand behind their product! There is a reason you only have 45 days to get a refund! Veronica

Bitter coffee
June 19, 2022
I have tried to get the coffee not to taste bitter. New bags, everything…I spent way too much money on this machine and can not call customer service because they do not have a phone line.

Looks pretty - hit and miss on coffee quality. Going to the dump.
June 1, 2022

Looks lovely, the convenience of the app is great. There is one big challenge .. it is totally hit and miss as to whether you get a good cup of coffee or not. It is a highly sensitive machine, needs to have the drain or grinds container emptied after every 2 cups. But, even with the same setting every time, sometime it can be a great cup, other times it can be like dishwater.

Unfortunately, I stuck with this beyond the 45 day return window and I’m guessing there’s nothing technically wrong with the machine.. it just doesn’t give good coffee consistently .. it’s going in the trash .. an expensive lesson.

Still waiting
December 27, 2020
Going on year 5 and still waiting to receive a coffee maker that I paid for in 2016

Waited for years and don’t like the coffee
August 19, 2020
Waited for years and don’t like the coffee. I’m actually really surprised I don’t like the coffee. It doesn’t taste very good.

RudiBackart February 27, 2022

Same. I will be returning. Coffee not very good using very good beans, needs to be reheated almost immediately and no matter how I change the levels in the app for better coffee, it is simply mediocre at best.

Definitly a SCAM
October 3, 2018
I pre ordered my coffee maker nearly 2 years ago and all I get are offers to buy coffee beans. They have found time to move into larger offices but have not been able to manufacture and deliver a coffeemaker as promised. I requested a full refund last year and was told I had to contact their customer service but did not get a reply back from them nor have I received a refund. presale is a great idea to help raise money for manufacturing a new product BUT they cannot take your money and not deliver. I will be reporting this to Consumer Affairs, and they should request the Attorney General look into this company.

JoeFriday August 12, 2020

It is unfortunate that I see so many people reporting this to be a scam. I ordered my machine in December of 2016 and it finally did arrive yesterday. August 11th 2020. So yes, a very long time. But I knew I ordered. An item under development. Just did not anticipate it would take so long. Long story short., have had a few days to try it out and so far very satisfied with the results. So, disappointing in the length of time. But not a scam. I finally got my product.

Animas August 19, 2020

I got my machine and I don't like the coffee at all

Scam
May 8, 2018

I think it's all a scam. I ordered my coffee over a year ago and all I received were notices of redesigns. Definitely wasn't happy. Called customer service and threatened them with calling the consumer complaints division of my state. They quickly refunded my credit card. Think of hundreds of thousands of deposits at $400. adds up to millions that they are doing what with???

SCAM

Sour Coffee
April 17, 2017
Since September or October 2016 I placed an order for the Spinn Coffee Maker, as an early order we were told that the machines would be received by January 2017. As of today, April 17, 2017 the coffee maker has not been received. Please note that the company charged my credit card when the pre-order was made. I would have assumed that the item would have been shipped by now and I would have made my 1000 cup of expresso coffee.

T P May 05, 2017

Pedro, if you are not happy about waiting anymore, the original confirmation email has instructions on how to request a refund. Have you done that yet?

New products going to market are often hard to predict, especially if any of the parts or production take place in another country from the business. If you aren't comfortable in waiting longer than planned, it's probably best to avoid jumping on the pre-order bandwagon.

Martin March 19, 2018

Spinn advertised shipping by Spring 2017 nd the Summer 2017 and then Fall 2017.

They offered their product as pre-order not as crowdfund or other product-to-be-developed funding method so I see your comment wrong and lacking the basic information about this product.

I honestly hope the company can deliver but they have been failing each one of their self-imposed shipping dates and advertising a 6 months warranty... this sounds more an scam and legit.

I order my SPINN back in December/2016 and cancelled my order 45 days ago.. I will wait until consumer reviews (1 yr of use)

JosephKonzelman May 08, 2018

I think it's all a scam. I ordered my coffee over a year ago and all I received were notices of redesigns. Definitely wasn't happy. Called customer service and threatened them with calling the consumer complaints division of my state. They quickly refunded my credit card. Think of hundreds of thousands of deposits at $400. adds up to millions that they are doing what with???

SCAM

PatManning October 17, 2018

Yes, it is a scam. I have been waiting for 2 years and finally decided that I wanted a refund but my refund has been denied. They also won't allow negative comments on their Spinn community ... they censor and refuse to post anything that identifies it for what it is ... a scam. I don't expect that I will receive my money back but will continue to try and may get legal advise on a class action.

Christian June 05, 2019

Still no machines shipped. I dont believe it's a scam, but for sure not a successful "invention". There are beta machines out there (unclear as to how many) but reports from these "beta testers" have not been published.

As mentioned above, Spinn does not allow any negative or critical posts on their "forum". It is heavily monitored and only positive comments are posted (all posts are reviewed by Spinn before posted). Any questions related to production timelines are ignored and remain unanswered.

I ordered and paid in November 2016. I was aware that this was a pre-order and was not shocked when the machine was not delivered as I was under the impression that the machine was still pre-production.

It seems however that every time a component is improved a new problem shows up. The invention is very unique and I believe that the founders thought it would be MUCH easier than it is in reality.

They are sharing monthly updates which go into great detail of what they are doing. There are pictures of labs, machine parts, tooling being developed etc.

My guesstimate is that they will start producing maybe by year end to at least get some machines out in time for the holidays, but more likely next year (2020) sometime.

I also anticipate that it will not be a very sensitive machine and it will break down. That is why they are not willing to put a normal warranty behind it. Seems clear to me that they know this machine will not withstand daily use of a household for longer than 6 months without breaking.