Shaw Academy Reviews

Shaw Academy
( 15  Reviews )



Write a Review

About Shaw Academy

The Shaw Academy, found online at ShawAcademy.com, is a company that says their goal is to help people learn new skills quickly and efficiently with the world’s large live online educator program. 

How Does It Work?

According to their website, Shaw Academy wants to help people master new skills in just about four weeks’ time with their high quality online courses and webinars so that you can “transform your life and those around you.”

Their website says that they offer courses in Photography, Finance, Health & Wellness, Marketing, Technology, Design, Beauty, Business, and much more, and all their courses are delivered via live, interactive webinars at scheduled times, twice weekly. All students will receive email reminders before the live lesson and all times will be listed in your local time zone. 

If you are unable to watch a live webinar due to scheduling conflicts, their website says that all classes are recorded and put up in the members’ area so that you can get access to them when you have the time. 

Their website does that all courses at Shaw Academy are independently accredited by an internationally recognized body for CPD purposes, which ensures qualifications are in line with the most current professional standards. 

Cost/Price Plans

Because this company offers such a wide variety of courses and classes at this time, there is no one single price that you will pay for a class you are interested in taking. Instead, when you go through their online course guide and look at the classes that are of interest to you, Shaw Academy will clearly display the cost of the course, the course timeline, course requirements, and any other information their students will need to have before they commit to a class.

Refund Policy

This website is very clear that all fees paid to their website are considered non-refundable. They do say that their customers are able to cancel their membership at any time without penalty, and they will continue to have access to all their course materials until the end of the current subscription period at which time your membership will be discontinued. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who have questions, concerns, or complaints they would like to direct to their Customer Service team can contact them by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact link.

Reputation

At this time it appears that Shaw Academy is well liked in terms of the courses they offer and the fact that they provide access to live instructors with time for Questions and Answer Sessions. However, customers must know that even if a company claims that their courses are accredited, it is still your responsibility to do the necessary due diligence to determine if this course meets your professional needs as not all accrediting bodies are recognized by all fields.  

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are so many websites and companies that work hard to provide people with access to online classes and learning opportunities, including Coursera, Lynda, Khan Academy, and many, many others depending on the types of classes you are hoping to take and the format in which you are hoping to take them. 

If you have any experience with this company or their products, please leave your Shaw Academy reviews below.

15 ‘Shaw Academy’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:

Scam

February 23, 2021

Now reading this it all makes sense I was thinking there is something strange about them because they were constantly calling me to pay when it was said it was free...Luckily I used my Revolut to sign up and I think that's why they keep calling because my online transactions are turned off and they cant get money out.

Comment on this review...

AVOID their 'Free Trial'

February 10, 2021

One star is too high a rating for this company. Please do not sign up to their 'free trial' as they take money from your Bank Account even if you do not access their products/services and cancel during the trial period.

In trying to get a refund, they will offer you everything except the refund!

Comment on this review...

SCAM

January 9, 2021

They just kept taking money from my account for what was supposed to be a trial period. I definitely goofed on this one. I will suggest people go to Udemy. Shaw Academy are thieves.

Comment on this review...

THIS COMPANY HAS NO VALUE!!!FROUD! SCAM! NEVER TRUST THEM

November 10, 2020

They offer you free courses and to have access to your bank account charge you first with low amount and then return it. Then without any purchase you make they take money from your bank account. The dead line for cancellation was in 30 days and they charged me in the 28th and I sent them many emails and made calls. No answer....
So now I am paying $69.99 for a purchase which I never made. Never Never trust them.

Comment on this review...

SCAM!!!

November 9, 2020

Stay away from this company. Completely fraudulent and just steal your money!!!!!

Comment on this review...

photography

October 31, 2020

i think the app is legit I'm doing photography its doing well for me

Comment on this review...

Not worth the investment; horrible customer service and shady business practices

July 31, 2020

Their offering is nondescript and for the price it's not worth the investment. They trap with you with their introductory offer. They set your account to auto-renew even though you state and change the setting to not renew. They also bombard you incessantly with spam mail. Horrible customer service. They utilize an automated help desk service that takes days to reach someone and when you finally receive a reply to your email they start the process over and begin from scratch.

January 01, 2021

Those of you that would like to join me in my relentless quest for my refund and pending lawsuit against this company please contact me at [email protected] have rights, Utilize yours !!!!!!

Comment on this review...
review author image

Sham academy

July 30, 2020

It’s such a shame. I didn’t think 3 months were worth the $100 but decided to give it a shot. Immediately I was charged with $40 additionally for a tool kit I didn’t click on. I saw the pop ups and was careful. These guys are really dumb. They would get more business with just being honest. PayPal was useless and refused to give me back my money but thankfully I paid with my credit card on PayPal so Capital One got me my money back and canceled all payments. I barely finished the trial and was given a bill for $140 for prerecorded sessions. Shaw tried shamefully begging me to refuse to challenge the charges, saying they can’t afford it but wouldn’t even make good on the $40. They said they couldn’t issue refunds. When I reviewed them on another site, they responded with a polite message about me contacting support. They refused me 3 times so that response was clearly only for readers to think it was some sort of misunderstanding. Really stupid people that are just looking for a quick money grab.

Comment on this review...

Poor quality download material and overcharge without refund

July 22, 2020

Do not use this company they have charged my debit card and refuse (despite various emails to them) to provide a refund. Instead they are offering me additional services (for free - well not, as it's the money that they refuse to refund!). Also the course (Leadership and Management was actually an insightful course, however the downloaded material was sub-standard and didn't fully replicate the slides shown in the online classes. Find another, reputable company if you wish to consider acquiring a valid qualification.

View all 2 Comments
July 30, 2020

I hope you got your money back. PayPal was useless but my credit card company got me my money back.

August 27, 2020

Yes I did get a refund from my bank and then by Shaw Academy. I would suggest that everyone reports them to your local financial ombudsman, Trading Standards if you are in the UK report them to an org called Action Fraud. I've reported them to all of these agencies and more people need to in order to get this company closed down. Like you everyone should contact their bank (unsure about PayPal) to also chase them for a refund and continually highlight this to Shaw's customer service via email. I hope that helps.

Comment on this review...

Nothing really changed with Shaw

July 5, 2020

I think I started with Shaw back in 2018. It wasn’t bad at first. Completed the courses and got the certificates relatively easily. Since I purchased a relatively cheap lifetime membership, I saw they offered supposedly unlimited diplomas. What they don’t tell you is that you’ll still be charged for what they call processing. When I tried to complete my final assignment, couldn’t do it without paying. And I just noticed something interesting after reading all these reviews. I went to the Shaw Academy website, shawacademy.com and tried to use the existing members login link, but got a page not found error. Had to use the mobile app. Not impressed. Not sure I’ll be making use of my lifetime membership.

Comment on this review...
review author image

HORRIBLE!! RIPOFF!! Avoid at all costs, because it WILL cost you.

June 6, 2020

Shaw Academy is everything you read in all the bad reviews. The classes are pre-recorded and NEVER live. There isn't anything you learn there (in the course I signed up for) that you can't find in a book from the library or a youtube video. There are CONSTANT pop-ups to purchase toolkits and the certificate that you would think was part of taking the course. You can't even "unlock" the final assignment to gain certification without making the $39.95 purchase of the certificate. The whole experience just leaves you with a bad taste in your mouth. I feel like I have been scammed in the worst way with their ridiculous "no refund" claims. They are no doubt making a killing off the many of us who feel that we need to expand our knowledge to get a foothold in life. The only education I feel like I have received is to have learned that I should never trust any potential online educational opportunities.

Comment on this review...

Free courses are not free

May 20, 2020

Would really like to give zero stars but Unfortunately that was not An option. I really wish I had read these reviews before signing up because So many people Seem to have had the same problem and I would have steered clear of SHAW academy completely. I honestly didn’t realize that I would be charged after four weeks because the course was advertised as FREE. I stopped doing the course around the second or third week and then was charged after the fourth. I asked them for a refund as I was not Attending the classes and they refused. You should not be charging someone’s card for a course that was advertised as FREE. Especially during these difficult times where people are losing their jobs And income. Shame on you Shaw Academy for exploiting people like this.

Comment on this review...

BUYER BEWARE!

May 6, 2020

BUYER BEWARE!!!
Someone gave these guys my email address. I was sent an email to "opt-in" or authorize the agreement. I DID NOT.
They started debiting my Paypal account $1.00, -$1.00, $1.00, -$1.00. I contacted them asking what the heck - I said I did not confirm anything this was all wrong. They then took $69.99.
I fought, they gave it back. I demanded to be erased from their system.
This month, they took another $69.99 from Paypal!
Now they won't give it back.
They are illegal, immoral thieves and BOY have they picked the wrong person to screw with!!!

Comment on this review...

Not Recommended

April 29, 2020

I really wanted to like Shaw Academy.
My cellular service provider was offering a free trial to try out Shaw Academy and I took them up on their offer.
Unfortunately, shortly thereafter, I had to cancel my trial, as it didn't take long before the Shaw Academy site seemed questionable at best.
As online educational platforms often do, the Shaw Academy pages can take a moment to load.
I was taken aback to discover that, while the page was loading for a lesson, an in-site pop-up popped up onto the screen urging the student to make a one-click "toolbox" purchase for $40 that doesn't require any confirmation.
As my screen dimmed, I happened to tap my phone to keep the screen from going black, accidently hitting the one-click, no confirmation needed, purchase of forty dollars.
Making matters worse, the pop-up appeared to me to be strategically placed in a commonly high-touch area on the average phone. Though I cannot say for sure that this is intentional, I found this frustrating.
I then decided to withdraw from my trial course on Shaw Academy as I found this to be questionable conduct.

I emailed Shaw Academy's support team explaining the situation, and they notified be that they would NOT issue a refund.

As one can imagine, during a global pandemic where thousands are left jobless, hearing the news that this company WON'T issue refunds for situations such as this is both disheartening and disappointing, particularly when they won't issue refunds to individuals trying their services for the first time.

I would not recommend this company to anyone.

Comment on this review...

Not a Happy Customer

May 7, 2019

After completing a semi-satisfactory diploma in Leadership (not live as advertised), I'd finished with Shaws services. A dayt or two later they took another £90 from my bank as apparently the service is on a rolling membership. Although this is stated in the T

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review