Rover.com Reviews

Rover.com
Based on 35  Reviews


PetCarePets

Review It

About Rover.com

Rover.com is a site that connects travelers who have pets to pet sitters in their local area. Although dig sitting is the primary service provided by their hosts, they also offer dog walking services and pet care for other animals such as cats and birds.

Many pet owners are not comfortable letting their dogs sit in kennels while they are away. Boarding pets can be risky, as you don’t know the health of the other dogs in the facility and don’t know if your pet is being properly cared for.

Dogs can also feel anxiety when they are boarded and may lead to them acting out their frustrations when they arrive back home. They may chew on things and cause other types of mischief they may not have done prior.

The cost of hiring a sitter on Rover.com typically ranges from $20-$60 per day. There are no fees for pet owners or sitters to set up an account on Rover.com; however, they take 15% of the sitters’ earnings when processing their payments.

The cost of boarding your dog may or may not be cheaper depending on the additional services you request. Fees for additional walks, treats and extra playtime are typically required, these fees can add up quickly.

Rover.com’s registered users can locate and book sitters through the website. To find available sitters you will enter in your city of residence and the dates you will be away for. Once you have narrowed down your options, you can browse through each ones’ profiles. They will include pictures, pay rates, a description of themselves and their qualifications. While some of the sitters may have reviews from prior jobs, some of them won’t have any. Regardless, set up a time to meet with them and let them meet your pup.

The sitters on Rover.com are required to submit an application and be approved by the Rover team, to become a host. All sitters must comply with local, federal and state regulations regard the care and safety of all animals. Sitters who have proven themselves, to be trustworthy and responsible, can advance their status to become a Rover Pack member.

To be eligible for the Rover Pack program, sitters must have completed two successful jobs, they must display a great profile, and they must have a protection package. If they meet these initial requirements they may submit an application and continue forward with Rover’s extensive review process.

Rover Pack members are afforded with more sitting opportunities due to the perks they receive. They are entitled to priority on the last minute request list, they are given a profile boost and they are also rewarded with a custom URL profile.

Online reviews showed that customers were pleased with the services provided by Rover sitters. Not only did they feel comfortable leaving their dog with the sitter, but they also came back to a happy, well taken care of, doggy.

Read Next:  How to Choose the Right Food for your Dog: A Detailed Guide

Related Articles

35 ‘Rover.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

Use as a last resort.



March30, 2017

While Rover provides good services such as connecting owners with sitters, an insurance plan, and a solid payment system, there are two very important facts that users must know up front.

1) Rover takes a big chunk (15-20%) before paying the sitter. So if the sitter needs to make $100, and Rover is taking 20% of the gross, the customer must pay $125. That's a 25% markup, passed to the owner. On top of that, Rover charges the owner an additional, ambigious, 5-7% fee. So, if the sitter needs $100, the owner can pay upwards of $132 - a 32% mark-up!!

2) Once an owner meets a sitter in Rover, the owner is expected per Rover's interpretation of their terms of service to always go through Rover to use that sitter. FOREVER. This means that anybody you meet there is off the market for any future arrangements unless you intend to pay through Rover.

My recommendation is that you look at other options first (PSI, Facebook, vet suggestions, etc.). Know what you are committing to before enrolling in Rover.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 6 Comments
April 24, 2017

i totally agree. I paid them 1,000s and they put me at the end of the list of hosts. Kept my spots open for 72 hours and then it may not be accepted so you lost out on getting anyone.

January 08, 2018

The 20% take away doesn’t effect how much the client pays. It just effects how much the sitter is given.

January 08, 2018

The 20% take away does not effect how much the client pays at all. If a service costs $100, the owner pays $100 (it is automatically transferred when they book the stay), then after the service is complete the sitter receives that payment (automatic) in their account. However, the sitter is given $80 instead of $100 because of the 20% that Rover takes

January 08, 2018

Also, you can totally use a sitter outside of Rover, if the sitter wants to do that. I have done that several times with owners so that I can make the full profit instead of losing 20%

January 08, 2018

I have never seen any random charge of 5-7% on any people I have dog sat for on Rover.

January 08, 2018

Please read the starting sentence: "So if the sitter needs to make $100,.." If that's what the sitter needs, the cost to the customer goes way up for the other charges. And "ambiguous" is not the same as "random". There is an additional fee. It was in the documentation and confirmed with Rover at the time I posted this. It was their discretion as to the actual percentage in the 5-7% range.

Also you need to know, if you met that client in Rover then sat for them outside of Rover, you have violated your agreement and they will terminate you. My potential sitter and I both got booted off Rover for DISCUSSING possible outside arrangements.

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Don't Trust this company with your pet's well being



December31, 2016

Rover prides itself on the premise that it is "Connecting pet parents with the nation’s largest network of loving & trustworthy dog walkers & sitters". If the Rover team ever left their Seattle office to truly vet the thousands of people who have registered on their site as a pet sitter, they'd probably be out of business. Anyone can sign up to be a pet sitter...Rover prides itself in doing background checks, but without truly vetting a person, the background check means nothing. I hired a sitter through Rover to watch my precious pets only to discover (through my security system) that my dogs were being severely neglected. Rover didn't care. They have a lame customer support team who simply e-mali you an apology, but make no effort to right the wrong. Absolutely no repercussions to the sitter who neglected my dogs - in fact, she was paid her cancellation fee, which was my hard earned money, even though I fired her. Instead of all the PR they're getting for being such a cool place to work, they need to be exposed for the company and services they are NOT.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
March 20, 2017

I read your complaint and love my pets. But I am curious. If your pets were "severely neglected" through your own security system, why didn't you call the police or Seattle Animal shelter, or press charges? Animal neglect situations are those in which the animal's caretaker or owner fails to provide food, water, shelter, or veterinary care sufficient for survival. In Seattle once a complaint has been logged, an officer will investigate.

Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Don't use Rover



December31, 2016

I can't believe this company does not check their dog sitters! My dogs were unattended for serveral of the days I paid for them to be let out and walked. I'll never use this company again! Their customer service does not care about your complaint and they still take a cancelation fee. So the neglectful sitters get their money anyway. Don't use this company!!! Find and interview a reliable person on your own, the effort is worth it to have your animals cared for in the way you prefer.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
February 09, 2018

Same thing happened to me but my sitter drugged my dogs so she could stay gone for longer periods!! I reported her and they basically laughed at me

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Don't use Rover.com if you value your pet and your home.



November23, 2016

I recently used Rover.com to hire a person to come to my house to feed my 2 cats while I was away. When I came home my bed, couch, chairs and carpets were soiled in urine and stool. I had a completely soiled white comforter so I thought how did the sitter not see or especially smell this as she passed my bedroom to get to the kitchen to feed my animals? I looked in the cat box but it was completely clean, as if it was not used. She must have come by the day I had returned and only cleaned the box. She came other days to take a pic of my cats assuring me she had been coming by. I called Rover and spoke to Josh who never followed up with me so I called back, he stating he forgot to forward my info to his superiors and had actually forgotten about call altogether, he apologized several times, and assured me would now escalate my case. The next day I received an email stating the issue had been resolved, describing incidences we didn't even talk about. I wrote back stating he must have sent me someone else's email. I received no reply and my case was dropped. After a week I went to use my toaster and it had urine in it, also, all my laundry detergent was gone along with some other household supplies. I learned from my caretaker, the rover employee, was going thru a divorce, literally that week had signed papers to relinquish her house and was now homeless. I then realized she might also be mentally ill, after the toaster incident, I wondered if she staged the stool all over my house in spite of loosing her home. In 12 years my animals had never behaved that way. Rover doesn't take responsibility for people that they hire and they vehemently doesn't care. I suggest with my misfortune you not use this co. and know going in they don't bond these people (I asked) and its the luck of the draw if you come out unscathed or stolen from. Just beware these people are not regulated by anyone so once they have the keys to your home they can do whatever they wish and you will not know until you come home.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Horrible service, our 1 year old dog is injured and in 2 months of recovery after a 2 days stay!!!



November18, 2016

Writing this review for a 2 days stay that we booked through Rover. On paper, Julie, our Rover sitter, is the perfect sitter. Unfortunately, in reality, our dog is injured with a 2 week recovery and drain tube. Coco was taken to the park where she played with a German shepherd. Coco is well socialized and even though it is a dog park, she should not have been allowed to play with a large dog specially with no supervision. The situation ended in the German Shepherd biting Coco. The wound was covered by her fur and unfortunately, we didn't get home till the next day. At the vet, the doctor cleaned the wound and removed the fur to surface a deep subcutaneous wound with a second wound that had a deep pocket. How could a a few seconds of a fight result in such a bad wound? Coco is one year old and is still a puppy. My notes clearly stated that. How can a sitter let a puppy play with a ferocious and aggressive German shepherd? The result is that we're in trauma over the injury and our dog is in pain since 3 days now and will be suffering for another 2 weeks. We're busy, working professionals and have taken the best care of our dog for this entire year with no incidents. This situation has not only caused us trauma mentally and emotionally as pet parents but, it's unbearable to see a little innocent dog in so much pain and suffering with a drain tube at such an early age. I would highly recommend not using strangers to watch your dogs. Rover and other instant services have made us blind. People who are not trained professionals and claim to be "sitters" can never take care appropriate care of your dog. You're better off looking for alternate options. As for Julie, she was apologetic and offered to pay for the vet charges. I have only one question to ask her - 'What if your own child was bitten mercilessly in your absence and ended up in the hospital? How much money could one pay to give you relief and peace from that kind of pain and suffering?' There really is no turning back from this incident but, I write this review to warn other pet owners from using sitters who may seem to be 'perfect' and are very warm and probably great human beings but, are NOT equipped to take care of your dog. They have probably no training, no concern and definitely no commitment to your dog. Please consider working with Julie at your own risk and likewise with other sitters on Rover. Rover hasn't even considered refunding us for our stay and sent us boilerplate email with text around deductibles.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

They allow known criminals to dog sit!



August29, 2016

I had originally had a decent experience, so I thought. Until I got home! My 3 puppies, who were housebroken started pooping uncontrollably. The ended up with round worms from the sitters dogs. I reported it immediately and they wouldn't cover costs or refund. They told me it was preventable care. When I provided proof that my dogs had been on preventative care and asked for proof that they ensured their sitters pets had care, theyou then said they might consider insuring after a $500 deductible!
I decided to look up the sitters full name, since they don't disclose it, boy was that a can of worms! I clarified with Rover.com that they did do criminal checks. They said yes, then I hit them with the sitters local rap sheet... drugs, prostitution, murder (yes, murder charges in drug bust), theft, etc... that was just one County! She had lived in 3 in this state, in 3 other states and abroad. I looked up all this on public records and discovered 4 aliases!
I reported all the info to them a few days ago as I noticed she had supposedly just dog sat for another client, somehow from the jail cell she's been sitting in since her arrest 5 days after I picked up my pups... and yes she's still in jail and if you go on their site now, even with all that info, you can still hire "her"... from jail apparently... smh

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

No Protection of Sitters Whatsoever



August13, 2016

I became a sitter on Rover.com a few months ago and found out rather quickly that they do not protect their sitters at all. If an owner lies about whether a dog is house-trained, quiet, or good with other dogs, and you need that dog to be picked up as it is a danger to your pets, other dogs, or to your lease (i.e. barking constantly so your neighbors complain and pooping everywhere) they tell you there is nothing they can do.

Even if the owner does not respond to your request for them to pick up their dog, Rover will not do anything for you. At all. So you are stuck with a dog who is dangerous or a threat to your home.

Also, they take 20% of booking fees which is an extreme amount for any cost sharing service (AirBNB takes about 2%), so basically they cycle through sitters and make a fifth of the money while you suffer with dogs who are held to zero accountability.

It is a complete scam.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

don't



July18, 2016

DO NOT DEAL WITH THIS FIRM. THEY ARE UTTERLY INCOMPETENT. THEY FIRED MY BOSS - WHO HAS 41 YEARS EXPERIENCE FOSTERING DOGS - FOR INCOMPETENCE. THEY REFUSE TO SAY WHY. AARON EASTERLY THE CEO REFUSES TO RESPOND TO CUSTOMER INQUIRIES. BUT WOW DO THEY WANT MONEY. AN UTTERLY DESPICABLE FIRM WITH ZERO, REPEAT ZERO, CUSTOMER SERVICE.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment

Leave a Review