Postmates.com Reviews

Postmates.com
( 30  Reviews )



Write a Review

About Postmates.com

Postmates.com is the online home of the Postmates delivery service, a company which says that they have redefined shopping with a special service that delivers a wide range of items in under one hour.

There are many other types of delivery services out there, like Instacart.com which is a grocery delivery service, and TaskRabbit, which is a company that allows people to post tasks they want completed and the amount of money they will pay to have that task done.

Postmates.com says that their service is an improvement over existing services because they don't only deliver one type of item, like groceries or food, but a wide variety of items - more than 20,000 different products from more than 3,300 stores.

When you sign onto Postmates.com or onto their mobile app - available for iOS and Android smart phones and tablets - you can either search for the closest available stores and restaurants or you can find a specific store and browse the items there.

The delivery fee starts at $5, and is further calculated based on time, distance, and factors determined by your specific location. The website promises that this system guarantees that you will never be overcharged.

Customers that are worried about the potential fees associated with this service should know that they can review all their fees before they finally check out, so if you don't like what you see you don't have to complete the order.

Once your order is submitted, you'll be able to see a picture of your Postmate, the real person who will make your delivery, as well as information about their experience level and the number of jobs they have completed through Postmates.com.

You can also track your delivery in real time if you want, or you can simply wait to get their text message alerts which will inform you of when your item is picked up, and when it has been dropped off.

If you have any experience with this service, please leave your Postmates.com reviews below.

30 ‘Postmates.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

They're Crooks

January 21, 2021

Crooks, thieves, and fraudulence people. Postmates Gift cards are the new way to breed more thieves that make money off hard working people.

My problem: Postmates took $525 from my bank account. They stole my credit card account number from Christrmas shopping over the Holiday's. From Nov. to January 21st, removing 25 dollars through postmates withdrawals, they have taken 21 withdrawals equal to $525.

I just want my money. My husband worked 48 years as a Truck driver and we are 75. The people who own these companies should make sure that they're not helping crooks. I think you can guess what I think of your Company.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Cheats

November 28, 2020

Ordered from their website food from their restaurants.

They charged 12.oo for non postmate restaurants. I cancelled .
But they still charged me 71.00 for no food.

Their crooks!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Restaurant Owner Here

November 5, 2020

I have a real issue with a company that uses my companies menu without receiving any kind of contract with us. The menu they found somewhere is from over a year ago. It lists items we no longer carry or never have carried, the spelling is off on several items and the prices are higher than what we sell in house.

The drivers just appear and ask for orders, which we never received or they just come in and order right then. Sometimes we have to bake what they want. I'm sure the customer doesn't realize that we never agreed to let Postmates deliver for us or to use our menu. When they order off the menu that is on the Postmates site, and order items that we no longer carry, they probably think it's us and that we never have any of the cookies they want. It really looks bad on us, not Postmates. I'm tired of it.

I myself have ordered a couple times from Postmates and have never gotten any of the food I ordered. The last time I waited 3 hours for a delivery that is literally about 2 blocks away. I can step outside of my business, look down the road and see the place I ordered from. The other time, I ordered and it said the food was delivered, but I never received it either.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Postmates is a scam

October 24, 2020

A Total scam, with false promotions. Takes 3 DAYS to PROCESS ORDERS. Service fees are sure to make no differences to your supposed "discount". And, they add secret prices. They placed a 3 day, $55.00 hold on my credit card, then overcharged me on the total. For example, 2 items @ $36.26 $7.61 service fee = $43.87 - $5.00 promo = $38.87. I was charged $39.65 ???! That's a $0.78 overcharge.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

They literally overprice everything

September 9, 2020

Check out their website for common items delivered... compared to actually ordering carryout

Papa Murphy's Pizza: for a cowboy 14" pizza, the cost is 10 dollars. Postmates charges 13 for EXACTLY THE SAME THING, PLUS the 'delivery fee' and mandatory Tip.

It is a rip off. 100%, and we have had vivian Crosby's problem above before.

They rip off their customers, rip off their drivers, and their drivers have figured out how to scam their system for free food by calling the customer and asking them to 'cancel their order' citing whatever stupid excuses they can find for it being 'undeliverable'.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Terrible, inhumane customer service

May 18, 2020

Terrible, inhumane customer service. They delivered another customer's meal to me, which I had to reject.I asked for my credit card to be credited for the purchase but they only provided me with a Postmates credit, which to my surprise, expired in 30 days. During that 30 day period, I was recovering from surgery, started cancer treatment, and was hospitalized. In spite of knowing all this info, Postmates refused to even extend my 30 period beyond the original expiration date. Don't ever use this service because if they make an error, you could end up paying for it in the long run.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

if I could give them negative stars, I would.

April 25, 2020

This is a horrible company. Their website is horrible, the customer service is horrible. The driver was ok, but she got lost. They overcharged me by $10 and when I complained they gave me a $6 credit instead of fixing the charge. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Worst Experience Ever, and what can you do?? Well,....

April 19, 2020

This is outrageous and completely unacceptable.
I attempted to place an order with Postmates for my local Del Taco, which went through far enough for them to charge my bank account $15.06, but did so without even confirming that the order COULD be placed! WTF?? So my order gets cancelled with the explanation that "the business is CLOSED"?? BULLS***T!! I JUST CALLED THAT EXACT STORE AND THEY ARE "OPEN AT THE DRIVE-THRU AND ACCEPTING POSTMATES AND ALL OTHER DELIVERY AND OTHER ORDERS JUST LIKE USUAL!!"
As a result, there is now STILL ALSO a lingering $15.06 charge on my bank account that shows as "PURCHASE POSTMATES"but I do not have my food! Excuse me? And then if the order went through, that initial charge would not be used for the order but instead another charge would be taken? tThat sounds illegal to me, and if not, i t should be. Think of all the money they have for temporary funds to use to make even more money from ours?? That is NOT the way you check for available funds! That happens when the order is actually PLACED and the food WILL be delivered! And still I have no food at my door, and NO VALID EXPLANATION as to why. I can find no way to speak to a real person at this so-called business, making the entire service really SERIOUSLY USELESS and a really BAD joke n all of us.
I AM ELDERLY AND DISABLED AND THEY HAVE JUST FORCED ME TO GET MYSELF UP OUT OF MY HOSPITAL BED TO DRIVE AND GET MY ORDER MYSELF, IN THE MIDDLE OF THIS PANDEMIC??!! Postmates has just lost the business of an entire community of THOUSANDS, at least! My reviews carry a great deal of influence all throughout San Diego County, and all of California, and more, and you will see and feel the results. Nice work. Say "GOODBYE".
BTW, this is not a formal "review", merely a frustrated tirade: FU PM! The worst is yet to come.
UPDATE: I just received an email stating "Your order could not be completed and has been cancelled. Your account has not been charged and we apologize for the inconvenience."
LIARS! My bank account STILL shows "PURCHASE POSTMATES TE SAN FRANCISCO CA CARD3734 $15.06" - THAT IS CALLED A "CHARGE" MORONS!!
LIARS AND HYPOCRITES. THIEVES AND LOSERS.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

This is the worst delivery service ever!!!!!!!!!!!

January 20, 2020

The first time I used it my order was canceled minutes before my delivery was to arrive with no explanations what so ever. I tried it again today and the order says delivered and I never got my food!!!!!!!!!!! There is no way to call anyone and I don't know how to get my money or food!!! I feel like a fool for using it again after the first incident.

Comment on this review...
review author image
2 Reviews

Driver Kept Our Order

January 1, 2020

My husband placed an order on my Postmates app on December 31 at 11:44pm. It usually takes less than 30 minutes to receive Postmates orders, even during busy periods. Our driver Isaiah, however, took over an hour to arrive near our location during a slow period (and we did not choose the "party" option). We received a text from Postmates stating that our order was out for delivery and that our Postmate would drop off the items at 12:31am. Soon after that, it said, "Your Postmate has arrived." However, when we checked the map at some point, it said the estimated delivery was now 12:48am, and it showed the driver's car not even close to our area (see screenshot). We did not get ANY form of contact directly from our driver until 1:01am. This is 30 minutes after he supposedly "arrived" at our location and 13 minutes after the "estimated delivery" we got through the app. By this point (1:01am), 1 hour and 17 minutes had passed since we initially placed our order. Why did it take SO long for him to arrive during a slow period when it usually only takes around 30 minutes to deliver even during busy periods? We realized he'd called at 1:01am and called him back at 1:05am; he did not answer. After being unable to reach him via phone to call back, we opted to try reaching out to him via text at 1:06am (see all photos attached for screenshots of these exchanges). At this point, my husband had gone outside to wait in the front and had also continued communicating with Isaiah via text. Isaiah responds to the text and claims he was "driving around for 15 minutes" and couldn't find us even though he had not even initiated a single form of contact with us within that 15 minutes aside from the single call he made just 5 minutes prior at 1:01am (for which our return call at 1:05am was not answered). By this point, my husband was standing outside waiting for him with our building door, which faces 30th street directly, wide open. Isaiah responded to both my and my husbands texts (my husband using my phone outside at the door, and me using the texting feature on my laptop) with texts stating that he couldn't park anywhere and the streets were too narrow. I have NEVER heard a Postmate complain about that even during busy times. On top of that, since we ended up having to reorder that night, our next delivery driver had no problem at all delivering the items. I don't care what that driver says, but it doesn't take 15 minutes to find our place, and he should have eventually been able to find it, ESPECIALLY if my husband is standing outside with the building door wide open facing 30th Street. Our address is not difficult to find (especially when you have someone standing outside with the door wide open!). Again, no Postmate has ever complained about not being able to find us, even when we are not waiting outside. On top of that, we responded to Isaiah within the 5-minute window required via both call and text and he made excuses to not deliver. Amidst trying to find him outside, we get a return message that says "The message was not delivered", and eventually we receive notification that, "Isaiah B. completed your deliver..." Except he didn't! He absolutely did not complete the delivery, so why are we getting a message that says that? We ended up having to place a new order, and that took a fraction of the time, and the driver had NO issues at all delivering. I have reattached the text screenshots so that hopefully someone will actually look at them this time around. I highly suggest Postmates look into this driver regardless of whether we get a refund or not. His customer service was abysmal. I have been a repeat customer of Postmates for a long time, and it is a shame I cancelled my subscription membership after this. When Max and Daniel at customer service told me nothing could be done about this, I just decided I simply couldn't trust that Postmates will try to solve problems if they were to happen again in the future after this experience. That paired with a handful of other disappointing experiences all in a row this past week has made cancelling my membership and saying goodbye to Postmates the logical next step. After a long time of Postmates loyalty, we'll be looking into Uber Eats and Grubhub now.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Food never delivered and overcharged fees

December 18, 2019

Postmates is running quite the operation. After ordering $75.00 worth of food for a business meeting from a restaurant 1/2 mile away, I was not only charged a $22 service fee and a $15.00 tip (not shown when I ordered but magically appeared when my receipt was emailed) on top of the $1.99 delivery fee... but the order never arrived and I had to walk to the restaurant and pick it up. When I went to Postmates’ customer service they said “Thank you for your feedback but we will not be taking any action on your concerns”. Totally insane! Goodbye Postmates

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Credit Card Fraud

November 8, 2019

My wife had here CC charged over 6 6 months for purchases totaling over $500.
We've never used Postmates and she actually thought it was a charge I made at the post office.
Anyway, we were never able to contact the company unless it was by email.
A internet search shows that there are many negative stories about over charges and CC fraud.
How do you have a company with no live person to talk to and your only recourse is to submit an email and wait for their lame explanation.
Fortunately the fraud department at Citibank got to the bottom of this and reversed the charges.
Postmates is a scam company and I wouldn't order squat from them!!!!!!!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

FRAUD!!

November 5, 2019

I will never use them again! Talk about a bait and switch! I just ordered with their competitor and it's perfect!

Comment on this review...
review author image
2 Reviews

The worst i have experienced

August 28, 2019

My experience with Postmates started off positive and went downhill fast.

My issues were with the bill, and how things are calculated. Even worse - there's no way to call and talk to a representative. The Telephone number posted on San Francisco BBB is (800) 882-6106 for customer support. That telephone number tells you to contact them online!!! Communication can only be done through submitting your issue on the site or app, and the response is in email.

The big issue was with the "delivery charges" and "fees". The promotion I was using was for "free delivery". The receipt Postmates delivered with the meal clearly had a $10.78 delivery charge on it, bringing the bill on the receipt to $59. But - my card was charged $68! The additional cost included a 15% variable service fee.

When I opened a ticket on the Postmates site, I got a response from Postmates offering to remove the processing fee. I responded with thanks but reiterated my issue was with the "delivery fee" on the receipt. Postmates responded to ignore the printed receipt and offered an updated version. On this version, the delivery charge was gone, but each item was increased in price over the printed receipt. Coincidentally, this increase equaled the previous delivery charge! When I asked about this, I was once again presented with the same numbers and told to ignore the printed receipt.

I asked how the processing/variable service fee was advertised and calculated. I was told "It is a variable percentage fee, as it is directly proportionate to the purchase price of the order." It's whatever they feel like adding to the price? They also told me the fee was listed on checkout, which I apparently overlooked?

In the end, my delivery fee and 15% variable service fee cost $21.56, on an order with "free delivery" if I did not catch their error of the delivery fee. I find this dishonest and unacceptable, but Postmates said they consider the matter closed. From now on my business will go to the competition and I hope yours will, too.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Denver

June 29, 2018

Great resource for dieting. Ordered lunch for a hospital department today using postmates and it was never delivered. Won’t get those calories! But here is the rub- the restaurant claims the food was picked up. The delivery person claims to have texted (used a land line to order). The number provided for said delivery drive is “disconnected or no longer in service”. ....and there is no recourse except to cancel the charge with my credit card company. Don’t use this service- unless you are on a starvation diet....

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review