Plenty of Fish Reviews

Plenty of Fish
( 54 reviews )
Website: www.POF.com

You may also be interested in

Plenty of Fish Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Don't waste your money!
June 23, 2020

NEVER pay for an upgraded POF membership. The number of people who supposedly "Like" you includes such things as memberships that have been deleted, etc. In my case, the purported number was 50% more than the actual. Of the remaining accounts, NONE were worth Liking back.

Don't waste your money on POF.

PoF terrible
October 7, 2019
POF should have it closed down

Can't Access my account
February 6, 2018
I received an email that my password had been changed. I did not change it. When I go to the site to have them send me an email to reset the password I never receive an email allowing me to change the password. When I send an email to the company I receive an email telling me how busy they are and they will get back to me. They never do. Now I can't delete the account and I can't log in at all. Someone is out there using my photos and information. There is now way to get ahold of this company. They have no phone numbers listed and they don't respond to emails. If you are thinking of signing-up on this site, don't do it!

rip off
February 6, 2017

I signed up for two months, I did not agree to auto pay or renewal. They charged my card without permission. There is no way to contact them. The phone is in Canada so my cell can't call it. They don't read their emails. This is a scam. I kept getting emails telling me to upgrade, when I didn't respond they upgraded me. Very sketchy company.

MartinaBeauregard October 19, 2017

My sister met a man on this site he was a scammer . When we busted him , he threatened us. This dating site is a complete waste of your time, and potentially dangerous.

JonLoftus February 27, 2018

The website clearly states that you will be stop renewed unless you cancel prior to charged being made

F*** Markus, I'm Suing. Who's with me?!!
December 28, 2016
Took my money and erased my account totally the next day and ignored every email about the issue. Will tell everyone I can about this and am starting a class action law suit. Anyone else who got screwed by POF, email me [email protected]

Denise February 06, 2017

I had the same thing happen.

they suck
October 29, 2016
they owe me money!!!!! They suck!!!!!!! there is no way to get a hold of them...! they suck they take your money and give you crap... if anyone knows how to get their money back let me know!!!

Denise February 06, 2017

Write the attorney general in your state.

It's just a con.
October 2, 2016

The meet me feature on Pof is just a con to get people to pay a subscription. I received an email saying someone wanted to meet, i found the person and sent them a message and they replied they had never used the feature.

I contacted POF to ask how to opt out of the feature as it was a con by themselves to get people to subscribe and their reply was.

Thank you for contacting POF! Unfortunately, we are not able to respond to all emails.

just pof trying to make money out of their FREE site.

SharonEvans September 25, 2018

i do see now that the meet me feature is crap. seems like it is a lot of time wasting. i have met maybe 4 good people from the site in the course of 2 years

plenty of fish
May 6, 2016

Both sexes seem pretty unhappy at this site. The men are just trolling for sex. Out of date photos, lying and many men that just like to post their possesions

My own experience was not positive. 95% of my attempts to contact a member of the opposite sex were never answered and I sent a lot of unique and thought out 1st contact emails. Many were deleted without being read, nor was my profile viewed. Some were deleted following a view of my profile and that's OK. Based on my personal experience I have to conclude a high % of the males there have no intention of actually pursuing a relationship, although that is the stated objective of 90% of the male profiles, unless a platonic conversation once or twice, followed by a quick sex act constitutes a relationship.I had the same experience with long outdated photos on male profiles, repeatedly. And apparently "a few extra pounds" does not mean the same thing to a man as it does to me. Probably half of the men at POF in my state are carrying around an extra 50 to 75lbs. And I quickly learned that Looking for Love, Seeking My Soulmate and other like female qualifiers were code for a delusional man with no interest or desire for intimacy. Although the word love did appear a number of times I did not come away feeling it would consist of much more than amiable companionship in a traveling companion for these males. It would seem for most males at POF any thoughts of being friends with their dating prospect dried up long ago. I'm sure there are successes at POF. But I am equally sure the nonsuccess rate is at least 50 to 1 over the success rate. Males and females seem to have a hugely differing view when it comes to the definition of relationship.

Do not pay to join!
September 12, 2015
POF keeps people on their site who have not been online for a year or more. I think they keep everyone on their site who has ever registered, even if that person has not purchased a membership. They did that with me. Unless you are very lucky, you will likely be wasting your money to join and pay POF.

Better a pay for site
November 5, 2014

Awful website. Good job it's free. First and not least is that you are not allowed to corresond with anyone in their 20s ro 30s if you are outside that age group.

Forget that it will not happend. Even if you decied on the age range in the advanced feature you are still not allowed to seach for anyone outside 10 years of your age range.

Better to pay for a site and know that everyone can see you and make their own decisions than decide on this site for free.

Lots of woman in their 40s and 50s looking for toyboys. Go for it.

Christopher S. O'Rourke November 15, 2014

Plenty of Fish lies to possible & potential customers & clients by claiming they have more members than all paid online dating websites combined, they also claim they are the largest online dating website in the world when they only operate in Canada where they are home based in Vancouver, BC,

The United States, Australia, Ireland & Great Britain. That's only 5 countries and since when only 5 countries makes up the entire world? It doesn't, there

are far more countries in the world than just 5 countries, those are more lies

that Plenty of Fish is telling. There will be more complaints againist Plenty of Fish as time goes on. Plenty of Fish is the very worst online dating website in

The entire world. They need to be put right out of business NOW, NOT 1,000 YEARS FROM NOW.

Ron MacRae February 28, 2015

This website is a total farce. I registered on it and contacted several women on it, asking them out and the next week it appears that the site booted me because I can't log on any more!!

Then when I tried to re-register (even if I use a IP address changer) I can't get past the so-called "registration" p[age no matter what I do. It even told me my user name was already taken when I used "CR26R54G" as a user name!!!!!.........and you know damn well that no one has picked that for a user name.

POF truly means Plenty of Frustration
September 18, 2014
I deleted my POF profile two days ago after having nothing but PLENTY OF FRUSTRATION with the POF dating website. When I first went on it, I had in my profile listed-Seeks Filipina woman for dating & marriage who seek the same. POF only matched me with Caucasian women which want nothing to do with me whatsoever because I was married 31 years to a wonderful Filipina woman. I asked, begged & pleaded with POF to only match me with Asian women. POF has deliberately & intentionally kept me from being matched with Asian women on purpose. POF has been practicing white on white racism towards me. I'm white American of Irish-Norwegion ancestery & a widower. The majority of white American women(98%) that have never been around people that are originally from the Philippines & people of Philippine background don't want anything to do with me at all whatsoever. POF doesn't like it when black & white American men message & have Asian women on their favorites at all. POF has blocked me from sending messages to my favorites on purpose, they demanded that I immediately upgrade my profile if I want to send messages. I have called their SO CALLED customer service number. CUSTOMER SERVICE IS A BIG JOKE AT POF. My advice to all who are looking for an online dating website, STAY AWAY FROM PLENTY OF FISH, go to Christian Mingle.com, e Harmony.com, they are far better.

Lots of Frogs...Gotta Be Patient
March 3, 2014

Most of the negative Neds and Nancys on here leaving bad reviews are still single because they walk through life with a disgruntled attitude and cynical outlook...how can you attract positivity when you're projecting so much negativity?

Are there a lot of gold diggers looking for a free meal ticket or just straight up douchebags on the site? Yes. There are many...but there are also people, like you, looking for something of substance. Most people have heard the proverb "good things come to those who wait". This statement couldn't be more true about online (in general) dating. I

knew a friend who met their spouse on this site so I stuck it out for a while, even after a few bad dates and 1 straight up heartbreak.

2 years of dating and I'm now married to a man I met on pof. The site is freakin' free...and there are thousands of people to connect with. If you don't have an "instant gratification" type mindset and don't mind filtering out all the idiots, give it a shot. What do you have to lose?? Be patient and don't throw in the towel so easily.

Armored Lightning July 07, 2014

you are totally wrong in my case, i had joined this site and was going good, went to bed, had told one person that had emailed me, that i was logging off for the night and she can send a message with the questions and i would answer in the morning. well i had 2 emails waiting for me, and when i tried to log in, my password would not work, and then tried to have them reset and my email didn't exist or was not in database. and it has taken those stupid retards of a customer service 4 months to reply. so they are not a site you want to use. and i am glad i never spent money. so i will make it my purpose to put this sites rep into the dirt so far they can't get out. and i have seen so many posts on their forum of people's friends that have the same accounts been deleted

Christopher S. O'Rourke September 16, 2014

My advice for anyone that is thinking of going on a dating website, I very highly recommend Christian Mingle and e Harmony which are by far the two best dating websites to try. Stay away from POF which is the very worst of the worst dating websites. Three weeks ago I tried to send messages to my favorites, the messages were blocked for no reason by POF, they demanded that if I want to send messages to my favorites that I will have to upgrade immediately. I filed a complaint against POF with the Better Business Bureau of Vancouver,BC,Canada, also files three more complaints against POF with Complaints.com, Rip-Off.com and now submitting reviews about POF to reviewopedia.com.

Disappointing Dating Site For Free Members
November 22, 2013
I joined POF in April 2013. I'm a widower who is well off financially , nice looking for my age so I am told, and a gentleman. I've sent out SCADS of messages and have gotten no responses. I looked at who viewed my profile and numerous women who I messaged, did not view my profile. That raises a red flag for me. Wouldn't it stand to reason that someone who you messaged would view your profile to read about you? I'm sure some women on here are genuine but many are not. Very disappointing to say the least.

Christopher S. O'Rourke September 18, 2014

Steve Costa I totally agree with your comment about the POF dating website, I deleted my POF profile two days ago, I am glad that I did do that. I'm a widower like you, I was married 31 years to a wonderful Filipina women, I 'm seeking another wonderfull Filipina woman. POF knew my profile said Seeks Filipina woman for dating & marriage who seeks the same. The POF website has only matched me with non Asian women, they have blocked me from sending messages to my favorites who are by the way Filipina women on purpose. Being that I'm white American of Irish-Norwegion ancestery that was married to a wonderful Filipina women, the majority of white American women(98%) that have never been around people from the Philippines & of Philippine background won't and don''t want anything to do with me whatsoever I told POF that, they didn't want to hear it. I have called their SO CALLED CUSTOMER SERVICE phone number numerous times, they never bothered to call me back, never bothered to e mail me at all FOR NO REASON. POF has been practicing white on white racism because I. Was inter racially married & I'm seeking Filipina to date since I'm planning to move back to the Philippines in 4 years & live out my life there.

1 year and a half later: ENGAGED to be married on May 31st, 2014
November 1, 2013

I had been on the website a good solid year, maybe a couple months longer with no such luck. I probably deleted my account, and started it back up only to delete it again a dozen times...but because I had a friend who had found it to be effective (he had met his girlfriend who he was absolutely crazy about on there), and because the men I was meeting in day to day life were not "take home to meet the parents" worthy, I decided to give it one last shot. My profile was constantly littered with messages from people who were way too old, who were sending very odd and unacceptable messages, and also from people who were interested in things that I simply was not. Most of my messages consisted of the following:

"Hey."

"Hi. You're hott."

"I want you to have my babies."

"Hey Sexxxiii."

"Hi."

"I'm having a party tonight. You should bring a couple girlfriends."

Then I'd get the long and elaborate messages from the men who paid attention to every single detail in my profile...which I appreciated and was flattered by, but that's just not my cup of tea upon the first interaction. Kind of scared me a little actually!

I had probably gone out on about 15 dates total, some pretty awesome ones that resulted in great friendships...and some not-so-great ones. I got to a point where I was about to delete my profile for the last time, and then I received a message from a handsome looking man in the age range I was looking for.

I ended up meeting my fiance a day later for a date at the bowling alley. He was the first man from that site that I allowed to pick me up upon meeting from my home, and take me out on a proper date. When he got out of the car, I was SHOCKED. He was SO much better looking in person than what his photos made him out to be...seriously, the best surprise I had ever had while meeting someone online. Usually, they end up looking worse.

We had the best time, and were inseparable ever since. I truly found my other half that I have been looking all these years for. He understands me, loves me, and is always pushing me to be my very best. He took me to meet his family on the east coast and we have been back 2 times since. On our last trip this past summer, he popped the question in front of his entire family. I have felt like a family since day 1...now even more-so since I will soon share their last name... and it's a wonderful thing. Couldn't be any happier.

I say to all the skeptics, what is there to lose? You really never know who you may "bump" into online...the love of your life could be a click or two *or several ;) * away. Good luck!!!

Debbie Powers April 18, 2014

I met someone nice as well and he gave me his number. I gave him my email address and was booted or banned off then for a minute on and off it again. I thought it was because of putting my email address then I find other men have it on their own profiles and sent me email address to contact them yet they are still on t. This guy met all I ask God for in a guy yet now it won't let me contact him. I am afraid he thinks I am not interested now since his number was taken off with my emails before I could write it down. He is still an active member. JOHNNYMTAC from Clinton Tn. I am Debbie my user name is christianshortcake the other I open thinking this one was closed is littledebbie4boaz. I hate he think I was not a good person and I really thought we hit it off. Eve if just friends. But I feel its unfair when they allow intimate encounters which I want no par with yet say if you show or talk dirty which I don't. Yet they have people who read your stuff and determine who they pick at times. I am glad it finally worked for you but I pray hat was meant for my bad turnsout good for me as well. Congradulations on your sucessfull engagement. My email is debbi[email protected] or [email protected] should you have any suggestions to help me. Debbie

Women who want a FREE ride and meal ticket
September 19, 2013
I was on POF back in 2009, then. I met someone offline and we dated for 3 years. I rejoined recently and noticed the SAME women are STILL on POF with the SAME pics almost 4 years later. These women are just looking for a "free ride" andd "meal ticket" nothing more. It's a revolving door. So far 2 out of the 3 women I met recently look nothing like there pictures whatsoever. Its truly sad to say the least. I'm sure there are some "legit" women seeking something "real" but the odds are against you. Save yourself some time and go to another site. This one is lame.

Christopher S. O'Rourke September 21, 2014

Jayson, after I enrolled with e Harmony, I noticed four of my matches on e Harmony were also on that PLENTY OF FISH website, these were Asian women that POF didn't even bother to match me with for no reason. POF=PLENTY OF FAKERS, PLENTY OF FRUSTRATION, PLENTY OF FARCES because POF is a FRAUD, POF steals profiles of men & women from other date sites. One of my matches of the four said she left POF and went to e Harmony, she's seeking to date white men, but POF has kept her from being matched with white men on purpose, just like they have deliberately & intentionally kept me from being matched with Asian women. POF racially discriminates on purpose. I'm a widower that was married to a wonderful woman from the Philippines 31 years when my wife passed away, I'm of Irish-Norwegion ancestery that only wants to date women of Philippine background. I met & dated a very good Filipina woman on POF, but guess what POF didn't want me dating women that are Asian, Hispanic at all. I deleted my POF profile 4 days ago, I have already filed 16 complaints about them, I told two good Filipina women on POF that I deleted my profile with them and went to e Harmony a much better dating website. POF is the very worst of the worst dating websites in the entire world. Customer Service at POF is a FARCE, A BIG JOKE, IT'S NON-EXISTANT. The ladies I told that I Deleted my POF profile and filed complaints AGAINIST POF will also most likely delete their POF profiles within the next 1 to 2 weeks.

Losers and players galore, oh my!
August 31, 2013
Beware a user called PLYOMATRIX from Flower Mound Texas, 47 blond hair, brown eyes( has changed his profile once or twice) to hide from women he's lying to and dating at one time ( actually just having sex with) multiple women at once. So disgusted when I found out. He targets new users who just join bec they are not aware of the games or how long he's been on there. Tells you he just joined, he is VERY persistent at first to get you to reply, thinking youre the best thing that ever came across the pond, then tries to have sex the first date, then moves on without telling his victims that he's not interested, leaves everyone in limbo! When i met him he said he had a 'stalker' as ifmhes the best thing god ever created! lol now i know why. he doesnt tell the other women hes moved on. Found 2 women who somehow called him out on their profile, I made the connection and contacted them to ask WHo it was, and guess what??? It was the same guy! Still on there, still doing the same thing...only losers who can't get women or sex any other way are on there. Ewww.

Christopher S. O'Rourke September 16, 2014

I have been on the POF dating site since 1/13/2013 and I have found it to be the very worst dating website to be on. I am a widower that was married 31 years to a wonderful woman from the Philippines, being a widower since 3/6/2010 and have moved on, I tried a few other dating websites and POF.

I'm a white American of Irish-Norwegion ancestery I have found that 98% of white American women who have never been around people of Philippine background & never will be just don't want anything to do with me whatsoever. I told POF that I only want to be matched with Asian women, but POF didn't listen to me at all for NO REASON. POF has deliberately & intentionally kept me from being matched with Asian women on purpose. I have filed four complaints against POF. POF is practicing white on white racism towards me. POF has suggested that I message women who they want me to message, I have sent messages to Asian women & POF doesn't like that when black & white American men send messages to Asian Women at all.

Heads up on scammers
August 11, 2013
Very disappointing. I'm a very savvy person so when one guy seemed too good to be true I got suspicious. Heads up ladies...in the military, coming home soon. Profile written well, then as the dialogue progesses the English gets worse, then repetitive, like he has cut and pasted answers. Asks you for your phone number and email right away. Talks about being soul mates right off the bat. So I Googled 'dating site scams' and guess what...there's a whole scam out there with similar profiles. Very sad that some women get hooked by these people. POF is not worth it, in fact, I'm beginning to believe the only way to meet people is to get off the computer and go out and meet people face to face in a group, etc. Which is what I am doing.

Full of time wasters!!!
May 26, 2013

I have been on PoF on and off; and had my account deleted as I raised the fact that too many women on their were on multiple dating sites and there profiles were not genuine real.

It seems they are happy for women to take the mick, but a bloke tries it or flags a scam they are blocked and have there account deleted with no recourse.

Be very aware on here of time wasters who want there ego's massaged and will string you along for ages!

Mik June 24, 2013

Just signed up as a "woman seeking men", got 18 messages in 2 min more or less

But ladies whatch out, not all of them are genuine guys, to say the least.

I would personally stay away

Cheers

SarahJane November 12, 2015

Mik, saw your comment. Same pictures there as on other dating sites. And then when dates don't show up or call back, became suspicious. Makes me wonder what's going on. Are they outsourcing "dates"? : ]

Don't waste your time
May 25, 2013

It started out as a good idea, but lately Markus is been instituting a lot of changes that mostly in my opinion are not for the better. You can't search for or even contact anyone who is 14 years younger than you are, and I think this only applies to men. You can keep your pictures private, but you can't send private pictures to someone, so you have to post them publicly in order for a potential match to see them. There is no longer a link to the forums posted anywhere on the site, and when you complain to the administration, they tell you to Google it. That's fine, but if you're a new user and don't know that the forums exist because, how do you know to Google it? Most people would figure that because there is no link for forums, they don't exist, therefore they won't Google it! And Markus and a few of his moderators seem to have an attitude with the way they respond to questions posted in the forums concerning recent changes.

Furthermore, I was a member for about 9 months and sent messages to several women I had an interest in and got very few replies. The fact that I got so few replies really doesn't bother me but it makes me wonder if POF has a subroutine in their programming that rejects a certain amount of initial contact emails sent by men to women, if the man (like myself) is not a paying member.

All in all, it started out as an "okay" experience, but the last straw for me was the age restrictions and the fact that they are eliminating the "Intimate Encounters" selection on profiles. I'm not interested in an intimate encounter or dating women 14 years my junior, but I don't need to be mollycoddled by a computer! You can filter your emails to reject messages from people outside of your desired age range, so this step is unnecessary and will only result in people lying about their ages or creating multiple accounts which violates their TOS.

I gave POF one star only because this site will not allow you to give zero stars!

Christopher S. O'Rourke September 18, 2014

Ray I totally agree with you complaint about the POF dating website, I've submitted two complaints to reviewopedia earlier today, I. Also filed four complaints with two other complaint websites about POF=Plenty of Frustration, I also just filed a complaint about POF to the Fair Trade Commission today about the POF dating website, I sent a complaint letter to the Better Business Bureau of Vancpouver,BC,,Canada. Three weeks ago I tried to send messages to my favorites on POF, POF blocked my messages on purpose, demanded that I immediateluy upgraade my profile if I want to send & receive messages. I'm a widower of Irish-Norwegion ancestery that was married to a wonderful Filipina woman from the Philippines, we were married 31 years when my wife passed away, I've tried to date women that are whit AMerican, they just don't want anything to do with me whatsoever because I was married to a Filipina woman. I told the stupid POF dating website that I want to only be matched with Asian women, but they matched me with white women acting like they know what's best for me. Every time I always sent messages to my favorites who are Filipina women, POF demandded that I message women who they want me to message. POF practiced & did white on white racism towards me on purpose. I've been a victim of white on white racism nearly all my life just because I have lots of non white friends of all races. My dating track record with women of Phiilippine background, Samoan background, Mexican background is far better than with white American women. Eurropean women in Spain, Italy, France & Greece as well as from Australia, New Zealand & Canada have treated my much better than 98% of white American women. I'm going back to the Philippines in 4 years & will live out my life there, which makes sense for me to date women that are from the Philippines & of Philippine ancestery. POF is the very worst of theworst dating websites in the entire world.

Waist of time
May 10, 2013

As someone who has had no luck finding a boyfriend in real life I made an account thinking why no try the hole online dating thing god did it suck!

The only guys to try to talk to me were in there 50's (Being 18 I was looking more for some one closer to my own age) with every message i got it was either hi let me see your tits or hi have sex with me. As someone who just got out of high school I was more then done with the hole give me sex crap this site is a waist of time.

Bill May 22, 2013

Annabel. For someone who just got out of high school your spelling is pretty bad. Waist (Waste) and hole (whole?

Felicia May 22, 2013

Scam is being polite....first you have to write something about your self that is going to attract said fish, you as the bait want to be a truthful as you possibly dare, not to reveal to much about yourself, because, in this day and age, every sicko can course through, and you are not only at their disposal, but you really are on your own, if you read in the agreement, they forego any claim to wrong doing by any user....nice and safe.....so, all that being said, because I work a weird shift, and am very limited on my prospects, thought I'd try it. Just call me stupid. Everyman out there believes himself to be the perfect gentleman, kind hearted, good natured, fun loving so on and so on....really? I don't know about the rest of the world, but I work a normal job...I can't just scoot off at a whim, I'd be fired if I tried that. Second, do you know how to read, or do you look at the pictures only....I stated very set requirements, and though I had a bunch of viewers, not one paid attention to criteria. Five foot six, is not six feet, and more over, just because I take better care of myself, doesn't mean I'm a liar. If at fifty you look like you are beat up, worn out, and over used, you better figure out how you got there and start changing before its to late. And go ahead, try and cancel...I have had such a run around about that, I finally edited my profile so no one even consider me in hopes that they would throw me off the site...I could only be so lucky. Ladies, be careful, this site will not protect you, it is filled with the worst of the worst. Liars, users, scum, and refuse. You can do better on your own.

Christopher S. O'Rourke September 18, 2014

Annabel those men that messaged your on the POF website have no sense, talking that way to you, they have no regards whatsoever for you at all. You're old enough to be my daughter, and no man ever said the things that were said to you to my late daughter at all, and they didn't dare say them around me. I deleted my profile from POF because of their bossy, snotty,pushy, racist, bigoted attitude towards me. You're a young lady, 18, you have plenty of time, you'll eventually meet a decent man that will truly think the world of you, and you'll know it when the time happens. I know this because I was once 18 myself, I met my late wife in the Philippines on January 16, 1975, I was 21, in the Navy and over 4 years later we got married and stayed married 31 years. I reentered the dating scene two years ago, I tried to date white American women, but because my late wife was from the Philippines, not one single white American woman who has never been and never will be around people of Philippine ancestery doesn't want anything to do with me whatsoever, this is a very sad fact of life, IT'S CALLED WHITE ON WHITE RACISM of which I've been a victim of nearly all of my life all because I have lots of friends of all races & backgrounds, served in the U.S. Navy with people of all races & backgrounds. There is a single parent father I know who was married to a woman from Mexico who is now divorced, he has their children, and he like me is also a victim of WHITE ON WHITE RACISM, not one single white American woman wants anything to do with him whatsoever. Annabel when that day comes when you are married, and you & your husband will have children, raise them to be friends with people of all races & backgrounds, you & the man that you will one day marry can help put a stop to things like RACISM, INCLUDING WHITE ON WHITE RACISM. I'm telling this to you as a fahter telling his grown children good sound solid advice which is one of the greatest things that can be given.