Pimsleur Approach Reviews

Pimsleur Approach
( 402  Reviews )


We’re partnering with OneTreePlanted.org to plant a tree for every review posted on Reviewopedia. When you add your review to Reviewopedia you're not only helping other customers, but our planet too!
402 ‘Pimsleur Approach’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
Marlene Murray

Thanks for the reviews

February 27, 2013

Sorry to those who were scammed. After watching the video, I thought it may be a good supplement to the other foreign language course I'm doing (the one in the yellow box...Rosetta Stone). I was just about to order the CD for $9.95 when I decided to check out the reviews. Thank you a 1000x! BTW I love love love Rosetta Stone.

View all 3 Comments
Will
March 01, 2013

The real Pimsleur courses published by Simon & Schuster are excellent (try them at your library) or go to Amazon or pimsleur.com. It's the PimsleurApproach.com organization that is the scam.

Gino
March 02, 2013

True!

Rebecca
March 21, 2013

important distinction! thanks!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Victroria

So GLAD I read the reviews GEESH

February 27, 2013

I was on AOL and the ad came up about this pimsleur crap, so I watched the video and I thought to myself... ok $10.0 really? NO way then I cont'd to watch the video and, I ALMSOT convinced myself that ok its just $10.00 so how much can it hurt?! So my better judgement finally came in the play and I then decided to read the reviews before I put my information out there. ALL I WANT TO SAY IS, SO GLAD THAT I READ THE REVIEWS BEFORE I PURCHASED. Everybody is saying the same things so it must be true. I know that if I was to purchase it was $10.00 and then they decided to add $64.00 3mths later, I would've been pissed. So thank you everybody for the reviews, they do help, they did help and it was a most needed for me. So people beware!

View all 3 Comments
David
February 27, 2013

Same here. Saw the fine print on the 4 payments of $64.00. Thought it might even be worth it. Decided to wait. Very glad I came here to find out what people are saying. I actually had all my credit card info typed in but deleted it. Thank you, thank you, thank you for posting all this.

Steve
March 21, 2013

Just for the record, it's 4 pym'ts of $64 for each of 4 CD's -- that's 16 pym'ts of $64. I could swear there was no "fine print" when I clicked on the first "order now" button. If it was in the ad, it must have been after that point. If it was there, the print must have been microscopic cause I looked for the "catch". That was quite a while ago, so I recently watched it again. Now I see a very visible box stating clearly what the deal is, so I'm thinking they changed that part of the cartoon, following the outrage over their scam tactic. Did anybody else notice this?

Carissa
May 03, 2013

Yes. Same horrible experience!

Comment on this review...
review author image
NB

beware of the SCAM!! DO NOT PURCHASE FROM THIS COMPANY!

February 25, 2013

I took Pimsleur up on their Learn French in 10 days promo for $10. The CDs weren't very good, but I figured what could I expect for $10. Today I received a 16 disc French CD course in the mail which I did not order and do not want which costs $64. Someone needs to stop this scam put these fraudulent predators out of business.

View all 3 Comments
Terrible
March 03, 2013

Protest!!

Legal Immigrant
March 13, 2013

You obviously did not read what you signed up for. The first CDs were for the free trial. You then receive another CDs for free but you need to return them if you do not like to pay the $64 for 4 months. You can always call them to cancel the order. idjot

Carissa
May 03, 2013

There was no literature in the second set of CDs to indicate needing to cancel some enrollment. Completely ridiculous.

Comment on this review...
review author image
A Slightly Frustrated Portlandian

Great... Until...

February 25, 2013

I was extremely excited to receive my Japanese Third Edition learning program, and I was happy to pay only $10... That was until about a month later when I received the "gold" edition. Before purchasing the language learner, I read all over their website. Looking for fine print, I decided that it was a good deal. They did not list, nor inform their customers of the "gold" products that would be sent to them month after month where they'd have to pay 4 "easy" payments of $64. That's a boat load of money! Frustrated, I called and had to use my money to pay for "returning" it. I didn't want it in the first place! If they were to list the option of getting the gold, that'd be one thing. But when I didn't want it in the first place, uhmmm no thank you.

DICK BLACK
February 26, 2013

Im calling again today to get a ups return number which was to be sent 2weeks ago!!! The second time! NOW I'M PISSED !!!!! NO UPS NUMBER WAS SENT!!!! MY DEADLINE IS IN TWO MORE DAYS FOR A FREE RETURN!!!!
the reason for the return is my computer & 2 other cd players could not run their cheep butt /manufactured disk. I like the idea but the product quality sucks!!!
total garbage. DICK BLACK

Comment on this review...
review author image
Crap

Crazy

February 23, 2013

They made 16 trillion dollars on us and we got a load of crap

Comment on this review...
review author image
Larry

Spanish

February 23, 2013

Don't trust them. You will start getting lessons you haven't committed to and once they start charging your credit card for these lessons they won't stop charging it even once you notify them of your cancellation!

'Spanish'?!
February 27, 2013

What?!—don't trust the Spanish!? xD

Comment on this review...
review author image
Dr Ray Fasiczka

SCAM AS USUAL

February 22, 2013

Ordered the $ 10 version on 10/17. I cancelled further shipments on 11/14. They mailed the Gold version on 11/15. When I cancelled, I was told to accept the order and I would have to the end of the year to return. I informed them that I would be out of town for the next 6 weeks and it made no sense for them to send the order. They shipped it the day after I cancelled and have been sending me invoices ever since and will not accept my explanations. Only threatening with "Collection".

I agreed that if they can can prove that I agreed to accept the order (they claimed that they a recording of the call) I would send a 25% restocking fee. That 25% fee is hidden in the fine print if the 30 day cancellation dead line is missed. They wouldn't but this.

What saved me from further billing on my credit card, was that my card was compromised and cancelled and reissued by the credit card company.

Jeff Brown
March 09, 2013

SCAM!!!. I bought the "free" CD for $9.99 shipping and then started to get billed $64 dollars a month. I called and cancelled my alleged subscription. I got an RMA number and returned the CD's. The billing stopped for about 2 months, and now they have started billing me again and sending me collection letters. luckily I made the initial transaction on a pre-paid debit card, but it looks like I am going to have to initiate legal action to get them to stop billing me.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Jeremy Olepa

THIS IS A RIP OFF BEWARE ******

February 20, 2013

Well The Title of this review just about sums up this paragraph of hate towards this company but what happened with me was I watched that AMAZING presentation video about just how easy and "Cheap" it could be to learn a new language , so ANY Productive individual would immediately act upon this presentation (actually only a naive person like me probably) anyways the point is ... I'm 18 years old naive and innocent saving up for my first car , little did I know a "$9.95" payment led to a series of $64.00 payments , as they started to ship me more and more things that I NEVER NEVER NEVER EVER Asked for ... I was confused, so I NEVER opened them ... until JUST the other day I got a letter in the mail that said "you've missed a payment" I didn't even know but apparently they took out 4 payments of $64.00 already from me, I than went and called the company and talked to a man who told me my canceling fee would be $400.00 .... I was absolutely PISSED especially because I work a minimum wage job of $7.40 an hour and worked 2 weeks full time to get that money for my car , anyways I asked to speak to a supervisor in which he couldn't even get on the phone with me , instead his supervisors told him to tell me that he'd settle with a cancellation fee of $299.99 (they also JUST took another $64.00 out of my account today) sooo that basically means instead of paying the complete $400.00 to cancel this BS companies proposal I'd need to spend $363.00 to cancel right now ... sooo this company is completely twisted and full of crap as are many other companies out there , I just beg of you to NOT make the same mistake I did , and if I can save even 1 naive person like myself than this blabbering review is completely worth typing lol. Sooo PLEASE DONT DONT DONT Join this STUPID Pimsleur!

Thank you have an amazing Pimsleur Free day !

View all 5 Comments
Ernie Silkett [email protected]
February 20, 2013

I've had experience with ripoff programs like these,sorry to hear about yours. I would call the bank that represents your credit card and tell them what happened and they will issue a fraud alert on your account. Glad to help ,good luck!

Steve
February 25, 2013

I was also ripped off by them in a similar manner to the above mentioned scam. What I would like to see is people filing complaints with their state attorneys general and the FTC. The more complaints they get the more likely the government will take action on our behalf.

ken
March 02, 2013

I'm so gald I was smart enough to look up the review site, great reporting and thank you, almost took the bait!!!!!!

Carder
March 06, 2013

Cancel your credit card, or replace the plastic, that's enough to stop them from charging you more money. Then cancel.

Carissa
May 03, 2013

Yeah I had to cancel my credit card! Only thing that worked.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Alastair Thomson

A mis-leading rip off

February 18, 2013

So, I ordered the basic course at $9.95. Seemed OK, so I kept the courses going at the advertised $64 thinking that each shipment was $64. No, look very carefully at the site. Dig down 15 levels of links and you finally find - 4 payments of $64 for each "course" meaning level 1, level 2, level 3 etc. I only caught it because there were so many charges racking up on my account. Had to write two letters to get any response, then got a voicemail asking me to call, called multiple times, no-one on the extension I was given, and no-one else seemed to be able to help.

Finally managed to cancel it and sent back for a refund.

The advertising is in my view deliberately misleading. Their "clear statement" as the rep called it is akin to posting a note in a basement room, which broken stairs down to it and a sign on the door that says "Beware of the leopard" (apologies to Douglas Adams).

Simply avoid them, I'l submitted a complaint to the Attorney General's office an I will be posting this same message anywhere I can find to warn people off.

View all 2 Comments
MustacheLover
February 25, 2013

I was about to get this but now i don't think I will. Sounds like a load of you-know-what!

Mark
February 28, 2013

Alastair did exactly what everyone who has been taken advantae of by this company. Contact your state's Attorney General's office and file a complaint. it is also worth the effort to file a complaint with the BBB where the company does business as a lot of folks will check out the BBB site.

Good luck

Comment on this review...
review author image
Milagros Alca

I'm baffled

February 17, 2013

I'm extremely surprised to read everyone's review on the Pimsleur program thing. Around Christmas time back in 2011, I had bought two languages, Spanish for my bf and Italian for my dad. I did, however, get upset when I was given the wrong language when I ordered the italian disc; they had sent me spanish. My dad already speaks spanish and so i didn't want them and on the receipt of the CD it said Italian. Of course I called and complained, and they sent me what I wanted. But after that little mishap, I was never charged this $64 monthly fee that everyone is talking about? I was actually just about to buy two more languages from them (portuguese and russian) because my dad and my bf were really amazed at how quick they really did pick the languages. But my fear now is WILL I GET CHARGED THIS $64 FEE THIS TIME AROUND?! After reading all the reviews, and seeing that they're so recent, I don't want to take my chances at getting scammed. Thank you all for your feedback. And I'm sorry you all had to go through that.

View all 3 Comments
Pranav
March 03, 2013

Oh dear...

Kit
March 06, 2013

Now I understand why language professors hate him.

Kat
October 14, 2013

out of curiosity, did you order pimsleur approach? from what I hear there are 2 different websites (pimsleurapproach.com and pimsleur.com), and it's possible that one is a scam and one is the real deal. Or close to it anyways. I went to this website because I saw the advertisement and thought I should read reviews first, so after reading all of them, that's the conclusion I came to. Hope this helps, or leads to your answer.

Comment on this review...
review author image
andrew kameya

crap scam - not interested in teaching - interested in hooking you.

February 16, 2013

There are three titles for each disk.
The printed one on each disk.
The title in the track visible when loaded into the pc.
The title announced in the lesson.

They often do not match!

Clearly this is a scam.

Andy

Comment on this review...
review author image
Stephen

Wow - So glad i took 3 minutes to look into this!

February 15, 2013

So here i am watching their video. A well made. Very informative video.. seriously they should get a Tony just for the presentation!

Anyway. So i literally clicked the language i wanted and started filling out the form. But before clicking the purchase button my better judgment thought 'maybe i should just look up reviews just in case' And this is what i find... wow. So glad i didn't purchase! Thanks everyone! Even though you got scammed... you kept me from ending up like that!

View all 2 Comments
Amine
February 18, 2013

It's unfair to review if - by your own admission - you didn't purchase the course.

I don't find your review helpful because it's not a review but your personal opinion.

Polly Tally
February 19, 2013

It is so difficult to cancel. Phone the company, listen to another spiel about how good it is, answer questions about why you want to cancel................... I spent the money to mail it back, but now I will have to really study my credit card bill to make sure I am not charged !!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Lizbet Johanson

fraud fraud fraud

February 12, 2013

Free trial , no way!! I told Pinsleur I did not want the tapes within the 30 day time frame. Then, 7 months later they have charged me 64 dollars twice a month on my charge card. Now, since my charge card is crediting me because they saw the fraud, pimsleur is sending me to collection for $650.00. I am going straight to the attorney General's Office!!! I will bring all your letters along with me!! Thank you for your input!!

Jaleh
February 12, 2013

How sad!!! AOL is advertising this Pimsleur scam right now. I was very intrigued, but I'm so glad I found this site. I hope you all can sue these jerks!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Paloma

LAWYER WANTED! SCAM!!!!!!

February 12, 2013

Isn't there a lawyer out there who wants to take on these scamming guys? There have been too many of us falling for this to go unnoticed! I, like many other people, did not realize what I was signing into, the information presented on the website is very shady. The initial CD for $9.95 is the TRAP, the program is CRAP, the invoices are MISLEADING ($0 total), and the Costumer Care Team (?) is the most USELESS. DO NOT FALL FOR THIS!!!!!!!!

Victoria
February 27, 2013

LOL Love the title.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Jason D

Total SCAM! Beware!!

February 11, 2013

Please beware, this product is a total scam. They will make unauthorized charges to your card. I don't see how they don't get sued. This IS fraud. Please don't fall for the seemingly good initial deal - they're just trying to get your credit card number. I'm headed to the BBB site next...

Mayi
February 12, 2013

Beware!!! DO NOT take the "9.95 promotion" they will take your money!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Joe Binford

This is a CLEVER SCAM

February 11, 2013

Today is February 11, 2013. Like many others, I am embarrassed to admit that I fell for the PIMSULER APPROACH SCAM. Disgraceful. I was excited about the prospect of the course, and I failed to read the fine print regarding returning within 30 days, $64 per month charge, etc. And after i realized the PIMSULER SCAM DEPARTMENT had gotten 2 months of $64, I was able to contact a SUPERVISOR who said they would not charge the "$64 payment" two months away, in April, so the wonderful news was I would only be charged one more "$64 payment" in March.

I wonder if there is an attorney out there who would love to put together a class action suit against these scampsters??

Tony C
February 11, 2013

good info but to late, I also got caught in their trap, but was out of town when the next package arrived, they refused to refund my money and got me for another payment an would have gotten me for yet another payment had I not cancelled my card, consent by default is not legal in Pa. but that does not seem to stop them from doing it. at least the street thugs in Philly use a gun to rob you and don't rob you every month.

Comment on this review...
review author image
D.B.

Need a deal.

February 11, 2013

Very simple. I'm looking for the sets of discs for Pimsleur's Spanish 2 and Spanish 4. We were charged for these two sets and were not sent the course materials by the company. If any of you have those and would like to recoup some of the money you were charged, please contact me and we'll see if we can work something out.

tinman200(at)gmail.com

Comment on this review...
review author image
Stephanie

SCAM SCAM SCAM!

February 10, 2013

I'm embarrassed to admit I got scammed. I ordered the $9.95 "learn a language in 10 days" CD. When the disc came, there was a letter along with it that said I was automatically enrolled in the Gold Program. With the Gold Program I would get a bunch of new discs, all for 4 easy payments of $64! Well, I immediately called Pimsleur and cancelled this special offer. Much to my surprise, about a month later the Gold discs came. So, I called Pimsleur back and asked why they came and how I can return them. They said they have a record of my canceling the program, but they sent the discs anyway. They gave me a return number and said they would send me a return shipping label within 2 days. 2 days come and go, and of course no return shipping label! I can just foresee this going on and on. Fortunately, since they actually have a record of me canceling, and called my credit card to company to issue a complaint, I won't be responsible for the charges I never authorized. And, I check my banking activity frequently (usually daily) so as soon as the charges start coming in I will know immediately. For all of you out there, the best thing to do is lodge a complaint with your credit card company and fight it. Check your banking activity often (mint.com is a great tool for checking all of your accounts in one place) and stay on top of it!

View all 2 Comments
Joe
February 11, 2013

I'm right there with you!

mar
February 27, 2013

If it sounds too good to be true then it is . When the price went down to ten, I realized there had to be hidden fees. So I read farther down and saw 4 easy payments of 64 dollars. Each month I would be sent a disk. That in itself speaks scam. Am sorry you all got caught up in it. I too was hoping it might be real. Good advertiseiment. But it is an extemenly costly program.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Paul

DO NOT ORDER

February 9, 2013

This is a scam to get your money!! DO NOT ORDER.

Joe
February 11, 2013

Right on!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Kristi Farrell

Money drain

February 4, 2013

The CDs themselves are good and easy to learn. But don't invest in this system unless your a millionaire. The first set of CDs is ten dollars, easy. But MAKE SURE to cancel any future shipments, and if you start getting them SEND IT BACK and cancel. I was told by a customer service rep that it was 64 dollars to keep the next level up that was sent to me which I did not return in time. I thought well thats a lot but thats my own fault, I'll deal with it. Little did I know I would be charged 3 more payments of 64 dollars making it 256 dollars. When I called again to see why this was happening the rep was not helpful and did not even pretend to sound concerned or apologetic for the misunderstanding, but simply told me it's "way past the return date" and "there's nothing I can do" and "it's all written on the website"....basically by the time you pay for the CDs to learn the language you wont be able to afford the trip you were gonna take to use the language. Absolutely ridiculous, its a scam.

View all 2 Comments
Jimmy rustler
February 05, 2013

You have 30 days after you get the $9.95 CDs before they start billing you. A "millionarie" to do this program? you what m8? lol. Worst case scenario is you pay 1k for all four levels of a language.

Jimmy rustler
February 05, 2013

You have 30 days after you get the $9.95 CDs before they start billing you. A "millionarie" to do this program? you what m8? lol. Worst case scenario is you pay 1k for all four levels of a language.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review

 
  • We’re partnering with OneTreePlanted.org to plant a tree for every review posted on Reviewopedia. When you add your review to Reviewopedia you’re not only helping other customers, but our planet too!