Pimsleur Approach Reviews

Pimsleur Approach
( 402  Reviews )


We care deeply about the planet and giving back to nature. Trees clean our air and water, create habitats for biodiversity, contribute to our health and wellbeing, and create jobs for social impact.

That’s why we’re partnering with OneTreePlanted.org to plant a tree for every review posted on Reviewopedia. When you add your review to Reviewopedia you're not only helping other customers, but our planet too!
402 ‘Pimsleur Approach’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
Sev

Read the whole page!!!

April 10, 2013

This and the hundreds of sites that work this way are not scams, telling someone one thing and doing something else is a scam, telling someone you have 30 days to cancel a program or your going to get more pieces of the program for regular price isnt a scam, just because someone is too lazy to read thru a site about how the policy works, If you order something that has a money back guarantee if you cancel it within a time frame and you don't cancel it what the hell do you think is gonna happen? try to return a bottle of milk 6 weeks after you bought it complaining about how its spoiled and yes you will likely not get your money back

View all 9 Comments
Jean
April 12, 2013

The ad says: The Quick & Simple program is currently priced at $10.00, with free Shipping & Handling.

Why should I have to scrutinize the ad to find the fine print that finally admits that you do not learn the language by using the program described above -- you have to get numerous other high priced programs sent as well in order to learn the language? NOT AS PROMISED IN THE ORIGINAL EYE CATCHING AD! That is a scam!

Steve
April 15, 2013

This is a refreshing comment. The mindless see-click-buy crowd get's what they deserve (and always have). What did they expect for $10 ! It's good to read the few comments from people who bought the programme and actually used it !

Dion
April 16, 2013

Your colors a showing! Cash your check and enjoy it!

Leandro
April 18, 2013

Telling that your have a zero obligation to buy and then telling you you have obligations when you buy is dishonesty.

John
April 19, 2013

Telling someone on TV that it's just $10 when it is actually over $250 is dishonest. But this is sold with the $10 as a down payment, and if you don't want to continue you have to RETURN IT IN PERFECT CONDITION within 30 days. That is NOT a purchase; it is a down payment and trial period. There ads are fraudulent. Buy it on eBay or Amazon from someone who already used it and you're safe.

Kilrane
April 19, 2013

You didn't get scammed, you just were lazy and didn't read.

In the same part of the website that says "Get Started Today! $9.95 (Save 67%)!" right next to it is this: "Continue in the Rapid Learning Program:
Begin receiving 30 day trials of our advanced courses. Pay only 4 payments of $64 for each course you keep! (Click Here for details)"

Further down offers even more explanation: "One month after you get started with your Quick & Simple you'll continue by receiving 30 day trial copies of advanced Pimsleur courses in the language you selected. Each course is yours to try for 30 days. You'll receive a new course once every 60 days.
"For each course you keep we'll bill you in four monthly payments of $64. Simply pay the return shipping cost for any course you return. Remember, there's never an immediate obligation to buy any course because of the 30-day trial period provided with each shipment. And you may cancel future shipments at any time by calling 1-877-802-5283. See Key Details"

joejoe
April 22, 2013

I agree with Kilrane. Most of you need to buy and use the English course before you start complaining about anything. It said "no obligation to buy", not "no obligations at all" or "no obligation to not cancel the up-sell". And, you get to keep the Quick and Easy course for $10. The phone call will stop all future shipments and charges. This is not hard to understand. You all are too lazy to read the agreement you're signing, yet have so much energy that you can get online and complain about it.

rodney
April 23, 2013

I did call. but they are still charging me.

Nassik
May 03, 2013

You didn't read the fine print. You got the demo, then You got 20 more CDs and a fat payment. Now you rip all CDs to your PC, return them all, get your money back. Then transfer all ripped to your iPod in a playblist named pimsleur and voila, you have half of the course for $15 bucks.! Of course I will never do that but if you like to be as sneaky as they are... Then you could. Cheers!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Thomas Intini

It is a scam. Not even worth one star. The promotion is total BS

April 8, 2013

When I ordered the single language CD. I definitely said.I will buy the 1 Spanish CD, that I do not need a full course because I am traveling to Panama and I just need to know a few Spanish phrases. I do not want your full course. Their promotion is a scam, because they send you the CD, then they send you the full course. When you call them, they say, we would not send you the course unless you ordered it. When you complain about it, they then say we will give you the benefit of the doubt. They then give you a customer service person who tells you that you will be receiving a UPS return label. They even give you a return number, but that UPS return label never comes.
The product is shipped to you by parcel post, so return it by parcel post.
Mark the return number on the parcel and write "RETURN TO SENDER"
THESE SCAM ARTISTS EVEN DEDUCTED MONTHLY DEDUCTIONS FROM MY VISA ACCOUNT. I HAD TO ASK VISA TO REVERSE THE CHARGES TO MY ACCOUNT, WHICH THEY DID. It is now 6 months later.

View all 6 Comments
Robin
April 10, 2013

We are going through that with them right now. We sent back the extra cd's & they are saying they never rec'vd them. Charged $156.00 to a credit card that was not authorized because they were sent back. How did you get the reversal onto your credit card. Did you call your credit card company. Pimleur Approach are fighting us even after contacting BBB on them. Any info & advise you can give will be most helpful.

Robin
April 10, 2013

Have you contacted the BBB? The more complaints they get maybe they will take action against them.

Ms. B
April 16, 2013

Complain or not. Read the damn terms. Every company has their own terms and go by certain policies. I recommend you make sure you know what your getting into before doing it. Even if you have questions about the decision call and ask questions before you do it especially if your using your card online come on people you have to be smarter than that. I've been there the scam thing and this right here is not a scam.

Leandro
April 18, 2013

Mr. B. I agree every company has their own policy and terms; this is not the issue. Please carefully read and clearly understand the ones Thom is referring to before you make your comments.

Mr. Been There
April 18, 2013

I have dealt with other companies with similar offers and they usually do not end the charges no matter how many times you ask until you either force a revere or cancel you card.

joejoe
April 22, 2013

Thank you for the first story that actually involves the company ignoring the customer and their own agreement on how they, the company, would act. Finally something to get upset about!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Vic Laubenthal

Slick SCAM, Buyer Beware

April 8, 2013

As enumerated in 98% of these reviews, I was swayed by the cheap cost and wanted to try the cds. When they arrived I opened the small box but went no further, failing to read the small print supposedly contained within. I never got back to even starting but soon got another shipment and a collection letter from them, charging $264. I called and advised that I never even opened the second box but agree to pay the restocking fee. Naturally, they refused and offered a $64 discount which I refused. I intend to contact the BBB but don't expect much. I wish I had checked here but when something seems too good to be true, it always is. Zero stars rating.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Alan

It worked great for me

April 7, 2013

In my early 60's, after one 6 week community college course and a few lessons with tutors, I started Pimsleur. My technique is to listen in the car and give my responses very loudly (to overcome my fear of sounding stupid). I needed to learn Spanish because I work in Costa Rica part time.

I was inconsistent in my lessons. I'd do 3 or 4 one week, then skip some weeks, then do one. But gradually, over several years, I completed three volumes. During that time, I used whatever I knew when I went to Costa Rica.

Yesterday, I had an hour long meeting with 4 people who spoke only Spanish. I understood 90% My tenses were not always the best, and sometimes I struggled with a key word, but the meeting worked and I conveyed my ideas and even told jokes.

I never would have done it sitting at the computer, and books and workbooks didn't get through my thick head. Here, I am frequently complimented on my Spanish, especially my accent. The system works well if you follow it and then supplement it with some kind of practice.

Highly recommended

Comment on this review...
review author image
Rebecca

The payment is sneaky but it's a good program..

March 31, 2013

I ordered without reading the fine print and thought "yay $10" Well then as usual I became too busy to remember to use it daily and low and behold if I didn't receive another package and my cc was charged. I called and they were very nice on the phone and explained the charges to me. I was then informed of the return policy and I was able to return the 2nd one I had received and at that time I cancelled my account. I found this VERY VERY ANNOYING but I have to admit that the program is really helpful. So much so..that I recommended it to a friend but told him how the pricing works upfront. He purchased it in full (since he could) and he is now able to have speak with French guests at the hotel where we work. So..for anyone thinking of buying into this..have the money up front or be prepared to pay the monthly fees and understand that you will receive more boxes of cds and you must return then ASAP if you want the refund. Do not forget it!

View all 3 Comments
jim ruble
April 05, 2013

Experience same as above which I think qualifies for 0 stars. This is a giant scam. There is no way to buy without continuing to get their crap. Stay away!!!!

Ms. B
April 16, 2013

I am seeing people complain about this. So I went to the website to check it out for myself. It clearly states that you have a 30 day free trial.

joejoe
April 22, 2013

Yeah Jim, except to give them a quick call and tell them to not send it. Other than that impossibility, it's fine.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Mick

Scam

March 29, 2013

I ordered the 9.95 program and they charged me a lot more. I didn't pay cause I'm a gangster. Called them. Idk what's gonna happen next. Shut them down

View all 3 Comments
Sev
April 10, 2013

what the hell does it matter how much your not paying to not use something since your a gangster

Alfonse Capone
April 15, 2013

Is that what gangsters do ??

Lol
April 16, 2013

Gangsters Write reviews though? lol thanks for the laugh

Comment on this review...
review author image
Mark

Legal, but Smarmy

March 28, 2013

Here's the real deal with the Pimsleur Approach. They have an affiliate account with Pimsleur and, like many affiliate programs, they aren't heavily supervised by the actual seller. Anyone can be an affiliate. It's surprising to me that the parent company (Simon & Shuster) hasn't banned their account.

At the bottom of their sales page is a box labelled "Rapid Learning Program" and a link in blue anchor text "See Key Details." It is here where they tell you about receiving more programs, each one needing 4 payments of $64.

The key to their scam is complete lack of customer service. Even though you supposedly can return the program within 30 days for a refund, you have to call their 877 number first to get an RA. Good luck getting through on that line or talking with anyone who cares.

If you still want to try it, I agree with another reviewer who suggested using a dedicated debit account with a low balance, enough to cover the first $10 loss leader. Then reject future shipments, call and cancel your subscription, file a claim with the BBB.

Better yet, just go to the source at pimsleur.com and avoid these asshats altogether.

View all 4 Comments
Chris
April 04, 2013

A good way to get around the scam is to order the course not from PimsleurApproach.com, but from iTunes or Amazon for example.
You won't get enrolled in any further courses or anything like it.
The course itself does work very well for me.

Chris
April 04, 2013

PS: It's just too bad that Pimsleur gets all that negative attention due to this scam.

Robin
April 11, 2013

I even emailed Pimsleur not realizing it was the wrong place at first. They said they would do what they could to help but haven't heard anymore back from them. They need to be aware what Pimsleur Approach is doing to their name. Hopefully they will figure it out.

joejoe
April 22, 2013

By far the most informative post on the page! Great job, and thanks!

Comment on this review...
review author image
G. Hilarides

Total rip-off scam. Don't get sucked in!

March 27, 2013

Don't give them your credit card number! Don't accept anything that comes from "Internet Order LLC, ....Southampton Rd. Philadelphia,..." If you signed up for their limited quantity special offer $9.95 Quick and Simple CD's, just realize that you've been duped, even if you see now that you should have known better - somehow they duped you and me too! Missed the faint tiny print floating below all the BAIT and now they have your financial information and they're going to suck you dry! You better cancel your credit card. You must TRY to cancel your "order" that you had no idea you were making (and by the way they only answer during "business hours" and then expect plenty of wait time and no cooperation) which may stop the subsequent shipments, but you will still have to cancel your card or stop payment somehow or they will continue to charge your card $64/mo for the shipment you sent back (at your own expense!). Contact your local Better Business Bureau. I can't believe they haven't been shut down yet! This can't be legal. It is a stealthy bait and switch. Shame on United Airlines! I received this "offer" through my mileage program! Shame on PBS and Forbes for endorsing such a business ethic (if they really did, as Pimsleur claims) and shame on me and you for falling for it. All we can really do now is try to warn others.

View all 9 Comments
Grace going to Italy
March 28, 2013

thank you! I appreciate this-I almost fell for it before doing a little research first and saw your comment!!! Much appreciated!!

Teo
April 01, 2013

Write Simon & Schuster's CEO about this bs. These guys just resell their product and don't care...

anonymous
April 02, 2013

ok seriously you guys.....they lay all this out in their website...very clearly in my opinion. I knew all these details before looking for reviews, just from reading their information. All I am finding on here is a bunch of babble from people who didn't read all the info before they purchased. I am sure this company does make money from people forgetting to cancel, but that is a form of business that a lot of companies use. At least they are upfront about it all. READ BEFORE YOU PURCHASE!

Sev
April 10, 2013

Agreed every one star review is people who didnt even try the program...did you all think you spend 10 dollars and magically could speak a language??? it is still a language learning course, I ordered it, cancelled it, used the program I received and learned an understanding of a difficult language which makes it easy to understand and pick up complexities of any language from cheap books, The company does not make money from people who buy the program end use it they make money from people who buy and forget it, just like Porn sites and anything else that teaches you anything from online...Instrument playing, dancing, language, dating tips, and several other things most of which ive purchased got the info I needed and cancelled, not hard to do

Susan
April 13, 2013

I too ordered the 10$ program. However I cancelled any further shipments in the time frame specified. I never received any more shipments. You have to read all the printed material. It's made very clear, as with most other learning programs, that you must cancel or you'll get more.
I like the program and will probably order more when I'm ready.

Karen Parks
April 16, 2013

Speaking of credit card number. If your that dumb to put your information online and not reading the terms that your fault. They can make you read you should be the responsible adult and protect yourself. Come on people very company has something advance when you sign up. I order all the time online and I know what is coming next if I don't want it then I call within my time frame. Even when I receive things in the mail I make sure I read the terms if its something I'm interested in. It's not the company it's the people that's doing their part.

John
April 19, 2013

Screw you, you self-righteous ****head. Taking advantage of people is evil!Companies should not design thier promotions to ripoff the trusting customer. They should design them to impress with the product's quality, customer service, and total price without lies or misdirection. Just because it's legal does not make it right. I order all the time online too, and I never get ripped off, but it still ticks me off to see my less observant countrymen ripped off by scammers like this.

joejoe
April 22, 2013

It ticks me off too, but I have little sympathy for people that skip 3 page agreements with titles like "Important Information" and then complain about what's in the agreement. Take some personal responsibility people! Don't whine about being taken advantage of, don't get taken advantage of in the first place! This one isn't hard or complicated, you just have to take more than 30s to look at the whole page. Don't you even want to know what you're buying and what you're not? It's totally spelled out on the front page. Yeah, they're slimy, but that doesn't excuse the laziness on your part. The world is full of slimy bastards, and the simple unfortunate truth is that they are out there and everyone has to deal with them. Anyone over 3 years old knows this.

Laurie
April 23, 2013

Joe
Did you not read that many of the complaints were from people who called to cancel within the time frame and still had problems. So it doesn't matter that some read and some didn't... they have set up a system designed to give you a hard time hoping you will just let it happen to you. Can you imagine an elderly person purchasing the initial program for a grandchild thinking they had paid in full and then more keep coming and they are being billed and the customer service is abrasive and rude. We should be appalled at these practices.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Ian

Scam Company That's Hard to Communicate With

March 27, 2013

After I tried out the $10.00 thing and was completely unimpressed with how effective it was in comparison with Rosetta Stone, I received an expensive package in the mail that I was completely uninterested in, and never opened. I immediately emailed the company complaining and asking for a return box so I could send it back. They never sent one. Instead they only sent emails that said that I needed to call during their business hours. I have a job that makes it hard to do this, so after numerous email and messages left, the short story is they're now telling me I owe them $256.00 and can no longer return the package.

Sorry, it's 2013. A company like this needs to be able to communicate over email. Talking to their customer service people made me feel like I was back in the 90's. The fact that it's so difficult to get ahold of them, and that they sneakily send packages that you didn't mean to ask for is why I feel like I've been scammed:(

View all 5 Comments
Danelcy
March 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. Really helped me a lot.

Grace goingto Italy
March 28, 2013

Remember, if it seems too good to be true"It is"

Marsha
April 02, 2013

I sure hope all those on here stating it is a scam contact the BBB and report them. Complaining does nothing unless you take action to get these crooks shut down.

Sev
April 10, 2013

its not a scam though, people blindly spending money can only be blamed on the people blindly spending money...everyones complaints are about things that were stated on the ordering page itself. If you sign up for pretty much anything online if you dont cancel within the trial period they are gonna take more money from you, not cuz they are scamming you but because you are an idiot while in the last year I learned to speak a new language, play guitar, dance, and a few other things (all info i still have on file) and didnt pay anything for any of them cuz I cancelled them

Robin
April 10, 2013

I am in contact with the BBB right now, plus FTC. I hope something gets done!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Tony Beckerman

Watch out for a high monthly cost

March 26, 2013

The initial $10 is worth it, but if you don't cancel the subscription, they start charging you credit card hundreds of dollars.
They rely on you to forget about cancelling!!!

View all 2 Comments
Sev
April 10, 2013

simple and well said... certainly not the only company making money that way

Tom
April 11, 2013

We canceled, sent the programs back. Now they are saying they never received it back. They kept charging the card even after being told it was sent back. Now we are being told it probably got put in the dead warehouse. What the heck?

Comment on this review...
review author image
Bob

Don't be scamed

March 23, 2013

If you are looking to do a language with the Pimsleur method go to their official site Pimsleur.com (NOT Pimsleur Approach). This site is through Simon and Schuester (you know, the major educational publishing house). The are legit. Prices are clearly set out and there are more languages available. In addition, you are able to listen to a free lesson in the language you chose. The Pimsleur Approach is a scam. Please look at the legit site. Before, anyone makes the statement - I have nothing to do with either company and make no money from this. I have examined both Pimsleur and Rosetta Stone. Both are good in their own way. Pimsleur is probably the most effective.

Glen
September 05, 2013

Thank you for this information.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Rina

What a SCAM!!!

March 23, 2013

This $9.95 dollar course ends up cost well over $1000.00 dollars. Beware its a trick to suck you in and you cannot get out of it!

View all 2 Comments
Danelcy
March 27, 2013

OMG I was about trying. Thank God I searched before do it. Thanks a lot everybody for this big help

Robin
April 10, 2013

They need to be reported by everyone on here!

Comment on this review...
review author image
cara monasmith

Scam !!!!

March 23, 2013

This product is misleading and its bussiness practices are without morals and substandard at best....Watch your pocket book!!!

View all 2 Comments
Robin
April 10, 2013

Report them! That's the only way to get them to improve their practices!

Natalie
November 26, 2013

How can we report this company? Where?

Comment on this review...
review author image
madasawethen

Scam stay away from here - anything else is better than this

March 22, 2013

Just don't do this. Save yourself from a headache that will never leave your credit card account alone. It is just a scam - they just want to take over your credit card with unwanted charges. It is not that great of a product - move on - don't make the same mistake I made I wish I would have NEVER purchased the simple series - seemed so simple, but it is
not.

Keep looking there is nothing wrong with wanting to learn Spanish, but this scam trick is not the place.

There should be room for negative stars I would give them a negative 10.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Keith Rule

Don't do it or be very careful

March 22, 2013

Make sure you read the fine print. They automatically enroll you in the highest level product and keep sending you a set of CDs. Each set of CDs is automatically deducted from whatever payment method you selected originally. 4 payments of $64 each month. They keep sending sets of CDs and you are obligated for another 4 months of payments.

VERY EXPENSIVE and not very forthcoming. Poor model.

Buy direct from Simon and Shuster or try Rosetta stone.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Jennifer

At the end of the day, it's a scam!

March 21, 2013

I purchased the $9.95 cd and although I don't remember entering any long term agreement, I received the first pack of cd's. I listened to the first few. They were way too basic for my level and there was no way that I would be able to learn from them.

I called customer service and they told me to "just send them back if they don't work out." In this conversation, they never told me of any required shipping procedures. The packing slip in which it came with had no required shipping procedures. They just said, "just send them back, no obligation!" So, I sent them back in the exact same box with the exact same packing slip with all of my information. I also included a letter explaining my decision and a phone number if there were any concerns.

Four months later, a $64 charge appeared on my credit card (the one I authorized for $9.95). I called Pimsleur and was told that my account was in collections for another $128. I was irate. I had not received any notice from them for over four months and my account was in collections? I told them that I mailed the cd's back. They said they didn't have any record of it. Their question, "Do you have the tracking number with UPS?" I told them that I had a receipt from the U.S.P.S. They said they were unable to refund my money and that there was no way of proving that I sent the cd's back in.

View all 2 Comments
Naomi J
March 29, 2013

Sorry for your financial loss but want to thank you for the warning. Wonder if you had disputed your charges with the credit card co, you should have been able to win.

Anon
April 10, 2013

purchasing the 9.95 CD was entering into a long term agreement read the site

Comment on this review...
review author image
AB

Zero stars

March 18, 2013

Total scam. Charged w/o ordering. Misrepresented 100%.
DO NOT sign up for their "free" anything.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Bob

I'm Scared

March 18, 2013

I just convinced my dad to buy this for me. and now i am reading these reviews and i am scared that i just costed my dad $400.00 for no reason. It better work OR ELSE!!!!!...................................

View all 2 Comments
Sev
April 10, 2013

get the program, put all the info on file and send it back, not difficult to do, the company obviously will try to keep you on board but they will cancel everything,

June 21, 2013

Please provide more information on how to do this.

Thanks

Comment on this review...
review author image
Math

THIS COMPANY NEEDS TO BE TURNED IN FOR STEALING

March 18, 2013

They billed me the $9.95 four times, for just the intial order. When I called to receive a refund, they told me they gave it to me. A month later I still have the charges, four calls and five emails later I still have no refund. When you call in they act like they can't find your account, they say they never billed you anything. What a joke...they should get their business license taken away!! DON'T EVER USE THIS COMPANY.

View all 5 Comments
Larry
March 20, 2013

Thanks for your comments Math, won't go near those folks!

justthinkin
March 20, 2013

Would be easy enough to go to your bank to have fraudulent charges removed.

Cay
April 10, 2013

They must have specifically hated you or you came off like a dick or something, I ordered it, received it cancelled it, learned a language, cost me bout 5 minutes of my time and thats all

Robin
April 10, 2013

We are going through this right now. Hopefully the BBB will back us on this. Very upset with the unethical procedures.

June 21, 2013

who did you contact at BBB?

Comment on this review...
review author image
Corey

SCAM!

March 17, 2013

Like many have mentioned, they start sending you a bunch of other stuff, then you are stuck repackaging, and PAYING to send it back otherwise they charge you rediculous chargers for the garbage they sent you without asking. Perfect example of a company trying to scam people to get money for something they know is not worth anything.

Sev
April 10, 2013

they dont have to ask, read the site, you said you wanted them to keep sending stuff by not cancelling... this is common business practice. People and companies have been exploiting money from others who dont pay attention for decades, probably centuries...instead of complaining read thru the offer, dont order anything without a money back guarantee

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review

 
  • We care deeply about the planet and giving back to nature. Trees clean our air and water, create habitats for biodiversity, contribute to our health and wellbeing, and create jobs for social impact.

    That’s why we’re partnering with OneTreePlanted.org to plant a tree for every review posted on Reviewopedia. When you add your review to Reviewopedia you’re not only helping other customers, but our planet too!