Pimsleur Approach Reviews

Pimsleur Approach
( 402  Reviews )


We care deeply about the planet and giving back to nature. Trees clean our air and water, create habitats for biodiversity, contribute to our health and wellbeing, and create jobs for social impact.

That’s why we’re partnering with OneTreePlanted.org to plant a tree for every review posted on Reviewopedia. When you add your review to Reviewopedia you're not only helping other customers, but our planet too!
402 ‘Pimsleur Approach’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
Cliff Sees

But does it work?

May 3, 2013

Does it work? That's what I want to know, and the title of the site seemed to say there was an answer here; but there's not. Cost is only a part of the value. Does it work? That's the important issue. Everybody complained about the price, but if it works then I might find it worth the cost.

View all 5 Comments
Baby's talk
May 03, 2013

Well ask yourself does a baby learn language in ten days, of course not!
it takes years of immersion in the language to become fluid. Learning a language uses both visual and audio cues the word Vastere means nothing unless you can picture the image of the object,or idea.

Renee
May 06, 2013

I have just started it, and feel like it is working so far, I am doing the Spanish program. I like it. I am only on day 4, but I feel like I know much more than I did before I started! I actually feel myself thinking of the words in my day to day when they come up!

Scott
May 06, 2013

Of course but buy direct from Pimsleur.com. Avoid the trouble of these middleman.

Janet
May 07, 2013

I have been teaching myself Russian for 9 years. It is extremely complicated and the grammatical approach is nearly impossible. A did a 3 level course called Learn Russian in your car, Took nearly 3 years, but I can get by with many errors and it takes a long time to think the changes through. The Pimsleur course is similar, but has you repeat more in many ways with interchanging the words into various already learned sentence structures. I found after the course (I listened to it quickly in about 5 days) I could use a very complicated grammatical concept and say it very quickly in many ways. I found this very helpful, as the other courses taught more concepts much faster, but only put it into one or two sentences which were not as repetitive.. I like both and am appreciating learning fewer things mjuch more perfectly. One is not better than the other, just different. Obviously, you can't be fluent like a native speaker without a LOT of work, practice and dedication. I will hope the later courses will continue contain other very difficult concepts and make them easy by the smae learning pattern.

Vadim Kononov
May 28, 2013

As a native Russian speaker I couldn't help but smile when I read your comment about Russian being extremely difficult. It's true. Russian is incredibly complicated - a language with seemingly no rules about word endings and word order, but at the same time with more rules that could be put in any textbook. I commend you for your effort to learn Russian! I also have to agree with your last point - it takes time and dedication to learn a language well. English, being much easier than Russian to learn to speak, still took me years to master. Good luck!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Ralph Chang

You get un-asked for products

May 2, 2013

The tapes are fine. What is highly objectionable is that you automatically get more CDs that you did NOT order and they bill your debit/credit card.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Scott

Not a scam, just unethical marketing

May 1, 2013

As I viewed the marketing video for the Pimsleur Approach, I thought it might be a good idea to look at some reviews. That lead me here. I have read almost all of these reviews. Dozens of people claim that this is a scam. Well I couldn't say one way or the other, so I looked. I went through the process and all but submitted my payment information. Not just once, but four times it states that by doing nothing you submit to further courses and the accompanying charges. This company has a legal obligation to disclose that information. They are not required to seek out permission each time they charge you. They clearly disclose this information to you, effectively satisfying their legal obligations.

My conclusion: Most of you are lazy morons who are either compulsive buyers that cares not for finely printed details or you just simply didn't know any better. Either way, the joke is on you. Reporting them to the BBB is not going to get you anywhere. I wouldn't consider myself wealthy according our societal standards for that status, but I have been quite successful. I didn't reach success by overlooking details that seem insignificant't. I would advise each of you to take a strong look at your business habits.

While I agree with the general conclusion here that this company is not suggestible, do not mistake it, unethical and illegal do not go hand in hand. They satisfy their legal obligation and feed off of consumers who either are in such a hurry to obtain the product that they overlook details or they are simply lazy and incoherent.

Let the bashing of my post begin.

View all 5 Comments
Mike
May 02, 2013

First of all I have already admitted that I felt foolish so I don't find your insults helpful! Did you do this on their website? My understanding is that it is more straightforward on their website, maybe legal concerns? I watched a video from a link on Facebook and I am pretty certain that the Rapid Fluency Program was never mentioned. I was taken to 3 or 4 screens during the purchase process, but that was after my CC had been charged and I said "no thanks" to all of those offers. It was not until I received the email of my transaction that the Rapid Fluency Program was mentioned.

Now as I said on an earlier post I called and spoke to a CSR, explained that I was not interested in the Rapid Fluency Program or any additional CDs. The guy I spoke to was very courteous and told me that he would stop any future shipments and assured me there would be no additional charges. So far so good, but it is still less than 2 weeks. I agree that people that ignore the emails, miss deadlines, and refuse to follow up are partially at fault, but those of us that request to stop further shipments and charges should be able to expect them to keep their word!

ryb
May 03, 2013

bashing of your post? what post? you haven't tried and reviewed the program, all you did was insult other people. you are an assclown at best, STOP TROLLING!!!

what do you speak
May 03, 2013

Well you did not say if you were able to speak fluently a language after 10 days. I'll bet not

ESO
May 05, 2013

RYB, Couldn't have said it any better myself!! Thank you!

Alpheus
June 13, 2013

I would have to partially disagree with you. On the one hand, the fine print is there; on the other hand, they imply it will only cost $10, and that it's not nearly as expensive as Rosetta Stone (which they claim will cost $700), and they then put the "we'll charge you a lot more" information off to the side, which is difficult to see, when you are thinking "bold claims, but for only $10, I think it's worth a try". Perhaps it's not illegal, but it's rather sleazy, and I'm annoyed that, except for reviews, I would have fallen into the trap at a time that I could not have paid much more than $10.

Having said that, as far as my research on the technique goes, the Pimsleur technique seems to be a valid one. I just wish their marketing didn't leave a bad taste in my mouth!

Comment on this review...
review author image
happy guy

It works

April 30, 2013

Ive taken years of spanish and have learned more with this product then I have in a class room. Yes they are a bit sneaky with there prices, but now you know that up front. So if you want to learn a language this is a good choice. Just make the payments and be glad you did. I play my CDs when i am driving in my car. So i basically learned spanish as I drove to and from work, i didn't have to set aside time to do it. it was perfect! We a ll have to drive places so I just utilized my time wisely.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Tracy

$448.00 scam

April 30, 2013

I ordered a language learning CD set from The Pimsleur approach for 10 dollars. I received it and all was well until I started to receive more CD sets in the mail. I assumed it was just a part of the one I signed up for initially since the invoice attached to it said "order total $0.00" I never actually got around to using the disks but didn't think anything of it. Yesterday April 29th, I received a letter dated April 1st saying that my account has been sent to collection for a past due amount of $448.00. I called the number and waited for 40 minutes... no one answered the phone. the next day I called again and spoke to someone who told me that I had to pay since my trial period was up. I told him that I wasn't award I was even being charged he informed me that the payment information was inside with the disks. At which point I told him I haven't even used the disks yet but I did look at the INVOICE that was not hidden inside with the disks and that said I didn't owe anything. Needless to say he did not have an answer as to why the billing costs were not in the place where it should be instead he told me that I can either keep the disks and pay or have my account stay in collection because they will not take them back. I knew it couldn't just be me that this had happened to so I researched only to find pages upon pages of online complaints about the same issue. Some people actually figure it out before the 30 day deadline and was still scammed. Many reported that the company claimed that they were sending out return labels for the products but not one of these customers actually received a return label. After a month or two passed, these same customers were then told that they still had to pay for the product because now it was too late and that the company is not responsible for the return label not arriving.
Stroll- Pimsleur Approach needs to be stopped from scamming poor unsuspecting customers. At this point I would rather pay money to have a lawyer provide me with legal advice on how to handle them than to pay for a product that they are attempting to trick me into paying for.
I have begun a petition at change.org
feel free to sign it the link is below

https://www.change.org/petitions/stroll-pimsleur-approach-accept-their-products-back-and-remove-the-bogus-charges#share

I think this company needs a class action suit

View all 3 Comments
Kasey
May 05, 2013

If you weren't aware of the charges then you didn't take the time to read the large paragraph on the left side of the page where you order the product.

"RAPID LEARNING PROGRAM: One month after you get started with your Quick & Simple you'll
continue by receiving 30 day trial copies of advanced Pimsleur courses in the language you
selected. Each course is yours to try for 30 days. You'll receive a new course once every 60 days.
For each course you keep we'll bill you in four monthly payments of $64. Simply pay the return
shipping cost for any course you return. Remember, there's never an immediate obligation to buy
any course because of the 30-day trial period provided with each shipment. And you may cancel
future shipments at any time by calling 1-877-802-5283. See Key Details"

Rennquinn
May 06, 2013

It is pretty clear when you pay your $10.00 up front that you will be sent more CD's and charged for each shipment, I just ordered the system, and like it, and it was clear as a window what will happen in the future, I don't think you should start a class action law suit because you can't read!! Your "review" doesn't even mention that you tried the program, I'm sure you were to lazy to bother, since you were to ignorant to read what you were buying.... Hopefully you don't sue me for my comments!

Toliver
May 06, 2013

Rennquinn, If you plan on paying over a $1,000.00 for lessons that you could likely get for free at your local library.....who is really the ignorant one?

Comment on this review...
review author image
John Andrews

STR Language SCAM

April 30, 2013

Let me me add to the others who have been ripped off by their bait and switch tactics. They use very deceptive marketing techniques making you think that you are getting and fair value but then slamming you with un-ordered product at a high price. Good luck trying to return it. Best advise is to stay far away from these thieves.

gerald hughes
May 29, 2013

is 10 dollars fair market value for learning another language??... i havent bought it yet but id pay $1000 if it worked

Comment on this review...
review author image
M. Gooden

BUYER BEWARE! The Pimsleur Approach is a SCAM!!

April 29, 2013

They draw you in by promising that you will learn how to speak another language in 10 days for only $9.99
But what they don't tell you is a few weeks later they will send you an unauthorized shipment of more disc. If you fail to return these disc in 30 days they will charge your card 5 payments of $64.00!
Now I, unlike most people victims returned my package back within the 30 allotted days, and they claimed they never received it, so they charged me anyway. It's been months later and I'm still fighting these charges. My advice for anyone is to request that your credit card # be changed and if that doesn't work, close your account and report Pimsleur to the Better Business Bureau.

Comment on this review...
review author image
JoAnna Viudez

Unbelievable scam. Can this really be legal?

April 26, 2013

If I could give this company no stars , I would. I wasn't able to try the program before discovering that the sales pitch was deceptive and a scam to keep as much of your money as they could get away with. Luckily the credit card I used for the innocent $10 "trial" introduction was lost and I had to replace it--otherwise I would be out more money than I am (I was charged an additional $128.) They are still harassing me for the balance, even though I returned the CDs unused, which they said I couldn't do even though I called within the 30 day period to say I didn't want them. What happened next is that they told me they would send shipping labels that they never sent and so on and so on until the 30 day period was passed and then billed me for $512. Steer clear! They are not an honest company! If their product was so great, they wouldn't have to use the "Pimsler Approach" to get money out of people.

View all 2 Comments
Rich
April 29, 2013

I am very happy I came to this site as early as I did. I also signed up for the 9.95 CD a week ago, and just looked at my receipt again, and noticed what all of you are saying - I am also enrolled in the expanded $256 course. I just called the company, and you are all correct - it is a high pressure sales job! The rep tried to get me to still accept the $10 cd (hadn.t shipped, so nothing on my charge yet). She said she would cancel my account, and I hope that is the end of it.

Francis
November 08, 2013

I am glad to read your review otherwise would have fallen into the trap as the video demo sound too good to be true ! Thank you !

Comment on this review...
review author image
John O.

SCAM. Worst company I have ever dealt with.

April 23, 2013

THEY WILL ROB YOU BLIND. After you make a little $10, they will automatically deduct money from your account. I wasn't even aware that i was enrolling in a course that i would be charged hundreds of dollars for. It is extremely difficult to contact them. They are still trying to charge me $512 for something that I was led to believe would only cost $10. Thankfully, my bank is reversing all their insidious attempts to steal my hard-earned money. If you used a debit card to buy from them, then god help you. No mediocre product is worth dealing with such an evil company.

View all 2 Comments
Kevin
April 26, 2013

Take a piece of advice. P.T. Barnam said" There is a sucker born every minute". A sucker is a gullible person looking for the easiest way to do something and will believe anything told to them in order to achieve that goal with little or no effort. All companies to some degree prey on the get it done with ease philosophy to one degree or another. The advice..If it sounds to good to be true, it isn't true. Something an eight year old has learned.

Mike
April 27, 2013

I see a lot of posts like this....I think most of these complaints are not from people who thought they were going to get a complete foreign language course for $10. They are from people who did not want to be automatically enrolled in a $1000 language course without their permission! I consider myself to be above average intelligence and I was not aware of the "Rapid Fluency Program" I was being automatically enrolled in until after I had given them my CC info.

There are also several customers complaining that even after they contacted the company and requested no more shipments or charges....they still received them and were even turned over to a collections agency for not paying for a product they requested they didn't want! If those complaints are true....surely you would not consider them to be suckers, they woukld be victims!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Rodney Dangerfield

total scam - stay far away

April 23, 2013

Avoid this like a disease! Never mind that the product is 90% gimmick, if you try to return the "demo", plan for a lot of being on hold and dealing with a downright high-pressure-until-your-eyes-bleed salesperson. Their "company policy" is to only accept returns that have been pre-approved for return. Good luck with that.

If you are not successful returning the demo and canceling your order, be prepared to pay $128 a month as they will bill you $64 twice a day once a month.

You are MUCH better off buying an older version of Rosetta Stone than this garbage.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Brooke

Don't Order This

April 22, 2013

Stay away from this company. Once I made the first order, I sent an e-mail to have them cancel my order, AND, I called my credit card company to block them from charging me, just in case they try to send me more courses. Also talked to their customer service and cancelled the order. Phone connection was terrible. Sounded like she was on a cordless phone with a weak battery. But I hope that took care of it.

View all 2 Comments
Nancy
April 22, 2013

I felt being totally cheated today. I placed the first order of the basic Pimsleur in December last year and went out of the country until today. What I got for today was 2 boxes containing Gold Level 1 and 2 having sent to me WITHOUT my acknowledgement and of course, my card was charged $256.

I was angry because they obviously tried to hide the fact that every 30 days, there would be a new trial being sent to you and if you're not there to open and carefully read thoroughly, you'll be in trouble!

And ridiculously how they made it so easily to put the products in your hand when it is really hard for the return option. Call to that number is the only way. Waited for 10 mins to talk to a representative. Then you'd hear the instruction for the address, and the thing call RMA No. which is a series of letter and number and dashes. This whole thing can easily be informed and done online. Plus the phone connection is bad!

And you'll have to send the product back within 10days after the RMA No. is issued!

I'd definitely block them from future automatic charge!

I haven't tried a minute in the CDs and dont know how good this method is,, but this scam from the product comapny already pissed me off!

Nancy
April 22, 2013

And I hope these reviews should be spread so the customers can stay away from this company, or they will have to change their customer care policy! Simply ridiculous!

Comment on this review...
review author image
trm

150 dollars for 30 cds

April 21, 2013

ad says 150 dollars for 30 cds, so whats up with the above reviews.

View all 2 Comments
Reality
April 25, 2013

Another employee trolling

Showee
May 16, 2013

maybe that's the legit company, Pimsleur Method. The other guy mentioned that on a post here.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Mike

Feeling Foolish and Worried

April 20, 2013

I saw the ad tonight on Face Book and thought I would check it out. The video was well constructed and seemed legit. I thought for 10 bucks what did I have to lose, then I received my order information email. It says I have been automatically enrolled in the Rapid Fluency Program which provides me with access to Pimsleur's elite Gold courses. I remember going through some upcharge pages after I entered my CC info but I entered "No Thanks" to all of those pages. I don't remember seeing any fine print that gave them permission to enter into this program?

I immediately called them, but they are not there on Saturday. So I sent them an email explaining that I did not sign up for this Rapid Fluency Program and that I wanted to cancel any future shipments. I made it clear that I only wanted to receive this $9.95 Quick and Simple CDs, and that if they could not send me just those CDs without also entering me in the other program...then I wanted it all cancelled.

Now I find your website and I am terrified by what I am reading. Am I really going to have a problem with this company if I call them Monday and ask them not to enroll me in the Rapid fluency Program? Should I call me CC company on Monday and have them issue me a new card? Has anybody had any success cancelling their original $9.95 order? All these complaints are freaking me out!

Let me just close and say this, I never thought this would make me fluent in 10 days, even the video said it wouldn't do that. I just thought it might give me an idea of the program, how it works and give me a starting point to build from. Anyway, I have read through several pages of comments, any advice or encouragement would be most helpful!

View all 4 Comments
Mike
April 22, 2013

I called Pimsleur Approach at 877-802-5283 and spoke to Jose. He was very courteous and after I explained that I did not want any additional lessons he cancelled any future shipments and assured me that I would not receive anything from them except the Quick and Simple $9.95 CDs.I am still contemplating having a new CC issued.....I received an email from Jose verifying that he had cancelled any future shipments.

Anyway, I feel better, maybe this company is learning it lesson about the poor customer service, I will update this post in about 60 days to inform you as to whether I had any additional shipments or charges to my account.

joejoe
April 22, 2013

I haven't heard of any poor customer service. They don't have people to take calls on the weekend: OK, the business issue can wait until Monday. There's lots of worrying going on, but no stories of actually CC abuse or anything.

joejoe
April 22, 2013

Oh, and maybe you saw a different ad than I did, but what I saw said you will be speaking the language in 10 days, not that you'd be fluent. If you were fluent, they'd have to reason to sell you the other programs, so I don't see them making the claim ;)

Mike
April 23, 2013

When I did this, I tried calling them multiple times and always got an answering machine. I personally did not have any money in my bank account at the time, so when I found out they had signed me for Gold, I tried making the call one more time and then shrugged me off. It's against the law to make a customer without consent. That would be like the bank selling you t-shirts and you having no choice in the matter - just completely ridiculous. They stopped sending me the Gold after the first edition, and I got no bills to my account, so I assume they just decided to stop. They can't bring you to court on charges because you never asked for the item.

tl;dr Tell your credit card to not accept any bills from Pims and leave a message saying your not interested. Beyond that your legally in the clear.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Ed Duhaime

It is a scam

April 19, 2013

Online website must hide the terms that say they are going to ship and charge and charge multiple times for each shipment......I never saw it nor did any of that show on the online receipt.

You will pay through the nose. Receipts in the box don't tell you you're being charged ....they say $0 owed !!!

The lessons themselves are not bad for an audio only type of language course. Advertisement promises of learning in 10 days are of course totally overblown.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Stephen

Understood the scam

April 19, 2013

Unfortunately, I was drawn in due to the video I saw, the website it linked to seemed like a legitimate corporation. However, after I purchased the "$10 special" I was met with several pages afterward, of which I bypassed and continued to my receipt. It was only after I ordered that I felt something was wrong; my gut feeling led me here. I have reviewers to thank, since now I can try to cancel before shipment or cancel any future shipments as well as block them from my transaction list.

This is a really clever scam, very misleading, but legal in very few aspects. However, there is no excuse for dishonesty, such is the case with Pimsleur Approach.

View all 2 Comments
Stephen
April 19, 2013

So, I did ask for cancellation, and I was granted cancellation. I did receive a notice that my order has been cancelled and that I would get my initial 10 dollars back. Not sure how sincere that is,

Mike
April 21, 2013

Stephen

How soon after order did you cancel? Please update in a month and let us know if they really cancelled future shipments....thanks!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Don

It is a marketing scam

April 16, 2013

No matter what the vale of the product, the methods used to sell get in the way of ANY product value. And these Pimsleur people are the worst! The $10 offer is slickly written to turn on an "Internet order for continuing packages at $256 or so per pop!

These people are trash and should be stopped by the FTC, but that unlikely because we live in a "Buyer Beware" land!

View all 4 Comments
Leandro
April 18, 2013

The language is THansk for the note. Yes the language is slickly, but I beleive is more than that. I am ready to go to court. I decided to purchase the Quick & Simple language course. On their internet advertisement, after your are provided with the info about the Q&S program, they include a section titled "Important information : Rapid Learning Program" ; I was not interested on the Rapid Learning program, and I disregarded this section, because I was not interested on the Rapid Learning Program; only on the Q&S program.I decided there was not a need to read this information; which in fact is the one that relates to the additional "advanced level languages curses" shipping and purchase-payment procedure. I will let the judge to decided about this. Additonally, even if you decide to read the mentioned section, they, on the second line indicate "The Rapid Learning Program is an incredible easy way to try Pimsleur Approach advanced Gold course series and with zero obligations to buy!; also I will let the court to decided about the validity of this written marketing language strategy. Thank .

Debbie
April 20, 2013

Was getting ready to purchase it from an internet video ad but decided to check out reviews first. Sure glad I did! I will stick with Rosetta Stone.

joejoe
April 22, 2013

Seriously? You skipped something labelled "Important Information" in a contract? Also, I've seen nobody so far complain about getting charged after they asked the company to not charge them. What's the big scare around here??? Sure, their strategy of "give 'em something cheap and hope they stay for dinner" isn't the most appetizing, but they clearly state you can cancel the whole thing with one phone call. Unless they are renigging on that promise, I say quit whining. 30 days to make a phone call is not onerous, especially to get 4 or so hours of language courses for $10.

Honestly
April 26, 2013

JoeJoe sounds like he works for this company. Its a farce without end DONT DO IT

Comment on this review...
review author image
Tonia

I like it

April 15, 2013

I bought my Lanuage CD's from the real website http://www.pimsleur.com/

I had no problem with payment and no extra billing.

my suggestion is make sure you are buying from the real honest to goodnest webiste.

As for the launage learning, it's really neat. I've been though about 20 lessons and I really have learned a lot. It's slow, but it's fun and I can now watch some things in portuguese and understand a few basic things. when I feel I've mastered Phase 1 I will be buying Phase 2.

just make sure to go to the real website people, it's not that hard.

View all 3 Comments
A Jantzen
April 19, 2013

very poor way of doing business. cheating your way in.I recommend to stay away from this company.

A anon
April 22, 2013

Dr. Pimsleur was a world renowned linguist professor. Though this site is a scam, http://www.pimsleur.com is real. You might be able to find many of these at your local library as they date back decades.

Laurie
April 23, 2013

You got lucky. I watched a 20 minute video on this system and it talks about Dr. Pimsleur. It was a cleverly created scam. You think you are purchasing from the real company.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Merv

Less than zero!

April 13, 2013

Crooked liars, Disruptable practices, and theives!

View all 2 Comments
joejoe
April 22, 2013

What did you have stolen?

Merv
April 26, 2013

Money

Comment on this review...
review author image
Fang Reaper

The site you people are talking about is the scam!

April 12, 2013

this is the site you people want...

http://www.pimsleur.com/

View all 3 Comments
Mike
April 22, 2013

pimsleur,com is the same place you are all getting ripped off at. DONT go there

Homer
April 26, 2013

This program finds easy targets in people that want success with little effort, same kind of people that wont read fine print

Lisa
May 06, 2013

really. wow that suxs

Comment on this review...
review author image
Jarjis

Pimsleur Approach SCAM STOP

April 10, 2013

They been charging my card 64.99 for last 8 months, They won't refund i filled a fraud report with BB. Call your local business bureau and report them.

View all 3 Comments
Robin
April 11, 2013

We have contacted BBB, so far not much help!

Igor
April 14, 2013

BBB don't police businesses. The are a mediator at best. Talk to your AG or your lawyer.

Sly
April 24, 2013

They might be crooks, (and I'm sorry for saying so bluntly) but after 8 months, you're the fool for not reporting your CC stolen after the first month so the number is changed immediately. Then they wouldn't be able to charge your card again.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review

 
  • We care deeply about the planet and giving back to nature. Trees clean our air and water, create habitats for biodiversity, contribute to our health and wellbeing, and create jobs for social impact.

    That’s why we’re partnering with OneTreePlanted.org to plant a tree for every review posted on Reviewopedia. When you add your review to Reviewopedia you’re not only helping other customers, but our planet too!