Pimsleur Approach Reviews

Pimsleur Approach
( 402  Reviews )


We care deeply about the planet and giving back to nature. Trees clean our air and water, create habitats for biodiversity, contribute to our health and wellbeing, and create jobs for social impact.

That’s why we’re partnering with OneTreePlanted.org to plant a tree for every review posted on Reviewopedia. When you add your review to Reviewopedia you're not only helping other customers, but our planet too!
402 ‘Pimsleur Approach’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
Todd

It's good

August 7, 2013

I'm amazed that people have issues with payments. Not because I think the company doesn't try to trick customers out of money, but simply because Pimsleur has so many reviews specifically about their money-grabbing scheme. Before you buy ANYTHING on the internet, do research to avoid bad products/companies. That's what I did, I found out about the Pimsleur scaming, so I found somewhere else to acquire the audio files for free.

Bottom line is, the actual lessons are brilliant, just don't let the company take you for a mug.

View all 2 Comments
Jake
August 07, 2013

or buy from the official company pimsleur.com not from this reseller. It's cheaper and no surprises.

Melanie
August 10, 2013

I got a lot of the French Basic learning and bought it right off the website in downloads which was cheaper. I really loved it. I started brushing up 3 months before we went to France and between Pimsleur and Coffee Break French (a Scottish iTunes foreign language teaching company) I was speaking decent enough French so we could go where no one spoke any English. Though far from being able to do a college lecture on a subject, I thoroughly enjoyed this CDs. I would recommend them to anyone. Please, be realistic. Realize that no one can actually learn a decent conversation in just 10 days. But if you want to learn how to be polite, say "good day", "thank you" and other small sentences to help you around, then give yourself 10 days.

Comment on this review...
review author image
j. manuto

Pimsleur Italian

July 25, 2013

they conduct business like a flat-out scam. The come on is that it's cheaper than Rosetta Stone. They entice you for the intro, then jam out the entire series in the mail, and try to bill you exhorbitent costs.

Prospective buyers beware.

My advice is go to Costco and get Rosetta Stone aor another reputable language package where you know you can get a fair deal and a full refund if you are not satisfied.

View all 3 Comments
Lynn
July 27, 2013

I thought about trying Pimsleur but not now after reading your review and many others that say it is a scam. Thank you for saving me money and headaches.

Litmus
August 02, 2013

Lynn, you miss out then. It isn't a scam in the sense that it doesn't work (because it does)... it is a scam in that it costs a lot more than they claim. But, if you ask yourself if the cost is worth it if it actually works... then you'll probably think you are missing out.

There's also always pirates :P

Victim
August 04, 2013

Same bad experience. When I tried to cancel this reply came back:

"Thank you for contacting Customer Care at Pimsleur Approach. We are sorry to hear that you no longer want to be a part of our Rapid Fluency Program. We are happy to assist you with your request. Unfortunately, we cannot process your request through email...."

It's a scam to capture your billing information -

Comment on this review...
review author image
River

It's Awesome!

July 23, 2013

Okay, okay, I know it seems some of you have had bad experiences with the Pimsleur Approach software, and before you jump down my throat for loving it, I would like to point out that there are 2 websites that both say they sell Pimsleur Language software, however, only 1 of these actually has the official product. I have had the best experience with www.pimsleurapproach.com, though I wish their site was better set up. If you're going to try the Pimsleur Approach I suggest ordering over the phone because it's much easier to convey exactly what you want (the actual language software) and what you don't (guides and special additions you don't need.)
Alright, now that you know that I'll tell you why I continuously choose the Pimsleur Approach every time I want to learn a new language (and yes, I AM that much of a nerd.) Before I go into specifics, I'm going to tell you that I learned more in a half hour with Pimsleur than I did studying lessons over and over for weeks with Rossetta Stone (supposedly one of the best language learning softwares on the market)
Pimsleur ONLY takes a HALF HOUR out of your day, the software is FUN to use, and EVERYTHING you learn STICKS. I remember making flash cards to study vocabulary for a Japanese test in school; reviewing them day after day until I had them down. But when I found them a week after the test I had no idea what any of them meant. It's been months since I listened to the first lesson in Pimsleur and I can still remember every word it taught me. And what's better? I've talked to actual native speakers who constantly ask me where in Japan I'm from! (which I always think is funny because when I'm speaking English I have a natural southern accent) Pimsleur doesn't just give you the knowledge, it gives you a PERFECT ACCENT! I LOVE Pimsleur and to me it's the only way to learn a language.

View all 6 Comments
Lies
July 31, 2013

Wow, SOMEONE works for this company and is shamelessly trying to generate traffic for their website... God, this review is absolutely shameless in its lies!

Clay Simpson
August 07, 2013

This review WAS written by an employee or some paid to write the B.S.

Replay to Awesome!
August 11, 2013

Only who is selling speaks these words! Never have read such a review from the buyers! Scammers!

Paul
August 29, 2013

SCAM, SCAM, SCAM. "If it seems to good to be true..." Nothing more needs to be said. STAY AWAY!

Megumi
October 01, 2013

Your comments are making me excited. I have wanted to try out the Pimsleur Approach for a while, and these ratings are making my day. I can't wait to try it!

person
October 08, 2013

i love the pimsleur aproach. i bought the first one for a dollar off of itunes and instantly it worked. but im flat broke so i found a website that can download them form but it doesnt seem to work anymore. i love the program, it works, and it works well. i also chose japanese and while there are people who have been studying it for weeks or months on end, with the first 10 lessons, i understood not only the words, but the grammer better. the onl reason to complain is the pricing which when u see the results are more than worth it. my problem is i dont have the money to get them as of now

Comment on this review...
review author image
Trish

horrible company - please help

July 9, 2013

I cancelled and they kept billing me after I returned with USPS tracking. Canceled my card and they send me collection bills. What can I do? I have sent the bill back to them requesting that they stop as I already cancelled. I have the tracking number and a copy of the letter i sent back along with the bill once again requesting my cancellation. can they still take me to collections if i already cancelled and returned the disks?

View all 7 Comments
Julie
July 16, 2013

report them to the better business bureau at bbb.org and file a complaint. Within a few hours of doing that, I received an e-mail from Pimsleur saying that they had received my returns and would stop billing me, closing my "account" I supposedly had. I did this after receiving a letter telling me they would take legal action if I didn't pay them, even though I had sent them back. Don't let them scare you into that crap. Just report them and it'll scare them away.

sean
July 27, 2013

Watch your credit report. If they post a bad rating on it and you still have your proofs of cancellation you can sue them and they get to pay you under the fair credit act.

David
July 29, 2013

Thank you Julie

Litmus
August 02, 2013

Now if this review is true...then I would be sad that a corrupt company uses it

Irene
August 11, 2013

I have the same problem ! I cancelled French 4 months ago,and they still bill my card !!! Help !!! I am not a millionaire !!!

Thanks,
Irene

Shannon
August 29, 2013

Contact your state rep. department of consumer affairs. They will instantly put a stop to this practice and this company will start to catch their attention. After similar complaints from many people they will be shut down.

Kumar
September 03, 2013

Its a SCAM. Do not fall for it. I am victim too.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Blanca

Took money out from my account

July 9, 2013

I ordered 2 CDs for $9.95 each. I got an e-mail receipt for that. For the next two months I was charged $64 for CDs I didn't order. When I called to cancel it, they told me I should have cancel it within 30days. I let it go, I paid for it. Today I received a bill for $448.00 from the pimsleur-approach, saying to pay as soon as possible. I call the number in the letter, and when I explained my situation, the girl on the phone told me to call back when I was able to handle the situation and hanged up on me.

View all 3 Comments
Litmus
August 02, 2013

To the people who decide not to use the Pimsleur Approach because of marketing scam. The CDs work. Just download them #torrent and avoid the hassle of the stupid corrupt company using it to scam people.

dewey
August 06, 2013

According to my receipt, Pimsleur received my order and $9.95 Monday 7/22/2013 12:16:24 PM EST for one Quick & Simple - French – CDs, Item #PA-024A, and said that “This item usually ships on the next business day”. The receipt contained the correct “Ship To” address.
Then 10 days later on August first, I received an email from them saying that their carrier does not recognize that shipping address. I replied saying that the address is correct, and suggested that they use a more competent carrier. I received an email of acknowledgement that same day. Then I received an email August 5 saying that they are not able to fulfill an order for me at this time because I have an outstanding balance with them. I do not owe them money, nor had they informed me that I do. But they have stolen $832.00 from my bank account in 2012, before I realized what was happening, for which I had not signed, and they said it’s for material they sent me, and which I checked was marked as free with no further indication. They are full of inabilities to run a business.

WEKB
November 15, 2013

I was close to ordering the $9.99 first cd. After reading of your well explained experience and several other writers, experiencing similar difficulties, I didn't order. It seems that there are many good evaluations of the Pimsleur program, and the bad references all seem to be pointing to the agents promoting methods & various billing scams. Needless to say, I will not order from these fringe scammers.

Comment on this review...
review author image
W Murphy

Total Rip-off and Marketing Scam

July 7, 2013

This company makes money through deception. They entice you with a low cost program but then automatically enroll you in a much higher cost one. This costly program is more expensive than a legitimate product like Rosetta Stone but much less effective and sophisticated. If you try to return the items to get out of their automatic billing they will charge you if you don't exactly follow their "rules"
(RMA, correspondence with a hostile customer service group, etc - rules which, of course, you did not notice in the first place or you wouldn't have signed up for this rip off). YOU ARE WARNED - STAY AWAY.

I GOT SCAMMED!!
August 04, 2013

Ugly Marketing - DON'T be a target - here's what they told me :

"We are sorry to hear that you no longer want to be a part of our Rapid Fluency Program. We are happy to assist you with your request. Unfortunately, we cannot process your request through email."

STAY AWAY!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Edward Mead

SUCKERS

July 3, 2013

After reading the reviews of their product and marketing practices I'll pass this time. However, if one of the people who has the whole set for Spanish wants to get some of their money back I will buy it at a discount. Contact [email protected],net

Sean
July 27, 2013

ALways use a prepaid debit card for internet purchases. That way if you get a company who is like this can't get any more money than you load onto the card.
Then if they do illegal billing and collections practices you are not ou the money and you can build a FCRA case

Comment on this review...
review author image
Coastal Mike

Seriously??

June 30, 2013

Do you not remember what our parents (well, mine anyway) always told us as we were growing up?? If it sounds too good to be true, IT IS!!! After reading a few of these comments, you all feel passionately about being CLEVERLY manipulated into a promotion that plays into just that adage.... IT IS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE!!! If not for the internet and this site, I would be waist deep in the same crappy mess. And like you, I would be pissed off because I just ALLOWED someone to manipulate me. So, again I say, "Seriously?" Come on America.... wake the f**k up!! One of the other things I was taught (actually, drilled into my head) as a young man was.........If it looks like a duck, walks like a duck, and quacks like a duck, then it must be a friggin................ rhinoceros!!! LOL Teach this to your children and grandchildren if you have not done so already. And remember, our parents were just doin their job!

View all 3 Comments
fakephd
July 25, 2013

you are a malevolent idiot

Litmus
August 02, 2013

This is the response of people who don't choose to see.

person
October 08, 2013

personally its just the price that upsets people. this program has done me more ood than all my years in spanish and french. with just 10 lessons

Comment on this review...
review author image
dave

customer service

June 29, 2013

I do not know if the program works as had no time to open as had 2 deaths in family within few months of each other. I've read many of these reviews and seems like a mixed bag 50/50 if it mworks or not.
I was gone and busy with funnerals etc and getting back to some kind of normal I had 3 of these Gold Plated edition or whatever they call it at my house. I had ordered the sample had not had a chance toeven try before al the other stuff happened. So called and nice enough on phone first time authorized return of the last one (cost $20) as they demanded insurance and tracking USPS. They had not charged the $256.00 dollars for it so that is done. Offered me 25% discount on what I had and would not let me return as claim it was to late (over 30days). Now I have $512.00 worth of tapes or CD's they refuse to accept and refund. They did not give me the 25% discount on both as I thought they told me on one which thought weird. So like I've said they know this is sleazy way to do act in sales but guess if your product not so great got to push any way you ccan and that is what they do. These automatic shipments should be oulawed or at least make these companies double check with customer and I'd bet if you died your estate would be billed also!!!!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Rafa

RIPPED OFF

June 12, 2013

This is a scam.

I ordered their Quick and Simple German Discs for $9.95 and was very enthusiastic. But did not notice it enrolled me in a long-run program that was way more costly. And then I received other packages with extra CDs. The thing is THERE NEVER WAS ANY INVOICE ATTACHED TO THE SHIPMENTS and no written tracks of anything.

I paid it with a credit card I don't use often and did not check my account. This credit card was stolen and they could no longer take the money from my account.

6 months later and without any news in between they asked me to pay them $384 for something I did not order intentionally.

STAY AWAY!

Worst Kind of Thievery
August 04, 2013

These guys are deceitful - just ugly.

Comment on this review...
review author image
jAZ

Foe pete sake...Did Yuou learn spanish???

May 31, 2013

As soon as you get the first one...call them and cancel the service.
I am reading all of these bad reviews.....WERE YOU ALL BORN YESTERDAY? Not reading the fine print or not listening to the rep on the phone is not the companies fault. Forgetting that you had it and ending up with a bunch more is not the fault of the company!!!!
DID YOU LEARN SPANISH?????? THATS WHAT A REVIEW OF A SPANISH CD IS SUPPOSED CONTAIN!!!!

There are millions of products that operate the same way...Wen shampoo..Vitamins...magazines...Coffee products...etc....

If you don't read the details.....you will end up with a million bits of something and a credit card bill!!!

I am waiting on my first shipment...the girl on the phone (I always call if there is a number) explained ..I have 30 days with the first and then the 2nd will ship. I can cancel anytime in the first 30 days.
If I space out and miss the 30 day mark...I will have some returning or learning to do.
Don't blame a company for your lack of paying attention....We have all done it...suck it up!!!

View all 2 Comments
Don't be lazy READ!
June 18, 2013

I completely agree!!! Only the people who did not pay attention to what they were buying are posting these negative comments. I saw the "fine print" on the order page and emailed them for more info and they were clear about all of the details, nothing was "hidden". Then when I placed my order I received an email confirmation explaining what the other packages were all about and how I could cancel. When I received my order all of the information was written in the package. Stop crying over spilled milk and learn that companies exist to make money and if you don't know how to protect yours no one will do it for you!!! Who would believe that $10 is all it takes, we live in America, it's called creative marketing! All of the companies have to compete for our attention and it's true that they are not the only ones who market this way. So from now on don't be a lazy consumer and do your homework!

Steve Carter
June 26, 2013

Sorry to disagree, but at least I am only out the $10. They got that , and never sent me anything in return. They didn't give a receipt with a customer # which is required to contact them.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Sharon

Business is dishonest

May 22, 2013

When you order the ONE CD for 9.95 you unknowingly 'have given approval' for them to ship a 20 CD set to you and proceed to charge you $265.00 on the credit card you gave them for the single CD. I called them, sent back the complete set according to THEIR directions in January 2013! I just received a letter stating that my credit card was denied and that I owed $265.00. According to them, they didn't receive my shipment and just proceeded to charge my card. Now, after nearly SIX MONTHS, I need to supply them with the tracking code or they will just charge my credit card! I'm so furious I can hardly SEE because I'm not a believer that they didn't get my shipment. What a racket! Suck them in with a 9.95 charge and just send the 20 cd set, even though it was NOT asked for, and when it gets sent back, just deny that you received it and charge the total amount anyway!
I'm also calling the Better Business Bureau!

View all 2 Comments
Linda
May 29, 2013

They did the same exact thing to my husband

dranktothat
July 25, 2013

the lone person who keeps disagreeing is obviosly a shill.

Comment on this review...
review author image
DJ

Knew it had to be too good to be true

May 21, 2013

First off, I only gave this company 1 star because I was forced to in order to post this comment. It was a source of comfort that 1 star means "Hated it", but still one star is to many.

Never in my life have I seen so many bad reviews on one product. I stumbled across the cartoon ad and was very intrigued until it got to the cost of only $10.00. That's when my antennae went up.

In addition, it always gets me when they say "but you must act now". That's because they don't want you to do what I did, which is check the reviews before you buy it.

I'm so glad I did because I was very tempted. It's a measly $10, so who cares, right? Wrong!!!!!

These reviews are very helpful and saved me a lot headaches and money that I would not have been willing to spend on the addition products, so I thank you all!

I'm so sorry that you all went through what you did with this product and company, but I truly appreciate your taking the time to post your reviews in an attempt to save others from going throught the same turmoil.

comicbelief
July 25, 2013

yep zero stars from me too.

Comment on this review...
review author image
roberto

my friend did this

May 21, 2013

if it quacks like a duck and walks like a duck then it's a SCAM. My friend tried this -any company that does this to get your business is not worth doing business with.

they would have been smarter to give you a CD for $9.99 with some very helpful instruction which would cause you to buy more...but to trick you into a program can only mean one thing...it's not legit....there are dozens of these types of scammers out there....and now they have your name for a sucker list they will sell to other scammers....be sure to complain to your credit card company..this will help to shut them down...

Quack Quack
August 04, 2013

Yeah - no question that the Pimsleur product is a duck - and I feel like a turkey for going for it - lesson learned.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Andrew Tritchler

LOOKOUT ACHTUNG CUIDADO!!!

May 14, 2013

I watched the rather charming video and figured WTH for $9.95 if I learn anything it's worth it. So I ordered.
Then I thought I would review some of the comments people had made re: the program... (note to self, next time do that first).

The next day before recieving anything I cancelled my credit card. I subsequently got a package in the mail I didn't recognize so I opened it. Much to my horror was a neated packaged box of CDs from some company called Internet Order LLC, Philladelphia, PA. I returned it by mail the next saying cancel order, return to sender etc. Of course since it was opened I had to pay the postage. On my next CC statement (my old card) I sayw a credit for $9.95 and thought, whew! dodged the bullet.

Since then I have received another package even though they don't have a valid CC to bill.

I'll send it back too but am afraid they may threaten collection cuz they can't tap my CC.

Don't do it and tell your friends and anybody who will listen not to do it.

The language approach may be good but I'll never know because i will never do business with a company that uses such slimey marketing methods!!!

Linda
May 29, 2013

Tell them you are going to contact the attorney general in your state and file a 93A action against them unless they credit you appropriately. That's what we did and they took care of it

Comment on this review...
review author image
Lee Jinks

Total Cost was not clear when ordered

May 10, 2013

The video is very clear that you will only be billed $9.95 instead of the more than $400 for that program in the yellow box. Now that the box of CD's arrived, I see that I will be sent another box of CD's which I only pay 4 payments of $64 and then there will be three more sets at the 4 payments of $64. If my math is right, the total cost of the program is $1,024. Had I known that, I would not have ordered the program. No where in there marketing does it say the total charge is $1,024. I call this unethical. I have no problem with the word Scam. I'm not talking about the quality of the product. That's not even in question at this point.

View all 2 Comments
Adam
May 13, 2013

Word to the wise, NEVER buy ANYTHING from the little sped up wipey board videos. I have seen countless videos just like this one, and they are ALL nothing but a scam. From this one to the survivalist ones, to the free energy, free food ones, etc etc. If you see some idiot drawing on a wipey board, it's a scam. This crap is all over facebook and popular news sites.

Ashley
May 21, 2013

I too was drawn in. Stupid, I know. After I received the first "installment" I completely misplaced the package and forgot about it. Well I received the second and after digging found the first. Called and they will refund the second but not the first. So now I'll have to pay the $256 because they won't take the second. Wish I had read the fine print a little closer before trying out this "neat" program. :(
Seriously upset at myself and the company.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Janet

Be Prepared for a Blizzard of unwanted CDs that have to be returned!

May 8, 2013

Apparently the Pimsleur Approach is based on sending multiple CD sets that cost $64/mo for four months per set--this occurred to me and although I was able to return them, it was a terrible hassle. Buyer Beware!!

View all 2 Comments
David Evans
May 11, 2013

Just buy it on iTunes. Who seriously listens to CD's thesedays - especially if you're walking around, etc.. oh let me just dig out my old portable discman relic!
iTunes is a few £'s more ($'s to those not in the UK), but you choose when to by your next set of lessons.. not when they dictate!

David Evans
May 11, 2013

oops typo.. *buy your next set of lessons...

Comment on this review...
review author image
Warts

UGH.

May 7, 2013

I just ordered it two days ago. Now I'm scared about what's going to happen!

View all 4 Comments
concerned...?
May 12, 2013

yeah just ordered it this morning....crap.... here i was so hopeful, i could afford 10 bucks...but 64 a month,, i think NOT. scam is right.

Ashley
May 21, 2013

Just send back the gold course as soon as you get it. Wish I did.

More
July 31, 2013

I would even cancel or put a hold on the CC I used to buy it, if I was you.

Lt's Not Too Late
August 04, 2013

GET OUT NOW!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Renee Q

It's not a scam - the system works well

May 6, 2013

This program is not a scam. The only bad reviews are on here because people don't know how to read anything. It says very simply that you will get more shipments and will be charged $XX.XX for them. I don't know how anyone could miss that!

The only reason I didn't rate the program with 5 stars is because I really just wanted to download the program for my iPad/iPod/Phone, and I still can't figure out how to do that. I guess I could just burn the CD's onto my computer and copy them onto my devise, but it seems they could update their system to include a more downloadable system.

I am just started the Spanish program, and I really feel like its already useful! I feel smarter every time I get out of my car! So far I recommend it, just read things before you give your credit card!

View all 14 Comments
Scott
May 06, 2013

Deal with the official folks (Pimsleur.com) = avoid the hassle of fine print and get the courses much cheaper. Pimsleur.com sale the MP3 format for more than half what these "PimsleurApproach.com" guys will charge you. You're paying a middleman for nuthing.

Jack
May 14, 2013

Spell Check

Allan Lane
May 16, 2013

It's not about not reading correctly. The invoice that comes with the additional shipments shows an amount due at the bottom of $0. That's right, ZERO dollars due. What they mean is, zero dollars due if you return it immediately. If not, then you owe not just $64, which might be kind of okay as a price for this set, but four payments of $64, which is outrageous. This would be like getting Rosetta Stone content, but at 3 times the price without the visuals! This is not to say that Rosetta Stone is better, just that they are considered expensive and this course is three times their cost! And they tell you up front it will be $399, and don't try to sneak it by you. This is absolutely not about not reading what is clearly stated, but about not reading what is purposely hidden. I know it must be in the materials somewhere, but in the sent materials I still can't find it after figuring out what they were doing!!!! So, I bet to differ with Renee Q, who probably shills for the website.

Phil Larson
May 17, 2013

I expect the writer of this post works for Stroll/Pimsleur and was paid to post.
This is a push sales scam. I read extremely carefully everything when looking into this and was in shock at having to hassle through the returns process.

Brandy
May 21, 2013

I literally had to call and get verbal verification because the website was really unclear on the charges. There is no way that a language company cannot understand how to properly disclose the cost of their product, unless its intentional.

Sam
May 22, 2013

I just got the "GOLD Edition" in the mail. It says in the 30-day trial offer insert that after 30 days, you'll be billed 4-monthly installments of 64 dollars. I think that is what he was referring to. So far, everyone is complaining about the money but I haven't hear anyone say that they didn't learn their language... I'm more interested in that. It may be shady how they go about it, but if it works than it doesn't negate that it's worth the doe.

scott
June 04, 2013

THanks Sam, that's my question as well, does it work?

July 13, 2013

please email me, does it work well? and could you just get the quickstart set?

Watching you lie
July 30, 2013

You say you don't know how to download a cd? Then you say you will download it onto computer and add it to your iphone or ipad how can you do it if you say you don't know how? Doesn't make sense it is the same way? Sounds like you also work for this company !! Just like the guy above who says everything you did but you added the I'm can't download story??!!! In the same statement you say you will download it ?? Make you lies up before you put them in writing silly !

catching you lie
July 30, 2013

Shame on you why didn't you rate the product then ay?

Lies
July 31, 2013

Renee Q is obviously employed by a particular company...not sure which one, lol. Lies! This thing is a scam, employing the majority of the shady business and social influence techniques to get people to plop down $10-$400.

Don't Buy It
August 04, 2013

BALONEY - Not only is it the market strategy unethical - when you try to end the scam - Pimsluer resists and tries to squeeze you.

Kay
August 24, 2013

I am on the initial lesson set and really enjoying it. I bought it on ebay. I know exactly what all the fine print says before I give anyone my credit card, so I have no sympathy for people that are shocked by the following bills. I am also smart enough to never pay full price for anything.

Since there are very few actual reviews of the program here, I will say it is slow learning and really meant for people that maybe want to communicate when visiting another country. It is also just a starting step to becoming fluent. Fluency takes a lot of work. All I have time for right now is a cd in my car on the way to work and on home. Some of the lessons were a little boring, but overall I am enjoying it and will be able to communicate enough when I go to Mexico in a few months to get my needs met. It is more formal speech than most people would use in their native language, but will be easy to adjust as I learn more and listen to conversations.

Sally
September 09, 2013

Actually it is only AFTER you order the introductory lessons and PAY that you receive an email which tells you you will receive the next package in a month which will cost 4X $64. The course itself is great. I am just trying to figure out how to get a few more lessons without automatic delivery. Maybe the cheaper MP3 version....

Comment on this review...
review author image
Scottie Wilson

Great Program, wrong website!

May 5, 2013

First of all, the *TRUE* PImsleur is a "Method", not an "Approach". If you were to go to the *right* website (http://www.pimsleur.com/) you will find the actual Pimsleur Method instruction system. That has been aorund for 50 years and is in use by DoD, FBI, and DoS among others.

I have used this, and will say that as old fashioned as listening to language lessons on CDs might seem, I was able to quickly learn and be conversational in a foreign language, and have retained the ability for over 10 years. It was not this $10 introductory kit, but the real $50 program (you get what you pay for). If they had more advanced lessons in my language of choice, I would have gladly paid the $150 that most of their full Level 1 lessons costs.

The program works... just go to the right place!

View all 3 Comments
Steph
May 29, 2013

When I tried to go to that website, Firefox put up an error message that said, "This connection is untrusted," and that their security certificate expired on 7/27/12 9:16 PM.

Rating the right program
July 30, 2013

Thanks Scottie your the 1st person who did rated the program not the service of a copy cat company!!

Bad and Worse
August 04, 2013

Scottie - if the product had merit the marketing would not be so predatory!

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review

 
  • We care deeply about the planet and giving back to nature. Trees clean our air and water, create habitats for biodiversity, contribute to our health and wellbeing, and create jobs for social impact.

    That’s why we’re partnering with OneTreePlanted.org to plant a tree for every review posted on Reviewopedia. When you add your review to Reviewopedia you’re not only helping other customers, but our planet too!