Pete's Paleo Reviews

Pete's Paleo
( 14 reviews )

Pete’s Paleo is an all encompassing Paleo meal delivery service.  The company is the creation of Cordon Bleu trained Chef Peter Servold, who’s also the author of “Paleo By Season: A Chef's Approach to Paleo Cooking.”

The one downside to following the Paleo Diet is that you’re forced to give up practically every form of convenience foods.  For many full time workers, serious athletes, or busy parents preparing every meal at home can become too much of a burden, this is where Pete’s Paleo steps in.

They offer everyone the chance to enjoy home cooked Paleo meals without the fuss.

Meal Ingredients and What to Expect

Pete’s uses farm fresh ingredients and a seasonally inspired menu.  The meals adhere to Paleo standards and do not contain any gluten, dairy, soy or sweeteners. 

 

In addition animal products are from Grass-fed stock and the produce is organic.  The company is based out of San Diego and Atlanta where they offer local food pickup as well as nationwide shipping.

Pete’s Paleo gives you options of how many meals to order for 5 days allowing for up to 4 people.

The meals come individually packaged in vacuum sealed BPA free bags and include 1 serving of protein and 2 sides per meal, you also have the option of ordering snacks.  This totals to around 5 ounces of protein and 7 ounces of veggies.

They also offer Pete’s Paleo Lite, which follows the same meal plan just in slightly smaller portions - 3.5 oz Protein and 5 oz Vegetables.

The food is shipped fresh, not frozen and needs to be refrigerated immediately.  The meals can last for a week in the fridge or up to 2 months if frozen.  There are detailed reheating and thawing instructions on the website.

The total cost per meal comes out to around $14-$17 depending on the size of your order.  They also sell their own house made Bacon which can be ordered separately from meal plans.

Customer Service

You can reach a representative at [email protected] or call at 619.363.7136. There is also an extensive FAQ section on their website that details how to handle any issues that you may encounter.  In general if there are any problems with your order the company will work with you to make things right.

Online Customer Reviews/Complaints

There are many detailed reviews from Paleo Bloggers who’ve sampled a week's worth of Pete’s Paleo meals.  The consensus is pretty much the same across the board, and that is that the meals are great tasting and offer a much needed break for the Paleo homecook.

There are also lots of positive reviews from many customers on petespaleo.com.

However, the service is not without its share of complaints, with the most common issue being the price per meal.  Some other customers also noted that they don’t enjoy the products after the company switched from shipping individually bagged ingredients to a more microwave friendly all in one plastic wrapped container.

Competitors and Alternatives

As Paleo becomes more and more popular there is an increase in the number of food services available.  Other companies offering Paleo meal delivery include Pre-Made Paleo and Factor 75.

Some of the larger meal kit delivery companies are also offering Paleo/Keto meal plans now such as Home Chef and Green Chef.

Another option, if possible, is to try to go with a local company to save on shipping costs, or alternatively you can learn to cook and create your own weekly meal plans.

Is Pete’s Paleo Worth It?

If money is not a factor in your decision then this can be a great option, as these meals allow you to stick to your diet while skipping the hours you’d spend food prepping.  Due to the high cost many people have taken to supplementing their regular monthly meal plans with Pete’s, since the meals do keep in the freezer for several months.

Others rely on them strategically, for instance if you know you have an incredibly busy week coming up you can stock up well in advance.  No matter how heavily you end up relying on them, these pre-made meals can be a great option for when a home cooked meal is not available.
 
If you have any experience with Pete’s Paleo or their products, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

Pete's Paleo Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Not worth the money
June 15, 2020
After reading numerous good reviews, I chose Peter's Paleo. I signed up for a month's worth of meals 3 months ago because of a special deal. Many of the meals are still sitting in my freezer because I cannot bring myself to eat another fatty, chewy, same tasting meal again.

Like it a lot but expensive
May 4, 2020
I really enjoy the freshness of the food and the variety. I don’t have time to cook so the meals come ready to go! I just wish they weren’t so expensive because I would order enough to have 2 meals a day but that’s too costly. Other than that they taste great.

Food was quality but packaging and cleanliness was bad
June 10, 2019
Used to subscribe to Pete’s Paleo a few years ago and it was awesome - back when the ingredients came separated and in their own bag and you heated it up on the stove. Now, they come all together, and they’re wrapped in plastic and meant to be MICROWAVED in the plastic... this is so wrong.. read any studies of what chemicals that lipids absorb from plastic when they’re heated while touching... so much for “healthy.” On top of that, we can no longer trust the cleanliness of the food after finding hair in our meals. So over this...

Poor customer service
May 19, 2019
A box of food arrived about a month or so ago warm. I mean this smelled horrible. Called to have a new one sent which turned into a massive ordeal. The first person I talked to was rude, and Sarah was rude also. We used to order Pete’s paleo randomly over the past 2 years. However, this whole situation has resulted in me never using them again. I am big in customer service... but Pete’s Paleo is severely lacking in this department.

Feeling duped
September 27, 2018
Pete's Paleo is currently really pushing his cookbook. Free! You only pay shipping! 7.95. I fell for it, book came...very small and not impressive. There are plenty of recipes equal to this on Pinterest etc. I doubt this even cost 2.00 to ship. It does have nice photos. Feeling ripped off. And very gullible. I would certainly never buy his meals.

Terrible Customer Service
May 24, 2018

Hi,

I ordered Pete's Paleo and the first delivery was delayed by the Postal Service. Not the fault of the business.

However, it arrived a few days late and was completely defrosted and had to be thrown out. No dry ice was used to prevent this type of thing from being a problem.

I contacted the company about a refund and asking what else they could do to compensate for me missing a week of meals. They said they could send out another order.

I told them no thanks i just want a refund and was put off that they didn't offer any other type of compensation to assist with my inconvenience (coupon maybe or free meal or whatever). Just so token of good customer service was all I was looking for.

So they send another email back saying basically "sorry, this is policy". So they don't care. Its just about money. I do not do business with companies like this...period. Even after asking them nicely if they would like to make this up to me they simply did not care and made me feel unwanted.

Terrible Customer Service
February 8, 2018

Hi,

I ordered Pete's Paleo and the first delivery was delayed by the Postal Service. Not the fault of the business.

However, it arrived a few days late and was completely defrosted and had to be thrown out. No dry ice was used to prevent this type of thing from being a problem.

I contacted the company about a refund and asking what else they could do to compensate for me missing a week of meals. They said they could send out another order.

I told them no thanks i just want a refund and was put off that they didn't offer any other type of compensation to assist with my inconvenience (coupon maybe or free meal or whatever). Just so token of good customer service was all I was looking for.

So they send another email back saying basically "sorry, this is policy". So they don't care. Its just about money. I do not do business with companies like this...period. Even after asking them nicely if they would like to make this up to me they simply did not care and made me feel unwanted.

Horrible Experience
January 1, 2018
I ordered my first shipment and did not realize the meals would be delivered not frozen. One meal was partially frozen. I threw all meals away and asked my account be cancelled. I did not ask for a refund, as I threw the meals in the trash without fist calling and speaking with someone. I accept full responsibility for that mistake. However, I sent a total of 8 emails and three instant messages requesting cancellation of my account over a 3 day period without a response. I received an email letting me know my new order is being processed and my account has been charged. As a consumer Pete's Paleo website makes it impossible to cancel ones account or stop shipment of an order without having to take additional time to submit an email or call. I can't speak to the quality of the meals, but do not recommend engaging their service unless you have time to dispute charges and take time out of your busy day to continuously follow-up with requests.

portion size and quality of meat
March 3, 2017
Someone needs to tell Pete that eating Paleo is about a lifestyle change and not about being on a diet. At over $20 a meal I thought these were shareable meals for 2 people...no way! I'm eating the pork as I write this review and every piece is way too chewy. The sides have been tasty but that's not enough to keep the service going.

Not Impressed
January 9, 2017

Oh boy.... if I were actually able to taste the food I would have given a review on it.

Abysmal customer service if I do say so myself. Noticed the lack of consideration when I left a voice mail that was never returned and then sent an email that went unanswered for 4 days until I finally sent a follow up. Perhaps they are understaffed, it's almost as if they wait for a customer to send multiple emails before deciding to action on a response to any inquiries.

I'm not sure if it was a part of the paleo experience to make it seem like the company was being run by two hippies out of it's basement, but it sure seemed like it. They definitely don't seem two keen on keeping first time customers with that kind of customer care or lack thereof.

They were delivering my first order within the California area mind you (that's where they are also based) but the food arrived three days late, can't imagine what it's like for the out of staters.

Long story short, I could no longer eat it.

Presentation was strange, when I opened the box I was a little surprised at the packaging... it didn't seem very appetizing, it looked like portioned hospital food, vacuum wrapped clumps of beige... but, as we all know looks can be deceiving, so I thought I would give it another try and surely the taste won't match the first visual impression.

Unfortunately, trying this food would be just as elusive as reaching customer support, because the food was delivered late once again, this time by three days.

Would I ever be able to try this elusive magical grub? That stealthily shows up whenever without even bothering to provide a tracking number or any method of communication about it ever being shipped?

Well after many a follow up on both occasions with what seems like the only person in customer service, two refunds later, no apologies, and bags of dumped vacuum sealed beige, I politefully wished customer support Happy Holidays and was on my merry way. To which... I never even received a "Happy Holidays" back as expected.

The good news is, upon going to pick up their second late box, I did see a neighbors "Freshly" box and upon researching them realized it was closer to what I was looking for anyway, low carb, healthy, well packaged food. I'm now a happy customer of Freshlys, which operates with the sort of professionalism I'm used to.

Expensive and the food is bleh.
August 25, 2016

I'm skeptical about the claims that the food is great and restaurant quality. That is not the experience I had. Maybe these people have never eaten in fine restaurants.

I gave Pete's a try for a trip to a state park. Plenty of cooking facilities, but nowhere to eat. It was my husband's suggestion to go with a prepared meal service. I'd heard so many good things about Pete's, so I chose Pete's.

They do get an A+ for properly shipping the meals, although I'm guessing that shipping method is expensive. I have seen cheaper way of shipping frozen food.

On to the food. I had a coupon for a first timer, so we paid about $100 for 5 meals. Maybe $20 doesn't buy a nice meal for the other people who said that the food is as good as a restaurant, but where I'm from, $20 buys a pretty nice meal often prepared by trained chefs. I liked the packaging for Pete's Paleo - pretty easy to get into and the ziplock bag that held the food was convenient to use as a trash bag for the vacuum sealed bags so that I didn't have to deal with smelly trash. Meal size was good for me - I'm a petite woman. If I were a large man, I would need double the side dish portions. I would have preferred less of the meat and more of the side dishes. I like my plate to be mostly veggies with a little meat. I cooked meals both in the microwave and sautéed in a pan (the preferred method). The first meal I had, Moroccan Lamb, was decent. If all the meals had been to this quality of taste, I could see myself giving Pete's Paleo a better review. However, the rest of the meals were not so tasty. Really, very little taste: Spinach with no flavor (how about a little garlic?). Mushy golden beets that I think were really turnips and were mislabeled. Mushy sweet potatoes that were so freezer-burned tasting (despite having spent almost no time in my freezer), I threw them away. Meats covered in so much pepper, I couldn't taste any other flavors (if there were any). The food just wasn't any good. I like to cook. I've had a number of published Paleo recipes. I have a recipe website. I've been through a 30-week French cooking school taught by professional chefs (one of whom worked for a very famous chef). So...I'm surprised to see that Pete is a trained chef. The taste of the food just isn't any good. I ended buying a Food Saver so that I can make my own packaged meals for future trips like this one.

This service is fine for people who can't cook, can afford it and want to eat pretty strictly Paleo (even in portion sizes), but it wasn't for me and I honestly could not recommend it to anyone who asks. My advice would be to learn to cook - the food will taste better, will be cheaper (yes even organic, grass-fed, pastured, blah blah blah) and cooking is very fun and therapeutic.

Impressed
August 21, 2016

I am on a hardcore crossfire program and needed the right foods. Not only is the food clean, but it is delicious. Try it, you will be impressed.

Totally Unwilling to Work with Clients
November 30, 2015

First let me start by saying that I personally did not eat the food, this review is based on how they choose to run their business. Totally their choice, but I am entitled to my opinion too.

I wanted to order food for my husband while I was out of town, si I decided to order 5 meals. I did NOT want to recurring order so I emailed them and they provided instructions on what to do to ensure this did not happen. Low and behold, I return from being out of town and there is another delivery there. So now I have ben charged approx. $260 for food I neither wanted nor ordered.

Also, fo a company that prides themselves on supplying food to those with food sensitivities they are extremely unwilling to make any substitutions. My husband cannot eat cooked carrots, he can handle them raw, but once cooked they have an adverse affect on his stomach. I was sure to mention this in my order, then later recieved an email stating that "Pete’s Paleo feels it is crucial to your health that you are eating a varied, seasonal menu."

Why yes, Pete, I completely agree...that is why I live a paleo lifestyle - just like you and your family. I really wish cooked carrots did not make him sick...I am sure he does too. Keep in mind we only ordered the 5 meals so it was completely possible to swap out the 2 meals with carrots for other meals on the seasonal menu that did not contain carrots, yet they refused. I was later sent a screen shot with obnoxious red arrows to the tiny print, because obviously this company thinks I am stupid. What an insult.

I will most likely never order from this company again. I feel like I have been disrespected, taken advantage of, insulted and over charged for something i did not order all in a matter of days.

If it were not for the big time paleo bloggers out there advertising for them, their customer service would put this compmay in the ground...and it might just happen anyways.

I am all for shopping small...voting with my dollar. However, I am also all for respect and understanding. I never, never write reviews- especially bad ones - but I just could not help myself here.

Remarkable
November 15, 2015
I am only in my first week with Pete's Paleo and I'm already hooked. Every dish has been amazing in taste. Better than going to a restaurant. The flavors are exceptional and plus I don't have to wonder what's in the food. The cost takes a little adjustment, but I'd rather spend the money on what nourishes me.