Olive Pro Hearing Aid Reviews

Olive Pro Hearing Aid
( 15 reviews )
Website: Oliveunion.com

The Olive Pro Hearing Aid, found online at OliveUnion.com, is a health and wellness product for people who are experiencing hearing loss and are looking for an effective and affordable solution.  

How Does Olive Pro Work?

According to their website, the creators of the Olive Pro were looking for a way to create the next generation of hearing aids with a goal of solving two of the biggest problems with hearing impairment solutions: price and social perception. 

Their website says that most hearing aids are so expensive they are financially prohibitive for many customers, and many of these same customers do not feel like it is worthwhile to extend themselves financially when they feel there is such a negative social perception when it comes to wearing hearing aids.

To solve these problems, the Olive Olive Smart Ear was designed to look distinctively different from regular hearing aids so that they are not immediately identifiable as a medical device.

They also worked hard to keep their design and production margins as low as possible so that their product is more accessible to their customers. 

They also designed their hearing device to work together with a mobile application, so customers will able to perform their own hearing test and have the device adjusted appropriately to their results, and customers will be able to adapt the devices functions as they need depending on the circumstances they are in. 

Mobile Options

This company says that their free downloadable mobile application will be available for both iOS and Android devices in July of 2017 and will be updated regularly as their design process continues.  

Cost/Price Plans

The Indiegogo webpage indicates that the pre-order price for this product is currently $100 which provides customers with one Olive Pro and one sticker set.  Though this website does not publish the eventual retail price, the prices customers pay during the crowdfunding session is generally cheaper. 

The website also says that this product is estimated to begin shipping to crowdfunding customers in July of 2017, though newer orders will likely not ship until fall or winter of 2017, and shipping dates may change over time. 

Refund Policy

Unfortunately because this company is still in their crowdfunding stage they do not have a published Refund or Return Policy available for their customers at this time.

If you're concerned about possibly needing a refund of the money you pay during this pre-order stage, or after your product arrives, you will need to contact their Customer Service team to see what policies may be in place. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact Customer Service with any questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by using the social media links this company has posted on their Indiegogo page.

Competitors and Alternatives?

As this company itself has mentioned, there are many different hearing aids and hearing amplification devices available on the market at this time in a wide variety of price points. Customers will want to really understand the extent of their hearing issues before they can determine the best device for their needs.     

If you have any experience with the Olive Pro Hearing Aid, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

Olive Pro Hearing Aid Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Crappy Product, and No Support.
August 24, 2022
Junk. Don't waste your money. I was on their first preorder campaign. Waited for over a year to get them. Then there was no support. Then when it came to their phone app, it was a joke. Again, no support, and upgrades to their app. So they ended up not working. Was told that I had to purchase newer model. WRONG. THESE AND THE COMPANY ARE JUNK.

waste of time and money
April 11, 2022
Cheaper better earbuds are available. A lot of noise and certainly not useful for anything other than the phone. Disappointed. They have a new one out looks like a bit of a scam really

OLIVE WORKS FOR ME
February 5, 2021

The key to good hearing is to modulate the frequency received to match the wave lengths you need to have enhanced or suppressed.

I have purchased three different "cheap" hearing aids for a nominal total investment an the Olive is the only one I find that can adjust the frequencies. I have no knowledge about how this feature compares with the high end ($4,000 - $6,000) "professional grade" earpieces.

Some university or other "unbiased" lab should do blind testing of the variants that are coming onto the market.

My olive pairs flawlessly and the calibration feature seems to work fine. I would buy the olive pro if others would give it an ok rating.

Mine also works fine as a remote blue tooth receiver for sound emitted by my smart phone when my earbud is connected to my phone. That was an unexpected benefit.

LucMarcil August 26, 2021

I have received my pair of Olive Pro yesterday (August 25, 2021) and tested them right away. I have been wearing them for about 4 hours yesterday. I recharged them last night and have been wearing them for 8 hours continuously today. I have also had the Hear One and IQBuds 2Max.

I also tried an $8,000 pair of in-ear hearing aids about 7 or 8 years ago, which I totally disliked as the sound I heard was tinny and unrealistic, not to mention the outrageous price. I had to pay $500 just to try these abominations.

I have to say that I am utterly impressed with the Olive Pro so far. It amplifies the sounds that I'm having a problem hearing sufficiently well and the sound is very realistic, with little distortion. I took a phone call and listened to music and movies (on my IPad Pro) with them and, as we say, so far, so good. And at $299 US, you can't go wrong with the Olive Pro.

Olive hearing aids - don’t waste your money
October 17, 2019

Olive hearing aids

I ordered the product, waited over a year. When they came the documentation was poor. I used them for a month. Battery life was never more than six hours. After a month one unit was down to two hours battery life, the other, four. Charging was sketchy...hit or miss. Sound quality was poor...no adjustment ever got it to usable. They are lying in a drawer...for almost a year. I would take $50 for the pair, but hate to rip off an unsuspecting soul.

Customer Service...non-responsive...non-existent!

You get what you pay for...and sometimes...NOT! I bought a quality pair of professionally made hearing aids...$6000...could not be happier.

Ray

Worthless
May 2, 2019
Never, ever able to get the things to pair with the ap, so essentially worthless. Utter waste of money.

It's ok, not great.
February 10, 2019
I did get mine finally after a long wait. Battery life is only about 4 hours, it's best for a little boost when I'm watching TV and things like that. It also occasionally quits and needs reset at around the two hour mark.

Waste of money
December 29, 2018
Having waited over a year for them to arrive, could not get them to work properly and the backup support is nonexistent

This is a disturbing product
December 27, 2018
Just received my Olive after months of waiting. Have been trying to get it to work unsuccessfully. It does work on my IPhone but only has a headset earpiece. It does not work as a hearing aid. I hate to say it but I think its useless..... The hearing test to set up the earpiece does not respond back to the earpiece. I feel very stupid after paying for this.

LONG WAIT FOR SOMETHING THAT DOES NOT WORK
December 7, 2018
I just want to say that these people don't seem to really have any professionalism in regard to design, manufacture, or customer service.

Waste of Money
December 3, 2018
Makes very little hearing improvement and almost impossible to maintain connection. Awful product

Can’t review what you don’t have
September 30, 2018
Ordered Dec. 2016 and still don’t have it even though they say they have shipped them all. It is now Sept. 30th, 2018l

Huge Disappointment
September 14, 2018

I waited well over a year to receive my Olive, but I was willing to wait because I wanted to support the ambitious goals of this start-up. I finally received it about a week ago and immediately went to work setting it up for my husband, who has pretty bad hearing loss. The Olive pretty much completely failed to work for him. More frustrating still, I received no response from the company when I tried to contact them about determining how to address the problem we were experiencing.

These are huge, and bluetooth connectivity needs improvement
September 6, 2018

There are some really neat features on these, such as the recharging case and the accompanying smartphone app, which provides a hearing test so you can tune your device(s).

The downside to their bluetooth connectivity is that even though you can pair two Olives with your phone, only one unit plays sound from the phone.

And like I said - these things are HUGE. It's like wearing a sign saying "Hard of Hearing."

BruceShapiro September 19, 2018

I have 2 on order for Nov 2018. Can you elaborate please? I have an extra android box to pair the 2nd ear, will that work?

DickYoung September 19, 2018

I have two Olives paired with an iPhone 6s. When the Olives are connected to the phone and I play music or a podcast, the audio comes through only one of the Olives. If I turn that Olive off, the audio switches pretty seamlessly to the other ear. When I asked Olive tech support about this, they confirmed that Olives aren't stereo. As for your proposal with the extra android box, I have no idea if that will work.. You'll have to ask Olive about that, and good luck getting an answer. I asked a question 2 weeks ago and I'm still waiting for a response.

Poor delivery & customer communication
August 14, 2018

Paid 3/2018 for 6/2018 delivery.

They stated some remanufacturing was needed; slight delay.

Shipped (allegedly) in Late June/Early July ... said to wait 2 weeks before emailing for info. Come 2 weeks and no package, they finally replied that the shipment was held up in LAX awaiting customs review. Another 8 days, and it's still not here, with no email followups.

Can't review what you don't receive ....

JohnnyMiullo August 17, 2018

They said that the while giant shipment for redistribution throughout the USA they labelled them as Medical Devices. They are NOT medical devices and are only Personal Hearing Amplifiers. This has caused a major hold up in Customs and they are probably experiencing a GIANT import fee that they had not anticipated. Curious to see how they will handle it if, of course, they actually shipped the product.

BruceShapiro September 19, 2018

I have 2 on order for Nov 2018. Can you elaborate.

Per the website, they are true hearing aids not amplifiers. Is this not true?

DickYoung September 19, 2018

I've had other hearing aids, and these appear to be true hearing aids, not simple amplifiers. There are a number of tweaks you can apply to them using the smartphone app, which you can't usually do with amplifiers. I also was affected by the Customs delay, but I did get the Olives in late August 2018. One Olive and dock are defective, and I'm waiting to hear back from Olive so I can return them - but they're working through a list of over 1000 help tickets, so I'm not expecting a response any time soon. To be honest, I don't think I'll ever hear back from them, because I don't think they want to refund any money or replace any faulty products. I suspect that this company isn't really ready for prime time, but that's the nature of indiegogo, right?

8 months late
August 4, 2018
I ordered my prototype in 9/17, with delivery on 12/17. It is now 8/18 and there is no product. I know this is a start up, but they said it was shipped in June.

DennisMichael August 25, 2018

Just received mine today, and I am quite impressed. I recognize that I have a learning curve here, but following their test and setup procedure, I found that I had increased hearing acuity at the particular frequencies at which my hearing is deficient. The effect is that you do not have that "Everything is Amplified" effect, but actually you might wonder if it is working, until you hear a conversation with clarity that you would not have heard before. My wife is floored. Yeah, it took a long time to get it, but now that it's here, so far, so good.

BillConlan September 20, 2018

My impression of the Olive hearing aid is that it's "not yet ready for prime time."

I really like the rechargeable feature and the phone connectability/control.

My first problem was that none of the ear piece adapters were a good fit. It would seem that my ear openings are smaller than the maker anticipated. I did find an adapter from another hearing product that seemed to be a better fit. I still feel uneasy with the fit, though, since the Olive seems precariously close to falling out.

The second problem I've had is with "pairing" to my iPhone. My phone will connect on Bluetooth but fails to "pair" with the Olive. It seems to me that the Olive app could be modified to make the connection between the Olive and the phone an automatic operation at power-up.

I've set my Olive aside for now, until I can gather the motivation I need to try the startup procedure again.