My Vanilla Debit Card Reviews

My Vanilla Debit Card
( 48 reviews )

About My Vanilla Debit Card

My Vanilla Debit Card is a prepaid Visa card which is described as a positive alternative to traditional debit cards due to its ability to help you budget your spending and protect you from fraud and identity theft.

A traditional debit card is issued by your bank and linked directly to your checking account. A prepaid card only gives you access to the funds you directly place in your card’s account – there is no link to bank accounts and personal information.

This helps prevent identity theft and fraud, as people who find or steal your card cannot use it as a way to get unlimited access to your money or identifiable information.

In addition, controlling the amount of money you place on a prepaid card forces you to adhere to a planned budget, as the card will not allow you to make any purchases that go beyond the money that has been preloaded onto the card. 

 

Also, Vanilla Debit Card is not limited because it is a prepaid card; the website says that it can be used wherever Visa is accepted, which they say is millions of retail stores worldwide, as well as online retailers and available for use in over one million ATMs.

Ordering the card requires no credit checks or upfront fees. All you need to do is fill out a simple form providing your name, street address, date of birth, and other information for identification purposes.

Your card will arrive in 7 to 10 days and can be activated and set up with your personal PIN online or over the phone. There are no fees required to purchase the card, but each time you load money onto it using their Vanilla Reload Network you will be charged a flat fee of $3.95.

There are limitations of how much money can be loaded onto the card during specific time periods, and a maximum of $400 per day can be withdrawn from the ATM.

If you have any experience with My Vanilla Debit Card, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

48 ‘My Vanilla Debit Card ’ Reviews
  • Sort Reviews By:

My vanilla sux
May 11, 2020
Had $140refunded to my card 3 weeks ago and $35 has been taken offwith no explanation where it went . Since then my card has been diactivated and no one has answered the phone in 3 weeks .i cant't sign in my account because they have changed my cvv # on the back of my card . Its bull crap and i hope kharma bits a big plug out of there ass.

MY VANILLA CARD THIEVES
February 8, 2020

THEY STEAL THE MONEY FROM YOUR CARD BY CHARGING A MONTHLY INACTIVITY FEE OF $3.95 PER MONTH!

YOU ARE UNABLE TO USE THE CARD FOR AWHILE AND THEN YOU FIND OUT YOUR GIFT CARD HAS BEEN CHARGED $3.95 FOR EACH OF THE LAST 6 MONTHS! GIFT CARD JOKE!!! THIEVES'

Awful company to do business with
October 15, 2019
The worst reloadable debit card on the market, I put a hundred dollars on a card. I went online to activate, answered all questions correctly. They asked overbearing questions for identity verification. After forty-five minutes of this ridiculous circular questioning, we finally decided to call them on the phone. The first person on the phone could barely comprehend the English language, after a half-hour of incompetence and them not being able to solve the problem we got the next person up the chain. We were informed that they could not verify who we were with their identity system, even after all questions were answered correctly. I asked what would be necessary to use the debit card that I had put one-hundred dollars on. Another half-hour pf phone time they informed me that I had to send them a color picture of my social security card, my driver's license, a bank statement or a utility bill, and a copy of the receipt from when the debit card was purchased. I emailed them the requested information but they could not confirm receipt of said information after another half-hour on the phone. I had to wait three to five business days for them to process the information. #MyVanillaCard sucks!

Horrible experience
August 30, 2019

Was given the card as a gift....my company actually purchased quite a few as gifts...and lo and behold after using the card it was compormised and someone purchased multiple gift cards.

When calling CS....nightmare!

I am so dissapointed in the customer service, the need for inappropriate personal information as well as NO timely resolution if I will even see the money back. I will be alerting my staff to NOT purchase these cards as gifts and will alert in any reviews available to NOT purchase these cards. In fact I am going to the facility where my staff purchased and asking them to NOT stock ( Kroger) due to ease of compromise and poor service.

Huge Scam! They just steal your money!
November 6, 2018
I was given a $100 Vanilla Gift card from my dad for my birthday. Within a week of receiving it, someone from FL (I live in TX) stole the info and used it to pay their utility bill, but I didn't know about it until a couple of months later because I hadn't used it yet. Once I figured out it was stolen I immediately called and tried disputing it. For some reason I wasn't receiving the form and after 2 months I FINALLY received it. about 2 weeks later I received a letter in the mail saying that there was nothing they could do because I didn't file the dispute within 2 months of it being stolen, even though I didn't know it was stolen until after. Everyone I talked to was super sweet and helpful except the supervisor. She was rude and could care less that my dad’s hard earned money was stolen and just kept saying they weren't going to help me. DO NOT PURCHASE THEIR CARDS!!!

Vanilla Scam
September 26, 2018

PLEASE! PLEASE! DO NOT purchase a Vanilla debit card. (Mastercard). I loaded $100 on my card on Friday. I made a $8 dollar purchase on Monday. On Tuesday morning my remaining balance on the card reflected only $6 left on the card. I called

the 800#. Customer service was not helpful at all.

I was told that I would receive an email with a dispute form to fill out and send back to them. I have received nothing. Maybe it's worth the missing $92 to never be bothered with them again. A well learned lesson.

Reloadable Card that cannot be reloaded
June 26, 2018
I bought this card today. Was trying to register it on the website and got the notice that my identity cannot be verified. I filled up the information to the T including address (exactly as described on my government issued ID). Attempted for three times and kept getting the same message. I called the Customer care and was told that three times was the limit on registration attempt and my card won't be able to be registered again (which means I'll have to use it as a non-reloadable card which beat the purpose of me purchasing it). Suffice to say I was lashing it out on the Customer Care and asked why there was no warning about the limit of three attempts. Also I filled up the correct information so it wasn't my fault. Got transferred to the supervisor and she provided no solution either except to just use up the card and throw it away. Never again.

Money was stolen from my Vanilla Visa gift card - scam
June 13, 2018

A gift card for $200 was received from a friend of an ill family member, which matters only in that the person who sent it is also ill and it really pisses me off to think she got scammed by this company. I used the card for gas and food at merchants, not online and I did not go through the procedures to use it at online merchants. Within 24 hours of the initial purchases, the remained of the card was stolen. The charge was made in the wee hours of the morning and neither I nor the customer service agent at Vanilla had any idea who the cryptically named merchant is.

I was told the same things other customers are told with this company, that they are very sorry and have no idea what happened. Then they offer to "help" by taking personal information from you and promising to send some documents via email that you must fill out and return to them. AND you will have to wait 90 days for an answer as to whether they will return your money or not. Hmm...From all the bad reviews I read today, it seems that no one ever gets that money back. I'll be happy to update this review if I ever see the $120 again.

They want your info for identity theft, they lie aboiut being a 'virtual bank,' they're NOT!!
March 24, 2018
I just got scammed by My Vanilla Visa too. Identity theft is their only game, I wasn't allowed to put money on my card through my bank, after Vanilla told me to, now they have all my key questions and answers to identify me anywhere and there was nothing I could do about it except cancel the activated card that never got a dollar put on it and pray there are no repercussions. They sure sweet talk you like they're going to help until they have got what they wanted and you feel like you have just been raped, but that's life online, sooner or later you're bound to get scammed, right?

Alice June 06, 2018

I never got to put the money on the card -- I only got the card because I supposedly could put money on it through a store here, but the store said no, we don't do that. So my bank transfer was refused so the bank never got to pay the money out, and I ended up getting a different card called VISA Ace Elite, which I am happy with. This one DOES have a store I can load it at, that's all I wanted, something simple that just works.

Sad we have to waste so much time getting lied to and scammed over what should be a simple service.

Teriona June 05, 2018

Did you get your money back ? I’m having a similar issue

SCAM? Prepaid My Vanilla MasterCard
February 19, 2018

Bought the card had to put $20 on it. Then went to register said they couldn't confirm his identity (boyfriend). So we call them they say that he's entering wrong address. Which it was correct then they go on and say is it the same address as it is on your ID he says no so they say to confirm they need that address ( Which is old as crap) don't know why they needed that specific address anyway.

Anyways, we made sure they updated our new address to mail out permanent card so at the end of the call she says well receive our card in 5-10 business days & to make an online account (this call was about an hour long) horrible. So we wait and it has been over 2 weeks! So we call back the lady says they sent it to the address on ID and no other address was on file BS!

So they fix it and say they are sending it again. Blah blah. So we go to use the temporary that has the original 20 on it and it DECLINED due to wrong pin as did the online account couldn't register online either so he had to call back once AGAIN!

The problems fixed now BUT we made a mistake of e-filing with this acct before finding out this company is garbage so now were scared their going to keep it or take a thousand years to post our money from the IRS. So PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS CARD.

Teriona June 05, 2018

Did you get your money back ? I’m having a similar problem

My vanilla sign in
February 16, 2018
Really bad application. I needed to change my password and it asked for my security questions, so everything is fine so far, I answered the questions and it acted like it was going to let me change it so I could get into my account and it wouldn't let me after I completed all my information correctly, online is a sham. It will only frustrate you

Pretty good
December 27, 2017
I don't know why this card has so many bad reviews I got one a few days ago and it is great.

Website And Packaging is Misleading
December 25, 2017
On the website if you look at their "TryVanilla" section it will show that BOTH OneVanilla & MyVanilla can be used at ATMs but it you go their "Help" section it will say no.

Playing with people's money.
May 5, 2017

Bought a MyVanilla card to use on vacation used it at a hotel for a $100.00 deposit,hotel said in 7 to 10 days you get it back ( Nope ) it's been two weeks and no money called them to find out why and they told me it's a month.Then they told me to have hotel fax transaction to them and I can get it in 24 hours but hotel does not do this for security reasons because they done had trouble before so they stopped doing it. Plus the charge was more than the $100.00 and they said they didn't know why that it was the hotel that was a lie hotel shows the $100.00 only.

If you are gonna get one of these cards I would advise against it.

Waste time card
April 22, 2017

I bought two card from onevanilla Master card for my online shopping, and first I think this card can solve the problem in online shopping, then I understood I am wrong, and I lost three deals , even after contacting to operator and support center, The interesting thing is in online web site still after 24 hours the website is in maintenance and do not respond.

For my online shopping I need to wait for one week!!!!!!!! and can you imagine if they sell a debit card and stop one week how much money will be in account with lot of profit for owner and lost for customer.

No any thank you for this card

ONE VANILLA DEBIT CARDS ARE SCAMS
April 11, 2017
LAST WEEK I WAS ON MY CELL PHONE SEARCHING 2 PORN SITES.. MESSAGE CAME UP SAYING MY PHONE IS LOCKED UP UNTIL I PAY $ 500 WITH A -- ONE VANILLA DEBIT CARD. TOLD ME TO BUY IT AND ENTER THE CARD DATA ON THE PHONE TO UNLOCK IT.. SAID IF I DON'T PAY THE FEE WILL BE $ 1,500 IN 3 DAYS.. I INVESTIGATED THIS and DISCOVERED THAT -- INCOMM -- IN ATLANTA MARKETS THE CARD.. ALL -- EVERY ---ONE VANILLA DEBIT CARDS ARE SCAMS.. I FILED A CRIMINAL COMPLAINT AGAINST THE INCOMM COMPANY and FILED A CRIMINAL COMPLAINT WITH THE U.S. ATTORNEY GENERAL.. ASKED HIM TO HAVE THE FBI and IRS TAKE THEIR COMPUTERS, DOCUMENTS, RECORDS and PHONES TOO. INCOMM CAN EXPECT A CRIMINAL RICO PROSECUTION FOR RUNNING CRIMINAL ENTERPRISE.. I'M GONNA HAVE -- THE WALL STREET JOURNAL -- DO AN ARTICLE ABOUT THE ONE VANILLA DEBIT CARD. I INTEND TO SHUT THEM DOWN !!!!! ANY QUESTIONS ??? REPLY AND I WILL RESPOND..

Dori B February 23, 2018

Is this review even for real?! You are kidding right?? Lol I hate this MyVanilla card. And I would love for you to shut them down, but your review is very sketchy.... are you on meth bro??

What the hell?
March 3, 2017

Check. The info. On the card. Before you purchase!

It's not like a "true" gift card where you can let it sit on a shelf for awhile. It's like one of those greendot Visa cards. If you weren't paying attention it's easy to get mixed up, and a lot of vendors just like to throw them all on the same rack and it confuses their customers. I wish it was made a lot more obvious.

I thought it was just a mere gift card at first, but saw I was able to register and even open an online bank account, I was pleasantly surprised because I needed something like that! I was lucky enough to not have any problems with the new card, either, and I've had my account for a year.

4 stars, though, because they do charge you $0.50 cents per transaction. I'm in the process of checking out other online banks, like Simple or Ally.

SEEMS LIKE A SCAM!
February 23, 2017
I purchased a starter card then went on to register for a personalized card. Once it came to my home I couldn't activate it online because it said the pin number was incorrect, so i called and customer service said that the address i gave them is incorrect, the same address they mailed my card to. They told me that the only way i could activate or cancel this card was to fax or email them a copy of my drivers licence, something with my address on it and a copy of my social security card. I told her i wasn't sending copies of my personal information to you and to have a nice day. It seems a little shady to me!

Bola de ratas
February 18, 2017

La tarjeta se la regalaron a mi hijo en enero 2017 con $100 dólares y la reviso para usarla y todo bien, gasto $9 dólares, se supone que le quedaban $91 dolares.... hasta que quiso usarla por segunda vez y según ya tenía $0.00 dolares. Revisamos en internet y según se gasto en 2016 de abril. Como puede ser que se compro en el 2017 y en su "sistema" se compro casi un año antes y ya no tiene saldo?!

Y ni hablar del servicio al cliente que es tiempo perdido aparte de que piden información confidencial, yo creo que para seguir robandoles ahora la identidad, porque si son tarjetas de "regalo" para que piden seguro social o identificación?

Vola de ratas!!!!

Como sigue una compañía de ladrones en negocio y nadie hace nada? Como compañías de renombre las venden como Walmart? Es un SCAM total que reportare al BBB y donde más se pueda reportar, no las compren gente!!!!!!!!!!!!

The worst Debit Visa ever! Do not waste your time or money !!!! Bb
December 1, 2016

I received the MyVanilla Debit Visa from a friend for my birthday nine months ago. . I was a bit skeptical when I learned I had to register the card and provide pertinent information, nonetheless I went on to do so. Beforehand I read a few reviews which were NOT favorable. Then I called Customer Service to ask questions and gain more information. Eventually, I used my CC in the store to make a purchase and a week later I tried later I tried to do a transaction online which did not go thru. I called Customer Service today only to discover that $25 of my $200 Debit Visa has been used up in fees. I spoke with the supervisor Laura who didn't give a damn and said "it is what it is". I've been charged $3.95 since June because the card was dormant for 90 days plus .50 cent transaction fee on top of my recent purchase. Do not buy, use or support MyVanllla! They're a fraud, fake and phoney when it comes to "Terms and Agreements". Having said that, it's only my opinion.

Brad c December 25, 2016

i bought $150 myvanilladebit card for my son. he decided it was not smart to enter his personal info including ss number so it sits unused in a drawer. what a waste of $150 plus the purchase fee. i DO NOT recommend myvanillasdebit card at all.