MeWe Social Network Reviews

MeWe Social Network
( 24  Reviews )

Website:   www.MeWe.com


Write a Review

About MeWe Social Network

MeWe is a social network that aims to provide their customers with all the benefits of traditional social networks, but without any of the “creepy” data collection and “spying”. 

How Does It Work?

According to their website, the creators of the MeWe said that they were upset that the big technology companies and social networks were treating their users and customers as commodities. They believed that it was wrong that they thought they were welcome to “target, track, spy, and sell” customer information to advertisers and the government.

They wanted to create a social network that provided all the benefits that people wanted from a social network, but where they could feel truly safe and respected, so they created what they call the world’s first private communication network. 

Their social network allows members to share photos, videos, documents, to chat, voice message, privately message, and more. Customers are also welcome to invite and manage their contacts from other social networks like Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn. 

They do require that all members be over the age of 13, which is required by The Children's Online Privacy Protection Act (COPPA), and they do ask members to state their gender, but all members are welcome to “Decline To State” if they choose.

Cost/Price Plans

This company promises that this social network is completely free to join and free to use, and they promise that they will never sell any of your information to advertisers or marketing agencies the way other similar social networks do in order to earn money.

Instead, their website says that they make money “the same way offline companies have always made money,” by offering their customers optional services that people will only pay for if they actually opt-in to them. 

These paid-for services will include additional data storage, private group applications, the ability to print your photos, and other choices for entertainment. 

Refund Policy

Because using this social network is completely free of charge at this time unless customers choose to upgrade to different paid services, this company likely does not provide their customers with a standard Refund Policy. If you do choose to upgrade to one of their paid features or subscriptions, you should take the time at that point to see what kinds of cancellation policies are available to their customers, and of course at any time if you feel like an error has occurred you should contact their Customer Service team right away.  

Reputation

It appears that most people are happy with this social network and speak highly of them. The bottom line appears to be that they offer the same features and expectations that people have become used to from the more popular social networks, with the added benefit of privacy and protection from the data collection and marketing information that is used by almost every other social network product.

The one complaint that appeared common simply has to do with the fact that this social network is so new that members were having trouble getting other people to sign on and use this network the way they use more common social networks like Facebook. Since the larger social networks already have such large followings, it may take awhile for this smaller and newer network to catch up.  

Competitors and Alternatives?

Most people are aware that there many different social networks available for people, and that there are many different options depending on the type of social interaction you are hoping to have, so customers looking for alternatives to MeWe should be able to find many different options.

If you have experience with MeWe Social Network or their products please leave your reviews below.

24 ‘MeWe Social Network’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

MeWe is completely unresponsive to login problems

November 16, 2020

I have two accounts on MeWe, the first one I created in '18 and I became locked out because I logged out and was not able to log in with the password I had just set, I tried to use the password reset mechanism, both the text message and the email, and got no response to either, no login code in text and no reset link in email.

I tried a few times but gave up, as you can only access the "support" page by logging in. I created a new account earlier this year, and have had the same problem, still showing up on both accounts. I did manage to get a text message the day after requesting one, but by then it had expired.

Fortunately I wasn't gullible enough to sign up for their "premium" account for a recurring $5/month charge.

This is not a good company to deal with, and I strongly recommend not using their app and website.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Just getting started

November 11, 2020

Good site. Will get better. Anything is better than the censoring Facebook platform.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Boomercore Social Media for Normies

October 30, 2020

Ngl. This sucked. The lack of people in it is its worst problem IMO. It seems all groups are very generic and not niche at all; and in those groups, it's practically a ghost town, except for like one person who makes 30 posts, one every single day of the month, with it hardly having anything to do with the topic of said group.

In conclusion... eh.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

10liltpes

October 29, 2020

I had an account, and it was boring. The people who contacted me were boring. People with nothing to say. And every time some one wanted to 'friend'me on MeWe, I was contacted by email.
Not user friendly either.

I am on Vero-True Social which is a much better platform. Photos look better there than on Instagram. There is no algorithm, fake ads, no selling my information,etc.

MeWe sucks!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

reported posts

October 5, 2020

I posted that my profile, my contacts, my posts and my groups disappeared after posting a rather raw post in a danke group. I believe I have it figured out. There is a rumor that MeWe is in serious financial trouble.

If someone reports a post the powers that be at MeWe simply delete the persons entire existence on MeWe rather than just removing the post and perhaps warning the user. They no longer have the staff or resources to investigate post reports, they simply delete the persons entire existence on MeWe.

Be careful people. One day soon, maybe weeks or months MeWe will just go away in a puff of smoke.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

I was able to create an account, BUT...

June 29, 2020

I was able to create an account. BUT, I had to do it on my I-Phone. Call me old fashioned or just OLD if you wish, but I don't use my phone for social networking. My thumbs are too fat and my eyes can't read the fine print.

So when I tried to log in with my laptop and the same info that created the account, I could not. It is obviously a browser or windows version problem. BUT, the BIGGER problem is that there is no way to connect with anybody or anything at MeWe about the problem!

Waddup wit dat?

July 29, 2020

I created my mewe account on my Dell Optiplex 755 MiniTower PC, sometime prior to November (when my PC died). I do not recall any difficulties doing so, other than maybe a retarded captcha. I have noticed that the Firefox browser (version 52.4.0 on XP Pro) pitches a fit on this site...considering the Mozilla Mothership is leftist controlled, I guess this is no surprise. For me the firefox derivative 'Mypal' works.

Comment on this review...

A Great Alternative To Facebook

February 22, 2020

When I initially checked MeWe out I was wary; would it be "different yet the same" as Facebook, or would it be a place to find like-minded (or differently-minded if that's your thing) people that focused on privacy? I have since found the latter to be true.

One thing I think people should remember is that MeWe is relatively new and growing, and still has things to learn and to implement. With time, I can see it developing into an entity that can give Facebook some serious competition. Already it has an impressive number of members.

MeWe has an excellent ToS (a B rating at ToS;DR which might be an "A" except for the fact that the folks at ToS;DR haven't yet reviewed the entirety of MeWe's ToS. More here: https://tosdr.org/.

Signing up for MeWe is no more difficult nor complicated than any other social media site (contrary to some of the complaints here). As I mentioned elsewhere in these reviews, if you take time to ensure that you are inputting your information correctly and follow instructions it is very easy. Myriad people have successfully signed up.

There are so many groups available at MeWe that virtually anyone will be able to find a group that interests them. Not censored (except for those in violation of just about everything decent and good, i.e., pedophilia), people are free to post about what they want and engage with like-minded people on every level.

If you are tired of being unfairly policed at FB but still having to see content that *should* be policed, having to comply with their truly egregious ToS (an "F" rating on ToS;DR), and their sneaky way of doing things ("suggested content" or subliminal persuasion?) give MeWe a try. Let's make them #1 so Facebook has less power.

View all 2 Comments
February 22, 2020

Facebook sucks, but it's better than the sewer that is MeWe. In addition to the content issues, the swamp gremlins that inhabit it, and all the other problems that come with a "I'm a poor special snowflake who got chased off of Facebook" social network, it's got a number of technical problems.

If there's a Facebook alternative out there, this certainly isn't it.

February 23, 2020

I love MeWe, I've been there a few years now and it just keeps improving :)

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

I am not sure about MeWe after 4 months of use...

November 13, 2019

MeWe as a platform performs OK but for a Business Page platform it needs a lot of design alterations! I have given a lot of feedback to Mewe but they never reply with a personal message, ever!

Business Page Logos and Page Title overlap the Banner leaving no room for an attractive or useful promo banner. The Page dimensions are not published anywhere either so its near impossible to make it fit perfectly.

They also have a grey blend over the banner for no reason I can see except to make the Page title stand out. It's a real mess and they make you pay for a Page for this crap! Seriously other than that it seems ok.

I see web builders warning us of MeWe as it still seems to collect data to be resold. You cant't trust anyone online these days

View all 3 Comments
December 07, 2019

Mewe is a scam and ran by group of Liers. How many websites you know of without a correct or real contact listing (email/phone/links/etc//)?mewe email address on google play store most likely fake. I've had 5 different accounts hacked, tampered with, and Completely Disappear. And pop back on months later. Now all 5 email accounts and passwords or"Not Found". Can't contact them so who knows what happened to all of them? Remember he bragged about military encryption? By who, Legos toys?

February 22, 2020

MeWe is not a "scam", Adder, nor is it "ran by a group of Liers" (sic). If your accounts truly were "hacked, tampered with", etc. it may have been a PICNIC rather than some nefarious plot by MeWe. Many, many people successfully use the site with no problem. Perhaps it just isn't for you.

(FYI, "...ran..." should have been "...run...", and "...Liers" should have been "...liars". You don't want to start a sentence with a conjunction (i.e., "and"). Also, unless something is a title it should not be capitalized unless it appears at the beginning of a sentence. Finally, it is always a good idea to proof what you write before you post it, checking grammar, spelling and punctuation. If you want people to take you seriously, posting as you did won't get you there. I added this little segment not to call you out, but to attempt to teach you something so next time you might not look so ignorant).

February 23, 2020

I find it displays normally on mobile, and on desktop with Opera, Firefox and Chrome. It might depend on the browser.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Gasp of freedom

April 15, 2019

After i was banned from all major social networks because of my convictions, ( I am jewish immigrant from former USSR), being on MeWe is like escaping from USSR communist regime 2nd time in my life. Screw them. With all little inconveniences, MeWe , GAB and others are our way to be free again.

View all 4 Comments
June 26, 2019

Joined MeWe in January 2019. Liked the features that were similar to Facebook without the ads. A little glitchy at times but still was a better alternative to Facebook at the time I joined.

However, after having a community (MeWe’s definition for groups) created and established with over 100 active members, the group simply disappeared. POOF! Gone. All the hours my admin team put in to establishing relationships with our members was taken away in an instance. I made several attempts to get support on the issue over a week’s time with no resolution. As a result, our members thought that we personally removed them from the group without warning. Other members admitted the same had happened to groups they created as well so it wasn’t a one-time fluke.

In conclusion, MeWe is not mature enough to handle the amount of users and activity from its recent growth over the past year so don’t get too comfortable in a community, it could vanish at any time without a trace. I’ve since deleted my account and the app. ~ Extremely Disappointed Ex-MeWe Community Owner

July 04, 2019

For the person who bailed so soon, that shows me you are not a smart business person knowing a young company faces a lot of growing pains. FB is banking on people like you that are third inning ball players.

FOX has shown what happens to a lone crusader if they stay the course and thank God for that however as seasoned as they are still fight daily to get the message out, because of the Beasts out there bringing down our country that have covertly gotten into every aspect of our lives.

So for me, anyone who is trying to change this nightmare we are in, and give us our rights deserves me to stay the course as long as they do with positive reinforcement and see what I can bring to the part , NOT take away from it.

February 22, 2020

Deni, of course MeWe will experience some growing pains; it is a great alternative to Facebook and they probably didn't expect such an influx of new users within the time frame they did. Given a little more time to incorporate better functionality, MeWe might have offered you a more than satisfactory experience.

People giving up on emerging entities like MeWe without allowing them time to resolve issues relative to growth is why some new things like MeWe fail. Next time, you might be a bit more patient.

July 29, 2020

Not to mention it takes more than a week most times to implement changes in the programs used. And, "no response" from the staff for some time is also nothing new. Perhaps they do not have the staff to handle "complaints" yet, perhaps they are still new enough they need to look for more staff. What ever the case may be, it is entirely possible that they are just, at this time, over worked and can not reply as fast. In fact, an example here. I have written Microsoft many times, asked many questions regarding there programs and most of the time, I do NOT revive a reply from them for over a week and that is IF they do in fact reply. Many times, they do not. That goes for almost any entity I have dealt with and there are many. Be patient!!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Great Alternative

March 18, 2019

I love it. It's a slightly different format than FB was and I've had to learn to navigate it, but once I spent a day doing so, I was hooked.

I love the groups that can be formed and how the interaction is so comfortable and the fact that the group names are easy to find, listed right on your Home Page. You can either Chat with the group or use the Group Page, with slightly different interfaces, which I had to learn about.

But over all, I'm really glad to have this and hope with all my heart it takes off. I was more bummed with the criteria of the political censoring FB did than the actual privacy issues (though that bothered me, too), but I admit having an ad-free venue is wonderful.

Mewe seems to show everything you post, as well, unlike FB's arbitrary selections they posted.

View all 2 Comments
September 07, 2019

I belong to a Private' group on FB. The owner, and members, finally got sick of posts being deleted, members in jail, etc. and recreated it here. The crazy thing is one guy copy/pasted a liberal sites post from weeks ago. FB promptly put him in jail for 24 hrs!

February 23, 2020

The groups in MeWe are SO much more functional. I have a group with a few hundred members and I find it far more engaging as well as pleasing to look at.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Holy crap! So much hate

January 23, 2019

Facebook is gross, but I've been there long enough to block most of the alt-right Nazis

View all 4 Comments
March 18, 2019

Sure, there's hate, like shows up all over the web, but you can block it. There's also love and compassion. I've had to learn to overlook the negative with most of my web interactions.

April 07, 2019

go back to facebook then.

May 30, 2019

Haven't you ever heard the term, "Sticks and stones, may break my bones, but words will never hurt me?" You don't want to hear something, then you move on, and ignore them. Let them live with the 'hate' that you think you are hearing, and don't make it about yourself.

July 04, 2019

I run 5 groups and my groups are under attack not by the fowl mouth trolls against this country, but by FB itself. I get banned, blocked, limited to post at least once a week.. sometimes for a word, or a article that is on FOX saying they fact checked it and I am spreading lies? So I get blamed for their not approving of a legit news article, and it goes even further. Owning these groups I have to interact, and if I post more than 5 time in a hour I am blocked for abusing the posting terms huh?

They look for any reason to build a case, and have closed over 500 of our Conservative Private Groups. So Privacy means nothing they are commies and anyone who supports them needs a wake up call, or must post to their liking.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Mewe. com sucks. Impossible for me to sign up. Waste of time.

December 18, 2018

I downloaded the app but it would not accept my phone nor the verification.

View all 8 Comments
March 18, 2019

I'm sorry you experienced this. I use my computer and have had no problems at all.

April 16, 2019

I tried to sign up but was impossible. What do you want?? DNA as well? I heard Mewe was more on the conservative side but me thinks not

May 12, 2019

I tried to sign up, but it is impossible. They tell to check your email to validate your email, but never get anything from them to do so. And they tell you it was sent.

July 15, 2019

MeWe will attract the crazies that have already been blocked by FB. And the crazies these people and groups attract.

September 30, 2019

LMAO... This speaks volumes Larry McCool. "all the crazies that have already been blocked by FB"? You mean Conservatives or those that don't buy in to the liberal agenda? I was blocked twice by FB, for what they called "hate speech", yet they wouldn't, or couldn't explain what they were referring to. Yeah, it's "crazies" like me, that want to get away from anyone normal thinking, like you, that run to MeWe.

February 22, 2020

Giving them a rating of one star for what was most likely a PICNIC isn't exactly fair, Stephen. Nor is berating them, as others here have done, for not being able to sign up; MeWe is used by a very large number of people, most of whom were able to sign up with no problem at all.

Signing up was easy, and if you take time to read instructions and/or make sure you are doing it as required you should have no problem at all. It isn't rocket science/brain surgery/your favorite euphemism...

February 22, 2020

I don't know why people say that signing up for MeWe is "impossible". I signed up with no problem, as have many others. It might take reading instructions and some patience, but it is not difficult, much less impossible. If you don't get a validation e-mail, there might be a typo in an e-mail address you provided. If you take time to check what you type before you hit "submit", your problem may vanish. So many people give sites a bad rating when it wasn't the site but their own inability to take care when signing up...not exactly fair.

As far as MeWe attracting "crazies", as Larry McCool attests, "crazies" is a subjective term here; my guess is that Mr. McCool encountered people whose political outlook differed from their own. I don't mean "conservative", and I don't mean "liberal"; I mean different.

Though I definitely have political views that land on one side of the line, I appreciate respectful discourse with those of opposing views; engaging with people who see things differently has sometimes influenced my perspective and if nothing else, has provided a learning opportunity. Regardless of your political views, MeWe has something for everyone; perhaps Mr. McCool didn't give it enough of a chance to find like-minded people.

MeWe doesn't censor groups, and I have found groups representative of just about every political and/or ideological view you can imagine. Patience and exploration pay off...they are, after all, how much of human discovery has happened.

NOTE: I have tried to change my user name from the ridiculous default but it is still showing wrong. WTF?

February 23, 2020

More crazies on FB - but of course on MeWe you're going to run into those who are at MeWe with some sort of victim mentality about how silenced they were because their anti-vac stuff was deleted etc etc - but I still prefer MeWe

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

So much better than FascistBook!

December 7, 2018

It is absolutely refreshing to deal with adults again!

I am so TIRED of dealing with a Leftists Millennial cry babies who run to Daddy Zucker every time their feelings get hurt! They attack us, we tell them the TRUTH, they fight back with a "Meme" (seriously a Meme?) and because we hurt there feelings, and they have ZERO intellect, just feelings, they report us ANNNNNNNDDDDDDD Bam you are in F Jail!

It is a damn Joke!

We are dealing with a new Regime who are unable to deal with any type of dialog and it is sad! These Millennials have not been taught how to manage reality! The way they manage reality is to run and hide and cry!

On MeWe, I don't have to worry about dealing with a Whining Millennial. I go to my forums and I get to enjoy a decent, challenging intellectual dialog without some moron calling me names and throwing Meme's at me!

View all 7 Comments
January 23, 2019

Actually, Mark Zuckerberg is a staunch conservative. Most social media sites have begun cracking down on content that promotes violence and bigotry, and naturally Trump supporters are the ones having the most trouble with this.

March 02, 2019

If anything, it's the libtards who instigate quarrels with Trumpers in the threads then report them to the jerkoffs like Zuckerturd

April 09, 2019

I am so TIRED of dealing with a Fascist cry babies who run to Daddy Triump every time their feelings get hurt! They attack us, we tell them the TRUTH, they fight back with a "Meme" (seriously a Meme?) and because we hurt there feelings, and they have ZERO intellect, just feelings, they report us ANNNNNNNDDDDDDD Bam you are the subject of a 3am tweet rant from the whitehouse bathroom.

May 24, 2019

Is MeWe a right-wing haven, like this post implies?

May 24, 2019

So this is a haven for the far right? Shame... I like the 30-something crew.

July 04, 2019

It is a place to post without being singled out. If the right is choosing it there is good reason, but the left also has many groups and they also have safety in their opinions. So don't even go there Leslie

February 22, 2020

MeWe is NOT conservative, nor is it liberal...it is both, or neither. In other words, it doesn't cater to a specific political ideology. Those who say it does probably ran into someone of opposing political views and came here to air their erroneous opinion.

MeWe has something for everyone, and if you actually take time to look you can find much in alignment with your own perspective. Liberty Ncognito is right about Zuck being a far-right conservative, a fact easy to confirm online. MeWe is not a "right-wing haven" (nor is it a haven for the "libtards"...who comes up with these bullsh*t catchwords?).

Their ToS is outstanding (much, much better than the joke of a ToS that Facebook has). They don't seem to censor things unless they truly cross a line that can't be crossed (i.e., pedophilia, etc.), and anyone can create a group of any sort (unless pedo and the like).

Try MeWe and form your own opinion. Don't take the word of people here (including my own), see for yourself. I am happy with MeWe; they have myriad groups (some conservative, some liberal, some neutral) that are as varied and interesting as the people who create them.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Privacy Issues

November 30, 2018

I spent a short time trying to navigate the site, and discovered there was no way to make my profile or chats private and still be available to 'connect' (which is friending). It's sort of one or the other there, which I discovered by accident when I searched on a single word, and up popped my profile and a recent chat. Also, the groups! They should come with ratings or some kind of warning. I saw one, 'Adult Sharing.' Thinking, 'I'm an adult, let's see what this is about.' Bloody hell, it should have said, 'Swingers and Porn addicts, this way please.'

And because it seems to have so few safeguards or standards, my first introduction was to a con, someone masquerading as a military man. It took a few exchanges, but I realized he was a phony and between the lack of privacy, the absence of community standards and these parasites, I'm out.

View all 2 Comments
July 04, 2019

Report them. Of course freaks are going to take advantage of a new company like this. Help them help themselves..

February 22, 2020

Well said, E Marie Mellinkoff. Anyone encountering someone suspect should report them so MeWe can investigate and take appropriate action.

MeWe is new and growing, and can only be what we want them to be if they are helped by feedback and reporting.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

MeWe randomly deletes accounts

November 30, 2018

No reason, no warning. If the MeWe admins don't value your point of view, your login will be blocked and a "orget password" will yield an goofy "We're sorry but our website don't work right."

What an amateurish website.

This is a platform begging to annihilate its own purpose, the people. Beyond comprehension. Worse than Facebook... AND I DESPISE FACEBOOK!!! MeWe will be completely forgotten by 2020.

View all 5 Comments
January 31, 2019

I have trouble on Facebook where I make a comment on a post and if I use words that are the tiniest bit political the original post will disappear from my News Feed. If I go to the page the post came from and I try to comment there it disappears again. Facebook is garbage, but I like the format mostly.

July 04, 2019

This OP is not being honest. They do not . Why would they invest that kind of money just to be the opposite of what they want to be?

Not buying this AT ALL neither should anyone else but those hating people now have the right to speak freely with reasonable and common sense terms of use.

July 09, 2019

I'm with E Marie Mellinkoff here.

July 29, 2019

Yeah, the original poster is almost certainly lying.

February 22, 2020

MeWe was created to provide an alternative to the sort of practices that the OP says they engage in. As others have said, the OP is - for whatever reason - bull$h*tting us. I guess "Lucifer's Jizz Gargler" hasn't any basic understanding of how things work.

MeWe doesn't randomly delete posts nor censor things relative to political ideology. It is extremely unfortunate that people like Mr. Gargler are allowed to leave erroneous ratings like this...MeWe is good and getting better, and is much better than Facebook for many reasons.

Too bad ratings can't be reported to Reviewopedia; though everyone is entitled to their opinion, they should at least have some value and not be based on someone's inability to understand basic concepts. Just MY opinion...

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review