Lyft Reviews

Lyft
Based on 27  Reviews



Review It

About Lyft

Lyft is a mobile application which promotes and arranges something they refer to as “ride sharing,” and is ultimately intended to be a friendly and reliable alternative to traditional taxi cab rides.

Once you’ve downloaded this application to your Android or iPhone, you can use it to simply click and find a ride in your area to your next location, as long as it is during Lyft’s hours of operation. These hours will vary depending on the city you live in, but they do span the majority of the day regardless of the locations.

The drivers for Lyft are described as being friendly, community oriented people who volunteer their time and vehicles to this cause in exchange for “donations.” Lyft drivers must be at least 23 years of age and drive a car that is a year 2000 or newer, and in good working condition.

Drivers must be able to pass a phone screening, an in person meeting, and two different background checks, one DMV based and the other a basic background. Finally, drivers must have an Android phone or an iPhone so they can connect with their passengers through the application.

Once a driver has picked up a passenger and completed their ride, the passenger’s phone will beep with a message from the app, recommending a suggested donation. This donation is completely voluntary and be adjusted to be higher or lower than the suggested amount.

Lyft has strict policies about the behavior of both their drivers and their passengers. One way they ensure the respectful behavior of participants is to allow drivers to rate their passengers after every ride. Future drivers will be able to see these ratings before they accept a passenger.

Drivers will receive 80% of the donations from the passengers, and drivers will receive direct deposit payments into their accounts once a week. The website says that on average Lyft drivers will receive $35 per hour of work, and can choose their own hours.

If you have any experience with this company as a passenger or a ride, please leave your Lyft reviews below.

27 ‘Lyft’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

Scam Artists!!! Be AWARE!!



October1, 2015

Be aware: When you apply for a driver position, it's not enough that they collect ALL your sensitive information such as your SSN, home address, age, license number, date of birth, BUT BEFORE you are approved to be a driver, you have to meet with one of the "mentors", who will take photos of your drivers license, your insurance card, your face and your car. Even if you have a clear driving record and background (as I do), if doesn't mean they will approve you. So, I met with "mentor" on a parking lot of a small shopping plaza, he collected all the photos said above, and next day I received an email from Lyft that they decided NOT to move forward with my application. Also, before the meeting the mentor contacted me not with a real phone number, which I thought was a regular number, but through some virtual number that was disconnected next day when I wanted to ask him some questions. The point is that they got all my data, but I didn't even know the mentor's real phone. So, what is next? My identity fraud...? Does anybody know what is behind the Lyft..? Maybe, there is bunch of criminals who collect the data and sometimes let you slave for them? I don't want to sound paranoid, but the way all my data was taken by something named Lyft makes me worry. Also, when I asked the "mentor" how much they pay for per mile, he was not happy to tell that it's about $1.40, minus 20% of the Lyft's commission. He said that if you drive 8-10 hours per day for them, you are going to make about $100-150 a day. Is this OK with you??? They don't have any fixed transfers to airport as well. Where taxi charges $100 for the transfer, they give you $20-25 minus their commission. BE AWARE before you apply for this scam!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

feeling scammed



September17, 2015

I have been emailing Lyft about my sign on bonus since 9/12/15. I completed 50 rides as stipulated in order to meet the criteria for the 750$ bonus. I email Lyft a copy of the reminder notification that clearly states that i need to complete 50 rides by 9/12/15. as of 9/12 I had completed 51 rides. Lyft send me an email stating that I should have been done by 9/11/15. When I asked them to explain and justify the difference in date they did not. I attached the reminder notification that says 9/12 is my end date. I still have not heard anything. i am feeling scammed. no one returns any emails and I also had twelve cancellations in one day for which there was no compensation of any kind.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Unwanted texts from Lyft? Let us represent you



June5, 2015

Hey, did anyone start applying to be a Lyft driver, not finish your application, and then have them spam you with texts? That happened to someone we know, and we filed a class-action lawsuit about it, if anyone wants to join us. If this also happened to you (spam texts without your consent from Lyft), you may be entitled to $500 for each unwanted text you received. Please give us a call: (619) 531-8700 or visit our website: http://www.theadlerfirm.com/contact/.
(Attorney Advertisement)

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Lyft Support Has Zero Respect for Drivers



March4, 2015

I drove for Lyft and ran into some issues with them not paying me what i had earned. They do seem to scam/defraud drivers out of proper earnings and bonuses. If you run into an issue you are forced to email them. It takes them 3-4 days to respond and once they do its ysually a copy paste response. They are a terrible company due to awful customer driver support. Worse than a cable company i wont mention

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
September 17, 2015

I having a terrible experience with Lyft at this moment. I earned the sign on bonus however I then received an email stating that my 50 rides should have been completed by 9/11/15. i attached my reminder email from lyft on which it clearly states that I am being reminded to complete 50 rides by 9/12/15. Since sending that attachment I have not heard anything further from Lyft. i am very disappointed.

Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Lyft A major Fail



February21, 2015

Lyft seems to be the Ford Pinto of the new ride sharing world Where Uber is the mercedes-Benz. Lyft doesn't stand by their drivers and will not pay them if there's any anomaly in their network. Me and three of my drivers have left this company because their service is so poor and they have no help and support. I have talked three companies into leaving Lyft and using Uber and Sidecar instead . I will not rest until I have turn at least a thousand people away both passengers and drivers. I love returning favors.. And I also predict Lyft will not survive because of their poor attitude and unwillingness to help their passengers and drivers.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

SCAM !!!!!!!



February20, 2015

I drove a total of 589 miles in one week, never received a DIME!!!!! no one answers emails, and no one to talk to. DO NOT DO THIS!!! IF ANYTHING, START YOUR OWN SERVICE AND MAKE YOUR OWN MONEY!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
February 21, 2015

I totally agree! They have no ethics at all. They owe me a lot of money and they are not stepping up to the plate to pay me. !!

June 05, 2015

same issue with me drove 12 hours around 120 mile in NYC didn't get paid at all because the scumbag passenger cancel the ride after 12 hours before i end the trip. no response from lyft. i will sue them if i didn't get paid

Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Fraud !



October29, 2014

Zero stars ! They did not deposit my money last week, and ask me to update my bank info every day. Nothing changed in my info Crooooooooooooks !

Where's my money ?

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
February 21, 2015

You are not alone. More and more drivers are coming out saying that they're experiencing the same thing.

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

The above reviews must be from taxi drivers



September2, 2014

I used lyft all Labor Day weekend in Chicago and loved it!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
February 21, 2015

Uber is a much Classier company. They have great customer service and support. Lyft has none !!! If you have a problem with Lyft-Forget getting help. The new company sidecar is coming on very strong. I think that companies going to be the contender with Uber.

Your Comment

Leave a Review