Lyft Reviews

Lyft
Based on 27  Reviews



Review It

About Lyft

Lyft is a mobile application which promotes and arranges something they refer to as “ride sharing,” and is ultimately intended to be a friendly and reliable alternative to traditional taxi cab rides.

Once you’ve downloaded this application to your Android or iPhone, you can use it to simply click and find a ride in your area to your next location, as long as it is during Lyft’s hours of operation. These hours will vary depending on the city you live in, but they do span the majority of the day regardless of the locations.

The drivers for Lyft are described as being friendly, community oriented people who volunteer their time and vehicles to this cause in exchange for “donations.” Lyft drivers must be at least 23 years of age and drive a car that is a year 2000 or newer, and in good working condition.

Drivers must be able to pass a phone screening, an in person meeting, and two different background checks, one DMV based and the other a basic background. Finally, drivers must have an Android phone or an iPhone so they can connect with their passengers through the application.

Once a driver has picked up a passenger and completed their ride, the passenger’s phone will beep with a message from the app, recommending a suggested donation. This donation is completely voluntary and be adjusted to be higher or lower than the suggested amount.

Lyft has strict policies about the behavior of both their drivers and their passengers. One way they ensure the respectful behavior of participants is to allow drivers to rate their passengers after every ride. Future drivers will be able to see these ratings before they accept a passenger.

Drivers will receive 80% of the donations from the passengers, and drivers will receive direct deposit payments into their accounts once a week. The website says that on average Lyft drivers will receive $35 per hour of work, and can choose their own hours.

If you have any experience with this company as a passenger or a ride, please leave your Lyft reviews below.

27 ‘Lyft’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

Lyft is an information collection scam



September6, 2016

If you apply to drive, they collect all the information they want, tell you they can keep it and refuse to delete the information collected.
It's based in San Francisco Commiefornia so good luck getting anywhere legally.
If anyone gets victimized by identity theft after applying to drive, that's the first place they should look.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Lyft is a Scam (and so is Uber)



August7, 2016

I am a current driver for Lyft.

The federal government needs to step in and shut both Lyft and Uber down. These companies pray on those that are in desperate financial situations. These companies are predators in every sense of the word.

Lyft is now bragging they are on track to post a $1 billion profit. That profit is coming at the expense of extremely desperate people that are typically in dire financial straits.

Here is how the scam works:

The Hook
They lure you in with promises of big-money driving on their platforms. I've seen many different numbers thrown around on various advertisements, some as much as $1500 a week.

The Line
It can take up to a month to be approved to drive on either of these platforms. In my case, it took 2.5 weeks for Lyft and 1.2 months for Uber.

Most people driving for these companies are at the poverty level, suffered a recent job loss (which is the case in my situation) or are otherwise financially strapped and not working.

The long wait times to become activated further exacerbate a bad situation, but the wait times do something even more sinister. New drivers, unaware they will make no money driving, and under the impression of big-money promises, become invested.

That's right, new drivers have so much time, effort and energy invested, and are typically more desperate than they were when they started the process because of the wait, feel they have no choice but to start driving.

The Sinker
Drivers are not employees, and therefore not subject to federal employee guidelines such as federal minimum-wage.

Fuel expenses, vehicle expenses such as car payments, car insurance and depreciation on your vehicle prevent you from earning money, and in many cases may cause you to actually lose money.

And don't forget, you take an enormous risk every time a passenger steps in your vehicle.

In my case, I am making less than $2.00 an hour after daily fuel charges, insurance and car payment While Lyft takes a huge chunk for running an app.

If you're reading this, I know that you may be in a bad financial situation and think this could be an answer.
Driving for this company or Uber is not the solution. You will not make money doing this. All you will end up doing, is destroying your car, putting yourself at risk and becoming even more miserable.

There are plenty of minimum-wage jobs available all over the country. You will make more money working at a minimum wage job then you could possibly ever make driving for one of these companies.

I have filed a formal complaint with the federal trade commission and also the Texas workforce commission as I am a Texas resident.

If people will stop signing up to be drivers then we can shut these predatory companies down or force them to convert their drivers to employees instead of skirting the law.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
December 12, 2016

I agree. Scam. Lies from day one from Lyft and uber is no better. Here are the numbers from a trip yesterday. $14.20 fare, minus 20%, equal $2.82 to Lyft fee, minus 25% operational cost, fuel, insurance,oil, tire, maintenance, equal $2.84, minus government self employment tax, equal $1.69. So of that $14.20 fare, I end up with $4.01. Scamming Lyft liars. But I am stuck with them, I am 60 years old, can't be on my feet all day anymore, and besides that, no one is going to hire me at 60 years.

March 12, 2018

BS, I drive for both Uber and Lift. I have a Full time job with a salary of $60,000 a year. My wife earns $70,000 a year. I Ride share in the evenings when my wife's at work and every other weekend. i average about $20 a hour when I'm rid-sharing. I drive a beautiful 2010 Dodge Charger HEMI. I get a lot of complements and many Tips. This is a great way to make a little extra income. Ride-Sharing is what you make it. I love meeting new people and providing safe transportation. Working for Uber or Lift isn't for everyone and to those folks I would recommend trying a different career choice. My highest week was $744 for about 20 hours. This past weekend I earned $480 for 18 hours.

Satisfied Ride-share driver.

Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

LYFT RIP OFF



April27, 2016

As a driver you will never get your guaranteed bonuses do not waste your time with this scumbag company!! Total scam!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

If I could I would give 0 stars



February15, 2016

I am an avid user of uber for almost 2 years now so I am familiar with what to expect from driving companies like this. Over the past two weeks I have had awful experiences with Lyft.

Just yesterday, I lost my phone in a Lyft car. I called customer service 5 times from last night into today and got no response or help besides "Send an email to lost and found". I sent numerous emails to lost and found including the phone number and address of the driver and I have received ZERO responses 12 hours later. I have emailed Uber in the past over stupid issues like a bill being charged for a toll and their response time to solve the issue has been within 1-2 hours. Lyft cannot even send me a quick response at least saying someone has been assigned to my case or SOMETHING. Even better, you can only sign into your Lyft account from your own phone so there is not way of me getting a receipt until I wait 24 hours which I can THEN contact the driver about my lost phone. Why would a phone just casually sit in a back seat for 24 hours?

That issue aside, I have heard rumors that when drivers accept rides and see the destination you're going to that they drive around aimlessly forcing the passenger to pay a cancellation fee so they still get paid and their rating does not go down. On February 13, the day prior to the phone incident, my boyfriend was cancelled on by 5 lyft drivers until finally one accepted and proceeded to drive around for 30 minutes without picking us up while "five minutes away". We thought there may have been a lot of traffic but then we called an uber and it was there within 2 minutes. Of course, his complaint was never responded to either.

God forbid you were ever involved in an accident while in a Lyft or something...the issue would never be resolved. Never use Lyft.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
August 07, 2016

I am a current Lyft driver.

I have reviewed Lyft above and am not a fan. However, when I see mis-information such as this, specifically attacking drivers, I need to set the record straight.

I cannot speak to your customer service experience, but I can speak to your comments about "drivers accept rides and see the destination you're going to that they drive around aimlessly forcing the passenger to pay a cancellation fee so they still get paid and their rating does not go down"

This is completely false.

Drivers do not know your destination until they have arrived at your location and marked you as "Picked up". Once you are marked as "Picked up, the ride cannot be cancelled"

Please have your facts straight before slamming these drivers, whom I might add, are trying to make the best out of a very bad situation.

December 12, 2016

True!!! What a lying bitch! Typical Lyft rider.

Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Lyft is a nightmare!!!!



January19, 2016

Summary: Use all their first-time rider coupons and then go with UBER!!!

I've been using Lyft for three weeks now (mainly to get to work during the cold weather) and I'm sad to report that everyday has been an ordeal using Lyft!!! Uber is soooo much better and the drivers seem more knowledgeable in terms of street smarts and navigation.

Here is a summary of the problems I've encountered with LYFT:

1) Drivers, while nice, are not great drivers and cannot navigate (even with a GPS). I had one driver turn from a middle lane and otherwise drive awfully, one driver who didn't even know where SE was and another driver who didn't even know what the difference was between car pool and single passenger service (I HAD TO EXPLAIN IT TO HIM!)

2) Car pool sucks! I tried car pool and first, it takes 10 minutes for them to pick you up and then they drove (in my case, about 4-5 miles out of my way in the opposite direction) to pick up the other person (who was late!!!) and then drops her off in (I'm going to SE - could she be even further out of my way?!??). Then the driver doesn't know how to use the Lyft app and ends up driving us back to the office building in Georgetown (where the other girl got off) as our "next stop." When I told him that my address was in SE, he didn't know how to use his own GPS. He kept turning on PA Avenue rather than K Street. We ended looped around the same block THREE TIMES (during rush hour traffic, pedestrians and lights adding over 15 minutes to my trip) before he finally listened to me that he was making the wrong turn each time! My otherwise 15 minute commute to work took over 55 minutes!!!

3) One morning, the driver's ETA was "2 minutes." Well AFTER 8 MINUTES, I could see on my app that the driver NEVER MOVED the car and NO PROGRESS was made to come to my home. YET the app still said she was "2 minutes away." I cancelled my ride because at this point I was late to work and they had the audacity to charge me a $5 cancellation fee when their own software could have told them that their driver NEVER moved her car to even try and pick me up!

4) The way they apply credits towards rides is a total rip off. In short, I had a few credits on my account. One $10 credit expiring tomorrow and one $20 credit (for referring a friend to Lyft - BIG MISTAKE) that expired a month from now. Well the geniuses at Lyft and their app, used my $20 credit this morning for a $12 trip instead of applying the $10 credit that EXPIRES TOMORROW even though there is nothing in their policies explaining the logic and method for applying credit. After multiple backs and forth with Lyft, telling them that their app was faulty, irrational and defies commonsense, they refuse to return my $20 credit. Basically, now I'm stuck with a credit that expires in less than 14 hours while they wasted my $20 credit for a $12 trip (so I lose $8 in credit). STUPID!!!!

I HATE LYFT!!!!!! I hope this sub-par company is finished off by UBER!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
August 07, 2016

I am a current Lyft driver.

I have rated Lyft above and am not a fan. In fact, I think it's a scam. However, after reading your review, I need to point out a few things:

Passengers such as yourself are one of Lyft's biggest problems. Yes, you are a major problem.

The facts:

1. You (passenger) are to poor (probably of no fault of your own... bad education or no education) to actually afford to pay the service, so you use free credits. Free = no apprication that the service you are using actually cost a LOT of money to operate and has many moving parts.

2. You refuse to tip (again, because you have no vehicle of your own and are making minimum wage and can't afford to). Let me be perfectly clear, your Lyft driver is not making money and relies on passengers like you for tips. This is how they make money. I assure you, your Lfyt driver does not want you in their car for a 3 mile, cross town trip to Burger King that results in $3.

3. Technology is far from perfect. That's right, all software acts up ever so often.... get used to it. Your app may be reporting no movement, but the driver is just around the corner. So when you cancel the ride, chances are your driver has just spent 10 minutes getting to you. This cost the driver time, money and wear and tear on their car. This happens frequently.

Personally, I am glad you hate Lyft because I don't want you anywhere near my car with your horrible attitude.

December 12, 2016

John. Yes true. Some of these passengers with their entitled attitude sicken me. And yet Lyft thinks the drivers should supply candy, water, phone chargers, or homemade cookies. Screw that! The price is one third the cost of a taxi, and they still want Town Car service for the price that they should pay to ride in the back of the chicken truck!! I am not there to supply them with these things, and a quiet, comfortable safe ride is all I owe them for these absurd rates. I am not there to entertain, and then get pinged for "friendliness". I say Hello, how ya doing, and after that if they want to talk, no problem, but if they want to be silent, then I LET THEM BE! The Lyft situation is a giant mess. I would love to go to San Fran and lay the real world facts on those college trained, 6 figure paid, snowflakes that have never had a real job!

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Sacramento - Lyft



December12, 2015

So I started on Halloween night since it wasy busy, i did a total of 5 hours only and made 240 dollars, I was so impressed!. As I continued to work only on Fridays and Saturdays since these are the busiest I ended up making an average of 40 bucks for about 7 hours, IF LUCKY. Too many customers cancel on you, sometimes I even arrived AT FRONT OF THEIR HOUSE! and wait, and then they cancel on me! like what the hell? there were nights where I wasted half a tank of gas and didnt make a single dollar. There are just way too many drivers and not enough customers. And they advertise for sacramento you can make 6k a month. are you serious?? you would be lucky to even make 1000 dollars dollars. I Don't think thats even possible.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Where os the $1,000 sign up bonus? Bait and Switch scam



October31, 2015

If you are attracted to sign up for Lyft for their Bonus, you may want to think twice about it:

1- First, they will not pay you the bonus under one excuse of the other.

2- Your support tickets will go unanswered.

3- Demand for the service is low because folks read the forums and know a bad deal when they see it!

4- You will drive for hours without a ride, you do not know where to be, they simply highlight a whole city in pink and when you get there, nothing! You will be wasting your time, money and risk getting into accidents

5- Their guaranteed are not possible to achieve, read their fine print.

6- Their riders are unreliable, they will often cancel on you and they will give you $0.00 tip even when they have the option to do so on the app.

My experience was awful! The best I did was to remove the app and close my driver account.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
December 12, 2015

Yep...simply well said.

December 14, 2016

George. Yes. I was recently in the middle of a 200% Prime Time area, I thought great! I get a ping, and what happened? I get pulled out of the area for a cheap ass standard fare. Prime Time my ass. I am to the point I think the Price Time is their opportunity to scam the rider. Rider pays 200%, driver gets standard fare. I do not believe a damn thing Lyft says anymore. Lying is so easy for them.

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Lyft = SCAM



October27, 2015

I was driving for Uber when I was referred by a rider who gave me their Lyft code to join Lyft and receive a $500 bonus. I completed the necessary rides within 30days, but never received the $500. When I inquired via email, it took 2 weeks for them to respond,"You didnt use a code when you signed up" ...B.S. Of course I dont have proof of that, but I know used the riders link with his code. To further my grievance, I also referred a friend to drive to which I was told I would receive an additional $500 and so would my friend. My friend completed the requirements and received $500 cash, I on the otherhand was given $500 in Lyft credits...ARE YOU KIDDING ME ??!! IM A DRIVER ! ! ! what am I going to do with Lyft credits ??!! I am boycotting Lyft and am spreading my story to everyone until I get paid.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
October 31, 2015

Lyft is truly a scam, they used the same excuse with me in Boston. The bonus was supposed to be $1,000 after 50 rides but they never delivered. Drivers be aware, Lyft is bad news

December 12, 2015

Not sure how you guys made money with lyft anyways, I think I spend more on gas than I actually make. I wasted about 6 hours on friday, saturdays with barely making 35 dollars if lucky. There is more drivers than customers and they advertise you can make 6k a month.

Your Comment

Leave a Review