Lumosity.com Reviews

21 ‘Lumosity.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
Theodore
Guest

Reasonably Fun, questionable utility

February 4, 2013

I enjoy the games, keeping in mind this isn't intended to be the next Diablo game, it's brain training. I was interested enough in the free 3 days that I bought a year over a month ago, and I don't regret it yet. I suspect that by the time the year is up my scores will have improved significant'tly, but I question if that means I will have gained legitimate mental capability or just gotten better at these specific mental tasks. Does practicing remembering a window and letter sequence actually make it easier to remember people's names at work? Does quickly deciding if a triangle is not a square make me faster at work? I hope so, and I put money down on it because I think it'll work, but I'm not sure. I read the studies, but am not really convinced. I do like Lumosity better than their rather weak competition.

Jason
May 10, 2013

Company schill. You can tell by how it's written. Nice try Lumosity.

Comment on this review...
review author image
barbara t. gershberg
Guest

love it, have improved daily in all 5 area, however trouble accessing website

January 31, 2013

Please improve this website, very frustrating when I cannot continue a training session, this occurs usually in the mornings before 12:00
also please post my training session s at 9:00am. thanx
I am enjoying this brain train program immensely, very pleased with the results. it does work

View all 4 Comments
Theodore
February 04, 2013

This is not the customer service page, please post something useful.

Joe
February 15, 2013

LOL brain training has helped, but you can't access the site?!
The following image comes to mind...
http://mlkshk.com/r/54DT

joe bloe
February 21, 2013

Awesome picture, i almost pissed my pants

Bev
March 12, 2013

Re: missing your training - this is the first day (in 4 months) I did not receive my "reminder" e-mail and when I try to get on myself, they say, "You have completed your training for today (Tues.)" and I have not. Asked for HELP - said they'd get back to me in 2 days! Yikes!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
matthew
Guest

Not very trustworthy

January 29, 2013

My cynicism about this site began shortly after signing up for the free version on Chrome.

My initial scores were pretty high (compared to the averages[?]), even though i did not quite feel like i had the hang of the games and felt kinda meh about my performance. However, as i began to get how they worked and started doing much better, my scores decreased and they really started pushing the paid membership to improve my cognitive capacity.

I began to look into the site and found that the research showing these games could improve your mental ability were all conducted by Lumos, the corporation running the site. How convenient.
i also was shocked by the lofty pricing for a website that lets you play rather unoriginal games.

The real slap to the forehead was the "Lifetime Membership" option offered by a website that has only been around for a very short time. This might seem like a "good deal" if they had been around for a decade or so, but i have only heard of these guys in the last year and their website does not give information on how long they have existed.

I found an article expressing skepticism like mine about the outfit on a British publication's website from 2009, along with a myriad of BAD reviews about the site on forums around the net. The REALLY interesting part about that was that there was almost always someone from Lumosity refuting or attempting to resolve these issues on those forums.

This is very strange to me that Lumosity actually has employees canvassing the net for bad reviews so they can address them. Veeeeeeery sketchy,

View all 7 Comments
dani
February 01, 2013

I've been using the free version (not worth the money IMO) and also noticed the other day that my initial score has suddenly dropped about 100 points, making my new "brain trained" score appear higher than it is.

Theodore
February 04, 2013

Whine harder please. If you are surprised your scores went down, you need to train your brain with something. Did you expect the very first test you took to be your perfect exact score? It takes the program a while to figure out how stupid you are, just keep taking tests and the scores will get more accurate, the increase in capability- if it comes, will come in time- not the first day. If your best criticism is that they have pr people you should just not speak. I'm not convinced the site works at all, but if someone is going to try to rip on them- at least make an intelligence critique.

Clown
February 07, 2013

this reviewer was stating that it's sketchy for a company to hire people to go around and refute all the bad reviews on the company's product. Top companies who are confident in their product do not do this. I gather Lumosity does not believe in the product they are selling. Why should I?

Ben
March 06, 2013

I think you both are absolutely wrong. Companies care about their products, and having employees peruse review sites to clear up any misunderstandings or find people who are having trouble with their product but have not contacted customer service is standard operating procedure. When those companies have employees or other individuals post fake reviews is when it becomes troublesome, otherwise it is called being attentive to consumers needs. It is just another opportunity for them to improve their product through feedback. Think about it, not everything in the world is some conspiracy theory. Hardware manufacturers CONSISTENTLY browse review forums to see if there are people complaining about the quality of their product, just so they can provide the complainant a number or email address to remediate their issue.

Demosthenes
March 16, 2013

This would be even more impressive a comment if the grammar were correct. LOL Maybe needs some brain training. consumers should be consumers' ; a complainant cannot be 'their' issue

matthew the original poster
May 11, 2013

Where is my grammar flawed, pray thee tell, and what does Lumosity have to do with the proper use of English in written or oral form? Also, where do i misuse the variation or their/there/they're? Their is possessive, so THERE (indicative) was almost always someone is correct grammar.
Maybe you should invest in English lessons instead of Lumosity.

tumos
July 27, 2013

fix ur incognitave noun and the sixth of the 4th strend and attach an e to the r and ur gud bra.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Wendy F.
Guest

A scam

January 26, 2013

I purchased the online access a year ago and paid full with my credit card. I used it for a few times and find it very boring. It was what happened the next (and next...) that's outrageous:

I deactivated my credit card but I guess it was on file at Lumosity so the company promptly blocked my access, even though that I paid for a full year's access. I sent an email to inquire but got no response.

I later activated my credit card, so I just saw from my credit card statement that Lumosity promptly charged again for another year's service, without any notification.

How outrageous is that? I can't believe this company could be legal for these practices!!!

View all 3 Comments
Theodore
February 04, 2013

I never signed up for automatic renewal, and my account works just fine. If you cancelled your account instead of turning off automatic renewal- that was YOUR mistake. If you really think they stole from you sue them in small claims and report them to BBB. You sound like you are a plant from their competition. If you really hated it you wouldn't have cared if they turned off your account.

I<3Unicorns
February 11, 2013

Theodore, We all "get it." You have a vested interest in the company & don't like the criticism.

mike
May 23, 2013

Theodore.
He may have hated it but he also paid for it and he should get what he paid for.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Alice
Guest

Customer service non-existant

January 19, 2013

I purchased a full family membership, however the other members cannot log on to Lumosity. I have sent 2 written complaints through their website, only to be told that they were really busy and will get back as soon as they can. This has been going on for over 3 weeks.

Joe
January 27, 2013

I tried to start a account on lumosity and it keeps telling me I am using a wrong user name and or password another scam site

Comment on this review...
review author image
Donald
Guest

Decent but get boring

November 13, 2012

I like Lumosity, I really do. I played their games and really did feel challenged by the exercises. I think it's great that they are bringing awareness to brain health to the general public.

However, after a little bit of time I got quite bored by their games. They really are quite dry and eventually the training becomes a chore.

There is no lack of brain training choices out there so I started using Fit Brains (www.fitbrains.com). It's quite similar to Lumos but the games are way, way better.

These days I visit Fit Brains all the time just to play Wild Word Garden or Paradise Island. The fact that I'm exercising my brain while I am having fun just makes me feel smug! :D

View all 5 Comments
anon
November 16, 2012

^^above commenter is clearly a Fit Brains plant

philip s
December 26, 2012

clearly he is if he didn't plug the website and waited for people to maybe ask an alternative site, then maybe we could believe it !

Theodore
February 04, 2013

well written comment from Fit Brains exec. btw... don't bother with fitbrains.

Terry
February 09, 2013

Theodore you are also working for lumosity so whats your point?

Nick
June 24, 2013

I am a musician and am very interested in ways to strengthen my ability to memorize music. I was immediately helped by the memory games to expand my repertoire. Lumosity uses the brain's neuroplasticity or ability to physically adapt to the tasks it performs. What a great idea that we have this opportunity to increase brainpower and sharpen our cognition! This is based on the brain research that it also provides a wealth of data to help advance. Not only is your own cognition improved thru these games, but it helps the science advance by providing willing, paying participants in a vast experiment
forming a virtuous cycle. I don't understand all the negativity-I think it's a great idea.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review