Lumosity.com Reviews

About Lumosity.com

Lumosity is an online tool used to increase memory, increase attention and improve overall cognitive performance.  The advisory board for Lumosity initiated The Human Cognition Project, led by credible neuroscientists at Lumos Labs.  These scientists conducted research dedicated to enhancing human intelligence.

The research was based upon the idea of neuroplasticity, defined as the brain’s ability to form neural connections when encountered with new experiences.  They used the results of the study to devise challenging activities to increase the number of neural connections in the brain.  
 
After you sign up for Lumosity, you will complete a questionnaire to identify your current abilities and areas that need attention. From there, it automatically generates a customized program to strengthen weaker cognitive skills. 
 
As your performance improves, the exercises become more challenging, continuously adapting to your progress.  There are three progressive training levels, Basic Training, Peak Performance Training and Advanced Memory Training.
 
When you reach maximum performance in all cognitive areas at one training level, you can then move on to the next.  In addition, versions of the program are available for individuals with medical needs.
 
Some of these include post-traumatic stress disorder, mild traumatic brain injury, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder and patients in cancer recovery.
 
Lumosity offers a 3-day free trial period.  There are a number of pricing options available.  One option is to pay as you go, the cost is $15.00 per month.  Longer subscriptions are also available, one-year will cost $80.00 and 2 years will cost $120.00.
 
The family subscription allows for up to five users on one account, the cost is $130.00 for one year.  Each subscription has a 30-day money back guarantee with the option to upgrade or cancel at anytime.
 
Lumosity is constantly adding new exercises and programs.  The program allows you to keep track of your progress, it provides helpful tips and techniques, and offers a performance percentile chart.
 
They even have a Smartphone application called Brain Trainer so you can take it on the go.  Increasing memory, sharpening your problem-solving skills, and improving concentration can have an effect in all areas of your life.
 
Trying something new is always worth a shot because everyone has capabilities they may not know exist.

You May Also Be Interested In

21 ‘Lumosity.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

Still a dummy here

February 27, 2015

I used this service religiously for 2 years. My IQ is still shitty, and people still think I'm a little slow. Don't believe the hype!

Actually, since I stopped using Luminosity, I did not notice any difference. HOWEVER, I did come across this article that says there are cheap video games that are WAY better at making you more intelligent. See for yourself:

http://www.nerdist.com/2014/09/im-making-a-note-here-portal-2-beats-luminosity-in-brain-training/

In short. Don't be stupid like me and don't pay these guys for a product that doesn't work! Instead, buy a video game like Portal. You'll be having fun, and it will be more effective at making you smart!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Al
Guest

Seems to be a SCAM

August 3, 2013

They appear to collect a lot of information on you including your personality and traits. I understand that the games they offer are not taken seriously by mainstream science.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Lab Rat
Guest

You might learn a little they COLLECT a LOT of data

July 26, 2013

The ENORMOUS database they are amassing will be sold to researchers to mine the data and make connections between personality and behavior, or maybe a certain collection of traits and schizophrenia.

Don't be fooled. They don't care about you getting smarter....they care about THEM getting smarter by collecting and timing every click and choice you ever make on that site.

WHATEVER you do... don't sign up with your real name and have your profile linked to your real identity (through payment for instance). Remember this rule of data - it will ultimately be used for purposes other than those for which it was collected.

Comment on this review...
review author image
mjdub
Guest

skeptical

July 12, 2013

Seems like good marketing over science.. because the commercialization and online marketing banners are everywhere.
I don't see the credible neuroscientists.. not that it matters.
These are just simple games that get harder, Pac-man gets harder to a point where I stop playing. Maybe this exposes weaknesses in areas of which I don't use as often, say 'basic division' or memory games so I stimulate a little bit of that cognitive area I don't use as often with the variety.. at 15 dollars a month its not the worst cost but I don't believe it will strengthen any brain skills at least it probably would plateau quickly. I unsubscribed after five days of trial because it really just is a stimulation in game form I could get from reading, math, crosswords, etc etc. I don't see the long term benefit but I do see the amount of marketing dollars and people protecting the Lumor name. It's well done, I don't hate Luminosity but it isn't for me even if I do need to sharpen skills.. but then again that's the beauty of the product who doesn't? Who doesn't want to get better at remembering names? Great marketing... even better when I sign up and forget to login to do the exercises but keep paying... ironically it's like a gym membership at the beginning of the year lots of members (membership fees) and after a month or two lots of open equipment. Just my opinion.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Steve
Guest

It seems to help!

June 24, 2013

I am a musician and am very interested in ways to strengthen my ability to memorize music. I was immediately helped by the memory games to expand my repertoire. Lumosity uses the brain's neuroplasticity or ability to physically adapt to the tasks it performs. What a great idea that we have this opportunity to increase brainpower and sharpen our cognition! This is based on the brain research that it also provides a wealth of data to help advance. Not only is your own cognition improved thru these games, but it helps the science advance by providing willing, paying participants in a vast experiment
forming a virtuous cycle. I don't understand all the negativity-I think it's a great idea.

View all 2 Comments
Bob
October 23, 2013

Obviously you work for the site..musicians dont talk in advertisements

February 27, 2015

Also, wouldn't just putting effort into memorizing music make you better at memorizing music?

Comment on this review...
review author image
User
Guest

It is a incremental battle

May 16, 2013

Lumosity does present its stats in a way that suggest daily gains are possible or even weekly, but The point of the games is to excercise different parts of your brain... if you play every day and gain familiarity you effectively hit a threshhold - at this point you should have gained very little to nothing - continue playing and you can increase the BPI threshhold (albeit at a very small amount). In a perfect world you hit your threshhold in a few weeks and see a very small improvement (

Comment on this review...
review author image
Steven O
Guest

Lumosity

April 30, 2013

Don't waste your money; there is no scientific data show any actual effect or increase.

You are better off reading, playing any strategy base games then wasting your money on this garabage.

Quack, quack is duck not a goose, you silly people.

Comment on this review...
review author image
HFree
Guest

Okay games, no real brain training, gaming on taking your money

March 20, 2013

First, I have only played the free games as they try to lure me into signing up. I've done it for a couple of months now. The catch is that once you get good at a game and your BPI keeps rising they throw a new game at you which will take time to master and they drop your BPI. So if BPI is really a measure of my brain function how can it drop so much because a new game comes along even if I am a master at the other games. I'm very skeptical about Luminosity and based on other reviews my skepticism seems warranted. No reason to give them any money as there are so many free games to play online.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Ben
Guest

Not very challenging

March 17, 2013

I dunno ... it wasn't very challenging once I got a little more familiar with the games. I would think most PC, Xbox games out there would offer a much more intense and fun mental workout.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Sam
Guest

where's the scam?

March 8, 2013

I'm not sure what's up with all the reviews. It seems pretty simple to me: You play brain games, your mind gets sharper, end of story. Anything you do consistently and that challenges you will eventually make you better and smarter. It's just basic learning skills. I think these games are fun and challenging and personally I do see results and improvement in my daily life. And nope, I don't work for the company and nobody is paying me to write this.

View all 4 Comments
Tarc
March 18, 2013

No it doesn't make you "eventually smarter"...

lrg
May 11, 2013

which site is most helpful?

Skeptic
May 12, 2013

i am always wary of unwarranted statements like "And nope, I don't work for the company and nobody is paying me to write this."

Alice Bowie
May 17, 2013

I am always wary of skeptics!!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
hard working american
Guest

Scam

February 23, 2013

Well, i signed up for the free trial and played the game. had no problem with it but I'm skeptical about anything that wants money from me so i looked at reviews every where and i probably would of gave it more thought if i didn't see all the comments from people like Theodore trying to get you to believe it isn't a scam. I am pretty sure he works for the company and i will have no part in that. ill wait until there is more ACTUAL research out there about brain strengthening.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Rudy
Guest

Interesting site, false promise

February 19, 2013

The nail in the coffin was when I posed some of these questions to the support staff and received a reply saying if my questions are not emergencies or about billing problems, they would not answer them. So I made it a billing problem and cancelled my subscription...

I purchased a months service from this site a just over a week ago out of curiosity. Does it work?

I played the games 8 days straight and did the research which turned up mostly bad reviews and skepticism but some positive potential then turned my eyes to the site.

The Lumosity score is supposed to indicate "how much and how well you have trained". It does neither. The score would have to tell you how many games you have played to use it for that and with each game yielding variable points each play, there is no telling how many games you have played. Similarly, if you earn varying points each time you play and cannot compare it to previous days or weeks scores, there is no way to determine whether you are doing better or worse.

Are the games making me smarter or just training me to do simple tasks exceedingly well. I wondered if there is a test unrelated to these tasks which could measure increase in these performance areas.

I must admit, some of these games are pretty fun and gets the competitive nature going in me but many similar games can be found around the net for free.

View all 3 Comments
Bev
March 12, 2013

You can tell how many days you've played - check your training - which areas you do better in (Memory, Speed, etc.) There are graphs, etc. to compare where you were last week, 4 weeks ago, etc. I can see steady improvement.I think these games do work to improve your mind. I have found doing the "training" every day plus as many other fun games I want to indulge in has been very challenging!

Ben
March 17, 2013

I'm also of the view that the games seem to train me to do simple tasks well. In fact, on one game I was progressing so well on the first session that I hit a reaction speed ceiling due purely to the fact that I was having to switch between clicking two buttons using my MacBook Pro's trackpad; there was no cognitive challenge left.

James
March 22, 2013

Spoken like a faithful employee.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Scott Chauncey
Guest

Company that Scams People

February 17, 2013

They claim they have a money back guarantee but they took my money and I noticed how ineffective their service was and refused to refund me. Lumosity is a Scam and operates as one too.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Anton
Guest

Time wasted

February 12, 2013

Who cares about the money or scam fees and recharges once they get your credit card ? It's about wasted time.

This kind of training isn't going to make you better at chess or your job or playing a matching game with kids.

Just as fishing won't make you a better swimmer.

If you want to do better at something in life then FOCUS on that something not some silly time wasting games.

View all 3 Comments
Bev
March 12, 2013

Disagree with your last sentence entirely!

Johnny
March 22, 2013

Bev, shut up.

Anton has a point. This program feeds off of people going the wrong direction for something they could (but don't want to) work on the simple, hard way.

Anton Sucks
April 06, 2013

why would u say that? By saying that it means u hate school

Comment on this review...
review author image
Terry
Guest

Absolute Scam

February 9, 2013

Even if you scored the highest score possible on every game from the very beginning you will still not be at the top because to be at the top you have to unlock everything and do well. This would be more accurate if the levels higher levels werent locked so that you could see how high you could possibly score from the beginning. As a result supposed "increases" in your BPI are fake because you could have had a higher score to begin with if you weren't limited the need to unlock the higher levels.

View all 3 Comments
Paul
March 23, 2013

I don't know whether the site is legit or not, that's why I'm reading this. However, your statement doesn't make sense. If you excelled on the beginner games from the start, they would unlock the more advanced games. The only reason you didn't get the advanced games, is because you weren't excelling at the beginner games.

goran
April 08, 2013

BUUUUUUUUUURN! :D:D:D:D

Terra
July 11, 2013

No, what Terry is saying makes sense. He is saying that the gains seen are merely artificial. Lower level games (beginner) will only allow you to reach a certain BPI. THIS WILL ACTUALLY PULL DOWN YOUR OVERALL BPI. You could have the highest score possible (the name game) and still only be at 500 BPI. But wait, once I get to level two I can get a higher BPI...and so on.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review