Leaf Filter Reviews

Leaf Filter
( 16 reviews )

Leaf Filter is a gutter protection device manufacturer and installer that uses a patented 3 layer micromesh system the company states can manage water without collecting and being clogged with debris.

How Does Leaf Filter Work?

According to their website, LeafFilter Gutter Protection promises their customers they once their product is installed onto their existing gutters, they will never have to climb a ladder to clean their gutters again. 

To do this, they designed a special gutter cover using medical grade stainless steel micro mesh filters which are supported by a patented rigid vinyl body that creates a siphoning action of water into the gutter system. 

This system is installed directly onto your existing gutters and the website claims that it has been proven to block all debris, leaves and muck from entering the gutters.

Cost/Price Plans

This company’s website actually does not provide customers with any pricing information at this time.

Instead, they ask their prospective customers to submit their residential zip code to their website to see whether or not this service is currently available in their area.

If the service is available, they ask that you provide them with your contact information so that you can be contacted by one of their representatives who will discuss the whole process with you. 

Refund Policy

Unfortunately this company does not provide their customers any information whatsoever regarding a refund or cancellation policy at this time.

When customers speak to the company representative regarding the installation process of this product, they will also want to question them about any policies which cover customer satisfaction or product performance.  

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact Customer Service with any questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link.

Reputation

This company appears to get really mixed reviews at this time and that appears to be a result of the fact that each residential area has a different home location they deal with.

Apparently some locations and employees just provide better experiences for their customers than others do, which is understandable and is often the case when dealing with a company that has different stores across the nation. 

There are a few concerns which have been mentioned regarding this company’s product, however, with a few of their customers pointing out that this company does have a policy of free repair or replacement if they install their product onto your gutters and your gutters clog afterward. 

Customers have pointed out that this policy truly only applies to your actual gutters clogging – if the screens protecting your gutters become clogged and result in serious water runoff onto your home, the company considers that the customers responsibility and they will not assist you in solving this problem.

This is something prospective customers will want to consider or at least address with their representative.

Competitors and Alternatives?

Products that promise to help people protect and care for their gutters without the need to actually get on a ladder and manually clean the gutters are actually very popular and there are a variety of other companies that offer these solutions, like Gutter Helmet.

If you have any experience with Leaf Filter or their services, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

Leaf Filter Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

You still have to get up on a ladder and clean the gutters
October 26, 2022
Totally misled by sales agent and advertisements. Pine needles and leaves still on top of the mesh screen especially in the roof valleys. Heavy rain runs over the gutters edge. I still have to clean all the debris off the mesh screens. So much for the misleading ad that says "no more getting on a ladder"

poor workmanship
October 14, 2022

The installers went to the wrong project and missed our first appointment. They came on a Saturday and rushed through the installation and did not do a very thorough cleanup when finished.

The guard that was installed at the bottom of the valleys catches leaves and seed pods. When I had a serviceman clean a different place, he told me that it was my responsibility to clean that area.

I was checking the gutters after a rainstorm because I noticed water coming from behind the gutter and soffit. I had been told that if the facia board were damaged that the installers would give me a price to repair the damage. They did not notify me that there was severe damage to two areas and that there was not a drip edge on the roof. There was also a nest of carpenter bees living there.

I will fix the problem myself since I do not want them back here.

Manitowoc area seniors beware of these people
October 10, 2022

My gutters were new, they were replaced last year, but the guy they sent to do the estimate convinced my mother-in-law that the new gutters would have to be replace before they could install the Leaffilter. Since she was going to pay for it, I said fine but then they quoted $11,500 for the work and materials and I laughed my butt off! We live in NE Wisconsin and just a gutter replacement in a house like ours goes for about $1500-2000.

There is no way this isn’t a scam on seniors.

Great product and service
August 22, 2022
My entire experience with Leaf Filter has been fantastic, from the sales persons to the installer. They were knowledgeable, friendly and very accommodating. I would recommend Leaf Filter to anyone in need of this kind of protection.

Buyer Beware!
August 1, 2022

This product does NOT work and LeafFilter North Den is not a reputable company!!

We had the system installed on 2/7/22. A few days later when it snowed, the system caused icicles to form from our gutters above doors/entryways which we never had prior to LeafFilter. The icicles melt and refreeze on our porch and sidewalks and create a VERY DANGEROUS situation for anyone coming to our door!

When it rains, the rain does NOT flow into the gutter, it pours over the edges. LeafFilter has attempted to fix and/or reinstall this product on multiple occasions – every installer and inspector has a different explanation about what is wrong and the system still does not work.

We have asked LeafFilter to take their system down and refund our money and they have refused to do so. DO NOT GET THIS SYSTEM FROM THIS COMPANY!!

Not a lifetime warranty!
July 9, 2022
Leaffilter's contract isn't worth the paper it's written on. We had their gutter system in stalled in 2016 at a cost of over $3,500.00 and every year since then they've had to come out and unclog our gutters per their warranty but it's seem the lifetime warranty is no longer a lifetime warranty because now they want $95.00 to unclog my gutters. Beware my friend, They won't stand up to their word or contract.

They don't stand behind their warranty!
June 17, 2022

DON'T BUY LEAF FILTER!

I've had Leaf filter gutters since 2016 and they have had to do a service call every year after the Maple Tree helicopters stop falling. Last year we battled over a $95 service call to CLEAN MY GUTTERS of which I paid over $3,500.00 so I wouldn't have to ever worry about cleaning them again!

Well this year their standing pat on the $95 bucks for a service call. So now they leave no other option than to warn my neighbors and friends about Leaf Filter not standing up to their end of the contract! Why would anyone pay over $3,500.00 for gutter protection and then pay to have them cleaned every year!

Damaged my property then would not return calls
May 23, 2022

I contacted LeafFilter and scheduled an estimate on Wednesday, May 18, 2022. I scheduled to meet with the estimator on Thursday, May 19th at 11AM. The estimator arrived on time and was very courteous and did not engage in any pressure sales techniques. Once we agreed on work to be done I signed the paperwork and he scheduled the work to begin the following day Friday, May 20th.

On Friday I received a call from the installer advising me he was at my residence. I informed him I was on my way home and he could begin work. At that time he told me he had hit one of the brick walls on either side of the driveway. When I asked how badly it was damaged he indicated it was destroyed. When I arrived home I observed the wall had been completely destroyed and he indicated he had hit it with the rear tire of his vehicle. He stated he could repair the wall himself but would have to come back at a later date after he found similar brick. He began removing the old gutters and putting up the new gutters. Approximately 3 hours later I looked outside and he had left leaving a crumpled pile of old gutters in the middle of my front lawn. While i had no issue with the new gutter installation he left without providing a business card or contact information.

When I discovered this I began calling LeafFilter Customer Service. I called them no less than 6 times and each time I was told by the call taker how sorry they were to hear about my problem and this was being "elevated" to a Manger who would contact me by the end of the day. I called Friday, Saturday and Monday and have yet to hear from anyone associated with LeafFilter.

When I was given my estimate I was told one of the benefits of LeafFilter was that all aspects from manufacturing to installation was done by LeafFilter. What I learned is the installers are simply subcontracted by LeafFilter.

At this point I have mangled gutters laying my front lawn and a brick wall in pieces in my driveway. If this is the level of service and respect one can expect from LeafFilter I would not recommend them to anyone. The fact that I contacted them no less than 6 times over a 4 day period regarding damage their employee did to my property and not even a courteous phone call in return should tell you all you need to know.

REBECCASTRALEY June 16, 2022

Stay tuned the sub-contractor (seemingly is here now).

Leaf Filter was a BIG mistake!!
March 31, 2022
Whatever you do don't buy Leaf Filter, they don't stand by what they say. Jonathan Hull told me they would take care of the gutter repair if ice built up in the filter because ice just does not do that. Well I assure you it does. I paid the company $2600 for just the back of my house and 14 months later they wanted another $500 to repair ice damage that Jonathan Promised me would not happen. I have Leaf Guard on the front of my house it's been there longer and it's still perfect.

Not all promises delivered
August 20, 2021

Hate to say this to all you unsatisfied customers, but common sense would tell you this product cannot do what it proposes. Heavy rains MAY wash some of the leaf debris across the guard, but eventually lighter rains will not. And when some leaves or debris build up (which they eventually will) , the entire filter will be rendered useless.

All it will accomplish is, instead of mucking out your gutters you will have to clean debris and leaves off of the gutter. No Brainer, this is a scam like so many others. Remember, if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. Question how it is said to work, then ask why are there leaves in my gutter, and what is to preventing them to plug up my screen.

False claims and poor follow up
May 21, 2021

Originally offered at $5287 on 8/24/2018 in Ohio. Many promises made, especially if I would buy right now. Tried to delay, but just kept getting lower offers. Last one was a "call" to an installer who just happened to be in the area if I could do it tomorrow. Finally said Yes at $2740. Installer who came late next day had not been in the area, did not know what I was talking about, did not clean gutters before installation.

Next spring (2019), leaves were clogged on top of filter. I got up on ladder and cleaned filters. Next spring, 2020, water running over gutters again, so called, got no answer, found that the area dealer was no longer with them.

Called again, got answering machine promise to call back tomorrow. Next week called again, same promise, no call back, next week pretended to want to buy and got a live person. Would have a service tech call. Took a week. Someone came out, cleaned the tops of some filters (I already had once that spring) acknowledged filters were not installed right, but not their problem since they just started working with Leaf Filter.

Now (2021) I called again, on 2nd try, after a hang up on the first try, an operator in Las Vegas says she will contact closest local company and have them call me. We'll see! Screens were not attached at proper slope so leaves, etc. could be washed off.

Crud washes in under lip of roof, stays, hardens, and builds up until who screen is clogged (But gutter itself is not clogged, as they claim). In fact it is dry. I found out later you can buy the screens at Lowes, etc., and have them put on yourself at much less cost. DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM LEAF FILTER.

Leaf Home June 29, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this valuable record of your situation, John. Your experience is not our standard and we will share this information with our team to minimize issues like this in the future. If we can help in any way, please call us at 800-749-4566 or visit https://gutte.rs/3aLsVDi.

Do not buy.
May 18, 2021

We had leaf filter installed on two problem gutters. To be blunt they don't work. In moderate rain the water just poured over the edge. We called and asked to have them removed and our money back to no avail so far. We have been trying to get this remedied for over two months.

Leaf Home June 29, 2021

We understand your frustration, Lloyd. It’s important to us that customers are more than satisfied and we would like the opportunity to discuss this issue immediately. Please reach out to us at 800-749-4566 to speak to a team member directly. If you prefer, you can also visit https://gutte.rs/3aLsVDi, where you can submit a service request at the bottom of the page, and someone will contact you shortly.

Buy at your own risk.
December 11, 2020

Ruined my gutters. And do not work with snow. Snow lays on screens, when runoff from the roof starts it goes right over the frozen gutters. Might be okay where it doesn't snow. And my gutters leak like crazy(they did not before( and I have water in my basement.

Now I have to ear everything off and start over. The whole job only used less than 500.00 worth of material(check Lowe's) Very pricey and ruined everything Also you will never get a nickel from these crooks with their LLCs a nd other legal maneuvers.

no customer service
September 3, 2020
I had Leaf Filter put on my house at a cost of $10,000. I immediately noticed that water ran over the top of the gutters as if there was no gutter. I called the national service number and was always left on hold for long periods of time. They said you could leave your number to get a call back. I did this numerous times and never got a call. I tried to call the local office and that number would not allow a message to be left. I called the sales rep on his cell and said I would call consunmer protection. In a couple of weeks a workman showed up. He admitted they had a lot of this same problem and said he would get supplies and come back the next day. He never came. This is miserable sevice. I wish I had never bought this. Avoid these people!!

Highly Questionable
August 6, 2020

We own a 2100 sq ft colonial that is 40 years old.

Their representative did a very thorough job of inspecting our gutters which took about an hour. She pointed out 2-3 areas of concern.

She then sat down with us and made her presentation. It was obviously scripted. We finally were presented a 1 line quote of over $7,000.00.

some discounts were offered but the math was way off. we were then told we could do 12 months same as cash but there was a $500.00 fee to obtain that option.

Apparently she could not understand our concerns about the cost and financing so she literally ran out of the house. no name, no business card

leaf filter not installed
June 7, 2020
WE DID NOT GET THE CHANCE TO USE IT THEY MADE APPOINTMENTRS THAT THEY DID NOT KEEP WERE GOING TO CHARGE US AN UNGODLY AMOUNT OF OVER $6000 sO, SINCE THEY RENIGGED ON COMING WE TOLD THEM TO CANCEL US. FOUND ANOTHER COMPANY THAT SHOULD BE GEAT FOR ABOUT $1800