Investools Reviews

14 ‘Investools’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

IT IS A SCAM. IT IS A FRAUD

January 19, 2016

DO NOT Subscribe to it, you can get almost all of what is available free.

I subscribed it for one year for the "standard" subscription. Today I saw a charge of $39 in my credit card.

I logged online and checked. It showed that my subscription expires on Feb 18, 2016 and gave me an option to "renew today". I did not renew.

I called them and asked as to why they charged it. They offered to refund the money. I asked who authorized the charge. They said that I did. I told them I did not and if I did why does it not show up in my account profile and give me the option to turn off.

They said when I initially sign up online there is an option for "auto renewal" and I selected it. But once you select it it vanishes. You do not have an option to turn it off.

Interestingly, my subscription profile asked me to "renew today" and even though I did not renew they had already charged. The lady passed onto a supervisor. That lady said you have to place a new order to select or deselect "auto renewal". What a FRAUD.

DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR CREDIT CARD. THESE GUYS ARE WORSE THAN THE NIGERIA SCAM. THEY ARE WOLF IN SHEEP'S CLOTHING

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

A Solid Leaning Experience and Value

April 19, 2014

I have access to Investools as a result of having a certain amount of funds and holdings in my TD Ameritrade account. Thus my comments on the cost may be inappropriate as it is free for me.. However, one must consider the cost of the membership in light of the of fees you pay elsewhere. For example if you own mutual funds you are paying fees each year, an average of around .75%. If you have a financial adviser, that may add another half a percent to a percent. Thus a portfolio of $500,000 of stock and bond funds held with an investment firm could cost you up to $7500 per year. I know that is the case with my mother in law. Thus if you decide to undertake managing your own investments the Investool expense may well be worth it.

Having said that about fees, I have found the online coursework to be very useful. I also participate in the online trading room forums and at my convenience I replay forums of interest that I miss. I find the online training and subsequent interaction to be effective. I also balance what I learn through Investools against what Jim Cramer says on Mad Money. And I balance it with what I learn reading Yahoo Finance. No one source of financial guidance is the ultimate. You have to learn techniques and evaluate them. If you cannot commit to the effort Investools techniques require you should stick with mutual funds or hire an advisor. It is not easy, but it is very useful.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Steven
Guest

Lots of sales but some useful info

August 24, 2013

I just attended an Investing Foundation workshop in the SF area and found it informative but also frustrating. They constantly were trying to sell their very over priced training modules but also used their 'Investool' extensively to demonstrate every example to show what how it works. The tool is very good but not worth $500/a year unless you do a lot of trading and research. The training was priced out of this world for most early investors and not needed for seasoned traders ($1500+ per course if you invest through TDA and over $2K for others). The entire package was $30K for non-TDA customers ($20K for TDA customers). They constantly brought up they all were originally paying students of the complete program and are now working the program (like that will happen for everyone who took the entire program and lays down the $20/30K). The trainers are just that, trainers trying to sell a product and those that did not present course modules seemed to be sales representatives trying to secure sales during the 2 day workshop.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Phil
Guest

Having Just the Basics can Save You Tens Thousands

March 12, 2013

OK,
So I am not a fancy trader, but I do understand the basics. I don't do Options, just mutual funds - primarily for my 401K type stuff. HEre is the truth - Using just the basic class and renewing annually, I have NOT lost major money on ANY Downturn for over the last 10 years (Joined in 2001). I moved money into safe havens at approximately the peaks, and reinvested at the valleys in about 6 well established mutual funds - CONSISTENTLY - and I only check the valuations 2 or 3 times a week for 10-15 minutes at a time. I figure my average annual rate of return is about 18% - just using the basic tools. Not a fast get rich scheme & nothing fancy - but it sure is better than just riding out the storms!

And a note to folks - if you can't resist high pressure sales (and yes they consistently through them at you - then perhaps you should not invest in the stock market at all & DON'T go see that timeshare :) LOL

test
March 24, 2013

I'm not much into politics, but I think the similarites are amazing. I sat in a class and listened to instructors (salesman) try to convince me that if I don't follow them (and pay out the nose), I will never be successful. I just don't buy that malarchy! I haven't begun my investing education yet as I am analyzing several other companies, but I have to say that I'm getting very positive reviews about investorjim.com. I've even made contact with some former coaching students and they say he is the real deal and very inexpensive. Not a lot a great tools but what he has he shows you for free and then shows you how to apply the knowledge to be successful. Other's refer to Investools as the 800 # gorilla, well then... I think it's time for a change!!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Tad
Guest

October 12, 2012

I'm not much into politics, but I think the similarites are amazing. I sat in a class and listened to instructors (salesman) try to convince me that if I don't follow them (and pay out the nose), I will never be successful. I just don't buy that malarchy! I haven't begun my investing education yet as I am analyzing several other companies, but I have to say that I'm getting very positive reviews about investorjim.com. I've even made contact with some former coaching students and they say he is the real deal and very inexpensive. Not a lot a great tools but what he has he shows you for free and then shows you how to apply the knowledge to be successful. Other's refer to Investools as the 800 # gorilla, well then... I think it's time for a change!!!

Robbie
January 23, 2013

you must be a really naive investor to think you can learn to trade from following someone and getting the information for free. you do understand people who trade for a living have spent years learning how to do so and NO ONE can pass along that kind of information at little or no cost. I know if Jims reputation and he a good trader, but trust me, you aren't going to be success just following him or anyone else. that's like saying I'd like a bachelors or masters degree, but I don't want to pay for it. grow up. education costs money and anyone who tells you otherwise is a fool.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Bud
Guest

September 4, 2012

I was hesitant when I first took the TD Ameritrade free workshop and canceled after approx. 10 days but did enjoy the education I received during that time. Now I'm using the TDA Assets for Education deal and I really enjoy the flexibility with the unlimited courses on any platform, Live, Online, trading rooms, etc. As long as you maintain the minimum subscription. Since TDA has take over I think the new video training platform, overall education, Level 2 and 3 coaching, etc. are all world class.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Rolf
Guest

March 28, 2012

I went to one training session some years ago when it was a Businessweek product. Two days of good education. I have been paying about 1300/yr since for the tools website site. It is a valuable resource and I feel I have done well with it. I am a busy professional (surgeon), so it gets less time than I would like. but I think the basic toolbox is quite useful. I did not experience high pressure sales and would not begin to consider 20,000 for anything they have to offer!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Daniel
Guest

March 15, 2012

Attended the two day workshop. High pressure sales people on you like a hawk. Speaker repeated the same baiting info to get you to buy the big package. No meat! Pages of fine print in the contract to attend the two day workshop with a clause that they automatically charge you $40 per month unless you call and cancel.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Jack
Guest

January 21, 2012

I have been an Investools student for just under a year and it is the best money I have ever spent. I was in need of a career change and by devoting myself to the education they provide, I have become a successful, full time trader and couldn't be happier. As someone else said, it is a lot cheaper than a college education (and I have a post graduate degree) and the quality of the education has surpassed all of my expectations. You get what you pay for, I think 18K for a three year unlimited support plan is quite reasonable.

Comment on this review...
review author image
William
Guest

December 12, 2011

Attended the fundamentals course which was a combination of sales & education. The sales portion is heavy handed, but the exposure to tools & techniques is worth it. They are out to make a profit two ways: courses & $10/trade. I got that from one of the coaches. Consider being educated about the markets & having the tools to aid you is worth an investment. Do your pre-investigation of them & the course matter always. Anything worth doing will cost.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Deanna
Guest

December 8, 2011

Attended a workshop in Austin (drove 2 hours in traffic), was very interested in learning but felt like we were being wrestled into paying up to $24,000. Was unimpressed and left early! Now looking for a good alternative that won't make us mortgage our house.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Rachel
Guest

September 30, 2011

I attended an Investools workshop two weeks ago. I was surprised by the amount of information they DID provide ($99 discounted rate for the class). I purchased a follow-on package (tax deductible as a business expense) to learn how to trade OPTIONS properly through Investools. Many people do speculate that trading options is more risky than stock trading, but that's only due to lack of education about Options trading (more entailed than stock trading, yet lower risk if done properly!!). . So far, the education is quite comprehensive, helpful and founded on creating and maintaining a plan while acknowledging there is always risk in the market. Investools in no way gives the impression that this brings easy money. From what I read, people expect something for nothing. The cost of these courses are nothing compared to a college education (which I have) which doesn't even prepare you for the real world. After two weeks of learning on my own time, I've already gotten my $2,050-worth. I still have my full time job, so when I say two weeks of training, that equates to about 4 hours per weeknight. I recommend Investools to anyone who can afford the initial investment and who is WILLING and ABLE to put forth the effort to learn.

Comment on this review...
review author image
theo
Guest

August 19, 2011

It was probably too expensive but some of the stuff really works. I'm a 17 year old who read from my parents workbooks what to do, and I am making decent money in my education account. It might be expensive, but I found some of the stuff to be quite good. That's just my opinion of the books, I didn't fork out the money or attended any part of it.

Comment on this review...
review author image
John
Guest

March 8, 2011

Investools alternatives... We attended the workshop and were quite taken back by the lack of education and high sales pressure. When we realized that they were just trying to sell us packages up to $25,000 we walked out.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review