InterNations.org Reviews

InterNations.org
Based on 33  Reviews



Review It

About InterNations.org

InterNations.org is the online home of InterNations, a company that promises to help people who are moving to foreign countries and cities with everything they need through their community of expatriates. 

How Does It Work?

According to their website, it’s not a surprise that people who are considering or preparing for a move to a foreign country or new city could be anxious or overwhelmed by the amount of information and assistance they need, and the fact that they simply aren’t sure of where they can find all the answers. 

InterNations.org says that they have worked hard to create a single resource where people can go to meet and connect with other expatriates and knowledgeable locals in order to exchange information and helpful tips with them. 

They say that their website is set up to meet all their customers’ needs from the moment you decide to move until you are actually settled into your new home city, and even beyond, as they want to make sure that people can experience their time abroad to the fullest. 

In addition, InterNations.org says that they are the largest international online community for people who live and work abroad, with more than 390 cities worldwide and more than 3,500 monthly events and activities. 

Mobile Options

Currently InterNations.org does provide their members with a free downloadable mobile app for either iOS or Android devices. 

Cost/Price Plans

This website does provide their customers with the opportunity to have a free Basic Membership, but they also provide an upgraded, paid for membership called their Albatross Membership. 

This paid-for membership provides customers with benefits like free or reduced entrance to tickets InterNations Events, priority on event guest lists, the ability to see which members have recently visited your profile, full access to all articles in the Guide section as well as to their Expat Magazine, and more. 

Unfortunately the website does not provide a published list of the cost of this membership, as the price likely varies depending on the country of residence of the member in question, but some websites quote the cost as being as low as under $5 USD per month.  

Refund Policy

This website does say that any customer who has just upgraded to their Albatross Membership for the first time is entitled to a 14 Day Money Back Guarantee, which states that members who cancel during their initial 14 day enrollment will have the opportunity to receive a refund of any fees they have paid thus far. Any customer that is eligible for this Guarantee will be notified of this eligibility during their sign up process. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact their Customer Service team with questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by submitting them to their website through the FAQ section of their website and clicking on their Request Support link. 

Reputation

Though this company does seem to have a lot of praise for the information available on their website, there is one specific customer complaint that seems to be repeated over and over again on various websites, and it has to do with unauthorized credit card charges.

These customers claim that they attempted to cancel their membership so it would not renew, and unfortunately they still continued to receive charges from this company and when they contacted Customer Service to complain, they were denied a refund. 

This is obviously a very serious issue, and customers may hesitate to upgrade to their paid membership because of it. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are actually many different websites and resources available to people who are interested in researching different cities and countries that they may be considering living in, so if customers feel that InterNations.org isn’t meeting their needs for some reason, there are likely to be other options that better meet your needs.  

If you have experience with this company or their products, please leave your InterNations.org reviews below.

33 ‘InterNations.org’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

Dark Pattern Scam



July11, 2018

They create a dark pattern where it is really easy to accidentally pay for a full membership after your free trial is complete. They will charge you even if you are a day late canceling and have zero interest in helping you out. It is impossible to get any kind of refund since they charge you everything upfront and not month to month like most subscription services. While what they are doing is completely legal, it is clearly done purposely and dishonestly to scam you out of your money since you can read all over the internet of people bringing up the exact same complaint. I have learned my very expensive lesson and am posting my story anywhere I can so that other do not fall into the same trap.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
January 09, 2019

please contact internations.scam[at]gmail.com, we're taking legal action against them

Your Comment

InterNations are FRAUDULENT



July4, 2018

DO not give your credit card information for even a single event. I have just identified that I was charged 9 times (rolling renewal 3x) for a product I NEVER USED. I never received one invoice, and never signed up for the community membership, just a single event.

FRAUDULENT. I will report this everywhere I can find online as they are refusing to resolve the matter. For an organisation that purports to support expats, they certainly are taking advantage of them.

C. Robinson

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
January 09, 2019

please contact internations.scam[at]gmail.com, we're taking legal action against them

Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

THEY ARE A SCAM! NEVER DO THE TRIAL



June28, 2018

They wouldnt let me cancel the trial and kept my credit card information. the T&C dont say it is renewed automatically and they charge you and keep your details!!! they dont let you modify it, change it, cancel it before the term and then scam you out of 50 bucks! it doesnt help you socialize and a complete waste of time. NEVER go in!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
July 04, 2018

Additionally, I also complained on their site and they removed the complaint within 5 minutes. So basically, I get the feeling that there are MANY people complaining, but they delete any serious feedback so there is no trace of it. Shady.

BEWARE

January 09, 2019

please contact internations.scam[at]gmail.com, we're taking legal action against them

Your Comment

Albatross Membership is a SCAM



June18, 2018

Don't fall for Albatross Membership. Once you signed up for this you will not be able to cancel. Customer Service is a "joke". They will not assist you at all but only will start threatening you for Legal Action if you will not pay.
This kind of message you might will receive:

"We provide you with all the necessary information you need to manage your account online. As you did not downgrade your account before your membership was renewed, there is no further action we can take.

Please note that as per our Terms & Conditions, we reserve the right to keep your account active until you settle your balance. We also reserve the right to escalate this matter further to a debt collection agency, which may result in additional costs for you."

Very tricky, cheap and dirty approach towards members.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
January 09, 2019

please contact internations.scam[at]gmail.com, we're taking legal action against them

Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Dont upgrade to Albatross membership - a pain to cancel the subscription



June7, 2018

Internations is eager to charge for the Albatross membership, however once you subscribe, it will be automatically renewed without your consent and cancelling the subscription is a pain: information on how to do that is hard to find and the process is painful. I havent used the site for over a year and have just learned with surprise that I have been charged all this time. As if this was not enough, my account is now blocked and I'm forced to pay for a renewal because the card attached to the subscription has expired. I strongly recommend you stay away from the subscription, and from this site all together.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
January 09, 2019

please contact internations.scam[at]gmail.com, we're taking legal action against them

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

InterNations Auto Renewal SCAM



January25, 2018

Last year I signed up for an Albatross membership on Internations.A few days ago, I got an email on the same day of the renewal saying that the payment could not go through.
I got no advice notice regarding the auto renewal, not even in my Internations inbox. Reminder emails are the common thing in these cases, unless you only care about the money and basically want to ripoff your members!! Fortunately I have moved to other country and the bank account I provided does not exist anymore. I am not interested in keeping my Albatross membership for many reasons, being the main one that they are trying to force me to pay for something that I don't want nor need!!
I am trying to delete my account but they are not letting me to do so unless I pay. I cannot downgrade, I cannot remove my account, no options available, only to pay!!
What a scam and ripoff!!!Please avoid this network!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 5 Comments
April 06, 2018

i am in the same situation and i am fuming. i have contacted a lawyer. it's not about the money. it is a matter of principle. please let me know if you were able to resolve your issue.

April 07, 2018

HI Coby, They sent me a couple of reminders and threatened to take legal action. That was in February and I did not hear back from them. I have changed the name, country and email id in my account to fake ones. I just opened that email account and they did not send me more emails. If you are living in Europe don't worry, they will not take legal actions, financially it would be their lost. I don't know about other parts of the world though.
I know it is very annoying. They are very dishonest and have awful ethics. As you said it is not about the money, it is a matter of principle. I would just ignore them, apart from threatening us I don't think they will do anything.

April 07, 2018

Hi Coby, they sent me a couple of emails threatening of taking legal actions. That was back in February and they didn't send me more emails after that. I have changed my info and contact info to fake ones and unsubscribe from all newsletters etc. If you live in Europe don't worry, they won't do anything. Financially it would be their lost. I don't know about other parts of the world though.
It is very annoying. They are dishonest and have very bad ethics. I would just ignore them and write as many reviews as possible, so we spread the word! :)

June 07, 2018

Completely agree. I will now be ignoring their messages and threats.

January 09, 2019

please contact internations.scam[at]gmail.com, we're taking legal action against them

Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Disgusted



August24, 2017

s soon as I realized I had been charged for an entire YEARS membership (over $70usd) I got in touch with customer service via email. This was after the 14days to get full refund for not liking this 'service'. The company is stealing from me, hiding behind terms and conditions, it is unethical to not give someone their money back for being unhappy with this 'service' they are providing. Yes, I was unaware that I would be charged a full years membership. As the website states that there are options for the length of membership, ie 3 months....I figured thats all I would be paying when/if I forgot to cancel the trial which I did forget. Any other ethical business would try to do something, but these jerks....

The thing that gets me is that the email they send to let you know you have a bill or remind you that your trial is almost up is sent to their internations webiste, so if you dont login, you will never see it. That is what happened to me.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
January 09, 2019

please contact internations.scam[at]gmail.com, we're taking legal action against them

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Bad billing practices



May26, 2017

The parties used to be interesting but then I have not used the service for a long time and they simply charged me for an auto-renewal I have NEVER requested saying it was for my convenience.

I have requested a refund on the same day explaining that I had not logged in to the platform in several months and they simply refused to give me a refund.

Also, somehow my previous credit card has already expired so I don't understand how they were authorised to charge me on my new card. I will never use this service again.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
January 09, 2019

please contact internations.scam[at]gmail.com, we're taking legal action against them

Your Comment

Leave a Review