InterNations.org Reviews

InterNations.org
( 36 reviews )

You may also be interested in

InterNations.org Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Free trial is a scam, you will be charged full amount with no means of obtaining a refund as promised in their General Terms and Conditions.
November 4, 2022
I signed up for the free trial on the 30th of October, only to be charged the full amount, on the same date. When I contacted the customer support, to cancel the contract as per the General Terms and Conditions, I received no response, after attempting to contact them via email, their website, Facebook, and Instagram.

Scam. Beware. Do not sign up
November 10, 2021

This organization is a scam. And its practice is against the Law. Do not sign up!

Once you sign up, there is no way of cancelling the membership and they will keep charging you. If you take out your credit card number, they will still charge you and threaten to send the bill to the collection agency, even after you send the cancellation request!!! Oh, and there is no way of cancelling it online.

This is an organization like mafia, and it’s a huge scam. Its event is not that great anyway. I went to one online gathering once which wasn’t great, and never used the service again.

Report this company’s practice to:

https://reportfraud.ftc.gov

If you live in the USA, please also contact your state’s attorney general.

It is illegal to hide clear and easy steps to cancel membership online.

DO NOT be part of this scam organization.
December 16, 2020
They continue to bill you even after your yearly membership has expired. They threaten legal action, literally hold you ransom if you do not pay up.

InterNations uses Dark Patterns
July 21, 2020

Yet another victim of InterNations unethical business practices. InterNations uses dark patterns to lure unsuspecting subscribers into recurring bills. Basically, they employ employs “forced continuity”, a type of dark pattern, in their consent obtaining mechanism to repeatedly charge its subscribers despite their objections.

Organizing a boycott against this duplicitous company @BInternations (Twitter) and at www dot InterNations dot us

I would encourage all those who have been victimized by InterNations to add their voice to the boycott. As individuals we are easy to ignore, but as a collective we have a real opportunity to shine a spotlight on this company’s deceptive and unethical business practices.

STAY AWAY!!!
July 16, 2020

STAY AWAY! The Auto-renewal process is a SCAM for the lack of a better word.

It is an exploitation of the legal system as they will say you signed up for it after having read their terms and conditions. So you are stuck. I contacted the European Consumer Contact Network and their advise was ' You can try to argue that this is an unfair term, but ultimately only a judge in court can make this decision. '. I hope someone can be bothered enough to go this far. if needed I can assist and provide more information.

They successfully took payment for two years membership from me, although I only attended one of their events after a friend told me about them.

The event I attended was actually very rubbish. There was no organisation and I absolutely did not feel like I attended as a member of internations. I could have just walked into a random bar by myself. There are better ways of meeting people online that would not cost you so much money and threats of court actions for something you should be able to easily opt in for and opt out from.

I had tried to cancel my membership, last year but the process was not intuitive and since they had also auto renewed I just left it and removed my credit card details.

This year, I received an email to update my credit card information so they can take payment for the auto-renewal that they had already done for me. I immediately responded that I am not interested in auto-renewal and would not want to pay. They refused to cancel my membership and forced me to honour the renewal after many threats and nagging emails.

STAY AWAY!! It is not worth it. Even if you moved to a new city, it is not worth it. There are better ways and better apps for meeting new people. Easier for you to walk into a bar or a social gathering or just say hello to someone. I am writing this review at 5am in the morning after I have paid for two years of unused and unwanted membership. I do not want that to be you.

Apologies, I know I have ranted for long enough, but it is to ensure someone else does not make the same mistake as I did.

Boycott InterNations! July 21, 2020

Organizing a boycott against InterNations, check out @BInternations (Twitter) and at www dot InterNations dot us

As individuals we are easy to ignore, but as a collective we have a real opportunity to shine a spotlight on this company’s deceptive and unethical business practices.

Scam!
July 14, 2020
I signed up for the free service and used it maybe half a dozen times. Then 14 months later get a bill saying I owe $60. I argue that I never upgraded and never use the site. They say I upgraded May 2019 yet I didn't get a bill until July 2020. I looked through all my emails with them..no upgrade confirmation, no charge, no bill...until 14 months later! Pretty fishy. I told them to go ahead and cancel my account..they said they are unable to until I pay my outstanding balance and keep pushing me to sign into my account. I know I never got on there between May 2019 and July 2020 but they insist I must pay the $60. Mind you, whatever upgrade service they say I signed up for gives you access to exclusive events and things in the country you moved to....I DONT EVEN LIVE THERE..I didn't move, I knew when I signed up that the move was 5 years away so there would have been no need or use to upgrading. I don't need it, didn't need it, wont use it so what possible reason would I have for upgrading? I agree with other users...scam to get money.

Beware of this Crooked Organization
June 9, 2020

#Internations #UAE #Internations.org #LegalizedFraud #Beware #DubaiExpatsBeware #UAEExpatsBeware

This is a very unethical and dishonest organization that feeds off unsuspecting professionals who have experienced their sleazy operations and don't want to continue any longer. This is legalized fraud. They automatically without consent renew the membership and then throw the rulebook. They just charged me AED 468 which is like Euros 125 without my consent. I wrote to them within an hour but they refuse to refund the charges. If someone knows of a fair-practice organization or watch-dog body in Germany or the EU, please let me know. I want everyone in Dubai to know that these guys are cheats and we must stay as far away as possible. They are getting away with this dishonest practice and hope some governmental organization clamps down on them.

Boycott InterNations! July 21, 2020

Organizing a boycott against InterNations, check out @BInternations (Twitter) and at www dot InterNations dot us

As individuals we are easy to ignore, but as a collective we have a real opportunity to shine a spotlight on this company’s deceptive and unethical business practices.

I got suckered by InterNations
June 8, 2020

Once they have your credit card details, they will just keep billing you and billing you. The only recourse is to call VISA and initiate a chargeback or change your credit card.

Such a scam company.

For your own sake, stay as far away as possible.

Boycott InterNations! July 21, 2020

Organizing a boycott against InterNations, check out @BInternations (Twitter) and at www dot InterNations dot us

As individuals we are easy to ignore, but as a collective we have a real opportunity to shine a spotlight on this company’s deceptive and unethical business practices.

Stay away from them!
October 6, 2019

After reading all these bad reviews I am actually happy that InterNations declined my membership request. At the beginning, I was very enthusiastic about joining them and their international community, but I got frustrated with their reply about declining my membership request. It is very disappointing that such a "prestigious" organisation could not make an effort to prepare a better e-mail. In my opinion, it is very unprofessional to reject a person based on a few questions and an e-mail address. It seems to me that InterNations is a very exclusive group where only selected few can have access to their "precious" service. I wonder what kind of criteria you need to meet to join their "renowned" community? But, now I can say: thank you InterNations for declining my request! You saved my time dealing with you and the problems some other people are facing. :)

Ps. After the negative experience with InterNations, my husband also thinks that InterNations is a farse and he is going to cancel his membership.

KenLem August 16, 2020

I was also doing research about this organization and they rejected my request without reason but thankfully I found all these negative reviews... Your community contributions are very much appreciated

Yet another victim of their billing practices.
September 27, 2019
I am yet another victim of their Albatross Membership billing practices. After I hadn't used or visited their website in over a year, or taken advantage of any of the social services they reputedly offer, I began receiving threatening messages from their billing department saying that my membership had been automatically renewed and I needed to update my credit card information. They repeatedly contended that if I had simply viewed my membership status on their website I would have seen that my membership was due to automatically review. This is disingenuous to say the least. I hadn't visited their website in many months as I had no use for it. My protestations had virtually no affect on them, and all my responses received the same boilerplate warnings. It is axiomatic that any enterprise that genuinely cared about the welfare of its members would not attempt to force them to part with money for services they don't want. Their lack of good faith is amplified by their failure to send me an email warning me that my membership was due to renew automatically. They send me hundreds of other emails about alleged membership activities in my area, but do not bother to send members anything that notifies them that absent action their membership will renew and another $80 will be deducted from their credit card. They are truly unethical and are now threatening to submit by alleged debt to a collection agency. Well, two of my brothers are lawyers, and we will fight them to the ends of earth of earth if need be, including filing a class action lawsuit on behalf of all the other members who have been victimized by these practices. They will be quite easy to find.

Stephen Smith June 01, 2020

Hello,

I am in the same boat; worse because my renewal happened a month

Stephen Smith June 01, 2020

Hello,

I am in the same boat; worse because my renewal happened a month

Boycott InterNations! July 21, 2020

Organizing a boycott against InterNations, check out @BInternations (Twitter) and at www dot InterNations dot us

As individuals we are easy to ignore, but as a collective we have a real opportunity to shine a spotlight on this company’s deceptive and unethical business practices.

Complete lack of customer service
September 19, 2019

I wish I had seen all of these negative reviews before I joined. I would not have made the same mistake. I have had the same horrible experience with the so called "customer support" team.

I was a member for a year. I only went to a couple of events, and while it certainly wasn't bad, it wasn't enough that I wanted to remain a member. This certainly isn't the most important thing going on in my life and so I kind of forgot about it until a few days ago when I saw on my credit card statement that my membership had auto-renewed. I immediately contacted "customer support" and asked to cancel the membership and refund the charge from one day prior. They have taken the very rigid and unsupportive position of "you should have known it was going to auto-renew" and we absolutely will not refund your money. This just isn't the way a customer-friendly organization does business, and anyone thinking of joining should be aware of it.

Deviant
August 30, 2019

This is a dangerously disguised dating site used primarily by men targeting naive, helpless, disenfranchised immigrant women.

Please be vigilant and highly aware. Do NOT post photos or a sad story. Do NOT agree to meet. Though I erred my complaints to the Ambassador and lead organizer of our Calgary, Alberta area...she did NOTHING to remove the serial predator. They are all in it for promiscuity. Please do not connect with them.

Do not input any payment method
August 14, 2019
Worst customer support experience ever, avoid at all costs since one little slip and you will get charged big amounts of money at once without a heads up, and you won’t see it again. Don’t expect to be treated like a human, or by humans for that matter. I signed up, didn’t realise I was getting into a “free trial” period, didn’t use it ONCE, and got charged €83 euros exactly the day my trial period ended, worth a full year subscription. An hour after the payment was done, I asked for a refund, since I never used it and didn’t intend to use it further on. They never sent a reminder before the trial was over, or as a heads up before the payment was done. The follow ups denying my refund looked as though written by robots, not humans, even though they sell themselves as a company that connects humans. They say that I was constantly reminded of my subscription on my profile’s “Albatross” badge, even though I clearly never logged in during the trial month, so I couldn’t have seen it. I addressed that, as per EU law I’m entitled to a refund up to 14 days after the purchase of a product or service, but if course, they set the “purchase” date on the day the “FREE TRIAL” (ergo, no purchase) starts. I’m taking this matter to customer defence entities in Belgium, where my PayPal account is set, in Germany, where they’re based, and the EU regulators.

Stephen Smith June 01, 2020

Hello,

I am in the same boat; worse because my renewal happened a month

Scam company.. Dont give your credit card ever!!
July 31, 2019
I should have read these reviews before signing up for Internations. All the comments about their horrific renewal policy is true. they charge you for a service not yet availed and refuse to refund the amount thats charged for the subsequent year. All this in the name of convenience for the customer who may forget to renew the subscriptiuon. If the customer is not using the service and has forgotten to renew the service, the message is loud and clear.. They have illogical representatives who give canned responses which are no good as well..No phone number to call and no escalation process. Only a bunch of impossible customer service representatives who keep sending the same responses over and over again. Never ever sign up for Internations.. Its an organization with unethical practices and not professional enough to sign up for in the first place.

Immoral Subscription Policy
June 26, 2019
Hi, avoid this service at all cost. They have auto renewal in place for subscription and for some reason if your card in file is outdated , they don't discontinue your membership, they still continue your membership and come after you with a pay or legal action attitude. Save yourself some headache.

Awful
June 25, 2019
Internations is awful. Their payment practices are intentionally manipulative and confusing. Their customer service is awful and robotic and then will refuse to respond - flat out. AND they will not allow you to make a formal complaint to them about their policy. They simply ignore you and then you have no way to contact them/get a response. A terrible company.

Scamnations
May 16, 2019
Got blocked because I didn't want to pay Albatross membership, When did it become compulsory? I think this organisation is rather miles away from it's initial aim and is a scam, scamnations.org is a better name for it. I am happy that my credit card had changed before they can take money from me without permission! auto-renewal £55 for a 6 month memebership I can't believe it!

Boycott InterNations! July 21, 2020

Organizing a boycott against InterNations, check out @BInternations (Twitter) and at www dot InterNations dot us

As individuals we are easy to ignore, but as a collective we have a real opportunity to shine a spotlight on this company’s deceptive and unethical business practices.

Buyer Beware!
April 13, 2019
BUYER BEWARE and read the reviews! Do not join this organization. It has outrageously unethical billing and business practices! It claims that basic membership in InterNations is "free", but then you must pay full-price to attend every single one of their events. If you then upgrade to Albatross membership, which allows you free entry to social functions, it is almost impossible later to cancel your membership. They give you NO direct Notice when they automatically charge your credit card for their annual fee, and if you object, and state that you no longer wish to be a member (which is why the charge was blocked to begin with), they threaten you with a collection action. This is an unscrupulous organization, which is all about profit. Do not be scammed. BTW, if you're interested in attending one of their events, you can go as a guest, without even risking joining their despicable organization. You still have to pay (of course; it's all about the $$$), but far better to do it on an event-by-event basis than ever risk giving them access to your bank account.

Such a criminal SITE !
February 14, 2019

As many of the other members of this site, I was also a victim of the unethical practise and policy of internetions.org. They are asking me to pay over 30 euros for something I was not aware I was scamed to pay for.

Clearly, they "took" all the steps they need to, not to clearly inform me on time, that if I don't cancel the autorenewal, they will charge me about something I don't need, want and I will not going to use anymore.

Even from the beginning they managed to subtly hide the autorenewal informations, subtly enough that you feel comfortable to just klick all the "next" buttons until you finish the subscription.

At the end, they don't allow me to delete my account until I pay the invoice they sent to me, threathening me that they will take legal actions against me.

Not letting me to delete my account is pure kidnapping of the user's privacy!

All of the members, or the future members should a ll be aware that the Internations.org practises are rude, not user friendly and fraudly.

Best regards,

Gjorgi FIlipov

We're taking legal action against them
January 9, 2019
We're a group of Internations.org victims and we decided to team up and take legal action against them. Please contact us on internations.scam[at]gmail.com

AureliaTuducea May 13, 2019

Hi,

I have been scammed by them and now they are threatening to take legal actions against me if I do not pay. I was not even aware that I was paying anything, especially that I live in the Arctic Circle in Norway and I cannot even benefit from anything they are offering. I asked them to cancel my subscription explaining jthe situation and they refused. Now they are sending me endless legal threats to my e-mail. I don't wnat to pay it and for sure I won't.