Ibotta App Reviews

Ibotta App
Based on 38  Reviews



Review It

About Ibotta App

The Ibotta app is a new application available for both iOS and Android which they describe as a “fun and easy way to earn $20 or more each time you go shopping,” and puts a twist on a common coupon applications.

Unlike most savings and coupon applications, which just send you general coupons available to everyone, the Ibotta app tries to make the shopping, savings, and general consumer experience more personalized.

How Ibotta works is relatively simple. Before you go shopping, click on your Ibotta app and choose the products you intend to buy during your next shopping trip. Once you have selected an item, you will be asked to complete some tasks; the more tasks you complete, the more you can earn.

Ibotta says their goal is to give consumers a chance not only for savings but also to interact with the brands they purchase. This is where the tasks come in. Instead of straight forward coupons, you take part in a series of fun, game like interactions.

You are providing information to brands and retailers, and with this information the app can offer you further savings that are specifically personalized to your likes and needs.

You can then buy your items at any one of 35 nationwide retailers in your area – they also promise that new stores are being added all the time to expand their network to better serve you.

After you finalize your purchase, the rules say you must take a photo of your receipt and verify that you purchased the item by uploading that photo to your app. After your purchase has been verified, usually within 24 hours, you can choose to get real money in your PayPal account or have your earnings donated to any school in America.

You can also invite friends to join Ibotta with your referral link. You will earn $1 for every friend or family who registers for the app from your invitation.

If you have any experience with this application, please leave your Ibotta reviews below.

38 ‘Ibotta App’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

Be aware before you join!!!



December14, 2015

I was attracted by the idea, convenient, no messy papers. It is the execution of the idea is not great and the company is not customer oriented.

The Reality---

1. it is not "coupon", it is "rebate". Unlike coupon you scan it, you get your money right away. It requires submission and keep track (especially on the top of that ibotta is not a trustworthy company, you can find more review at BBB that they try very hard for you to cash out.)

2. very limited variety of rebate items, most of them I never use, especially a lot of them are alcohol related.

3. On the top of very limited rebate items, they also have restriction of retailer you can use.

Unfortunately, this can only serve as supplement for me and will not replace my coupon.

After test drive for one year, compare the effort and and amount I (will) earn, the ROI is too low. Once I finally reach $20 and receive my payout, I will stop. I can only hope that I can got my pay-out as smooth as possible, and cancel my account as easy as possible, since I just read about a lot of issues to get pay and cancel account.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

works for me



September20, 2015

I’ve been using ibotta for just a week or two and I have over $7 already. It takes a few minutes to pick your offers before you shop, but if you willing to spend a small amount of time it can definetely save you money. One of the things I think is really cool is that they give offers on items that never have coupons anywhere else like produce, milk, bread, and offers that are good on any brand like shredded cheese or chips and it doesn’t even matter what brand you buy!

There are also teamwork bonuses where you get free dollars when you pass certain amounts. Right now I don’t have many team members so if you haven’t joined ibotta yet please use my link and we can work together towards the bonuses…so far I can get the first few alone but I need more teammates to reach the highest level.

Also you can use ibotta at the same time as paper coupons so its a bonus on top of what you are already saving!! And I forgot to mention, for stores with loyalty cards you just enter your loyalty # and it is automaticaly submitted for you so there’s no need to submitt receipts for grocery stores!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
September 24, 2015

Wait until you try to "cash out". It constantly says down for repair and now has removed all cash earned. It is a total scam. Nobody should use this

September 29, 2015

O wow that's terrible! Have you tried gift cards? I just cashed out to a $10 Walmart Giftcard today and used it at the store this afternoon. Maybe higher amounts are a problem or there is something with your phone but it did just work for $10 in a Walmart giftcard and the card worked at checkout.

December 14, 2015

What's their phone#?

January 13, 2016

"items that never have coupons anywhere else like produce, milk, bread, and offers that are good on any brand like shredded cheese or chips and it doesn’t even matter what brand you buy!"

I noticed that they offer this for beginners to get your attention that they really can save you money. But within time I found that this stuff appears less in your offers and if it does the rebate amount is smaller.

Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Everything works EXCEPT Cash Out



September9, 2015

I downloaded the app and it isn't terribly hard to figure out. Verified the items and got the approval for receipt. All fine. Now when it comes to actually getting paid, all that happens is a notice on the site saying "working on the site". Seems everything works that makes them money but nothing works where they pay money.

I am guessing they are out of cash and so just stick this sign up to avoid the real issue.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
September 24, 2015

Well as an update, now my cash earned not longer appears. What a scam. Cash out doesn't work and when they grow tired of hearing about that they just remove everyone's cash earned. Total waste of time!

September 29, 2015

That's sucks, can you get someone live on the phone? $10 Giftcard worked for me. Also looks like my link got deleted but I really need a few friends, if the site owner doesn't mind could you leave my link up for a while? I need a few people on my team, thanks allot! You get $1 free if you sign up through this link, register first then it will download. https://ibotta.com/r/rabqxmg

December 14, 2015

What's their phone#?

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

scam and no live person



June11, 2015

I have been trying resolve cash out to PayPal and they typed in wrong email address. Told me via email contact PayPal. They could send me an email to the correct email but not post payment correctly. Only way of communication is email and not phone.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
August 20, 2015

I have not been able to cash out. I requested a Walmart card and was told I'd receive a confirmation email, which never happened. I hit resend email over and over and still have not received confirmation

September 09, 2015

Cash out doesn't seem to work lol. Every time I click on it a message comes up that they are working on the site to make it better.

My guess is that the "company" is out of cash and just trying to keep making money through advertising until they get caught.

Looks like a total scam

September 24, 2015

Tracy, After a month of trying to cash out and getting a notice that it is down for repair to make the site better.........they removed all the cash earned.

It is a total scam

December 14, 2015

Yes, they hide behind the email so that it is easy to ignore the complain.
Their app is not well thought out at all, I had an issue recently, and they discover I have two accounts that I didn't even realize at beginning. What happen is after I switch the phone, the app ask me to log in. I just choose Facebook log in thinking if that's wrong the app will say something... Since the app just accept my log in, I didn't aware of another account was been created and I start using the app again... Until when I contact them about one rebate status, they claim I got two accounts and deactivate one account without return any earned rebates to me. It is stealing!!! I tried to contact them, they just ignore to resolve the issue, and say have a nice day. If they are trying to be sarcasm, they did it! How can I have a nice day the way they response to issues!?!?

Your Comment

I hate it



May25, 2015

It is a huge waste of time. The app is flawed. the coupons take forever to load. the videos drain the battery. once you set up your shopping spree... the store you've chosen based on the coupons being offered, the bands are no longer being carried, and or the app doesn't recognize the barcode provided. flawed flawed flawed

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
October 16, 2015

If you take the time to go through the coupons at home on Wi-Fi it works perfectly. I don't think it takes that long at all but in the store there is often worse cell service and that's when it can get slow. Just go through at home and activate anything you might want, you don't have to buy it if you don't want to once you get to the store. Also the videos are only 30 seconds I don't think that drains your battery that much, you may want to look to constant fb updates,GPS or Bluetooth to fix that. Also I can usually find everything I want in the store if it's not being offered that would be the stores fault but at the supermarket chains I don't seem to have a problem with that, also never had a problem with barcodes and you can even verify one in the store if your not sure if it counts. I earned $11.75 on my trip today. I don't have many team members though and you have to build your own team so if any one is new to the app and hasn't downloaded yet you can use my link, you will get a free $1 in your account if you redeem atleast one (0.25 or more) rebate within 2 weeks. I need more people on my team, so if you do we can help each other & thanks allot!

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

I use it all the time!



May24, 2015

I use Ibotta all the time. I decide what I want before I go to the store. You can delete things from the list that you are probably not going to buy. That takes some time so I just ignore those. My husband and I have tried a few new things from the list. He even has it on his phone. Now with the 'buy any brand' coupons we can save even more. I also have the Savings Catcher to save more. I don't let my amount add up in the Ibotta account to too much before I send the money to my Venmo account. Don't use PayPal anymore. Had some issues. But you get the savings sometimes within minutes up to a day later. As soon as you have $10 you can transfer it. It is not a hard app to use. Just wish I could get some more teammates so I could save more money!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

I LOVE IBOTTA



May19, 2015

I earned 200.00 within two months everyone should have this it is so worth taking up space on my phone I now have 339.00 in my account and I started March I know ur probably thinking oh this is a scam it's not download the app trust me it's the BEST!!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
December 14, 2015

Did you use the online shopping only? The items are ranging from few cents to couple dollars, how can you get 200 in two months, especially most of the high dollars items are alcohol related?

If you use online shopping only, there's other program offer better service and more trustworthy than ibotta.

April 19, 2016

Skye, have you tried to cash out your credit? I hear this is where the problem is.

September 14, 2016

I would love to know if this person ever received their funds

October 13, 2016

yep, i just hot $20 and i cant get back in to my account. how funny. ibotta is a scam!!!

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Its a Fraud AAP



January26, 2015

This aap is totally a fraud .when ever you get high balance in your account they DeActivate your account and at the end you get nothing . i collect $270 in my account in 5 months and then they deactivate my account and now i have nothing .so this aap is just a crap,fraud and wastage of time and energy .

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
May 25, 2015

i agree...
It is a time suck app. that doesn't accept any of the "any brand" items...
the videos don't load. it is a huge waste of time and bogus app

Your Comment

Leave a Review