ibotta App Reviews

ibotta App
( 40 reviews )
Website: ibotta.com

The Ibotta app is a new application available for both iOS and Android which they describe as a “fun and easy way to earn $20 or more each time you go shopping,” and puts a twist on a common coupon applications.

Unlike most savings and coupon applications, which just send you general coupons available to everyone, the Ibotta app tries to make the shopping, savings, and general consumer experience more personalized.

How Ibotta works is relatively simple. Before you go shopping, click on your Ibotta app and choose the products you intend to buy during your next shopping trip. Once you have selected an item, you will be asked to complete some tasks; the more tasks you complete, the more you can earn.

Ibotta says their goal is to give consumers a chance not only for savings but also to interact with the brands they purchase. This is where the tasks come in. Instead of straight forward coupons, you take part in a series of fun, game like interactions. 

 

You are providing information to brands and retailers, and with this information the app can offer you further savings that are specifically personalized to your likes and needs.

You can then buy your items at any one of 35 nationwide retailers in your area – they also promise that new stores are being added all the time to expand their network to better serve you.

After you finalize your purchase, the rules say you must take a photo of your receipt and verify that you purchased the item by uploading that photo to your app. After your purchase has been verified, usually within 24 hours, you can choose to get real money in your PayPal account or have your earnings donated to any school in America.

You can also invite friends to join Ibotta with your referral link. You will earn $1 for every friend or family who registers for the app from your invitation.

If you have any experience with this application, please leave your Ibotta reviews below.

Read Next: Do Coupon Sites and Savings Apps Actually Work?

You may also be interested in

ibotta App Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Waste of time. SCAM ALERT!!
July 7, 2021
Total waste of time. Endless effort to get less than $1 cash back. Plus if you stop using the app they charge $3.99 a month. SCAM, SCAM, SCAM!!!

Scam
January 27, 2021
The app has malware. The Customer service is slow and unhelpful. Expect your account to be locked just when you get enough money to cash out. Very bad experience...

Can not wait to get rid of ibotta
July 9, 2020
I liked it at first but then when there was an update, I didn't recognize the icon and when I realized that was an update, it had me give it information that it normally doesn't and I ended up "paying with ibotta" which is not what I wanted to do and it took money out of my account for a purchase that I already made. They make it clear that they do not give refunds of any kind so I was out the money and have to spend it at the store that they took the money out of. There is NO support at all. After I spend this money, I am deleting the app. I hate it.

Great shopping app!
November 1, 2019
Made over $200 in last 3 years. Very few problems. Love it!

Bill May 30, 2020

Ibotta has apparently been going through major financial hardship for quite some time. Repeatedly I'll hear of Ibotta users who -- after spending with the Ibotta merchants -- that there finds remain in the "Pending" status for months, not the "within 30 days" as described on the website.

Rewards Worth The Effort
October 14, 2019
I downloaded this after much coaxing from my daughter-in-law and reading an AARP recommendation. I’m retired so anything I can do to stretch a dollar is extremely helpful. The app was easy to install and rules for use and points redemption are clear. I encountered a problem the first time I tried to request a gift card. I opened a ticket with Ibotta Care and received confirmation immediately and a response within 72 hours. It resolved my problem. I’m sold on the app and the Ibotta Care Center followup.

If was great
September 25, 2019
It was ok but when it came time to withdraw i was unable to. I changed my number and had submitted a ticket to the care team. Beware there is no online chat or phone calls. It's been days since I've submitted a ticket with a promise to respond in 2 days. Once I do get it I'm uninstalling.

Beware
May 9, 2019

This will work to an extent. You have to get the exact same size and package on items.

However, if you become good at it and buy "to many items" then the system flags you and they lock your account for no reason. It would be wise to take your earnings out when you can- if you are trying to save it for a larger amount then that gives them time to make up something up to lock your account so you cant't get it out.

BEWARE-This app is used for a casual buyer. If you earn to much they just luck up and deactivate your account so they don't have to pay you.

TinaRucker Greene May 17, 2019

It sounds like you need to upgrade your Ibotta app. There are several retailers who are linked and your purchases will automatically upload to the store so you can get your money. I must ask, are you familiar with using coupons? This works the same way. Sometimes they specify that you buy a specific item, and that will include weight, brand,

Ups and downs
March 25, 2019
This is great for instant cash back with receipts! But online shopping, bookings and rentals.... don’t hold your breath on getting any cash back! I have 3 rentals/bookings from July to September of last year still pending! If you shop in store at Walmart only... it may actually be worth it! The rest of the stores don’t even carry most the items offered!

Horrible company.
January 7, 2019
I was to get my account up to $70 in earnings and then when I attempted to withdraw them they deactivated my account with no warning or reasoning. I emailed the company multiple times to figure out why. Finally I took it to BBB and then I got a response from the company. They stated I submitted the same receipt more than once. ( I may have buy accident, I grocery shop quite a bit)Also told me that one or more of the receipts where used by a different account. Again , my husband could have by mistake picked up one of the ones I already submitted. We both had an account and would alternate receipts to submit. But instead of warning us like a lot of the other apps do. ( Receipt hog,coinout) They tell you, this has already been submitted we can not accept it and that's the end of it. NOT with Ibotta, they will just deactivate your account without speaking to you first and keep your earnings.

heather May 09, 2019

Yes they did the same to me. I got up to $73 and then they starting making stuff up to deactivate my account.

LisaPugh November 01, 2019

I cash out after I reach $20-25.

APP doesn't work
November 13, 2018
At some point I sent a receipt that they said they were having problems reading. Since then, it just sits and says pending and won't take any other receipt. This app is not worth the aggravation. Don't waste your time

Ibotta is a SCAM!
August 10, 2018
Worst Company ever! I tried to cash out my 70.00 rewards and they locked me out of my account. I have many support tickets started and when I checked today ibotta closed each ticket out without any of my issues resolved I had reopened them requesting help and still NOTHING!! When you look on the BBB this seems to be a pattern where many customers go to take the rewards out and some how their account has magically been deactivated but yet they don't give you any notice. But yet they continue to allow you scan receipts and get rewards but yet you aren't allowed to with drawl them :( Such a terrible experience

AngelaCotter January 07, 2019

100% agree. An when you finally get someone to contact you back about your issues they treat you likecrap.

ibotta
February 26, 2018
I forgot my password and where is says to reset password does not work sent request multiple times and does not send me an email as stated it will,

LynnMarie Nichols August 10, 2018

Same thing happened to me. I’ve even tried changing my password, to no avail. The Ibotta app still does not recognize me, so I cannot access my account.

FlavioHanashiro December 01, 2018

I am facing the exact same issue, can’t reset my password. sent emails, they first responded stating that it was resolved but I still couldn’t reset my password. Unbelievable.... it must be on purpose

Not worth it at all
November 4, 2017

I should have read the reviews here before I use this App. They deactivate my account, though I explained why. Of course they keep my $80 earnings.

Don't waste your time. It is scam.

AngelaCotter January 07, 2019

Agree. They did the same thing to me. I got my earnings up to 70$ then they deactivated my account saying my receipts where used by more then one person. They give no warnings for anything they just deactivate accounts and don't answer emails. Only reason I think I got the response via email from their customer service is because I took my issue to BBB.

Works well for me
September 6, 2017

My lifetime earnings are $136.49 so far of which I took a $25 Uber Card one.

Wish I could post a screenshot.

Waiting for it to reach a sweet spot number to help me buy a new Apple watch :D

PamCook June 24, 2019

Im concerned a friend has this and shes waiting to get to 100 before cashing out. I hope she doesn't get ripped off

Rajat June 25, 2019

My Lifetime earnings are $289.04 and I cashed out around $130 so far had no problems with iBotta.

Ibotta is running wait no it isn't
August 25, 2017

When this app works it is very good way to get a bit of extra money from shopping as you normally do. But lately it is not opening at all yesterday and today.

what is up?

hope it gets fixed soon. need to post my receipt.

NEED Ibotta soon or I boot ya.

Excellent For Stacking Savings
May 25, 2017

I don't understand why there's so many negative reviews although I've never had my account deactivated or had to deal with customer service.

Super simple to just unlock your deals, purchase & scan your receipt/products for the rebates. My only complaint is a lot of rebates for alcohol seem to out number the grocery rebates lately.

Although I haven't had any issues yet, I suggest cashing out when you reach the minimum, don't trust anyone else with YOUR money.

Invite your friends & build your team! It helps all of you rack up your savings (Referral code: bliswra)

Every little bit counts! It takes time but check Ibotta deals VS manufacturer coupons & weekly ads. Stacking all of these deals makes for seriously cheap name brand stuff sometimes.

AngelaCotter January 07, 2019

Just be careful you don't accidentally scan the same receipt twice. Thats gives them a reason to deactivate your account.

Pam Potete
November 28, 2016
I love Ibotta! I'm not sure why there are so many negative reviews. If the directions on the rebates are read, it's very easy, and you can use manufacturer coupons on top of it. I have only had the app for about a month, and I've already redeemed a JoAnn Fabrics gift card, and a Walmart one, totaling $40! Just pay attention to how many items are needed to buy, scan, and go! It's so easy.

Ibotta is a scam!
November 3, 2016
I reviews my 2016 submissions and found 75% of my refund request rejected. So, if a rebate was my goal, I paid full price and was stiffed. The comapny has no mechanism to keep your receipts, even though you use their app to upload a copy of your receipt.

FRAUD
September 29, 2016
My account was also deactivated. I tried so many times to get them to listen to me and reactivate my account. This is a case of them saying that if you shop much and turn in multiple receipts, you are committing fraud. They have absolutely lousy customer service. And here's the kicker, They keep your money. Referrals are not all paid as they say and when they deactivate your account, they kept the money in the account. Ibotta closed 2 other accounts that I know of and keep $38 on one account and the balance on the other account as well. They are a fraudulent company.

AngelaCotter January 07, 2019

They sure are. Did the same thing with mine. Deactivated my account with $70 of earnings in it.

Deactivated again!
September 14, 2016
I have be in contact with the [email protected] email group for weeks asking for help to make sure the rebates and receipts I was submitting were correct - I count over 27 emails plus the two I sent today equal 29 emails asking for help to ibotta and yet my account was deactivated again. I don't feel this is right - I was on my way home from grocery shopping and have items to scan and recipes from vons, sprouts and dollar tree to upload. They hide behind their [email protected] email and do not respond. I have even been ignored via facebook. I am going to try and call them tomorrow as the BBB claims their office number is 303-593-1633.