Hylete Apparel Reviews

Hylete Apparel
( 9 reviews )
Website: www.Hylete.com

Hylete is a California based clothing company that specializes in performance Cross-Training apparel.  The company, founded in 2012, is a growing favorite among Crossfitters and exercise enthusiasts across the globe.

They offer a wide range of exercise apparel for both men and women, including: shirts, shorts, pants, compression wear, hoodies, accessories and much more.  The clothing is made from a variety of fabrics including polyester, cotton, spandex, and rayon.

Being an exercise based company their clothing is specifically designed to keep you comfortable throughout long and challenging workouts.  Their products are sweat wicking and breathable to help keep you performing at peak levels.

They also offer informative videos featuring training techniques and valuable tips for injury prevention and overall health. 

 

Products

Some of the company’s most popular items for Men include:

  • Above Knee Shorts
  • Fuse Shorts
  • Jeans
  • Apex jacket
  • Flexion pants

And for women some of the best sellers are the Hylete Leggings and Altium sports bra.

Hylete has also introduced their very own cross training shoes, which come with 3 interchangeable insoles that can be used for lifting, training, or running.

The company is also working hard to integrate itself into strong workout communities and thus offers a variety of discounts for bulk and team orders.  There are also specific discounts for

  • Certified Trainers
  • Military
  • First Responders
  • Doctors & Nurses
  • Students & Teachers

Customer Service

If you need to reach customer service they can be contacted by email through [email protected] or phone (M-F, 9-5 PT) at (858) 225-8998.  You can also submit a message directly through their website chat window.

The full company address is:
 
HYLETE, LLC
568 Stevens Ave
Solana Beach, California 92075
Phone: (858) 225-8998

Hylete offers a 100% Performance Guarantee which states that If you're not 100% satisfied with the quality or performance of your purchase, you can return it for a full refund within 60 days.

All products may be returned or exchanged in like new condition with free return shipping within the US. Hylete merchandise also comes with a product warranty that covers any manufacturer defects.

Online Customer Reviews/Complaints

Hylete has an overwhelmingly positive reputation among CrossFit bloggers with many swearing by the quality of their flagship product, the fuse shorts.  Keep in mind that while the feedback they give is entirely their own opinions many are in partnerships with Hylete.

Independent customer reviews for the company are for the most part very favorable.  From the women's line, the Nimbus leggings received lots of praise.  Customers appreciated that they passed the “Squat Test” and were not see through.

Some of the downsides noted were that they were strong magnets for lint and pet hair.

On the men's side reviews for their best selling Fuse Shorts are very positive.  Customers claimed that these are excellent for working out and really enjoy the built in iPhone pocket.

From the negative reviews of the Fuse shorts some users felt that the original version was better than the redesign. Others complained that these look like strictly gym shorts and not meant for casual wear.

Another best selling product, the Flexion Jacket, also has many positive reviews.  With folks enjoying it being a great fit for both cooler and milder days.  There are also compliments for the fit, durability, and comfort of the jacket.  Some reported having issues finding the right fit for their frames.

Competitors and Alternatives

There are many clothing companies and brands trying to dominate the fitness and competitive exercise niche.  Most notable competitors include Lululemon who’s yoga focused brand is known for high quality yet very expensive apparel.

Another company growing in popularity is Barbell Apparel, who mainly focus on clothing athletes with larger proportions inline with an athletic build.

Where to Buy?

Currently they are primarily selling their items through their web store at www.Hylete.com.  If you have used Hylete gear please leave your personal reviews below.

Is Hylete Clothing Worth It?

The company has positioned itself to compete with some of the more high priced athletic apparel companies.  This raises the stakes for their products and customer service team.  Since there are mixed reviews of some of their apparel we’d recommend ordering an easy to fit lower priced item first, to get a sense of the company, before committing to more expensive purchases.

They do have their 100% Performance Guarantee which should also put you at ease about trying them out.

If you have any experience with Hylete Apparel, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

Hylete Apparel Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Hylete removes all negative reviews from their website
January 30, 2021
So they have no credibility.

Hideous Customer Service
January 8, 2020

I needed to cancel the order I had JUST place yesterday immediately AFTER I had placed it and got the run around online as they do not have a real human customer service dept.

Today I got a notice via email that my order that I attempted to CANCEL has shipped.

I am beyond pissed off.

What a nuisance.

Horrible Customer Service - The Absolute Worst
July 18, 2019

I am a personal trainer and started using Hylete gear because the company I am certified through uses them for their apparel. I really liked the gear and wanted to start selling customers on the quality (much like Under Armour and other companies). Hylete also has an online community where people get to share their photos while wearing Hylete gear. I figured I could use this to really bring customers who work out together into a warm community of trustworthy clothing and good people.

Upon ordering gear, I immediately started getting investor emails asking if I wanted to invest in the company. Not the end of the world since there was no pressure or sales pushed on me, but it lays a foundation for how they operated. Second, I started submitting photos to the online community and never got accepted. None of them have ever been put online. All of my pictures were tasteful and showed the clothing with the Hylete logo showing, but never accepted.

I sent questions to the company and they gave me a set of rules and guidelines about what is required for approval. My pictures complied with these guidelines, but amazingly, several of the photos that are online DO NOT comply with these guidelines. They also asked me to submit my photos again even though I submitted them numerous times already.

I refused to submit them again until they answered my questions. If my pictures comply with the community standards and got rejected, but many photos that made it clash with policy, then I don’t want to submit any more photos until Hylete can explain themselves – the bias.

My emails keep getting transferred to new people in the company, and none of them will address my questions or concerns. Even more curious is that each new person in the company has the same Outlook photos. Sounds like some automated system with no personal touch. This is now at the director level and after asking numerous questions to be answered about policy, the only thing she wants is to see my photos. Nobody will answer any of my questions about how customers are treated and how they are evaluated to be a part of the Hylete community.

Funny thing about this is that I logged onto the website the other day and there were 12 different pictures of the same woman in different poses, but they won’t let other customers who really love their gear be a part of that community. She must be an investor, huh? If that is the case, then it is truly sad that Hylete only lets people who invest be a part of their family. Maybe I’m wrong about what I just said, but nobody at Hylete will talk to me about their selection process to validate the reasons for so many photos out of compliance.

This may seem like a trivial review, but we are living in a customer-centric world. When a company develops an online world/community and asks people to join, it makes customers feel like they are a part of something special. But when the company picks and chooses some people for acceptance and ousts others with no viable reasons and no answers to the questions as to why, it makes us wonder what we did wrong. All I wanted was to be a part of a community I was proud of, but I was one of the people who was rejected.

Online communities that share ideas and passion shouldn’t be a members-only environment. We should all get our chance to be part of a family.

Truly sad.

Poor Quality - They will not post negative reviews on their website!
January 10, 2019

I purchased a pair of the Nimbus Capri pants and after wearing them about 3 times, the stitching started to come out. The company was hounding me to write a review, which I finally did. I was completely honest that while I loved the material, the quality may be lacking.

Not only did they not post my review, I’ve heard absolutely NOTHING from them regarding my issue with the pants.

I have other pieces of clothing from this company that have worn fine with no issues but I’m disappointed that they deleted/didn’t post my review. I don’t feel customer reviews should only include the positive ones!

The worst garments at ridiculous prices
July 14, 2018
Don’t buy from this company - if you charge top dollar give top service and a superior product

Still awaiting my backpack
January 9, 2018

I placed an order for a backpack on December 31, 2017. Today is January 9th, 2018 and I am yet to receive my order. I have sent 2 e-mails, a Facebook message, an Instagram message, a Twitter message, left a voice mail and not heard from someone via either of those platforms.

I received an e-mail from HYLETE on January 2nd, 2018 stating that my order has shipped. That is not correct because DHL advised me that they have not received any order from HYLETE.

At this rate, I do not know if I will receive the backpack before my trip in February 2018. It is absolutely sad considering that the product as advertised will work for my needs. I am helpless on what to do at this point.

Excellent Customer Service
April 4, 2017
EXCELLENT Customer support and product quality. Twice I returned an item (free return shipping label) and it wasn't received back to their warehouse in a timely manner. I contacted them both times through email and both times I was immediately issued a refund and the replacement item shipped out and receive within a few days. I have been extremely satisfied with their customer service!

Bad.....Just Bad
February 23, 2017
Returned some items because of size, 6 weeks later and still no credit. Customer service is non-existent. The clothes I did keep are cheaply made and not worth the price. never again.

HORRIBLE (IF ANY) CUSTOMER SERVICE
February 8, 2017

Will never purchase anything from this company again. Trying to return and website doesn't work nor does anyone answer the phone at this place. Recording sounds like its from a 1980's answering machine.

Absolutely terrible.